Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What famous people have you met?

• 02-09-2007 2:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭

On a flight home from Hawaii my friend was sitting directly behind Shia LaBeouf (main fella from transformers) she said hes hotter in the flesh and a really nice guy.

What famous people have you met and what were they like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

Going and coming back from Tenerife, I saw Daniel O Donnel as he was on the same plane. He actually stopped and leant against my chair while someone in front was putting their bag in the over head compartment.

Seemed just as smug as slimey as ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭KilbarrackBlows

Met an extra from fair city....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

colin murphy, neil delamere and karl spain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

There's a topic on this in the Celebrity and Showbiz forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Recon

I met KK Downing from Judas Priest last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭Goat Mouth

a few... so while im here meh.

Matt Heafy
    Gabriel Byrne (on several occasions, im related to him)
    David Hasselhoff
    Matt Damon
    James Hetfield
    Jeff Martin
    Ardal O'Hanlon

Goat Mouth wrote:

Matt Heafy
    Gabriel Byrne (on several occasions, im related to him)
    David Hasselhoff
    Matt Damon
    James Hetfield
    Jeff Martin
    Ardal O'Hanlon
    What was MATT DAMON like? :D MATT DAMON!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

Colin Farrell - about two weeks ago on Baggot Street, I stared at him til he turned around and saw me, he looked a bit freaked out by the crazy staring but he just said "how'r'ya luv" and went on his way.

Tom Hanks - took a break in filming Saving Private Ryan to come and say hi to us cos it was my cousins birthday and some of the crew we'd been talking to asked him to come out and say hi cos it was Toms birthday too.

Then the much more distant ones - Never met him but apparently I'm unfortunate enough to be related to Daniel O'Donnell, also my dog used to belong to The Edge (U2)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭Goat Mouth

MayMay wrote:
    What was MATT DAMON like? :D MATT DAMON!!
    not to bad i guess
    it was in Waterloo trainstation in London last november while filming The Bourne Ultimatum. then just as he walked away i had to scream MAAATT DAAAAMON, he smiled.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

there is a thead on this in celebrity & showbiz.

ive slept with a celebrity but i cant say who! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭KilbarrackBlows

faceman wrote:

was gay burn wasnt it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Leeby wrote:
    Colin Farrell - about two weeks ago on Baggot Street, I stared at him til he turned around and saw me, he looked a bit freaked out by the crazy staring but he just said "how'r'ya luv" and went on his way.
    i think Id have tried to kidnap him. i live near it, must spend more time there, just in case.

oh wow, Id actually kill to meet JT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

Leeby wrote:
    my dog used to belong to The Edge (U2)

I'm sure there's a story there...

Tell us more, how did the Edge's dog become your dog? Did you steal him?

i think Id have tried to kidnap him. i live near it, must spend more time there, just in case.

I met him in the K Club in Straffan a few months ago, he looked like shi.t and was a moody git to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

This same subject is covered in Shobiz & celeb(is that what itsa called?)

Anyhoo, Met Ian Wright (and got a pic with him) at the Accropolis the day after the CL final. Played indoor against Tony Ward (does he count?) a few times.

We're letting Faceman off way to easy here, c'mon faceman, clues, initials , give us something. start with Male or Female at least.

Why cant you say anyway, are they on boards? Oh the excitement. :)

Didnt think John Terry would be on many (non Chelsea ) fans lists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Goat Mouth wrote:

David Hasselhoff
    You met the HOFF!! Yay :)

Goat Mouth wrote:
    not to bad i guess
    it was in Waterloo trainstation in London last november while filming The Bourne Ultimatum. then just as he walked away i had to scream MAAATT DAAAAMON, he smiled.

Ha ha poor fecker must get that all the time....apparently he finds it funny though so at least he's got a sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

loads; a ton of pro-wrestlers such as the Rock, Steve Austin (shared a drink with the rattlesnake), undertaker, kane, big show, ric flair, John Cena (did a rap on the spot for us), Mick Foley (i could go on all night :p)

Magicians Penn and Teller, MacKing, Steve Wyrick, lance Burton

Was on planes with numerous ex football players such as Dennis Irwin, Kevin Moran, John Toshack. Saw Patrick Bergin in Dublin airport. Met Milan Baros outside Liverpools training ground, said hello to Michael Owen at Anfield in 1997

Met and talked with the boyz from Aslan and Wolfe Tones.

Does Simon Casey count as famous??? He was in my class in college

oh yeah i was a few feet away from Nicholas Cage at the premier of Gone in Sixty seconds in Hollywood in 2000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

Ken Doherty
    World cup 2004 squad
    Ronnie Whelan
    Jack Charlton,
    Fergal O'Brien (he was in my house)
    Alex Higgins
    George Best
    Eamon Dunphy
    John Barnes
    John Giles
    Aongous McAnally
    Ray Darcy
    Ian Dempsey
    Enda Kenny
    Bertie Ahern
    Micheal Douglous,

I'm bored with this.....I meet alot of people, I have spoken with all of the above, not just a case of shaking hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Met Roddy Doyle, was on the same plane as Anna Friel (nice arse), seen loads of RTE/Fair City types in the airport and around town. Nothing to write home about really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

dbnavan wrote:
    Ken Doherty
    World cup 2004 squad
    Ronnie Whelan
    Jack Charlton,
    Fergal O'Brien (he was in my house)
    Alex Higgins
    George Best
    Eamon Dunphy
    John Barnes
    John Giles
    Aongous McAnally
    Ray Darcy
    Ian Dempsey
    Enda Kenny
    Bertie Ahern
    Micheal Douglous,

I'm bored with this.....I meet alot of people, I have spoken with all of the above, not just a case of shaking hands.
    Show off..

dbnavan wrote:
    George Best

Quality, thats a conversation I'd have liked to have had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Had breakfast with Jerry Hall. Had no idea who she was at the time (about 20 years ago).
    Had a chip fight with Keith Richards and Ron Wood.
    Went to school with one of the guys from Bellx1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Used to arrange gigs so have met quite a few but really liked The Cardigans and SAXON.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I sat next to Bono in a restaurant in Dalkey once. He was having dinner with his wife and two younger kids. He was telling them, in a really loud voice that he wanted everyone to hear, that he had to go away or a while because he was going on tour and they were to be good for mummy. And he kept his sunglasses on the whole time too. The same night Pat Kenny and his wife and Sinead O'Connor and Neil Jordan came in for dinner too. I also drve past Colin Farrell in Sandycove and I must have been staring (I couldn't remember how i knew him) he had a fag in his mouth and raised his hat at me. I also saw Nicholas Lyndhurst (Rodney in only fools and horses) outside BT once. Not too exciting so!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

God I hate lists...
    in no particular order and only listing people i had 2 way conversation with (and footballers/managers dont count so i have left them out):

James Hetfield
    Corrosion of Conformity
    noel gallagher
    anne friel
    natalie imbruglia
    james dean bradfield
    neil diamond
    chris smither
    anthony minghella
    david hasselhoff
    Paul Burrell
    Thom Yorke
    Michael douglas
    jack nicholson
    PJ gallagher (The best of the lot of em! ;))
    ray treacy
    laura woods
    katy french (lol)
    kathryn thomas
    gay byrne
    jack black
    kyle goss
    davina mccall
    pat inglesby
    aongus macnally
    leonardo di caprio
    bono
    the edge
    joanna lumley
    martin scorsese
    britney spears (altho i only said hello and she smiled but she deffo fancied me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Met old Ireland keeper Packie (sp?) Bonner. He's huge in person.

faceman wrote:
    in no particular order (and footballers/managers dont count so i have left them out):

How does that work? They are famous for what the do in the same way as a singer/band member, actors etc..

Stekelly wrote:
    How does that work? They are famous for what the do in the same way as a singer/band member.

yeah but they're generally easier to come across and could even be your neighbour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

faceman wrote:
    God I hate lists...
    in no particular order and only listing people i had 2 way conversation with (and footballers/managers dont count so i have left them out):

James Hetfield
    Corrosion of Conformity
    noel gallagher
    anne friel
    natalie imbruglia
    james dean bradfield
    neil diamond
    chris smither
    anthony minghella
    david hasselhoff
    Paul Burrell
    Thom Yorke
    Michael douglas
    jack nicholson
    PJ gallagher (The best of the lot of em! ;))
    ray treacy
    laura woods
    katy french (lol)
    kathryn thomas
    gay byrne
    jack black
    kyle goss
    davina mccall
    pat inglesby
    aongus macnally
    leonardo di caprio
    bono
    the edge
    joanna lumley
    britney spears (altho i only said hello and she smiled but she deffo fancied me)

And so we have to guess who off your list you've slept with?

faceman wrote:
    yeah but they're generally easier to come across and could even be your neighbour!

My neighbour you say, what do you know? Is it old MR Smith 2 doors down?:)

Exit wrote:

my moneys on Katheryn Thomas.

Exit wrote:

actually i left her off. i dont kiss n tell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Exit wrote:

The way things are going at the moment, I'm going to say Britney Spears!!

Stekelly wrote:
    My neighbour you say, what do you know? Is it old MR Smith 2 doors down?:)

its deffo your neighbour, i swears!!!

faceman wrote:
    actually i left her off. i dont kiss n tell.

Boo. Initials. She'll never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Ok here's my time to shine...;)

Justin Timberlake
    Cameron Diaz
    Nancy (sven eriksons gf)
    Ryan Tubridy haha (who hasn't)
    Padraig Harrington
    Nicki Byrne (Westlife)
    Ronan Keating (That dude is small, thought he was only 14)
    Gay Byrne (Never disturb him while he's eating!) Wow!
    Bill Clinton (actually spoke to the dude-> legend!)
    Rowland Soper (haha what a ledge)
    Boris Becker (jerk)
    Ken Doherty (Too many times...hangs round the westbury waaaay too much)

And that's just an introduction...! I'm kind of a big deal... haha you're all gonna kill me now! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 sharkey07

oooh i went the pro-am golf competition in adare golf club a year or two ago and i met and chatted to.....
    -Gary Linekar
    -Keith Wood
    -Peter Gallagher aka. Sandy Cohen from the O.C
    -Vijay Singh (such a nice guy!)

others there but didnt stop to talk to anyone were Michael Owen, Martin McAleese, PAdraig Harrington and of course Tiger..who was surrounded by a group of personal security guards and didnt even acknowledge the crowd which was a bit disappointing!

i also bumped into damon alburn in dublin airport when i was really young cos i was runnning around a corner and wasnt watching where i was going..but i was too young to know who he was at the time, which is probably a good thing!

I was working in a cafe in Coal Harbour, Vancouver and Jessica Alba was filming a movie right beside us!! she was actually really friendly but didnt buy anything in our cafe cos our coffee was really ****!!! but my friend was workin in a fab gelato cafe beside me and Jessica was in there a good bit and was always up for a chat..i think it was my friends Kerry accent that was the main selling point there tho:)

Oh and David Toms...

Yea thats right...

Bring it bitches! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

Peter Buck (R.E.M.), a gentleman.

Both members of the Dresden Dolls, and The Watson Twins, but they're not really famous to be fair....

My father once called me from work, which he never does, to tell me "I'm just standing here between Bono and Robert De Niro".....the picture of said meeting is priceless. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Cheeky_gal wrote:
    Rowland Soper (haha what a ledge)

The car alarm/stereo fitter?

wyndham wrote:
    The car alarm/stereo fitter?

OOOOMMMMMGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh DO U KNOW HIM???? Yea BMW dude!!!! hahahahaha :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭starlight07

faceman wrote:

ARRRGH ye cant do that!!!! giv us a clue at least!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

sharkey07 wrote:
    oooh i went the pro-am golf competition in adare golf club a year or two ago and i met and chatted to.....
    -Gary Linekar
    -Keith Wood
    -Peter Gallagher aka. Sandy Cohen from the O.C
    -Vijay Singh (such a nice guy!)

others there but didnt stop to talk to anyone were Michael Owen, Martin McAleese, PAdraig Harrington and of course Tiger..who was surrounded by a group of personal security guards and didnt even acknowledge the crowd which was a bit disappointing!

i also bumped into damon alburn in dublin airport when i was really young cos i was runnning around a corner and wasnt watching where i was going..but i was too young to know who he was at the time, which is probably a good thing!

I was working in a cafe in Coal Harbour, Vancouver and Jessica Alba was filming a movie right beside us!! she was actually really friendly but didnt buy anything in our cafe cos our coffee was really ****!!! but my friend was workin in a fab gelato cafe beside me and Jessica was in there a good bit and was always up for a chat..i think it was my friends Kerry accent that was the main selling point there tho:)

what was gary linekar like? I always wondered what he'd be like when he's not stealing walkers or being unfunny on match of the day...

emmm ive met...
    - George Hamilton
    - Glen Hansard
    - Fr.Todd Unchus from Fr.Ted
    - was an extra on fair city and brushed shoulder with the stars ;)
    - thats it

ARRRGH ye cant do that!!!! giv us a clue at least!!!

Yea ye can't really be sayin that now....Tell us! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Cheeky_gal wrote:
    OOOOMMMMMGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh DO U KNOW HIM???? Yea BMW dude!!!! hahahahaha :D

Yeah he fitted my alarm and stereo. lolz

I knew he did something on the Eurovision a few years ago? Pushing the envelope a bit including him on a list of celebrities with JT and the like. He'll get a big head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Most of the Irish team c. 2003
    Celtic squad of 98
    Jack Charlton
    Jimmy Magee the other night
    Brian Kerr a couple of times...once when pissed, embarrassing for all concerned
    Mani from Stone Roses and Primal Scream
    Ray Darcy
    Sure there's more but can't remember...not much of a celebrity person

wyndham wrote:
    Yeah he fitted my alarm and stereo. lolz

I knew he did something on the Eurovision a few years ago? Pushing the envelope a bit including him on a list of celebrities with JT and the like. He'll get a big head.

haha ah no not at all...he's a celeb in my eyes! haha what a ledgend! Here...ssssh on the qt, are u familiar with his [cough] "Dealings"...an i'm not talking drugs here! haha if u know the guy you'd know wat i'm talking bout! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Steez

Jessica Alba (the best moment of my life EVER. EVER EVER EVER.)
    the shane chap from boyzone (im not proud of that, i really wanted to run away but didn't want to be rude :p)
    Jack Black
    Ron Jeremy
    Colin Farrell
    Jeremy Clarkson (he's a prat)
    A bunch of others that i can't remember
    Oh, and Jesus

As for the music bit:
    Black Thought from The Roots (he signed my passport!)
    Nas
    Bubba Sparxxx (for anyone that knows of him, he's a total legend in person)
    Busta
    Rhianna (killer smile)
    Eminem (he's a prat too)
    and a few more i can't remember

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

jebuz wrote:
    what was gary linekar like? I always wondered what he'd be like when he's not stealing walkers or being unfunny on match of the day...

emmm ive met...
    - George Hamilton
    - Glen Hansard
    - Fr.Todd Unchus from Fr.Ted
    - was an extra on fair city and brushed shoulder with the stars ;)
    - thats it

Did you say "Oh, danger here! It's George Hamilton!" :)