Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai and summons issue re reg for an ID

• 04-08-2007 10:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭

Few months back was on the lash in town, when going for a taxi decided to head for a slash. Ran up a quiet back alley, and just as im finishing a guard comes cycling up out of nowhere. Asks my name, asks for ID, hand him the passport, then demands my address. **** this im thinking (its a back alley nobody goes up, if I was doing it along the foot of the spire he might have a point), so although he has my real name (from the ID) I give him a random address 35 X Street, place exists in reality but its about a mile from my real gaff. Said a summons will arrive within 6 months, so presumably the people living at the address will be getting post meant for me in six months (hope they dont actually know me :D )

Thing is, i usually bring my passport out as ID. Going to Prague in September and so i dont want to lose the passport either here a few days before takeoff or over there and be stuck abroad. Want to get a Garda ID (lost my old one). Thing is, if i put down my name and real address for one, will they in any way connect it with what by now may well be an outstanding summons? Or could i just deny all knowledge if they did (its not like your man scanned my passport, cpuldve been anyone with my name who gave the fake address )

Simple solution. Apply for the Garda ID with your name as Gaeilge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

They may have taken note of your passport number... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You're in no trouble OP, I doubt this will be followed up. Odds are there are a couple of hundred people in Ireland with your name.

I like the as Gaeilge solution.
    I'm told that if you ever get kicked out of the USA for overstaying your visa (yes, it happens), then get your passport as Gaeilge and the US authorities will never know the difference for when you return next time.

Seems to be a security loophole overlooked by them despite all their efforts. Someone should tell them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

Methinks you over-estimate our friendly neighbourhood law enforcers OP. I'd almost guarantee that'll never happen.
    Only real problem i see is if it happened to be a particularly vindictive gard and he manages to catch you up to something again. Chances are, you're safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

TBH, I doubt a summons would even have been sent out. Probably just one of those things they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

micmclo wrote:
    You're in no trouble OP, I doubt this will be followed up. Odds are there are a couple of hundred people in Ireland with your name.

The oul one was in the records office to get a cert once, out of interest she looked up how many people of my name were born in 86 (theyd large books by year of everyones name and details, with ID fraud now id doubt its still available). Only a handful born in Dublin with that name (surname isnt by any means unheard of but isnt particularly common either) :(

Think i might take a risk and get one, how long do they take to arrive these days (when i got the first 3 odd years ago took 3 months)

btw maybe they have tracked me, dont know whats up but the Gardai have been running up and down the street for the past 20 minutes once in a while as if theyre looking for someone :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

TBH, I doubt a summons would even have been sent out. Probably just one of those things they say.

I hope it was and I hope the OP gets caught out and gets charged for his original crime and for the additional crime of lying to the authorities and gets convicted and gets sent to jail and gets made into someone's bitch and upon release is so disturbed by his prison experience that he's never able to speak again.

Chances are none of that will happen, though.

Sounds like they're onto you.. probably a bench warrant out for your arrest and an extra charge of providing false information to the Gardai..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭ctc_celtic

your worrying over nothing, the only way that they'll put two and two together is if you walk in to get the ID and its the same garda, and even at that, would he remember you if it was a dark alley?

off topic, but is that just a myth about changing your passport to your Irish name to get back into America? has anybody done it? i thought its all electronic now. of course someone will know a mate of a mate who brothers, friends, cousins, uncles, butcher done it:D

It may not be a myth - but it's not very good advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Hahah, same thing happened to me once in my mis-spent youth. I was taking a lash down an alleyway, and started walking out when a half dozen guards collared me. You can imagine what was going through my mind, blissfully unaware as I was that there was actually a drug deal going on around the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Irish Wolf wrote:
    Sounds like they're onto you.. probably a bench warrant out for your arrest and an extra charge of providing false information to the Gardai..

slightly off topic but what exactly is a bench warrant?
    OP: I think yer giving the gards way too much credit. You'd have heard about it by now if they were going to do anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ArseBurger

shane86 wrote:
    Few months back was on the lash in town, when going for a taxi decided to head for a slash. Ran up that alleyway between the GPO and Penneys, where the multi story car park is, and just as im finishing a guard comes cycling up out of nowhere. Asks my name, asks for ID, hand him the passport, then demands my address. **** this im thinking (its a back alley nobody goes up, if I was doing it along the foot of the spire he might have a point), so although he has my real name (from the ID) I give him a random address 71 X Street, place exists in reality but its about a mile from my real gaff. Said a summons will arrive within 6 months, so presumably the people living at the address will be getting post meant for me in six months (hope they dont actually know me :D )

Thing is, i usually bring my passport out as ID. Going to Prague in September and so i dont want to lose the passport either here a few days before takeoff or over there and be stuck abroad. Want to get a Garda ID (lost my old one). Thing is, if i put down my name and real address for one, will they in any way connect it with what by now may well be an outstanding summons? Or could i just deny all knowledge if they did (its not like your man scanned my passport, cpuldve been anyone with my name who gave the fake address )

Similar thing happened to me.

Only I gave my real address. Then moved.

I received the summons to court nearly a year later and two days before the court date. (it was passed on to me by the new renters in my old place). I was lucky because there would have been a judgement made in my absence. If that happens you get a record - even if is only a fine.

If they bother to check and figure out you gave the wrong address, this is an offence and you'll probably get a charge for that also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

tallus wrote:
    slightly off topic but what exactly is a bench warrant?

It means there's a warrant out for your arrest, but they're not getting off their fat arses to look for ya

Back in the days when they had benches instead of chairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

grasshopa wrote:
    It means there's a warrant out for your arrest, but they're not getting off their fat arses to look for ya

Ever been in Kilmainham court?
    They still have benches there.
    You can sit on them and laugh at your friend when he's on the stand and laugh at the girlfriend of the junkie who just got sent down as she throws a tantrum and the judge sends her down too.

You don't really want to go there though.
    Horrible place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

grasshopa wrote:

Cheers :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I hope the guard in question isn't a regular visitor to boards for the ops sake.

Indeed. All for the sake of a small fine.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Terry wrote:
    Indeed. All for the sake of a small fine.

Does any one know how much of a fine the OP would have gotten?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

200 odd euro the cop said, and its about right I think. It would fall under drunk and disordely (even though I was grand, sure if Id been too drunk to make a sensible descision Id have attempted to make a run for it :D Still, id cop drunk and disorderly over indecent exposure in public any day :) )

Now that I come to think of it the bastard made me stop half way, as soon as he was finished giving his power trip I had to leg it up the side of Henry Street and let the second half out in some other alleyway :( (takeaways were shut)

btw I edited the odd detail in my first post after reading what AC said, very unlikely but you never know :)

Re the bench warrant I know for a fact there are more important cases around here people have not turned up to court for, Id doubt theyd bother their hole.

shane86 wrote:
    200 odd euro the cop said, and its about right I think. It would fall under drunk and disordely (even though I was grand, sure if Id been too drunk to make a sensible descision Id have attempted to make a run for it :D Still, id cop drunk and disorderly over indecent exposure in public any day :) )

btw I edited the odd detail in my first post after reading what AC said, very unlikely but you never know :)

Re the bench warrant I know for a fact there are more important cases around here people have not turned up to court for, Id doubt theyd bother their hole.
    I know a guy who was fined £10 for the same offence about 10/11 years ago.
    I doubt it would have been €200.

shane86 wrote:

Glad I could help. I doubt it was €200. That's seems like a lot of money for pising down a back alleyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

This actually happened to my brother. Him and a few mates out on the lash and on the way home a couple of them went off to a side street to go and 2 coppers caught them. My bro thinking that it was only a piss what is the worst that can happen, gave his real name and address while the others didn't. Over a year later the summons came in the door. When he showed up, he got a double fine because the others didn't give the proper address. The judge tried to give him a curfew for a year too. Only for the copper who actually arrested him told me to appeal the case.I

know a guy who was fined £10 for the same offence about 10/11 years ago.
    I doubt it would have been €200.

Actually, my brother's fine was 1500. Apparantly the judge wanted to make an example of him! But luck for us the copper, appealed the case for us. She told us that the judge was passed it and she thought he would only get a slap on the wrist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Weird, the other day I got a summons for Public Disorder sent to my house, but it wasn't addressed to me house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Weird, the other day I got a summons for Public Disorder sent to my house, but it wasn't addressed to me house?

Apparantly these must state the proper name and address or a solicitor can get it thrown out of court.

Love2love wrote:
    Apparantly these must state the proper name and address or a solicitor can get it thrown out of court.

I think he was joking as the OP said he gave a fake address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

micmclo wrote:

I like the as Gaeilge solution.
    I'm told that if you ever get kicked out of the USA for overstaying your visa (yes, it happens), then get your passport as Gaeilge and the US authorities will never know the difference for when you return next time.

Seems to be a security loophole overlooked by them despite all their efforts. Someone should tell them.

They take your fingerprints on arrival in the USA and if you are deported and then return on a passport in a different name you will be caught as your prints will be on file. Sulphuric acid is the only solution. :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,637 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

It would not have been followed up even if you did give the correct address I would think. Well...I suppose the Garda did not realize it was the wrong address.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭theAwakening

It will be followed up. If the Garda looked at your passport or garda ID or whatever you handed him/her I would assume they would have noted your DOB. If the Garda has your real name, and presumably your DOB you will be summonsed for the piss, and also prosecuted for giving a false address.

The fact that you gave a wrong address, and the fact that it is a still a local one, he/she won't be long putting 2 & 2 together and it will be easily be pieced together on the PULSE system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭gingerGiant

Does any one know how much of a fine the OP would have gotten?

Depends, was on the lash with two mates about 18 months ago they both went up an alley to relieve themselves and met a gaurd both got summons, one of them lost the job about two weeks before court date and was starting new one the next week. Judge asks "Are you working" Mate says "No" Judge gives him 5 yoyo fine. Other mate gets asked the same question he says yeah, judge gives him a 150 Euro fine.:D :D

So that's about €7.50 for the unemployed guy.
    Not too bad really.
    The judge would be impressed with the flashing lights too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Wow, I didn't realise the guards take this so seriously. I've done much worse and the guards just brought me home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Was it only one guard who apprehended you during the act? Cos I thought to receive a caution or be arrested there must be 2 gardai present because if there isn't it would just be your word against there's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

shane86 wrote:
    Ran up a quiet back alley, and just as im finishing a guard comes cycling up out of nowhere.

I heard rumours that the guards were being issued with cloaking devices, didn't think they were true though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,328 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Do you remember how much the guard wrote down

A few months ago me and a girl I know from college were finishing off our last can on the way to a niteclub when a garda car stopped us, they didnt see my can (hahahaha) but they told her she was being fined under a bye-law for drinking in public, they asked for her name and address then took her student card and wrote down everything on it, course, student no etc. They must have known how many people get away with giving fake addresses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

Jaysus, that's another thing. I was once caught twice in the same night by the same guards with cans and they just gave out a bit. I guess I've just been lucky with the punishments.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

I'm under the impression that you can actually be charged as a sexual offender for drunkenly taking a slash in an alleyway these days.

Another prick in the wall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 sodrisc

I really don't want to worry the OP, but he may be in more trouble than he realises. About 3 weeks ago I was in the District Court at Richmond Hospital, which deals with most of these kinds of offences. There was a young middle class guy on the stand, no solicitor. I think he was a surveyor or something. He'd been caught by a bean garda in the city centre for the same thing and given a false name, but she'd found his passport on him and got his real name. There were no extra charges for the false name thing I think but the Bean Garda gave evidence in court. The judge freaked and convicted the guy, who clearly thought that by pleading guilty he'd only get a slap on the wrist. He got a big fine and now has a criminal record, for something really stupid.

The best thing to do would be to contact the guards and fess up, say you were drunk and gave a false address in a panic. Then get to a solicitor and get proper advice. It'll cost a few hundred but do you really want a criminal record?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,328 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

but she would have taken his details as she knew he gave a false name, in the ops case the guard may have just taken his name and a false address