cost of a night out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Having read some of the replys in this thread I think a few of you should follow this link and be honest with your answers...........

I dont have a drink problem, I drink, I fall down, No Problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭the boss of me

Going back to the OP, you spent €40 for a night in Balbriggan !!

I'd gladly spend twice that just to get out of the dump :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Spook_ie wrote:
    Having read some of the replys in this thread I think a few of you should follow this link and be honest with your answers...........

I dont have a drink problem, I drink, I fall down, No Problem
    Spook_ie is online now Report Bad Post Reply With Quote

Some of the questions in that are ridiculously stupid.

1) "Have you lost time from work due to drinking?" - I would say a large proportion of the population have at some stage
    There is already "a definite warning that you may be alcoholic." if you answer yes to that!

2) "Do you drink to build up your self-confidence?" - Again alot of people would have done that, Dutch courage anyone!!

3) And finally "Do you drink because you are shy with other people?" - that question is very similar to the one above (If your drinking because you are shy with a group of people would it not be to boost your self confidence??)

Now maybe questions 2 and 3 have to be answered yes for the majority of the time you drink to qualify but still answer yes to question 1 and you may be an alcoholic!! Is that not a bit extreme?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I'm going to defend the bollox here somewhat.

I used to be a heavy spender. We're talking three restaurant meals per day, and easily €100+ nights in the pub.

When I hit 28 (years old) I decided to cop myself on and to watch my expenditure.

Now when I go to the pub - such as tonight - I spend around €30 and get a nice buzz on me. Tonight I had -

2 x Glasses of Wine in the Girlfriends (Temple Bar)
    1 x Guinness in The Globe
    1 x Guinness in The Mezz
    1 x Guinness in Bruxelles
    1 x Pizza Slice
    3 x Corona in my place (Georges Street)

Grand total of €30. I paid for the bottle of wine.

It can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

throw in 3 taxis and then see what it adds up to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 drunknmunky

Galway!!!
    -Walk to town:0
    -free entry to club/10 euro cps(saturday):10
    -naggin/bottle wine beforehand: 10ish
    -3/4 more drinks inside:20
    -cloakroom/food:1.50 + 3
    -walk home/taxi with 5 others:0/3

under 50 euro at the most....

i do agree however that it is easy to go out and spend a lot.Buying drinks for others and buying vdouble vodkas etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

double vodkas ar the biggest waste of money, i'd occasionally get a double vodka and red bull, but i stress the word occasionally. i drink pints when out as it's just a regular thing, i friend of mine used to buy champagne on nights out with a bunch of lads he worked with, he was flash back then until he moved out and realised he'd have to pay his way, when i worked with him every sunday would involve him bragging about how he spent 150 quid the night before where as i was out (often with him.) i couldnt spend more than 50/60 quid and i still had a better night than him as he often got sick, into fights, chucked out etc. He's now copped himself on and doesn't go for the stupid excesses that were once weekly,

There are always ways for people with too much money to part with it while having nothing to show for it.

i'm not a tight arse, i buy drinks for people who deserve them, but when i go out my aim is to have a good time, and you have to make the best of what you have. when i'm out in sligo i know my taxi home is going to be the expensive bit, so i dont waste my money as i'd rather have some money left over so when it's coming up to pay day i wont be teh poor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

Ah the joys of fibbers on a thursday ( and wednesday)..

€5- entry

€~40 - 12-13 pints...

€8-chipper.

then stumble home.

€53

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Galway city
    10 pints < E40
    Chinese < E10
    Row with gf - free

Usually I'd have about 6 pints, even cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

biko wrote:
    Galway city
    10 pints < E40
    Chinese < E10
    Row with gf - free

Usually I'd have about 6 pints, even cheaper

I'm a bit of a vodka fiend myself when I'm out so I usually have 3 pints in a pub and get a naggin or two before the club.

I shall not be telling you where I keep them, that's secret!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Let's see, on a Friday night I spend in the local:

5/6 pints: €16
    Some tunes in the jukebox or games of pool: €2-4

Friday Total: €20

On a Saturday night:

5/6 pints: €16
    4 cans of Heinekin: €10 (Regular customer discount ;) )
    Shots & double vodkas: €12

Saturday Total: €26

Throw in €14.10 for 40 Fags that last the weekend and my regular total is €72.10 for the entire weekend.

Some of my friends blow Nasa-budget-like money on a night out. How can someone go spend €150 in one night.............in a middle-sized town!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Biggest problem with Galway at the moment is the water; I was on a "dry" night a few weeks ago, and water alone cost €15-20!!! Why not drink tap water, ye may ask? Because we can't; it makes people sick!

Fey! wrote:
    Why not drink tap water, ye may ask? Because we can't; it makes people sick!

You would be the laughing stock if you were the only one on a dry night out and you end up being the only one sick the next morning with a bad case of the green apple splatters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

I think people need to start giving more info to their cost, like location and if there is a promotion going on.

Duggy you say 5 pints only cost 16, that's 3.20 a pint where can you get that?
    In Dublin on a Saturday night a pint will cost between 5/6 Euro. so your 5 pints will cost between 25-30 Euro, nearly twice what you are claiming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭~Leanne~

Zascar wrote:
    You went to a "Nightclub" that charges €3 in?

Are you twelve? Or do you live in absolte Bogwarrior Country?

The Afterdark is part of Home Niteclub in Balrbiggan. Its like a seperate club thats plays 80's stuff. Good spot, 2 bars, huge smoking area, does the job when your on a budget and just want a few late drinks and nothing mad.

A lot of people who go there would come from other bars in Skerries and all share taxi fares...hence the €4 taxi fare.....i do this quite often meself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Usually in Dublin for me its

Bus to town,
    4/5 drinks(Yes, i am a lightweight): 20-30 Quid
    Food: 5 - 10 Quid
    Taxi: Usually Shared with at least 2 others so ~ 5-6 each.
    If not sharing a Taxi - Get the nightlink - 4 euro

Thats easily below 50 euro, I tend not to go to nightclubs in dublin so usually no entry fees to pay. Never leave in my jacket anywhere either as i hate trying to get the ****ing thing out at the end of the night.

If i were to go out in Carlow:

Walk to town.
    4/5 drinks - 20-30 Quid
    12 euro for Foundry(Tower)(or 7 if i'm a cheapass and run into Dinn ri just beforehand)
    Food - 5-10 euro
    Walk Home.

again easily below 50 Quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

Would usually spend between 50 and 100 on a night out depending where I'm goin.
    Nearly always have a few glasses of vine before headin out then move onto the vodka when i get out.
    I reckon it's doing rounds with big groups of ppl or goin to places where it's 10-20 to pay in that makes the night more expensive. Also, I suppose if ur paying alot for a taxi that can hike it up too.
    As for 3 quid into a nightclub though, thats a new one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Usually start with a good Italian and some beer between 8pm and 10pm - €12
    Train into town - Covered under my monthly ticket
    If it's a wild night, 12-15 beers - €20 - €30
    6AM Kebab - €3 :D
    Train home - Covered under my monthly ticket
    Total costs €35-€45

OR just heading over to a friends house, 8 pack of beer for €2.60!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭~Leanne~

jester77 wrote:

8 pack of beer for €2.60!

What do you drink???????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭louisecm

jester77 wrote:
    Usually start with a good Italian and some beer between 8pm and 10pm - €12
    Train into town - Covered under my monthly ticket
    6AM Kebab - €3 :D
    Train home - Covered under my monthly ticket
    Total costs €35-€45

OR just heading over to a friends house, 8 pack of beer for €2.60!

12-15 beers - €20-€30? If only that could be true... Even if you spend the maximum example and the minimum number of drinks that comes to 2.50. Thats just not possible.

EDIT: I am a total idiot, just realised you are in Hamburg. Grrr...now I'm embarrassed AND jealous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cunnins4

Cycle in-free
    Shoulder of southy-16
    Large bottle of lucozade-2.30
    Palace on Camden St. -free in
    Cycle home-free
    _________
    total-18.30

(That's a rare night when i'm ABSOLUTELY skint!!!)
    beat that.

Otherwise it'd be
    bus in-1.40
    6-8 pints ~40 quid
    spar roll - 4
    nitelink- 4
    total 50 quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

For me, it would usually go as follows:

DART in is free, as I also get a monthly ticket. If I'd gone to a mate's house beforehand, it would be €2 for the bus, and €5 for Pratskis.

Free in to where-ever I'm going. I tend to go in early, and in many places if you are in the front bar long enough you can get into the nightclub free of charge.
    8 or so pints, costiung about €40.
    A bottle of water when I leave. I never buy food when hammered; I am surprisingly able to maintain a lot of discipline on this point.
    Nitelink home is €4. I vitually never get taxis, as they would cost €30 to my place, whereas the Nitelink leaves me with just a fifteen minute walk.

This routine doesn't actually vary much at all with me. I am a predictable chap.

Noelie wrote:
    Duggy you say 5 pints only cost 16, that's 3.20 a pint where can you get that?
    In Dublin on a Saturday night a pint will cost between 5/6 Euro. so your 5 pints will cost between 25-30 Euro, nearly twice what you are claiming.

Well, I am from the county o' Roscommon so drink doesn't tend to be that expensive. €3.20 for a pint of Guinness in my local, one of the few pubs in my town that serve that price. Plus cuz we know the people who own the pub very well we get nice discounts on take-aways :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

The Bollox wrote:
    I simply want to know what you spend your hard earned cash on. fat frogs? jagerbombs? coctails? or just pints.

I personally just spend it on pints and bottles, hergo I don't spend that much. I just don't see the point in spending 8+ euro on a coctail when you could get 2 pints or shorts for the same price

I myself drink guinness. But there is only so much guinness i can stomach, maybe 6-8 pints, so then i make the change to jameson and coke. In a nite club where the guinness is usually muck i just go straight to the jameson and coke. Can't really stand pints of larger anymore, too gassy for me.

I would go out in dublin city centre. So guinness anywhere from 4.10 to 4.50, dunno exactly, i have even paid 5 on one occasion. Coke can be 2-3 and jameson 4-5, so the costs add up. Go for some jagherbombs on occasion.

Taxi home is around 15.

Never both with food as its usually a rip off.

Would usually end up spending around 50 on a night out as i normally end up in late bars and share a taxi or get the nite link, but if we go big could blow 100 without any hastle:cool:

The Bollox, the difference is if you spend your whole night drinking beer then it can end up costing you half as much as when spirits are involved. They cost more and you can drink them quicker ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Duggy747 wrote:
    Well, I am from the county o' Roscommon so drink doesn't tend to be that expensive. €3.20 for a pint of Guinness in my local, one of the few pubs in my town that serve that price. Plus cuz we know the people who own the pub very well we get nice discounts on take-aways :D
    I wouldn't call paying €2.50 per can a discount.

That's the normal price in my local. The off licence across the car park from it sell them for a significantly cheaper price. (15 bud for €20 last week. €14.20 for 8).

Terry wrote:
    I wouldn't call paying €2.50 per can a discount.

That's the normal price in my local. The off licence across the car park from it sell them for a significantly cheaper price. (15 bud for €20 last week. €14.20 for 8).

Well obviously, but they charge everyone else full price for the cans, which is a bit of a rip come to think of it...............meh, as long as it's not me.

Anywho, the one advantage of a local over an off-license is the oppertunity to get cans or what-not at 3a.m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

em ive spent 400 on just booze
    NO drugini!
    was in the porter house a year or so ago for the game and arrived on saturday morning and em well that was that. bye bye money.

i dont like going out because 60 is the right amount asuming you are going to town after 10 or 11 because otherwise you have no money left by closing time, i dont know how people can get drunk and have a great night on 50 euro i have no idea what you would have to be drinking to make 50 last a while night not even counting taxis and cost ins and food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

The Bollox wrote:
    no no no. I initially had €20, went to the bank link and took out another €20. the first 3 pints were 4.40 each. the taxi's were 4 euro each way. it was 3 euro into the nite club, 1.50 for coat and €3 a drink

3 x 4.40 = 13.20
    +
    3 x 4 = 12
    +
    + 1.50
    €30
    +
    4 x €3
    €42

I had some small change in my wallet as well as the €40

I do believe I'm owed an apology

[edit] I'm in North Co. Dublin btw

minimum fare is 3.80 (correct me if im wrong) so for four euro Im guessing you went two minutes down the road.

EDIT: I see now it was a hackney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

The_B_Man wrote:
    throw in 3 taxis and then see what it adds up to!

As long as you dont throw UP in 3 taxis, that would cost you dear!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

biko wrote:
    Galway city
    10 pints < E40
    Chinese < E10
    Row with gf - priceless

there are some things money can't buy, for everything else there's alcohol
    fixed :D