Ownership of guns.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,911 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I think that's an issue for the Gardai. Such a thread has been done here before.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

That's the whole point!

If a thief is pointing a gun at you, he has already indicated that he believes it's worth killing over. Further, if you don't believe the thief would shoot, why would you hand over the money/car keys/whatever? There are also ample examples of occasions where those who were totally compliant were still killed. To quote the English philosopher John Locke on being faced by a robber: "“I have no reason to suppose that he who would take away my liberty, would not, when he had me in his power, take away everything else." In other words, you are suggesting that I leave my life fully in the hands of someone who has already proven immoral enough to rob me. I don't like that option much.
    You can say that, as you're not Bruce. Here, I'll hand you a revolver. Would you play a game of Russian Roulette? Perhaps a one-in-six chance is too rich for you? What if it was one-in-100? Would you still pull the trigger? One in a thousand? You may recall the recent controversy of the execution of one Tookie Williams in California. The low statistics of being shot after full compliance certainly didn't come out in favour of his victims, did he? What if you were Mrs Bruce Flanders, would the low statistics have been much of a consolation had he been shot after the fact? As the old phrase goes, live by the sword, die by the sword. If you go around threatening people with lethal force during the carrying out of your illegal activities, I don't think it's unreasonable to receive equal treatment in return.

In a robbery a theifs goal is to rob stuff. He/she would usually want to do this with as little problems as possible and would very rarely want to shoot the clerk for no good reason. There are many counter examples as you mention but again most of the time its probably not going to happen, and these big cases like Tookie tend to cloud rational judgement with fear.

If I'm a clerk and I'm faced with a gun to my temple the last thing running through my mind would be the word liberty. It is no time to think on principle, but thats not to say rational thought is out of the question. It is time to stay alive and the best chance of staying alive is to follow instructions from the theives, give them what they want and not pull out a gun and try to shoot one of them. What if Bruce missed or dropped his gun or any number of horrible possibilities and he got killed because of it? Yes I think the odds matter hugely and I think life comes before liberty.

A weaker counter argument but valid nonetheless is that if there is no armed clerks then there is less risk to theives from the clerks and so the theives have less of a reason to shoot. Of course this means that robbery is a more attractive proposition but there are other more effective means of combatting this without putting clerks on the front lines.
    I think you're pushing it, there.
    Why?
    Joe Public, by way of the Constitution and the legislature. Castle Doctrine laws are being passed in more and more states as it is, for example. I point out that the right to use lethal force in self defense is quite enshrined in British law as well, and as a consequence (since Irish Common Law derives greatly from that of the UK), Irish. It just happens that US law makes it easier to carry out that right.

I dont doubt that, but it certainly doesnt make it right in my opinion. Telling Joe Public that you can use lethal force in self defence and then telling him that he can carry a gun is just going to end up in more shootings.
    Little is quite as effective, either psychologically or physically, as a sidearm.

I basically agree with you. The line to be drawn is wether or not the weapon is deadly or not. If a weapon is deadly people are afraid to use it so the psychological aspect of such a weapon works both ways. If the weapon is seized by an assailant then it can be a very dangerous situation. Again its all just too powerful and just increases the risk to loss of life all around.
    False conclusion: It's quite possible that a decrease in RTC states was over-ridden by an increase in Non-RTC states. This might particularly be the case since states with large cities (eg California, New York, Illinois, DC) are not RTC states (or indeed have outright bans), yet most murders happen in cities.

You declare I made a false conclusion, but you certainly havent proved it. I'd welcome it if you did (might save me some researching :D)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,911 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

eoin5 wrote:
    In a robbery a theifs goal is to rob stuff. He/she would usually want to do this with as little problems as possible and would very rarely want to shoot the clerk for no good reason.

There you go with the 'rarely' again.

I reiterate: I do not like to leave my wellbeing solely to statistics, chance, and the good intentions of criminals.
    If I'm a clerk and I'm faced with a gun to my temple the last thing running through my mind would be the word liberty.

When did I ever say anything about liberty? (Other than in reference to national uprising against an unresponsive government)
    It is time to stay alive and the best chance of staying alive is to follow instructions from the theives, give them what they want and not pull out a gun and try to shoot one of them.

What makes you so sure? If I am unarmed, I have two choices: I can comply, and hope for the best, or I can resist, and probably lose. If armed, I have two choices: I can comply, and hope for the best, or I can resist, and possibly come out the better, possibly the worse. But that decision is mine to make: I can weigh the situation, and come to the conclusion of my chances on my own and make the decision on my own. If I think I couldn't come the better out of it, I could still passively comply just as you suggest. But I do not accept that I must always take that route.
    What if Bruce missed or dropped his gun or any number of horrible possibilities and he got killed because of it?

But he didn't did he? Neither did the other guy yesterday. It seems they weighed their chances correctly. What if he complied completely and still got killed? There's no way of knowing, is there?
    A weaker counter argument but valid nonetheless is that if there is no armed clerks then there is less risk to theives from the clerks and so the theives have less of a reason to shoot. Of course this means that robbery is a more attractive proposition but there are other more effective means of combatting this without putting clerks on the front lines.

I do not suggest that armed clerks are a panacea. They're just another line of defense against wrongdoing.

However, you are focusing purely on stand-offs/drawdowns. As I mentioned, California law presumes that a homeowner is in reasonable fear of his life if someone breaks into his house and may thus use lethal force. The nature of my house's design happens to be that my bedroom is easily defensible, with the door opening directly onto a straight staircase all the way down, funneled by walls on each side. There is no danger of trying to outdraw someone, and a firearm puts me in a position of great advantage, even if it's completely dark. (Or especially if it's completely dark) It's possible that the TV downstairs will get stolen, and maybe the dog killed/injured, but at least I'll be fairly secure and safe, with the odds highly in my favour if anyone starts up the stairs towards me. Nobody climbs the stairs, chances are nobody gets shot. I would not be in such a secure position if I were restricted in my right to have a firearm.
    Why?

I'm talking about meeting the threat of lethal force, once made, with lethal force. You're talking about striking before threats of force are made.
    I dont doubt that, but it certainly doesnt make it right in my opinion. Telling Joe Public that you can use lethal force in self defence and then telling him that he can carry a gun is just going to end up in more shootings.

And as long as the right people get shot, what's the issue? US laws are structured that going around shooting people for spurious reasons is generally frowned upon.

Or are you talking about people randomly going ape in cases of road rage and the like? From the justfacts website:
    221,443 concealed carry licenses were issued in Florida between October of 1987 and April of 1994. During that time, Florida recorded 18 crimes committed by licensees with firearms.

Between September of 1987 and August of 1992, Dade County recorded 4 crimes committed by licensees with firearms. None of these crimes resulted in an injury. The record keeping program was abandoned in 1992 because there were not enough incidents to justify tracking them

As of 1998, nationwide, there has been 1 recorded incident in which a permit holder shot someone following a traffic accident. The permit holder was not charged, as the grand jury ruled the shooting was in self defense

That's a pretty decent law-abidingness rate. Find me a town in Ireland, size of over 200,000 persons, with 18 crimes in it in seven years.
    If a weapon is deadly people are afraid to use it so the psychological aspect of such a weapon works both ways.

I've shot at people before, I see no reason to believe I should not be able to bring myself to do so again. Are you suggesting that because someone else might make the erroneous/irresponsible decision to arm themselves without being sure that they could shoot that I should be penalised and restricted from my possible courses of action?
    If the weapon is seized by an assailant then it can be a very dangerous situation.

And if the victim is unarmed it can also be a very dangerous situation. The whole 'turned on yourself by the assailant' argument is rather overstated, and is actually fairly rare. But if it should happen that my firearm is turned upon me, it would be my decision and my actions which contributed to it, not some unknown person pontificating upon the concept.
    Again its all just too powerful and just increases the risk to loss of life all around.

We may have a fundamental difference of opinion as to the tragedy involved in the loss of life of a criminal. The policy over here is simple: If you threaten to take a life, your life can be taken in defense. If you think that this is excessive, I would suggest that the solution is to convince people not to point guns at other people to try to rob them, not to turn people into mandatorily passive victims. The concept is, I would think, very simple and elegant: If you leave me alone, I will leave you alone. How can anyone argue with that? As long as nobody threatens me, my firearms will happily kill nothing more than a paper target, bowling pin, or coke can. I don't even hunt.
    You declare I made a false conclusion, but you certainly havent proved it. I'd welcome it if you did (might save me some researching :D)

I rephrase: Your conclusion may or may not be false, but the method by which you came to it is unsupportable. As for the actual answer, I'd need to hunt around a bit myself.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,930 ✭✭✭✭Victor

221,443 concealed carry licenses were issued in Florida between October of 1987 and April of 1994. During that time, Florida recorded 18 crimes committed by licensees with firearms.

Between September of 1987 and August of 1992, Dade County recorded 4 crimes committed by licensees with firearms. None of these crimes resulted in an injury. The record keeping program was abandoned in 1992 because there were not enough incidents to justify tracking them

As of 1998, nationwide, there has been 1 recorded incident in which a permit holder shot someone following a traffic accident. The permit holder was not charged, as the grand jury ruled the shooting was in self defense
    And how many committed by unlicenced persons and / or formerly licenced weapons that fell into the hands of criminals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

Victor wrote:
    And how many committed by unlicenced persons and / or formerly licenced weapons that fell into the hands of criminals?

Criminals can get all the guns they want, even right here in good old Ireland.. along with metric tons of cocaine! Are we, the citizens to blame for this? Err no, we don't have any guns for them to steal.. the crims are importing them along with the drugs.

Ireland is a clear example that all the gun laws the politicians can think of do nothing to keep them out of the hands of criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Does anyone hate the way in this country, we are prohibted from owning fire arms? As ' democracy', we are entitled to own guns for our protection, but no, not in good ol' Eire. The thing which angers me is, that while the scumbags own guns in abbudance, we are just injured prey unable to defend ourselves. This needs to change in my opinion.

What do you think?
    Problem here is then that it becomes a case of who has the most destructive gun rather than just who has a gun (making for even more mayhem and destruction than just who has a gun scenario), and then you give the gardaí yet another excuse to skive off and not do their jobs.

Throw our alcoholic tendencies into the mix, along with the resulting stupid fights and are you really sure Irish people should be allowed to get guns so easily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

That's not an issue of democracy at all, unless you're talking larger scale, are worried that the government isn't really listening to you and you need to make a point. I seem to vaguely recall something of that nature happening in Ireland around 1920 or so. And 1916, while I think of it. Those in Ireland who would quickly disparage the concept of the private citizenry holding firearms to preserve their freedoms would be blithely forgetting that their grandparents or great-grandparents were doing precisely that in order to establish the country in the first place. It wasn't people holding signs and demonstrating outside of Dublin Castle that brought about Irish independence, after all. It was Paddy O'Shea, the farmer or banker, with a Mauser. You could doubtless argue that that was 80 years ago, we don't need to worry about this sort of thing any more. Which may be true today. But if it becomes not true tomorrow, what are you going to do about it if you've been disarmed?
    Put it down.

Come on.

Drop it.

Drop...it...

Please.

Come on. There's really no need for this.

Put it down.

Just put down the ****ing remote control, step away from the TV and stop watching fox news.

You come across as extremely paranoid in all your posts in this thread.

Fair enough, you live in a place where people have plenty of guns, but that is not the case here.
    You can't just walk into a shop and buy a gun.

Sing it with me:
    This is not America

Nobody is going to invade Ireland. We are completely safe. We do not need guns. The drug dealers have guns, but they tend to shoot each other. Leave them to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

tuxy wrote:
    Are all people that go to a school in Blackrock like this?
    I don't know the OP at all, so I'm only guessing. I'm fairly sure the answer is 'no'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Terry wrote:
    Put it down.

Come on.

Drop it.

Drop...it...

Please.

Come on. There's really no need for this.

Put it down.

Just put down the ****ing remote control, step away from the TV and stop watching fox news.

You come across as extremely paranoid in all your posts in this thread.

Fair enough, you live in a place where people have plenty of guns, but that is not the case here.
    You can't just walk into a shop and buy a gun.

Sing it with me:
    This is not America

Nobody is going to invade Ireland. We are completely safe. We do not need guns. The drug dealers have guns, but they tend to shoot each other. Leave them to it.

Paranoid? This island is one of the most likely areas in western europe to flare up into sectarian violence or civil war.

It's really odd that people think that banning readily available technology is a good idea.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Giblet wrote:
    You hear that? Us mods are ARMED!
    I only have a sword, should I ante up?
    Couple of low slung sandalwood grip guns maybe. Mmm, that's good modding.
    I wonder do other mods arm themselves when modding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

If every twit like the op had a gun the place would be like america.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Dr_Teeth wrote:
    Criminals can get all the guns they want, even right here in good old Ireland.. along with metric tons of cocaine! Are we, the citizens to blame for this? Err no, we don't have any guns for them to steal.. the crims are importing them along with the drugs.

Ireland is a clear example that all the gun laws the politicians can think of do nothing to keep them out of the hands of criminals.

Crims are a tiny tiny minority of the population who can access guns, the rest of us can't unless licensed hence less people having guns, less gun crime.

The gun laws are there for a reason, to control the amount of guns in circulation.
    If every one had a right to access/carry a gun legally, everybody would just buy guns out of fear 'coz the skanger next door has one who might steal my car/mug me' hence you'd guarantee the gun crime rate would skyrocket just like in USA as guns would replace fists as a way of settling scores.

And then the Gardai will need guns to enforce the law on the baddies who have the guns, its a viscous circle.

Thats a valid reason why European countries have a dismal gun crime rate when compared to USA and i for one want the status quo to stay here as it is.

Bambi wrote:
    Paranoid? This island is one of the most likely areas in western europe to flare up into sectarian violence or civil war.

It's really odd that people think that banning readily available technology is a good idea.
    Not really.

Let's be honest here. Nobody is really that bothered.
    The whole Catholic Vs Protestant thing has been done. They have stormont now. All is well.
    France is a lot more volatile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭cooperguy

A huge amount of people have been hurt or killed with their own weapons that they have for "defence" in America. Your just asking for trouble owning a gun you dont need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Bambi wrote:

Terry wrote:
    Not really.

The whole Catholic Vs Protestant thing has been done. They have stormont now. All is well.

She was talking about the north and south of dublin. it's a tinderbox.

Ahh, I see.
    They can kill each other for all I care.
    I live in Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Does anyone hate the way in this country, we are prohibted from owning fire arms?

No.
    As ' democracy', we are entitled to own guns for our protection, but no, not in good ol' Eire.

Says who.
    Surely as a democracy, the majority should decide, it shouldnt' be a random entitlement?
    The thing which angers me is, that while the scumbags own guns in abbudance, we are just injured prey unable to defend ourselves.

If someone wants to shoot you, you will likely be shot before you can do anything about it.
    What do you think?

That random yokels don't need firearms and the less of them in the country the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Bambi wrote:
    This island is one of the most likely areas in western europe to flare up into sectarian violence or civil war.

Exaggerating a bit, aren't you... You could also say that Sunderland are the most likely of the three promoted teams to win the Premiership. Could possibly be true but it ain't going to happen. BTW I think if it was any country it would be France.

And even if that were true, surely that would be an even bigger reason NOT to make gun ownership easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

There are gun clubs etc in Ireland, it's just hard to get a license with good reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Little boys and their toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Oh *bangs head on desk* for *bangs head on desk* the *bangs head on desk* love *bangs head on desk* of *bangs head on desk* small *bangs head on desk* furry *bangs head on desk* animals.

/me wishes he could get back the time he just wasted reading this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

this is why we shouldnt have guns in ireland :(

http://youtube.com/watch?v=eBGIQ7ZuuiU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Does anyone hate the way in this country, we are prohibted from owning fire arms? As ' democracy', we are entitled to own guns for our protection, but no, not in good ol' Eire. The thing which angers me is, that while the scumbags own guns in abbudance, we are just injured prey unable to defend ourselves. This needs to change in my opinion.

What do you think?
    I have a handgun for target practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Sparks wrote:
    Oh *bangs head on desk* for *bangs head on desk* the *bangs head on desk* love *bangs head on desk* of *bangs head on desk* small *bangs head on desk* furry *bangs head on desk* animals.

It's like picking a scab, isn't it?

Welcome ot AH.
    Just be thankful we didn't send this thread your way.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Really fun and satisfying?
    Naughty but nice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

Bambi wrote:
    This island is one of the most likely areas in western europe to flare up into sectarian violence or civil war.
    Terry wrote:
    Not really.

I think he may be talking about the Wexford/Kilkenny rivalry - the writing's on the wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Sparks wrote:

*phew* u saved me there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

Manic,

As was said, this is not america. The us has had freely available firearms for over 200 years now including lax laws in many states on automatic weapons and weapons of a large caliber. The us reached a saturation point long ago in the past where its now irrelevant weather the weapon is legally registered or not becuase so many unregistered weapons might also be considered legally held as they were bought before registration.

In the us, you have a requirement for self defense.
    In Ireland we do not.

Which of the two of us is the happier and luckier for the fact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

Also, for some fun we could ban cigarettes and make automatic weapons freely available simultaneously for epic lulz :)