Have you ever been truly terrified?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Twinkle-star15

Yeah, I had this horrible realistic dream where my father had died, and couldn't move for half an hour when I woke up until I heard him get up because I was too afraid it was true. Thankfully, I only had it the once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

littlebug wrote:
    Jebus :eek: what happened next?

Yeah...ya cant just finish a story with no proper ending!! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Scariest was havin sleep paralysis, happened 3 times, although the last time [last week] I knew wha happened so it wasnt as bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Yes, in the immediate aftermath of the death of loved ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Niamho! wrote:
    Yeah...ya cant just finish a story with no proper ending!! lol

Sorry! The most terrifying part was the first post though. The rest is rather anti-climatic.
    The guy was drunk and said he just wanted to talk. Since the initial scare had happened, I started thinking of the best way to get out of the situation safely. He started rambling about his sexual fantasies and how we were meant to be, going on and on. I interrupted him and told him I had phoned the police when I heard him come in (I hadn't), and that they were on the way. I told him he needed to leave. He looked really shocked, like he couldn't believe I would call the police on him. He asked why I called them, and I told him because he was a stranger and he'd broken in my home in the middle of the night. And he started in on how we had a connection, and I said, I'm sorry, but I don't know you, and repeated that the police were on the way, and if he didn't want to be arrested, he would leave.
    And he left.
    It was a really weird, fcuked up night, and somehow I avoided something terrible happening to me.
    I did report the incident to the police, but as I wasn't hurt, nothing was stolen, and I knew nothing about who the stalker was, there wasn't much they could do.
    I ended up moving to another town a month later. Never heard from him again after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭james123

when on holidays and my two friends were accused of murder they didnt do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,557 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Back in January, I was on a dog sledding holiday in northern Sweden. We were crossing a frozen lake in convoy, with me right at the back, and things were getting a little hairy. The top layer of frozen snow we were travelling on was getting quite mushy and the dogs were having huge problems, their legs were going right down through the snow and were lolloping (?) along trying to keep the sled moving, when the back of my sled suddenly crashed through the snow, and I slipped off, but still hung onto the sled and was up to above my knees in freezing water. I thought I was a goner, but eventually my feet hit something solid. Apparently the way the freezing cycle works there results in a layer of frozen snow with 1-2 feet of water underneath, and then a layer of solid ice under that. Anyway, eventually the lead dog managed to pull the team off to the right a bit where they could get a better purchase, and all of a sudden the whole team managed to get pulling properly and pulled the fully laden sled and me out and onto some harder snow. I tell you, when we got back onto solid ground again, those dogs got the biggest hug they've ever had, real life savers. That evening, the guide told us that the previous week, a sled had done the same as mine but as it was colder and later in the day had got frozen into the ice, and it took them 3 hours of hacking away in the dark with axes to free it, so I suppose we got of lightly that day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

james123 wrote:
    when on holidays and my two friends were accused of murder they didnt do

I'd say that was slightly more terrifying for your friends!

Only time I was truly scared was when I crashed a car - hit black ice on a bend, flipped right over 360 degrees and landed in a ditch. For about 2 seconds I thought I was about to die. If I hadn't been wearing the seatbelt I'm pretty sure I would have...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Being arrested was fairly scary, at first it was scary because I didn't know these guys where guards (they bust into the house of a guy I was buying smoke off) I asked who they where and they said "who do you think we are?" smiling at first I thought they where from a gang come to do yourman over. I was actually relieved when they finally said they where cops. I was questioned for six hours which wasn't to bad had a great debate over smoke with the arresting officers. The cell they put me in was covered in blood and ****, I got to see the last occupent on the way out covered in blood. All the guards where very business and civil servant like which kindof made the whole process less scary but two cops would routinely come into my cell calling me all sort of names and telling me what the judge should do to me. The court wasn't so much scary as embarrassing don't want to ever go through that again.

I had a close call in the car on a road I know well. I was coming up to the crest of a hill on a road I know very well doing about 70mph. When I got to the top I could see a car on my side of the road over taking a line of cars. There was a t junction just at the crest of the hill, I braked and dipped into the turn off just as he went past. I don't know how I got away with it the turnoff was a small country road so not that wide I was probably still doing 55-60mph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Night-terrors / sleep paralysis would be the worst thing that's happened to me in recent times; that pressure on your chest, the lucid yet unable to move feeling, did I imagine a figure over me? It seemed to last an age and was utterly terrifying.

But awake, I suppose when I was a child the constant fear of ET bursting through my curtains at night would have been up there. He haunted my nightmares for years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

mmm yeah a few times.

was down the stable yard by myself one night and it was pitch dark as the lights were broken and I needed to get something of the shed. Told myself to cop on and stop being so chicken but when I opened the door something flew out and smacked me in the chest! It was a stray cat that must have gotten trappped in there when the door was shut but I was shaking afterwards!

Another time, I was at a show when my horse got a fright and took off. The show grounds was beside a dual carraigeway and no gates were closed. She bolted out onto the road , and down the dual carraigeway the wrong way. I was terrified she had killed herself and even worse possibly caused a car smash and killed people. I couldnt see what was happening as the drive way was about half mile long I was running to try and get to the road.
    I have never been so scared. By some miracle she ran on the hard shoulder and stopped at the traffic lights where a man caught her and brought her back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

mmm yeah a few times.

Another time, I was at a show when my horse got a fright and took off. The show grounds was beside a dual carraigeway and no gates were closed. She bolted out onto the road , and down the dual carraigeway the wrong way. I was terrified she had killed herself and even worse possibly caused a car smash and killed people. I couldnt see what was happening as the drive way was about half mile long I was running to try and get to the road.
    I have never been so scared. By some miracle she ran on the hard shoulder and stopped at the traffic lights where a man caught her and brought her back.

That's a well-trained horse!

Anyhoo........On a helicopter, flying back into Aberdeen from an oil rig.Always great excitement when you see land, and the first visual point of reference is the power station chimney.
    So, 18 of us sitting there, cruising at 3000 feet, all smiles & looking forward to the pub. Suddenly, it goes very quiet. After a couple of seconds the pilot comes on the intercom to tell us that both engines have cut out! "Tighten your seat belts, adopt the brace position & don't panic, we're trying to restart."
    Unlike planes, choppers have the gliding capabilities of a house brick. The rotors are still turning so we aren't dropping vertically, but we are losing altitude at a diahorrea-inducing rate.
    Pilot comes back on intercom to say he's still trying to restart- we can see him & co-pilot working furiously. Reminds us to adopt the brace for impact position, which, incidentally, is the perfect position to kiss your arse goodbye.

After what seems like an eternity, and a few failed attempts, the engines fire back into life. Still a few more freaky seconds as the rotors build speed & the pilot manages to arrest our fall, but eventually we level out at what we're told later is less than a thousand feet, and we get over land & put down in the first available level field.
    We all got out to wait for the rescue guys to arrive, hugged the pilots & each other. Congratulated each other that no-one totally freaked & tried to grab the controls or jump out a window or anything. No, we all sat there strapped in, thinking we're about to die. I suppose we were too busy to scream, you really do use those last seconds to mentally say goodbye to loved ones & regret your career choice.
    Talking of regretting career choice, none more so than the Chief Pilot, who, on his way to collect an award for his cool-headed recovery, was killed in a road accident.
    The cause of the problem was never identified & isn't relevant here anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

I've found in a couple of situations that I don't experience fear. Not for myself anyway.
    Many, many years ago a car pulled an illegal u-turn in front of my motorcycle. I went into autopilot and just dealt with the events as they unfolded. At no point did I think; "I'm going to die", "this is going to hurt", or "get out of the way you cnut" will be my last words. Just a zen-like in-the-moment thing.

Maybe I'm already dead & you're all just a figment of my imagination. Might explain why you're all purple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

I had night terrors once, but not like the ones described above. I woke up, and I was perfectly mobile. I was just more terrified than I thought a guy could be, and for no readily apparent reason. I straight away started trying to figure out the origin of the fear. I'd gotten a taxi home, so I thought I must not have paid him and he was trying to smash in the door. There was clearly no car out front though.
    I ended up thinking that I may have attacked or even killed someone, so I was checking my clothes for blood and my knuckles for bruising, which was not present. Eventually I managed to convince myself that nothing was wrong and I managed to get my heart rate to level off enough to get to sleep. It was horrible though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,536 ✭✭✭Blisterman

The one time I've been truley terrified, was when I got off the train at Glastonbury Festival. Along comes 2 policemen with a sniffer dog along the crowd.
    I remember thinking "God, he can't be a very good sniffer dog. Everyone at this festival, bar myself must be on drugs."
    Suddenly, he started sniffing frantically at me. The policemen pulled me around to a portocabin at the back.
    They proceeded to pull my bags apart, looking for drugs. I was feeling a little bit nervous, but overall quite calm, as I knew he probably wouldn't find anything.

Just then, one of them turns towards me, and pulls on a rubber glove....

And that, was the scariest moment of my life.

By the way, the glove was merely to check the insides of my pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Head on collision with both cars doing 40mph that sent me through the windscreen was pretty mentle...Good ol' shock kept me from gettin too worried though.

EDIT: How the hell did I forget panic attacks...Totally and utterly terrified...at nothing....great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,177 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

big b wrote:
    Talking of regretting career choice, none more so than the Chief Pilot, who, on his way to collect an award for his cool-headed recovery, was killed in a road accident.
    The cause of the problem was never identified & isn't relevant here anyway.

When it's your time to go, It's your time to go eh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭chabsey

Once, a few years ago I was camping with some friends and we pitched tent in the middle of this field, in complete darkness so we'd no idea how close to anything we actually were.

Sat around for a while, drinking and chatting until we decided to call it a night. Headed off to our tents (We had a tent each) and I fell asleep pretty soon after that. When I woke it was cause someone was whispering outside my tent, freaked me out at first cause I couldn't make out what was being said, except that it was being repeated over and over. Eventually figured out the voice was saying:

"Call your friend...Call Keith".

Keith was in one of the other tents. So obviously I was scared but thought it was some bizarre joke / dream and so I sat there for a while listening to be sure. Voice went quiet. I began to calm down a little until it started again and I could easily make out what it was saying this time:

"Call John"

Over and over. Panic set in at this stage so I sat bolt upright and immediately the voice stopped. I slowly opened the tent zip and despite being terrified and the darkness being complete I stuck my head outside.

Turns out it was only a skeleton that had escaped from a nearby farm. I nearly cried with relief and the following day the bunch of us had a good laugh about it.

Pretty terrifying at the time though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,910 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

chabsey wrote:
    Turns out it was only a skeleton that had escaped from a nearby farm. I nearly cried with relief and the following day the bunch of us had a good laugh about it.
    I think i'd be pretty ****ing scared if a skeleton was standing outside my tent in the middle of the night...and what was it doing on the farm? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

OMG scarriest thing off the top of my head! Climbing the sugar loaf last yr...walking along a VERY narrow wall....Really high and when you looked down on either side (waaaay down) were rows of nettle bushes! Have never freaked out so much! Sure if you fell you were screwed pretty much cuz we didnt even have rope or anything! I actually cried and refused to go any further...ha! Soooo scary...:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭qwytre

Once after a night out on the beer (and a McDonalds) I woke up at about 3am and got sick. No problem there I guess and served me right for drinking too much and then gorging on chips.

But what was truly scary was I started to feel really faint and weak to the point where I was trying not to pass out as I sat on the toilet. It was even a struggle to keep sitting up straight. I was absolutley pouring sweat, I had to use a towel to wipe it off, my head, body legs and arms were all soaked. This lasted for about 15 mins. Such a weird feeling and I started to think during it what if this is is, am I about to just die here, at 3am in the dark, in an empty house, by myself. The last 5 mins was really scary.

But alas I am fine and went back to sleep shortly after that. Not sure why I reacted like that, come to think of it, hardly had a drink spiked do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,177 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

qwytre wrote:
    Once after a night out on the beer (and a McDonalds) I woke up at about 3am and got sick. No problem there I guess and served me right for drinking too much and then gorging on chips.

But what was truly scary was I started to feel really faint and weak to the point where I was trying not to pass out as I sat on the toilet. It was even a struggle to keep sitting up straight. I was absolutley pouring sweat, I had to use a towel to wipe it off, my head, body legs and arms were all soaked. This lasted for about 15 mins. Such a weird feeling and I started to think during it what if this is is, am I about to just die here, at 3am in the dark, in an empty house, by myself. The last 5 mins was really scary.

But alas I am fine and went back to sleep shortly after that. Not sure why I reacted like that, come to think of it, hardly had a drink spiked do you think?

LOL, Sounds like someone dropped a few happy pills in your drink and you came up on them while you were asleep :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

baraca wrote:
    What i mean is have you ever been so scared where you can't move, your legs are shaking and you just about literally sh*t yourself. Genuinely terrified.

Me, I don't think i have fortunately. Most scared i can remember being was at work one day standing next to the teleporter when the biggest rottweiler i had ever seen (owner of the houses dog) came out from the other side and just looked at me, ran at me then and just jumped up on me.. Didn't bite or attack me but when he ran at me i was shaking like a vibrator..

twice, first when i was about 11 yrs old, was out for a cycle in the coutry with my mum, we were calling to a house near to where she brought up, when collie sheep dog came running towards me, now never been a fan of dogs, and there was your regular farm gate between me and the dog, so i thought i was quite safe, this dog cleared the gate, ran for me leaving me screaming until its owner casualy walked out of his house to call it off me

the 2nd time was snowboarding in austria, thought i'd try a black run, had only been boarding a few days, but thought i'd be able to naviagte my way down safely, had just gone over the ridge, and forgot everything i learnt, i had the edge of the board cut into the snow, it the form of a step, frozen with fear, i had gone down to far to return to thetop, and it took me a few moments to get my composeure, i was half down before i could even start to pick up any sort of speed, and even then, that was on some of the more level sections, would definatly go again though, but might avoid the black runs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

My three most terrifying moments:

1. I used to be in a canoeing club and once when going down a weir i capsized and got caught in the white water at the bottom. I got spit out seconds before i drowned. I gave up canoeing after that. Since two of my best friends have drowned since then it was probably a good idea. Which will add context to my other two

2. I got a call from a friend about our friend who was in australia for a year. He said "i've got a bit of bad news about paul". To this day those words terrify me. He'd been swept out to sea and they didn't find his body for a month

2. The same guy rang me 4 months later about another friend of ours who was on a stag in england. He said "seems like deja vu at this stage but i've got some bad news about seamus". He'd fallen in a river while pissed and drowned.

i don't answer the phone to him anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

1. I used to be in a canoeing club and once when going down a weir i capsized and got caught in the white water at the bottom. I got spit out seconds before i drowned. I gave up canoeing after that.

Fierce dangerous things are weirs. From what I've read, the only reliable way to get out of them is to dive deep under the water and push off the wall as hard as you can. You will find yourself completely unable to do this if you are wearing a life-jacket, which is one of the myriad of reasons why I hate the things.

That's well rough about your mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

chabsey wrote:

Are you completely insane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭chabsey

Zillah wrote: »
    Are you completely insane?

No. It just wasn't as scary when we realised what was causing it. Doesn't make me insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,214 ✭✭✭afatbollix

i was rallying and we went over a bridge and the car went sideways i thought we were going to hit the wall and crash into a tree.. i started to shake and my voice almost went.. but got it back for the rest of the stage...

also first time i was in a car crash i though i broke my back.. i couldent move anything and had a really bad pain in my back... all i said to myself was move your legs move your legs.. and after a while i was able to move them... i was able to get out about 15 mins later.. i was the passanger and was rallying again but thank god i was in a rally car as if i was in a road car id be dead...
    back is still sore a year later but even so im rallying this weekend ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

chabsey wrote: »
    No. It just wasn't as scary when we realised what was causing it. Doesn't make me insane.

Yes...but it was a skeleton...? A supernaturally reanimate entity composed of the bones of a human being...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Zillah wrote: »
    Yes...but it was a skeleton...? A supernaturally reanimate entity composed of the bones of a human being...?

Yes, I'm confused about this myself. Maybe a skeleton is another name for a type of sheep... that can talk, and knows people's names!;)