Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cost of a night out

• 13-08-2007 7:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭

I can't see how people manage to spend €100+ on a night out, I really don't. unless you're not just buying for yourself and not getting drink bought back for you.

I was out last night in a pub and then a niteclub. I took 3 Hackney journeys, I had to pay into the nite club and pay to store my coat. I only spent €40 and I got fairly drunk. I have a good tolerance for drink, it's not like 2 or 3 and I'm on my ear. I had about 7 / 8 pints. how the hell do you spend so much money when you go to the same places I do? do you walk down the street and say "oh look, a drain *throws €50 down the drain*"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

vodka & red bull, that's how

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Any shots for that matter!!

Some night with taxi and all I could spend €50 all in and i would be hammered.
    Other nights I could spend up to €200 all in on just myself and would be hammered going home!!

Just depends with various people on their favourite drinks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Depends on what part of the country you are in also..

Its cheaper in the smaller cities as opposed to Dublin..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

3 taxi journeys, pay into night club, and 8 pints = €40?

Can you give us a breakdown of that please? Where were the taxis to/from and how much did they cost you (I presume you were sharing though)? What nightclub and how much did it cost in? And where, please god tell me WHERE, in Dublin did you manage to get such a cheap pint?

Cheers

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

sorry but i think the bollox is talkin bollox! ;)

so u got 3 taxis, had 7/8 pints and spent no more than €40???

most places average around 4.50 for a pint. 8x 4.50 = €36!!

so u get it for free???? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

The Bollox wrote:
    I can't see how people manage to spend €100+ on a night out, I really don't. unless you're not just buying for yourself and not getting drink bought back for you.

I was out last night in a pub and then a niteclub. I took 3 taxi journeys, I had to pay into the nite club and pay to store my coat. I only spent €40 and I got fairly drunk. I have a good tolerance for drink, it's not like 2 or 3 and I'm on my ear. I had about 7 / 8 pints. how the hell do you spend so much money when you go to the same places I do? do you walk down the street and say "oh look, a drain *throws €50 down the drain*"
    Either you're rubbish at Maths or you're telling us big steaming stinky lies.

3 Taxis= 15 quid at least.
    Nightclub admission= bout 10 quid
    Cloakroom= 2 quid.

Thats 27 quid which leaves 13 quid for you to buy your 7/8 pints. Now repeat after Pighead "My names the Bollox and i'm full of shit"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

faceman wrote:
    sorry but i think the bollox is talkin bollox! ;)

so u got 3 taxis, had 7/8 pints and spent no more than €40???

most places average around 4.50 for a pint. 8x 4.50 = €36!!

so u get it for free???? :confused:

From reading it I understood that he spends €40 on drink alone!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭louisecm

Bollox.

In Galway I can go have a really decent night for 50 quid, but in Dublin I can easily spend around 100. Sometimes 30 on taxis, 10 into a place, and then 60 on drink (I do buy the odd drink for friends...). Its usually more like 80 but 100 can be done easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Cheap night out: Don't eat all day. 6 pints and you're sorted

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

louisecm wrote:
    Bollox.

In Galway I can go have a really decent night for 50 quid, but in Dublin I can easily spend around 100. Sometimes 30 on taxis, 10 into a place, and then 60 on drink (I do buy the odd drink for friends...). Its usually more like 80 but 100 can be done easily.

bollox. the only difference between the counties is probably taxi prices. I was in galway the past few days and the price of a pint is more or less the same than dublin. Halo niteclub is €13 in and a few quid for your jacket. Similar to dublin prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

no no no. I initially had €20, went to the bank link and took out another €20. the first 3 pints were 4.40 each. the taxi's were 4 euro each way. it was 3 euro into the nite club, 1.50 for coat and €3 a drink

3 x 4.40 = 13.20
    +
    3 x 4 = 12
    +
    + 1.50
    €30
    +
    4 x €3
    €42

I had some small change in my wallet as well as the €40

I do believe I'm owed an apology

[edit] I'm in North Co. Dublin btw

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

talking utter poopie

even predrinking before hand will cost 50 minium, taxi, food, club in, maybe a pint or two in there. 100 euro isnt alot to spend really...its a 'good night' if you spent 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

It depends on the night. I have had very cheap nights for €25 - €30 but at the same time I was at the Galway races for the last weekend of it and I spent over €100 on a night. I was drinking whiskey and Jagerbombs and add foos on top of that and it adds up easily.

I had decided beforehand I would make a good weekend out of it because twas my last big weekend before going back to college next month. It all depends on your mindset before you go out. You can decide to watch the cents or not.

HA! €3 into a nightclub what sort of dive was it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭louisecm

faceman wrote:
    bollox. the only difference between the counties is probably taxi prices. I was in galway the past few days and the price of a pint is more or less the same than dublin. Halo niteclub is €13 in and a few quid for your jacket. Similar to dublin prices.

Fair enough, I should have pointed out that in Galway things are so close together that I either don't need to get taxis or they are really cheap. Nightclub prices are more expensive actually here than in Dublin, but for some reason a night here always seems to cost less than at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Jack Bauer

Get a naggen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

What club was it buddy?

it was After Dark in Balbriggan

80's night

The Bollox wrote:
    no no no. I initially had €20, went to the bank link and took out another €20. the first 3 pints were 4.40 each. the taxi's were 4 euro each way. it was 3 euro into the nite club, 1.50 for coat and €3 a drink

3 x 4.40 = 13.20
    +
    3 x 4 = 12
    +
    + 1.50
    €30
    +
    4 x €3
    €42

I had some small change in my wallet as well as the €40

I do believe I'm owed an apology

[edit] I'm in North Co. Dublin btw
    Bollox. Minimum fare for a taxi is a fiver. Why are you lying to us The Bollox. What the hell is wrong with you?:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Minimum fare is not a fiver...

Anyway, I don't spend much in town, I drink before hand. If I went out and just drank in town, I'd easily spend 100 quid. At Least 50 of that would be drink alone.

Pighead wrote:
    Bollox. Minimum fare for a taxi is a fiver. Why are you lying to us The Bollox. What the hell is wrong with you?:mad:
    don't call me a liar Pighead. I may be the Bollox, a bit of a wanker, a liar, but I am NOT a communist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

i go out in enfield and the drink in the nite club is fairly expensive so id have a few drinks at home first and then go to the nite club!!
    i could spend about 60 or 70 but i would be buying for people and having drinks bought back.
    its actually very easy to spend alot on a night out!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

The Bollox wrote:

I was out last night in a pub and then a niteclub. I took 3 taxi journeys, I had to pay into the nite club and pay to store my coat. I only spent €40 and I got fairly drunk. I have a good tolerance for drink, it's not like 2 or 3 and I'm on my ear. I had about 7 / 8 pints. how the hell do you spend so much money when you go to the same places I do? do you walk down the street and say "oh look, a drain *throws €50 down the drain*"

40 quid :rolleyes: Were you driving the taxi yourself and did ur ould ones own the niteclub?

You didn't do it in Dublin thats for sure (that's if you did it at all....)

Giblet wrote:

Anyway, I don't spend much in town, I drink before hand. If I went out and just drank in town, I'd easily spend 100 quid. At Least 50 of that would be drink alone.
    Another bloody liar, its contagious by the looks of things. Step into a taxi and its 3.80 before he even moves, if he drives even an inch there's an extra 95 cent added on. Therefore minimum fare is a fiver(ish!)

Pighead: Delivering truth to the masses since 1977.

Pighead wrote:
    Another bloody liar, its contagious by the looks of things. Step into a taxi and its 3.80 before he even moves, if he drives even an inch there's an extra 95 cent added on. Therefore minimum fare is a fiver(ish!)

it wasn't a meter taxi, it was static fare. there was a group of us, it was €4 each. if you have a problem being outsmarted by a bollox then take it to PI

Haha pighead is bested. The ol "more than one guy" trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

if i go out on a weekday and can't get somewhere to crash in town it's automatically 50 euros for a taxi home.

then 40 or so on drinks with pre drinking before hand too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Bus in 4 euro. Maybe 4 pints beforehand, 18 brings us to 22. 10 into club. 5 more pints, we are already at 52 euro. As the dance tunage blares up you have had enough beer, need a quick full of energy hit. 3 bottles of blue WKD brings us to 67-70 euro. Buy another round of 3 and a later round of 2 for yourself, we are at 95. After club food 6 quid. Shared taxi brings us nicely to 110.

I could have the same night above in Glasgow for 60 euro (you mightnt even need that much drink, in that town pulling doesnt depend on givng it uberstylish socks on the floor to some bird, its a case of walk in, go to bar, say "whats the story" in your smoothest Irish brogue to some young one standing beside you and she will call all her mates over with the shrill exclaimation that me and my crew are Irish :D)

Its about 30 seconds between them all rushing over, choosing your favourite and opening the scoring in the Irish away leg within the opening seconds of the match :D God i hate Dublin since i came back :( Even the Glasgow doormen are full of craic once they hear the accent/see place of birth on passport.

I realise this was an exceptional circumstance, but it is extremely rare that I will spend more than €50 on a night out. this is mostly due to the fact that I have a few cans beforehand, but even the lads that I would be out with would start where I start and still manage to spend a ridiculous ammount of money in the pubs / nite clubs. the only reason I can see for this is that I don't buy gay drinks* like WKD or Smirnoff Ice. I buy pints, bottles and shorts. I don't bother with Jagerbombs because they are a very expensive watered down version of Jagermeister, which is rocket fuel. I love it

*gay meaning happy, not homosexual :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Pighead wrote:

Actualy the minimum fare 8.00pm to 8.00am is €4.10 and includes the 1st 1Km or 170 seconds of time ( moral is dont keep a taxi waiting! ) the €3.80 would apply between 8.00am and 8.00pm but still includes the 1st 1Km. So if indeed the meter clocks up as soon as you move off you either a) kept the taxi waiting or b) He had the meter on and primed before you got in ( An old trick that seems to be coming back in, solution is to either "flag" the taxi down or if at a rank look through window 1st to make sure meter is in "for Hire" mode )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Giblet wrote:

No, its 4.10 after 8pm. Which is more than The Bollox's "4 euro". Except for his significantly later tacked on clarification...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I don't bother anymore. Real life doesn't inspire me enough.

have none of you ever seen a taxi without a meter? never heard of Lightning Cabs or Abacus Cabs?

in a group of three or more a taxi to another part of Skerries costs €2 each. to Balbriggan it costs €4 each. is there no-one on Boards from either Skerries or Balbriggan who can confirm this?

it's as simple as. there are very few meter taxi's around here, and if given the choice of hailing a meter taxi or calling a company taxi for the fixed price above. you would need something lose upstairs to consider the meter taxi option.

The Bollox wrote:
    have none of you ever seen a taxi without a meter? never heard of Lightning Cabs or Abacus Cabs?

Definition Time----

TAXI
    Can be hailed from the street or at a rank. Has big roof sign and a meter, which (by law) has to be used for all journeys not exempted by the use of a prebooking waiver form

Hackney
    MUST be prebooked by telephone or at a cab office, Can NOT (legaly) be hailed on the street or at a rank ( Insurance would be void if picking up from the street ), has NO roofsign and no meter and fare should be preagreed with the customer

MYOB wrote:
    No, its 4.10 after 8pm. Which is more than The Bollox's "4 euro". Except for his significantly later tacked on clarification...
    So it's 4.10 and not a fiver. I'm right. Grand so.

The Bollox wrote:
    it wasn't a meter taxi, it was static fare. there was a group of us, it was €4 each. if you have a problem being outsmarted by a bollox then take it to PI
    What the fcuk is going on here. You wander into After Hours scratching your head as to how people spend so much money on a night out bragging that you only spent 40 quid.

Upon further questioning it's revealed that you got a taxi with a big gang of people, you went to what seems to be the cheapest nightclub in Dublin and as well as that the pints were 3 quid each. Of course you're gonna have a cheap night using those variables ya big ninny.

Its like Pighead robbing a DVD player and starting a thread called "Anybody who pays more than 0 quid for a DVD player is a spanner".

Must try harder, The Bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

40 quid nights rock, i cant wait to get back to galway.
    no taxi and free entry to clubs rock! when i'm back in sligo, i could pay 70 quid for a decent saturday, man i hate living so far out i have to get a taxi.

I stated already that these were exceptional circumstances. and I said that on other nights, going to other nite clubs where I would be paying more in, I still would only be spending about €50, and not double that. this was the point of the thread. and I was not bragging, I was pointing out how cheap it can be to have a good night. perhaps the thread belongs in Bargin Alerts.

to Spook_ie. my apologies, I didn't know they were called Hackney's. I thought they were all called taxi's

At the end of the day it depends on where and how you want to go.

You live in Swords then Wednesday nights goto Velvet Nightclub or Tamangoes they have "cheap" students nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

Very rarely Spend any more than €80 on a night out. thats usually a taxi into town and back out included. Taxi home nearly always sharing with someone.
    and normally mostly buyin drink for myself or rounds but with normally only one other person. so its not really rounds i suppose....
    I dont get how ppl say they spend €100 / €150 and all that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

I honestly cant remember if i've ever survived in town on €50.

I dont go crazy by any means. town at 10 ish, few beers in a pub, go to club, pay in, get rid of the jacket.

Now the pints have to stop once you reach the club, they taste rank from clubs so I normally go on to either bottles of beer or more often than not vodka and lucozade or my fave cap't morgan and coke.

After the club a bite to eat and a taxi.

You will not see any change in €100 here or more often €150.

Question bollox.. do you go out with the intention of not spending over €50 i.e. do you watch the cash after every pint and slow down as you're getting closer to the magic €50?

Sure I could probably survive on €50 but I'd be home at 12am tucked up in bed

thank God, someone's on the same wavelength.

I don't go into the city so taxi's / hackney's cost f*ck all. if I did I'd be at the same level
    Wisesmurf wrote:
    Question bollox.. do you go out with the intention of not spending over €50 i.e. do you watch the cash after every pint and slow down as you're getting closer to the magic €50?

nope. it's just the roll of the dice. as I said I have a few cans beforehand and I'm not a heavy drinker, I'd rather be on a good buzz and know what I'm doing than have a scene missing and find out I did some unthinkable things. then again I pretty much always remember my nights, regardless of what state I'm in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Being 18 means cheap nights. 4.30 2 litre cider beforehand in a house. 10euro club. 2euro drinks. Walk home.
    Badda Bing

Pighead wrote:

Its like Pighead robbing a DVD player and starting a thread called "Anybody who pays more than 0 quid for a DVD player is a spanner".

PMSL! quote of the week!

The Bollox wrote:
    I stated already that these were exceptional circumstances. and I said that on other nights, going to other nite clubs where I would be paying more in, I still would only be spending about €50, and not double that. this was the point of the thread. and I was not bragging, I was pointing out how cheap it can be to have a good night. perhaps the thread belongs in Bargin Alerts.
    Listen buddy, you started off this thread with a bit of a tude on you. You were antagonising all us good folk who find it easy to spend a hundred quid in a night. Example:
    The Bollox wrote:
    do you walk down the street and say "oh look, a drain *throws €50 down the drain*"

Then you made it sound like you were talking about general nights out and not the "Exceptional circumstances" that you piped up with much later. You said
    The Bollox wrote:
    how the hell do you spend so much money when you go to the same places I do?
    Now surely you don't think all boardsies frequent this poxy little nightclub in Skerries or wherever it is. C'mon The Bollox you made a boo boo and its high time you admitted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Having small children means no nights out, and therefore no money spent on going out. Kids save you money- sometimes!

kelle wrote:
    Having small children means no nights out, and therefore no money spent on going out. Kids save you money- sometimes!

Do they not have "grab a granny" nights in Mayo then, 1st Tuesday of the month just after family allowences are paid?

I am talking about people who go on the same night as me, start off at the same session and end up spending crazy amounts of money. as I said, if I went into Dublin City I would spend more than I would at my local bars and clubs, and that's because of the taxi's and somewhat more expensive booze, but I would still not go over €100 on these occations, while others would.

kelle wrote:
    Kids save you money? What sort of Utopian nirvana do you live in babes? Is your name Mary Poppins?

Spend money on drink and kebabs for myself or spend money on nappies for some little baldie kid who cries all the time. To be honest, Pighead would much prefer cleaning his own puke and poo up on a Sunday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

I spend feck all

Bus to Dublin - have a weekly ticket so I wouldnt include that
    Burger King - €7
    Pub entry fee - €3
    6/7 pints - €30-35
    NightLink bus home - €10
    Taxi home after that - €5

= about 60 quid