Gardai and summons issue re reg for an ID

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Depends, was on the lash with two mates about 18 months ago they both went up an alley to relieve themselves and met a gaurd both got summons, one of them lost the job about two weeks before court date and was starting new one the next week. Judge asks "Are you working" Mate says "No" Judge gives him 5 yoyo fine. Other mate gets asked the same question he says yeah, judge gives him a 150 Euro fine.:D :D
    So that's about €7.50 for the unemployed guy.
    Not too bad really.
    The judge would be impressed with the flashing lights too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Wow, I didn't realise the guards take this so seriously. I've done much worse and the guards just brought me home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Was it only one guard who apprehended you during the act? Cos I thought to receive a caution or be arrested there must be 2 gardai present because if there isn't it would just be your word against there's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

shane86 wrote:
    Ran up a quiet back alley, and just as im finishing a guard comes cycling up out of nowhere.

I heard rumours that the guards were being issued with cloaking devices, didn't think they were true though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Do you remember how much the guard wrote down

A few months ago me and a girl I know from college were finishing off our last can on the way to a niteclub when a garda car stopped us, they didnt see my can (hahahaha) but they told her she was being fined under a bye-law for drinking in public, they asked for her name and address then took her student card and wrote down everything on it, course, student no etc. They must have known how many people get away with giving fake addresses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Jaysus, that's another thing. I was once caught twice in the same night by the same guards with cans and they just gave out a bit. I guess I've just been lucky with the punishments.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

I'm under the impression that you can actually be charged as a sexual offender for drunkenly taking a slash in an alleyway these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Another prick in the wall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 sodrisc

I really don't want to worry the OP, but he may be in more trouble than he realises. About 3 weeks ago I was in the District Court at Richmond Hospital, which deals with most of these kinds of offences. There was a young middle class guy on the stand, no solicitor. I think he was a surveyor or something. He'd been caught by a bean garda in the city centre for the same thing and given a false name, but she'd found his passport on him and got his real name. There were no extra charges for the false name thing I think but the Bean Garda gave evidence in court. The judge freaked and convicted the guy, who clearly thought that by pleading guilty he'd only get a slap on the wrist. He got a big fine and now has a criminal record, for something really stupid.

The best thing to do would be to contact the guards and fess up, say you were drunk and gave a false address in a panic. Then get to a solicitor and get proper advice. It'll cost a few hundred but do you really want a criminal record?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

but she would have taken his details as she knew he gave a false name, in the ops case the guard may have just taken his name and a false address