Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike Theft - What can we do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

cunnins4 wrote:
    If you register the serial number with the gardai ya can prove it's yours. Other than that you could probably stick a laminated card with your name and phone number in the seat post or something?

I dont have the time at the moment to read the whole thred, so forgive me if this has been said.

I put my name and address in the seatpost of a bmx of mine worth €800. got stolen from a friends house. long story short, someone robbed it to cycle home (i assume) as it was found by a kid dumped in a field of a housing estate bout 3 miles away. kid brought it to school, sold it to another guy for €20. 2 weeks later a friend spots the kid on it and stops him. he explained all and asked me to prove it was mine and i was able to no problem... this is a great idea to prove it is yours. UV markings willl get washed away, the paper in the seatpost is always good. just dont forget to laminate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭TCollins

I photographed 2 fucrs stealing bikes opposite harcourt street police station in the parking area under camden court hotel there.
    I got the photos printed and brought them into the police station. They told me to go to Kevin street police station instead with them. I told them i was in a hurry and couldnt so would they just take them. oh no they wouldnt so i just left.
    I see them there nearly every day i'm there, nicking bikes. How hard is it for the cops to get them there. Even the security guard i see there watches them rob bikes. It hilarious (if you dont own one of the bikes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭davej

TCollins wrote:
    I told them i was in a hurry and couldnt so would they just take them. oh no they wouldnt so i just left.
    I see them there nearly every day i'm there, nicking bikes. How hard is it for the cops to get them there. Even the security guard i see there watches them rob bikes. It hilarious (if you dont own one of the bikes)

This is unacceptable behaviour from the gardai surely? Ignoring someone trying to report a crime ? And what exactly is the security guard's job, why does his job even exist if he does nothing when he sees a crime being committed in front of him?

Maybe prime time could do some sort of piece on bike theft in Dublin? Do some undercover filming and get the gardai to explain themselves...

davej

• Closed Accounts Posts: 731 ✭✭✭jman0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cunnins4

jman0 wrote:
    wow, that's rough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Incredible that the Guards wouldn't take the photos. You could send them in to Garda HQ and say you don't know where to send them, see what happens....

I wonder would it be worth getting on to Ryan Tubridy, see if his show would set up a sting, then interview the robbers. Not to mention Joe Duffy - inevitably some robber would ring in with a whine justifying robbing bikes.

Or indeed putting up video of these people robbing bikes on YouTube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭david1two3

Its very simple really ,lock bike to sturdy object ,always use the thickest available post,lamp or otherwise thickest part of railing and the icing is always take the front wheel with you.Always.My Condor racer is 2200 euros and neither it nor any other bike of mine has been touched.I have had two bikes for 4 years and now around Holloway and camden I always use the older one with just straps ,no speedplay and my cleats have lasted all season,at 60 euros a pop it is a pain to watch the money scrape away on the pavement.Because they are racers children for some reason dont really want them.Junkies want a ready saleable item as they are not going to invest anything at all in your bike.Can you imagine someone trying to sell a bike with one wheel or to walk off with it ,there is a very good chance of them being caught.Let all you who can do take off,quick release,transport the wheel where you have to go and report back the results.In 18 years of rough London riding no ones got my bike in the street.I used to live in a shop in The Angel and left my pride and joy in the window,sure enough the door was kicked in at 6pm with people everywhere around ,never saw it again.Its partly because I dont want to have to hunt down and melt some no life who doesnt even know what hes in for and the money,I dont have any.TAKE the wheel any any other essential bits you can carry and you should be fine.Good luck

• Registered Users Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Lissavane

david1two3 wrote:
    Its very simple really ,lock bike to sturdy object ,always use the thickest available post,lamp or otherwise thickest part of railing and the icing is always take the front wheel with you.Always.My Condor racer is 2200 euros and neither it nor any other bike of mine has been touched.I have had two bikes for 4 years and now around Holloway and camden I always use the older one with just straps ,no speedplay and my cleats have lasted all season,at 60 euros a pop it is a pain to watch the money scrape away on the pavement.Because they are racers children for some reason dont really want them.Junkies want a ready saleable item as they are not going to invest anything at all in your bike.Can you imagine someone trying to sell a bike with one wheel or to walk off with it ,there is a very good chance of them being caught.Let all you who can do take off,quick release,transport the wheel where you have to go and report back the results.In 18 years of rough London riding no ones got my bike in the street.I used to live in a shop in The Angel and left my pride and joy in the window,sure enough the door was kicked in at 6pm with people everywhere around ,never saw it again.Its partly because I dont want to have to hunt down and melt some no life who doesnt even know what hes in for and the money,I dont have any.TAKE the wheel any any other essential bits you can carry and you should be fine.Good luck

I know London a little, in particular, the places you mention. Just wondered what specific types/brands of locks you use? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭david1two3

Lissavane wrote:
    I know London a little, in particular, the places you mention. Just wondered what specific types/brands of locks you use? Thanks

Hi Lissavane, its a black and blue Abus D lock with 300 milimetre lenght which I bought in Condor I think for about £25 possibly 4 years ago but it may have been 99. It has a button on it to close the key hole to prevent water getting in, I never use that. I only use one lock and unless Im in sight of it I always take the wheel.The fitter I am the less hassle this is but when I havent eaten or I m tired or a combination of things such like it becomes a real chore to drag the wheel around.Its so worn that there are no identifying marks on it any more .I will try and find the correct id and price for you tomorrow.David

If you're using a Kryptonite U-lock, by the way, lock it in closely to the bike and stand, so it's impossible to fit a device in that will force it open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I have a friend who locked his bike on Marrowbone Lane in Dublin 8. Shortly after he came back and both wheels were gone (neither were quick release!)

Next day I see them sitting at the top of a pile of wheels inside a nearby council estate. Nobody's around at 11am so I just went in and took them back to my friend. Such a good feeling to get one up on them!

I had another friend whose bike was stolen. A few days later he was cycling in Rathmines on a friend's bike and spotted a guy riding his own. He followed yer man home and called the gardai on his location. Once he could prove he was the legitimate owner of said bike the gardai actually took the thief away to the station! So they're not utterly apathetic.

Where on a bike is the serial number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭SetOverSet

Húrin wrote: »
    Where on a bike is the serial number?

It usually on the underside of the bottom bracket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

SetOverSet wrote: »
    It usually on the underside of the bottom bracket
    Depends. one of mine is on the rear stay by the dropout - other is on bottom bracket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

I had another friend whose bike was stolen. A few days later he was cycling in Rathmines on a friend's bike and spotted a guy riding his own. He followed yer man home and called the gardai on his location. Once he could prove he was the legitimate owner of said bike the gardai actually took the thief away to the station! So they're not utterly apathetic.

I hope this is true as it really made me smile. :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Many years ago, my much loved Dawes Chevron bike was stolen from school. A few weeks later, I spotted a guy on my bike outside Crumlin Shopping Centre. I ran down to Sundrive Garda Station, just down the road, and the guards came up to the shopping centre and picked up yer man and the bike. I got the bike back shortly after - never found out what happened to yer man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

72hundred wrote: »
    I hope this is true as it really made me smile. :):):)
    I swear that it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

TCollins wrote: »
    I photographed 2 fucrs stealing bikes opposite harcourt street police station in the parking area under camden court hotel there.
    I got the photos printed and brought them into the police station. They told me to go to Kevin street police station instead with them. I told them i was in a hurry and couldnt so would they just take them. oh no they wouldnt so i just left.

Harcout st, is not a normal police station.. , had this issue with them one night too. There is always a guy on the gate, your wasting your time talking to him.

Its Kevin st or nothing.. , ring em on 01-6666400