Have you ever been truly terrified?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭KilbarrackBlows

yes...
    Northside gang decided to hold up the place i worked one day
    had a sawn off shot gun in my face a riffle in my back guy with a hand gun to his head securocore guy being kicked around then had the joy of being told i going to be shot in 20 seconds if the cash room door wasnt opend they actualy counted down backwards from 20 and got to 3 before the people inside the cashroom opend the door ..

good times good times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

yes...
    Northside gang decided to hold up the place i worked one day
    had a sawn off shot gun in my face a riffle in my back guy with a hand gun to his head securocore guy being kicked around then had the joy of being told i going to be shot in 20 seconds if the cash room door wasnt opend they actualy counted down backwards from 20 and got to 3 before the people inside the cashroom opend the door ..

good times good times...

What the f*ck took them so long??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭KilbarrackBlows

Meh they said they didnt know they had anyone outside but there was a camera outside it and they had a little cctv thing inside the room so i guess they were to scared :confused:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

.... but it turned out that neither of the twins or their hot mother were pregnant

great party though :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

baraca wrote:
    Most scared i can remember being was at work one day standing next to the teleporter

You work for Starfleet? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Many moons ago I was snorkelling in the sea when something soft slowly wrapped itself around my neck.

Fearing it was a jelly fish or something worse I let off an underwater roar. Bubbles were flying everywhere (in fact there were more bubbles flying out the other end at this stage) and I started grabbing at this soft thing around my neck.

Swimming for shore at a rate of knots throwing women and children behind me, I then discovered it was a large plastic bag. Spooked the life out of me though...

TJ911...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

on a plane from new york to atlanta in 2000 during the big mad storms, ligthning crashing everywhere, bags falling out of the compartments, the pilot apologising on the speakers...
    now that was scary.
    and breaking into a haunted house! ****ing awful!
    and the day before yesterday getting the tour of the freemason grand lodge. they are scary bastards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭lezizi

About two years ago it was about one in the morning and myself and my friend drove to the very back of the industrial estate for a smoke. We were in this car park at the very back closed in with only one way out. Befor we knew it we were surronded by 3 men in balaclavas. one tried to open our door and another one was on a motorbike circling behind us. My friend was screaming for me to drive but i just froze i was shaking, a hundred thoughts were racing through my head, i thought they were gonna rob my car then i was thinkng they would attack us and how no one was around to help. I never felt so terrified i got the car started and tried to reverse out but the motor bike was circling around me and the other two fella were trying to open the car doors. i just hit the accelerator and took off and burned down the road and your man followed us until we got onto the main road.
    I'd say we drove into something we shouldnt, we were stupid two girls alone in a car in an isolated spot in the middle of the night. I wont be doing that again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I personally would have ran them all over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Quotr Baraca -Me, I don't think i have fortunately. Most scared i can remember being was at work one day standing next to the teleporter when the biggest rottweiler i had ever seen (owner of the houses dog) came out from the other side and just looked at me, ran at me then and just jumped up on me.. Didn't bite or attack me but when he ran at me i was shaking like a vibrator..

What you should always do if a rottweiler mounts you from behind is .........fake an orgasim :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

zaph wrote:

LOL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Timmins

a friend of mine did that "american dream" thing, and didn't wake up for about a minute.. not good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

Timmins wrote:
    a friend of mine did that "american dream" thing, and didn't wake up for about a minute.. not good
    What's the American Dream thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

What is that american dream yoke?

EDIT: Similar nicknames there^^ I thought the same person questioned himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Getting vertigo while on a tightrope. Was so exhausted at the time I wanted to fall. It was "only" a 30ft drop so I thought Id only get reasonably minor injuries

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

the american dream is when you get someone to hyperventilate for a few seconds, then get them to hold their breath while you push their chest in (while standing in front of a wall or something.) it makes you black out, usually for a few seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Once only.

I was upstairs getting ready for a shower when I heard my wife screaming downstairs. I ran out and all I heard was ''KEVIN IS AFTER GETTING KNOCKED DOWN" (my son, 5 at the time).

It was the most terrifying time of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Mairt wrote:
    Once only.

I was upstairs getting ready for a shower when I heard my wife screaming downstairs. I ran out and all I heard was ''KEVIN IS AFTER GETTING KNOCKED DOWN" (my son, 5 at the time).

It was the most terrifying time of my life.

Must have been awful :(

I fell in to the deep end of a swimming pool when I was five or six...and was terrified I was going to drown.
    I remember going freakishly calm after a while and just accepting it...but had a lucky escape in the end. Scary though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

bronte wrote:

I fell in to the deep end of a swimming pool when I was five or six...and was terrified I was going to drown.
    I remember going freakishly calm after a while and just accepting it...but had a lucky escape in the end. Scary though!

That happened my mam when she was about 9 in a boghole.. she accepted the fact that she was dying and was quite happy that she was going to see her daddy again (died when she was 7), then a neighbour pulled her out by the hair. Lucky for mankind, eh? She did produce exceedingly good children.

As for petrified, worst I can think of was when my son was running around an electrical goods shop.. he's two, and all of a sudden, I couldn't see him anymore and I was convinced he'd run out onto the main Dublin road.. My stomach was so sick :(

Oh yeah, or the day the hospital told me my two week old baby was populated with MRSA but neglected to tell me what that meant. How I ever drove home that day, I'll never know..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I've had a few scary experiences, but the absolute worst was one night a few years ago.
    I had moved to a new town the year before, and was living a small place by myself. After a few months, I started receiving letters and 'gifts' - unsigned, no return address - on my doorstep.
    One night, the phone rang several times with only heavy breathing on the other end. There were also some knocks at the door, and when I looked out the window to see who was knocking no one was there.
    Finally, I went to bed. I wasn't quite asleep when I heard the doorknob of my front door jiggle. I was absolutely terrified, couldn't move. A few minutes later, the door opened and I heard someone walk in.
    I got out of bed - my legs were shaking - and opened my bedroom door. A man I had never seen before was standing in the living room. Apparently, it was the man who'd been stalking me for months.
    Needless to say, it was a really, really, terrifying experience, especially when I think of all the ways it could have been worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Sarky wrote:
    I once lost control of my buoyancy on a training scuba dive in Killary harbour and plummeted 40 metres below the surface (15-20 metres was the limit for training with CFT), into pitch black, freezing water, where I promptly panicked and forgot how to do anything except signal that I was cold and couldn't breathe. If not for the dive leader managing to find me and throw away my weight belt, I would have died. That was easily the most frightening thing I have ever experienced. Although getting to the compression chamber in UCHG from the arse-end of Mayo in 20 minutes by car runs a close second.

:eek: :eek: Killary to Galway in 20 minutes? :eek:

You East Coast people don't appear to realise the significance of this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

littlebug wrote:
    :eek: :eek: Killary to Galway in 20 minutes? :eek:

You East Coast people don't appear to realise the significance of this!

I thought the same thing,i reckon he was must still have been woozy ;) 20 mins? Not a chance, more like 60 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

I've had a few scary experiences, but the absolute worst was one night a few years ago.
    I had moved to a new town the year before, and was living a small place by myself. After a few months, I started receiving letters and 'gifts' - unsigned, no return address - on my doorstep.
    One night, the phone rang several times with only heavy breathing on the other end. There were also some knocks at the door, and when I looked out the window to see who was knocking no one was there.
    Finally, I went to bed. I wasn't quite asleep when I heard the doorknob of my front door jiggle. I was absolutely terrified, couldn't move. A few minutes later, the door opened and I heard someone walk in.
    I got out of bed - my legs were shaking - and opened my bedroom door. A man I had never seen before was standing in the living room. Apparently, it was the man who'd been stalking me for months.
    Needless to say, it was a really, really, terrifying experience, especially when I think of all the ways it could have been worse.

Jebus :eek: what happened next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

zaph wrote:

I was wondering if anybody else had spotted that.

[nerd mode]That would have been a transporter - he said teleporter ;) [/nerd mode]

JK - nerd mode is never off.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

padi89 wrote:
    I thought the same thing,i reckon he was must still have been woozy ;) 20 mins? Not a chance, more like 60 mins.

Well, it could have been 30. That driver slowed down for nothing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

In one of the head shops in town, we rather stupidly decided to try BZP (a legal because its not yet banned substance half similiar to ecstasy)

Went to my mates, took them, started coming up after 3 hours, it was nice, not nearly as energetic as the real thing but still, pretty cool, at times it was like being really chilled stoned.

Effected us in 2 different ways. I completely crashed knackered by 1:30, he got severely paanoid about a wide variety of things, i was convinced he was going to kill me due to his increasingly bizarre and paranoid ranting, and he was convinced I was sending texts to other mates making fun of him :D (we laugh about it now, but when you are cowered in a bed with your mate leaning down 3 feet from your head saying x y and z people "are nothin but a bunch of back stabbing bastards" it wasnt a laughing matter at the time :eek: ). I had no credit to leave and he wouldnt let me ring a taxi on his phone, "YER NOT LEAVIN ME HERE ON MY OWN LIKE THIS!!" (the sh1t causes muscle tightness, he lost all feeling in one leg and was convinced he would be disabled for life)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭texas star

The Gopher that was one of the funniest stories ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I suppose the fact that I actually don't have one is a good thing....but all of yours are freaking me out!

Nothing worse than a night terror (the ultimate nightmare). Experienced one a few days after a real self-defense encounter. Except in the dream he was not only drunk, but as big, strong, aggressive, and ugly as King Kong!:eek: