What famous people have you met?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Exit wrote:
    To the guy who slept with the celebrity: was she famous when you slept with her, or just somebody who got famous later on?

she was famous at the time. i shudnt have said it cos im not sayin it on the interweb anyway. Ask me at the boards beers!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I met Chris Pontius before. He was in Sligo for some surfing event and came into Tesco to buy booze. Nice guy. I've also met the members of westlife but being from Sligo that wouldn't be a rare thing also I have no respect for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

faceman wrote:
    she was famous at the time. i shudnt have said it cos im not sayin it on the interweb anyway. Ask me at the boards beers!

No fcuk that....you've gotta say or i'll get my mates after u... Ya wont be so pretty then faceboy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

Pierce Brosnan. my mam loves him. he's REALLY nice actually chatted to us for ages. looks the exact same in real life.
    Aidan Quinn.....lovely Eyes.
    I could meet more if my dad was arsed making it happen. they're workin on that Tudors programme now and Johnathon Rhys Meyers is in it....*Sigh* ...that was never gonna happen really. :(

Mate of mine used to work in the Dogs and i swear to god the amount of Celebs she used to meet there! she one of those ppl anyway that every now and againd she just spots someone walkin around or whatever....never happens to me.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Niamho! wrote:
    looks the exact same in real life.

Well he's hardly going to look like an 80 year old chinese woman now is he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Jamey

Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink
    Steve McManaman
    Gary Mabutt
    Nigel Spackman
    Craig Charles
    Mike Scott (the Waterboys)
    Matt Heafy
    One of the Columbia 3 (Cant remember his name)
    Nancy Cartwright

Probably a few more, but I can't remember. All were sound, never had any trouble with any of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

I met the princess of Japan a few years ago, quite a humble person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭starlight07

Johnathon Rhys Meyers.... *drools on keyboard*

You should so arrive at youre dads work place with his phone/ keys/ wallet/ lunch that he "left" at home :D

From reading all the responses Colin Farrell seems like a nice guy n knows how to handle bein recognised, Id love to jump his bones!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Marty Whelan from RTE

Pighead from Boards.ie

Two of Wolverhampton Wanderers reserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Goat Mouth wrote:
    Gabriel Byrne (on several occasions, im related to him)

I'm also related to him, only by marriage though! :p
    I met Megadeth(the current line up) at Gigantour 2006, Dave is a legend, you can just FEEL the ego when he enters the room!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Papillon87

Jesus some people here have met megastars!

Eh....my shameful list of semi well known type people:

Always see Bono driving and pottering around, same with Sinead O Connor (girl serving her her takeaway bagel the other day asked for an autograph...she looked a bit peeved!)

Robbie Coltrane (Hagrid in Harry Potter....used to be in some detective show called Cracker according to the parents!)... he was buying nappies in my local Spar! Some knacker behind him screamed out "It's yer man from Crackaaaa"

Spent an evening in the pub up the road from the school I went to drinking with my friends and Colin Farrell...haha!

I met Chris Pontius before. He was in Sligo for some surfing event and came into Tesco to buy booze. Nice guy. I've also met the members of westlife but being from Sligo that wouldn't be a rare thing also I have no respect for them.

Oh yeah met him in my local Spar as well! Ha...it's a hotspot alright! With his Irish girlfriend he was!

Papillon87 wrote:
    Jesus some people here have met megastars!

haha come here to us papillon87...who would u say has been the most fortunate in meeting all these stars....personally I think I would win this hands down....tho then again I'm aiming the question at u!?

Careful now...;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

My Bro met Colin Farrell in the Airport in New York the other night!! He was in taking a leak and my bro asked him could he take a photo!! Colin just said not in here!! They got a photo together and he got on his flight to Venice!!

Cheeky_gal wrote:
    haha come here to us papillon87...who would u say has been the most fortunate in meeting all these stars....personally I think I would win this hands down....tho then again I'm aiming the question at u!?

Careful now...;)

You're definitely a little ahead of the pack.....I mean Ryan Tubridy AND Gay Byrne?? A girl like me can only dream of being graced with the presence of such gods of the airwaves....easy on the eyes too!:p

Papillon87 wrote:
    You're definitely a little ahead of the pack.....I mean Ryan Tubridy AND Gay Byrne?? A girl like me can only dream of being graced with the presence of such gods of the airwaves....easy on the eyes too!:p

haha ledgend! I totally agree...:D

Papillon87 wrote:
    Oh yeah met him in my local Spar as well! Ha...it's a hotspot alright! With his Irish girlfriend he was!

No he was on his own at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

To whoever saw David Morse in Dublin, 2 months ago in Dublin, I saw him then as well in Dublin Airport he nodded so I nodded back it's a thing we have!!!

Had fierce banter with Peter Clohessy one day at work and the Cork based Munster players are always in the college gym as well during the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭damo86

Ive had dinner with jeremy irons,its was on swansea-cork ferry because he used to take that regularly.My uncle worked for them so i used to eat at the captains table and mr.irons was there one evening,nice ol' chap,very quiet!
    Ive served jeremy paxman,john lithgow,andrew lincoln when working at ballymaloe house.
    Oh yeah, i know darina and rachael allen obviously because ballymaloe etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Bosco (is he a person?) in Bandon when i was 7
    Miley from Glenroe (at the opening of Super Valu in our nearest town)
    Enda Oates (in Tesco Drumcondra)
    Bill Clinton & Bertie Ahern in Fagans Drumcondra (mate worked as a barmaid, hence i was able to meet them!)
    Dolores Keane (in Hastings E Sussex)
    Dawn Bradfield (know her from home)
    Mick Peelo and Liam Lawton (participated in a 'passion for life' documentary for RTE in Easter 99 - religious programme) they are not that famous!!!
    Lee from Ros Na Run (TG4 soap opera) - she was one of my students when i was teaching in Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

MayMay wrote:
    Tell us more, how did the Edge's dog become your dog? Did you steal him?

Nothing interesting! His dog had puppies and we got one, didnt even know we were in his house til we were leaving and we passed him on his way in. Apparently he had to get rid of the mummy dog soon after cos she bit Naomi Cambell on the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

i met bertie one day, he came to my school. the guy beside me was wearing that nirvana hoodie with kurts head in an american dollar... bertie goes up to him and says ...."oooh american "....

met all of kila when i did the sound for a gig of theres a few years back... it was really funny, four of them sat down to eat yogurts with their fingers... classy

dara o briain HUGE guy, george hook who is also a HUGE guy.

mickey joe but ya go to dcu enough and youll see him all the time.

hung out with all of breed 77 at xtreme a few years back, they were cool .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭Selphie

I met Colin Farrell too (god, he's everywhere) Met him in Heathrow Airport. Also, Graham Norton was on the same flight as me and my cousins once. We were flying from London to Shannon, and we went up to say hello. He likes his privacy on planes :p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I met most of the Irish Players from 94 world cup, met the boyzone lads aswell at their first gig which was the 94 world cup welcome home party.
    Met alot of the gladiators in London years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Timmy_d

daft dave- "the return of the liquidator"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

I once met Hector, he was not his usual bubbly self. Basically told me to **** off. Think he was birdwatching or something at the time.

I'd love to meet the actor who played Bishop Brennan and kick him up the arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Kevin Moran (twice)

George Hook used to come into my old job a bit and i helped fix his laptop over the phone he's a sound bloke.

That bloke with the white hair that does the adds about the environment and fell out a tree in some place with radiation....No can't remember his name.

That painter bloke with the long white hair that had the painting program on RTE years ago....nope can;t remember his name either

Some Minor Music People

The lads from Hayseed dixie a couple of times
    Brendan Benson
    The lads from Toasted Heretic
    Emm Gryner
    The Barenaked Ladies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I met the Queen & Prince Philip (do you call her "the" Queen here? Sorry, the UK Queen & her hubby anyway :o) at the Edinburgh Garden party, Gordon Brown read the eulogy at my Aunt's funeral & Kevin Keegan came into the pub I was working in which was across the road from the Scottish Brewers HQ & they later sponsored Newcastle...eclectic mix! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I met the Queen & Prince Philip (do you call her "the" Queen here? Sorry, the UK Queen & her hubby anyway :o) at the Edinburgh Garden party, Gordon Brown read the eulogy at my Aunt's funeral & Kevin Keegan came into the pub I was working in which was across the road from the Scottish Brewers HQ & they later sponsored Newcastle...eclectic mix! :)
    The German chick who married a Greek?

Sorry. I had to throw that in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Bertie Ahern opened a new addition to our secondary school, what the bloody hell took him from Dublin to the middle of nowhere in Meath is beyond me (bitta cash no doubt). :)

No one else really, spotted a few people at the airport like Martin McGuinness, Michelle Smith and someone from Glenroe (don't remember the name but his brother in it was an evil bastid and after the farm).