Related to Americans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

scitpo wrote:
    I've been saying this for years. You're only fully Irish in my mind if your parents were born here and you were brought up in Ireland as well.
    Well born here at least... I'm looking at you Dermot O'Leary you stupid plank!:mad:
    As for "Irish-Americans" if you have to go past your grandparents to have a ancestor born here then sod off, you're just American (or at least not Irish-American).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

faceman wrote:
    not true. Irish americans are believed to have invented common slang used today.
    I would love it if it turned out that the Irish in america were the ones to introduce the word "mom", the look on the faces of all those people who constantly complain about the word would be priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,162 ✭✭✭BKtje

My dad is Irish, my mom is dutch. I was born in the netherlands and moved here when i was five. I have an irish accent when speaking english and a dutch accent when speaking dutch. I have an irish passport. I would consider myself to be mainly Irish.

Would i be considered Irish by the majority here?

Friends of mine has a dutch father, irish mother, lived here all his life, has a few words of dutch (enough for an average conversation at least). He has a dutch passport and considers himself mainly dutch.

Would he be considered dutch by the majority here (i'd be surprised if many did tbh)?

I don't care where people think they are from. If they want to be x,y,z and have some links to that place then good for them as long as they are interested in finding out more about the culture they wish to be a part of .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Stop livin' in the past, man. Contemporise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

B-K-DzR wrote:
    I don't care where people think they are from. If they want to be x,y,z and have some links to that place then good for them as long as they are interested in finding out more about the culture they wish to be a part of .
    Dougal: Can I still be a priest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭louisecm

Wow.

tol·er·ance [tol-er-uhns] Pronunciation Key - Show IPA Pronunciation
    –noun

1. a fair, objective, and permissive attitude toward those whose opinions, practices, race, religion, nationality, etc., differ from one's own; freedom from bigotry.

2. a fair, objective, and permissive attitude toward opinions and practices that differ from one's own.

3. interest in and concern for ideas, opinions, practices, etc., foreign to one's own; a liberal, undogmatic viewpoint.

Might be worth bearing in mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭pvt. joker

Nailz wrote:
    I encountered many ignorant Americans in my time. I was sitting beside a father one time in Disney Land back a few years ago waiting...

Father: So you on holiday?
    Me: Yeah... *no shít*
    Father: So how long are you here for?
    Me: Week and a half.
    Father: Where you comin' from anyways? I'm from Colorado.
    Me: I'm from Ireland, me.
    Father: Where's that?
    Me: You know, Ireland. *glancing at him as to say ignorant 'American'*
    Father: Oh yeah, I know but... you don't seem like one.
    Me: *role-eyes* Hows that?
    Father: Well your accent and the way you dress and look.
    Me: *typical* Well, whats my accent 'supposed' to sound like?
    Father: Like the Iiii-rish guy in the Simpsons.
    Me: *my god, he's using stereotype* What about the way I look then?
    Father: You're 'supposed' be fair and wearing green (stupid eejit, he's in his 30's)
    Me: Okay...
    Father: You suprised me.
    Me: Well don't be.
    Father: You's are normaly drunk.
    Me: What?!?
    Father: We normaly, see this on TV and stuff. *prick!*
    Me: Don't get caught up with stereotypes.
    Father: Alrighty. Well, hows the holidays? How are the Americans treating you?
    Me: *hidden insult* Well you Americans are exactly how I pictured.

WTF do you think about that?

this never happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭yankinlk

farohar wrote:
    Well born here at least... I'm looking at you Dermot O'Leary you stupid plank!
    As for "Irish-Americans" if you have to go past your grandparents to have a ancestor born here then sod off, you're just American (or at least not Irish-American).

I have the mother and the grandmother but was raised in the states. If I was raised say in Oz or Scotland and then returned to Ireland would you be quicker to say I was Irish then if I was raised in America?

To B-K-DzR - Exactly what im talking about! Personally I refer to myself as American-Irish and have never heard anyone else use that term.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

no, you'd be australian or scottish.

Mordeth wrote:
    no, you'd be australian or scottish.

But there certainly wouldn't be a whinging thread about it.

The-Rigger wrote:
    Yes, that's comparable.

There aren't enough :confused::o:confused::o:confused::o:confused::o:confused::o:confused::o:confused::o:confused: permitted per post.

What's the difference...besides your overwhelming sence of self-importance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Yank, a true American will not claim to be _______-American. Like I really doubt Tim McVeigh ran around Buffalo New York dressed as a God damn Leprechaun.

What are you even on about? How do you know what a "true American" is? Where did all this worldly experience come from?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭coyote6

It can get quite silly over here as far as marketing to "Irish-Americans". I mean schmaltzy, sentimental and chessy. On Paddy's Day it can get pretty weird too. Its almost as if people don't really think of Ireland as a country existing "now" but look at it as some mythical place their ancestors came from.

As far as I know McVeigh was arrested wearing green but they were combats, not leprechaun trousers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭comongethappy

:rolleyes: lol - I do find it funny how many Americans say they have Irish decent. I was in a cab in Chicago with the hubby and the African-American (to be pc) taxi driver said he had Irish decent (okay - he could have - but I think a lot of it is overexaggerated). Anyhow, yeah, a lot of yanks know a lot about nothing, some a quite well educated. I think in the states it unfortunately tends to be one extreme or the other - they are quite ignorant or they are fairly well informed. Suppose every culture has it's downfalls anyhow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

I think my next thread will be about stereotypes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

The-Rigger wrote:
    Of more than half of American's I've talked too, when you mention a random everyday 1st world item such as a car, bus, a phone, etc etc

and they will stop you mid-sentance and say

'Y'all got those over there?!'.
    The last time I was back in Ireland I was asked by an Irish person, someone under 30 who lived most of there life in an Irish city if we had tea in America. Not if we drink tea, but if tea is even sold over there. I have been asked all sorts of dumb questions about America by Irish people who have never been.
    The-Rigger wrote:
    The mind fcuking boggles.
    Indeed it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭coyote6

Kernel32 wrote:
    The last time I was back in Ireland I was asked by an Irish person, someone under 30 who lived most of there life in an Irish city if we had tea in America. Not if we drink tea, but if tea is even sold over there. I have been asked all sorts of dumb questions about America by Irish people who have never been.

Indeed it does.

I think part of that is sort of a "thinking out loud" kind of thing. I'm sure if a person we're to ponder the question a bit the obvious answer would come to them. Or maybe not.... "feckin' eejits" everywhere.

Just finished two cups of green chai tea by the way...good medicine.

Exactly my point - i do not nor have I ever claimed to be a "true American".
    I also dont claim to be Irish purely because that doesnt 100% fit either.

It must to be great to be you - born with a hurley in your hand.

I think my next thread will be about stereotypes.

What, and the fact that you are their biggest proponent?

yankinlk wrote:
    I have the mother and the grandmother but was raised in the states. If I was raised say in Oz or Scotland and then returned to Ireland would you be quicker to say I was Irish then if I was raised in America?

To B-K-DzR - Exactly what im talking about! Personally I refer to myself as American-Irish and have never heard anyone else use that term.
    You don't state where you were born, so if you were raised in the US I'm just going to have to guess you were born there too => you're American, not Irish.
    American-Irish makes more sense as a term at least since it can be short for American of Irish descent but it's still silly fantasy on your end IMO.

Still tend to feel that if you're not born in a country (or possibly have lived there long enough to now be a citizen of the country) stop trying to claim connection to it. I.e. You're whatever nationality gives you your passport, I've never seen an "Irish-American" passport so all you "Irish Americans" can stop deluding yourselves.
    E.g. guy in my class in school, born in Britain but had lived most of his life here in Ireland, still was a British citizen (had a British passport not an Irish one) though so we all considered him to be British not Irish.

I say potato you say potaato, you say Irish-American the rest of the world says Stupid-American.:p :D

As for the tea comment that person (the one wondering if the US had tea) must have been a complete idiot, tea is of Chinese origin so with the US being closer to China than Ireland if anything they'd get it more easily than us and probably have a larger variety.

I really don't see why people want to claim to be from places that they are not anyway, everywhere has it's problems;
    e.g. Americans are percieved by those in other nations as loud, obnoxious and stupid, Irish however are percieved as alcoholic, thuggish and "too up themselves" (in the case of the ladies, seriously Irish women have a terrible reputation for being stuck up when it comes to lads trying to get to know them or just have a dance). I doubt there's any country out there that people don't have negative stereotypes about so what's the point to trying to pretend you're from somewhere else?

Or to put it another way why should Ireland be associated with America's rejects (why else can they not just be American, and not need some other descriptive term) without any consent on our end? You want to be Irish apply for citizenship, otherwise stop libelling us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,162 ✭✭✭BKtje

You're whatever nationality gives you your passport, I've never seen an "Irish-American" passport so all you "Irish Americans" can stop deluding yourselves.
    So basically i can change my nationality whenever i want?
    I think i'll stay Irish for the rest of this year then switch to dutch for most of 2008 followed by a quick stop as a Frenchman towards 2009 before finally returning to being Irish for the 2nd decade of the 2000's.

Well i dunno how eligible i am to be french but you get my point.

I'm fairly certain i have dual nationality. Now i wonder if i should call myself Dutchy-irish or Irish-Dutch. Either way i still only have an Irish passport.

Following may be interesting:
    While the US government does not endorse dual nationality, it does recognize its existence and does not require a foreign citizen to give up his or her other nationality in order to become a US citizen. ...

B-K-DzR wrote:
    So basically i can change my nationality whenever i want?
    I think you'll find that there is a requirement to have lived in the country for a certain amount of time (usually 5-10 years), changing citizenship is not that easy to do, if it were no-one would bother with work visas.

farohar wrote:
    You don't state where you were born, so if you were raised in the US I'm just going to have to guess you were born there too => you're American, not Irish.
    American-Irish makes more sense as a term at least since it can be short for American of Irish descent but it's still silly fantasy on your end IMO.

Still tend to feel that if you're not born in a country (or possibly have lived there long enough to now be a citizen of the country) stop trying to claim connection to it. I.e. You're whatever nationality gives you your passport, I've never seen an "Irish-American" passport so all you "Irish Americans" can stop deluding yourselves.
    E.g. guy in my class in school, born in Britain but had lived most of his life here in Ireland, still was a British citizen (had a British passport not an Irish one) though so we all considered him to be British not Irish.

I say potato you say potaato, you say Irish-American the rest of the world says Stupid-American.:p :D

You look at it as a question of political origin, Americans look at it from one of genetics. The only native americans are indians. Everyone else came from somewhere else and those customs get passed along. No one here says "i'm irish" in the context that they are a resident of that country, they say it in the context of "that's where my bloodlines are from"

I really don't understand what's so hard to understand about it.

I never knew Ireland and the US had a reciprocal Social Security agreement. weird..

Irish/United States Social Security Agreement - SW 91

http://www.welfare.ie/publications/sw91.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Even the Native Americans are not native to that continent. They arived from Siberia. And we all came from Africa anyway.

Its a politcal statement. Im Irish because i was born here. My dad has lived most of his life here, since he was 6 but he was born in England and so thats what he is, English. English passport etc. I am not Irish-English or anything else. Im Irish.

I understand what some people think, Americans and other people around the world that have Irish in them love to let people know and refer to themselves as part Irish.

So what? They will also refer to themselves as part German or Dutch or whatever other country their families are from.

My wife for instance is from Holland, Michigan. As you might imagine, this is a Dutch settlement so most people who live there consider themselves to be Dutch. My wifes family is originally from Chicago Illinois so she does not have any dutch, however she has Irish and German in her. Her name was O' Brien :D Hell she has red hair :D
    She considers herself American, but of Irish and German origin.

Saruman wrote:
    Even the Native Americans are not native to that continent. They arived from Siberia. And we all came from Africa anyway.

Its a politcal statement. Im Irish because i was born here. My dad has lived most of his life here, since he was 6 but he was born in England and so thats what he is, English. English passport etc. I am not Irish-English or anything else. Im Irish.

I understand what some people think, Americans and other people around the world that have Irish in them love to let people know and refer to themselves as part Irish.

You guys think it's some vast conspiracy to dillute the irish name. It's not just irish. native american, african american, italian, german, dutch etc. People want to know where they came from, why they look like they do, what their ancestors where like.

national geographic is doing a genealogical DNA study. You pay them a fee and mail in some of your DNA and they will trace certain markers and let you know where your dna is from (maternal or paternal)

http://www.dnaancestryproject.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

pvt. joker wrote:
    You guys think it's some vast conspiracy to dillute the irish name. It's not just irish. native american, african american, italian, german, dutch etc. People want to know where they came from, why they look like they do, what their ancestors where like.

national geographic is doing a genealogical DNA study. You pay them a fee and mail in some of your DNA and they will trace certain markers and let you know where your dna is from (maternal or paternal)

http://www.dnaancestryproject.com/
    Nah. We just think it's funny that a lot of Americans just can't seem to accept the fact that they are American.

pvt. joker wrote:
    You look at it as a question of political origin, Americans look at it from one of genetics. The only native americans are indians. Everyone else came from somewhere else and those customs get passed along. No one here says "i'm irish" in the context that they are a resident of that country, they say it in the context of "that's where my bloodlines are from"

I really don't understand what's so hard to understand about it.
    Then I'm afraid that there is no such thing as Irish, the "original Irish" (as in first to get here from Africa) were wiped out millenia ago by the Celts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

farohar wrote:
    Then I'm afraid that there is no such thing as Irish, the "original Irish" (as in first to get here from Africa) were wiped out millenia ago by the Celts.

I survived.