best way not to let a bouncer ruin your nite out?

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 roryok

I managed to walk into a nightclub the other week when i was far too drunk to be able to.
    the bouncer stopped me and the 2 girls i was with and asked which one i was "with". i told him neither and showed him my wedding ring. He asked where the wife was and i said at home in bed by this stage. he just winked at me and said enjoy yourself!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭zoos

Laslo wrote:
    You can tell your Garda friend that he's a tool and that producing his badge off-duty could get him in severe trouble (unless a crime is being committed)

Eh thats not true at all at all. I guarantee in all your bouncering years experience you have let every garda in when he shows his/her badge for free!
    Its a known fact that that happens, and they are never ever going to get in trouble about it!!!

My Boyfriend is a bouncer and he wouldn't be a fan of the gardai or even many bouncers for that matter, but we had this discussion and they do get in by showing their badges! NO PROBLEMS or QUESTIONS asked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Duggy747 wrote:

Then there's the odd pricks, like a few years back in Galway. I was drinking in the King's Head Paddy's Day when I was asked to meet up with my roommate who was down at the Spanish Arch. Now, I was only on me 3rd pint cuz it was a pain to get a pint from the bar considering I was pretty much at the stage watching some hurling match. Scooped me pint, left, met my roommate, and then we came back to where the bouncer refused me in. Now it's one thing being refused but it's quite another when you're refused AND given no reason why. I kept asking why to the muppet and explaining I was there throughout the morning and he saw me leave 2 minutes earlier. He just kept saying: "Go somewhere else cuz you're not coming in here" all while making no eye contact (Which really got my goat!!) Anywho, I knew I lost this fight so myself and my roommate just turned around, mooned the bastard and went to another pub. How mature!

Or you could just have walked round the corner to Middle St. and walked in the back door.... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭stratospheres

Haha can't believe this thread is so old!

Anyway...I was goin into a pub one night and since I'm almost always ID'd I stopped and took my ID out for the bouncer as per usual. He checked it and thanked me and then said "I wasn't even goin to ask ye love!" :o I could've kicked myself!

Another time, I was comin OUT of Break for the Border when a bouncer stopped me and said "How old are ye?" I said "18 but its a bit late now isn't it?!" and walked off! My friends thought that was hilarious :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Onearmedbandit

Friend of mine was in the queue outside a well known club in tallaght (cant remember which one). Anywho Robbie Keane arrives in a car and walks straight by the queue towards the door. Hes just about to go in when the bouncer on the door stops him and tells him "The end of the queue is down there mate".

He uses the old faithful "Do you know who I am?" to which the reply is "yeah Robbie but I'm an Arsenal fan". Funny thing is the queue was moving pretty quick and if he went to the back of the queue my mate says he would have been in in no time. Just goes to show even celebrities have bouncer trouble. :D

Generally I find that if you don't stand out your gonna get in which is stupid because you have to look like the usual jock/d4/clone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

Friend of mine was in the queue outside a well known club in tallaght (cant remember which one). Anywho Robbie Keane arrives in a car and walks straight by the queue towards the door. Hes just about to go in when the bouncer on the door stops him and tells him "The end of the queue is down there mate".

He uses the old faithful "Do you know who I am?" to which the reply is "yeah Robbie but I'm an Arsenal fan". Funny thing is the queue was moving pretty quick and if he went to the back of the queue my mate says he would have been in in no time. Just goes to show even celebrities have bouncer trouble. :D

Generally I find that if you don't stand out your gonna get in which is stupid because you have to look like the usual jock/d4/clone.

Fair play to that bouncer. Something like that happened to me in 1998 when Galway won the All Ireland Final, I was the guy taking admissions on the door of the club, one of the panel members walks in, expects himself and his bird to get in for free, he says do you know who I am, I say to him, Do you know who the 3 lads behind you are, i.e the bouncers.

Never had a problem with bouncers to be honest, when words were said to me, i deserved them. I was never thrown outta club nor asked to leave. Never refused entry either.

Just get in the que, shut the fúck up, have yer ID ready, give the bouncers a "Howsagoin", find the cloakroom, find the bar, find the smoking area and find a bird.

And a "cheers lads" at the end of the night. You go to a pub/club regular enough, they will remember the you & Cheers bit after a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

zoos wrote:
    Eh thats not true at all at all. I guarantee in all your bouncering years experience you have let every garda in when he shows his/her badge for free!

It's never happened once. If it had, you can be absolutely sure that I'd tell him what I've just said - that once he's off duty, particularly if he had drink on board, that he shouldn't be pulling his badge.
    zoos wrote:
    Its a known fact that that happens, and they are never ever going to get in trouble about it!!!

You're talking absolute nonsense. I'm actually embarrassed for you having made such a stupid statement. Maybe some Gardai do try to abuse their authority off duty but you're an idiot if you think 'they are never ever going to get in trouble about it'
    zoos wrote:
    My Boyfriend is a bouncer and he wouldn't be a fan of the gardai or even many bouncers for that matter, but we had this discussion and they do get in by showing their badges! NO PROBLEMS or QUESTIONS asked!

Really? So it's never happened to me and yet it's a common occurrence with 'your boyfriend' who also coincidentally happens to be a bouncer. A bouncer who 'wouldn't be a fan of the gardai' nonetheless - sounds more like the type of bouncer that we all know and 'love'.

I smell a lie like a fart in a car :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I wzs on yer side up to ther Laslo, that happens fairly regularly, Know cops and bouncers respectivley and hve seen it happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Ah Leslo come on out'of that. You've never seen a cop flash his badge to gain free admission into a club?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

That happens all the time - I've been out to many clubs with guards who were friends and they got in free by showing their badge - by the reaction of the bouncers it was something they were well used to. Why not - if you were a bouncer and something kicked off in the club wouldn't it be nice to have a few off-duty guards around, either to help out or be witnesses?

If you were a bouncer and you NEVER saw this, you must have been working some right dingy spot that no self-respecting guard would be seen dead in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Mairt wrote:
    Ah Leslo come on out'of that. You've never seen a cop flash his badge to gain free admission into a club?.

Yes. I have seen it and it does happen.
    zoos wrote:
    I guarantee in all your bouncering years experience you have let every garda in when he shows his/her badge for free!!

No. I think this is the problem statement though as it does not happen all the time.

On the door you've to make a judgement call, we're told to ID everyone that looks suspicious/drunk/underage and we can refuse them if we feel within our rights. If a Guard comes to the door and appears drunk or is acting the maggot, then he will probably not be getting in. If he/she has the stupidity to flash his/her badge then that is their problem, they know that they could get into trouble if they identify themselves and a situation were to later happen.

Two close relations are Guards and I've seen them refused from doors before, which is per the course. They would never produce a badge in an attempt to override the system though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

connundrum wrote:
    Yes. I have seen it and it does happen.

No. I think this is the problem statement though as it does not happen all the time.

On the door you've to make a judgement call, we're told to ID everyone that looks suspicious/drunk/underage and we can refuse them if we feel within our rights. If a Guard comes to the door and appears drunk or is acting the maggot, then he will probably not be getting in. If he/she has the stupidity to flash his/her badge then that is their problem, they know that they could get into trouble if they identify themselves and a situation were to later happen.

Two close relations are Guards and I've seen them refused from doors before, which is per the course. They would never produce a badge in an attempt to override the system though.

Saw three blokes getting refused from 4 Dame lane(a kip) because one of tehm was wearing an all blacks top..then he says to the bouncer "does it matter that we're guards?" and showed his ID and the bouncer says "no,it only matters that you're not getting in wearing that top".Then ensued a lively threatening match with the cops walking away promising to be back.Great entertainment altogether.

Laslo... are you for real? you smell a lie like a ... oh god! Thats real mature, and you are trying to argue how intelligent bouncers are ha! You know that, as everyone here does, that the police get in for free. How can you possibly claim that in your supposed years of bouncering a guard never even tried showing his badge?

Why are you embarrased for me?? are you actually blushing for my outright ridiculous statement??? Well I have seen it happen on many many many occasions and yes my boyf has allowed gardai in for free because it is a done thing and the head doorman has told him to allow them in. Im not saying it is the right thing to do either. God I would be delighted to hear of a policeman being told where to go for doing that, but please don't blush because of me, i'd rather you blushed because of your complete Bull response!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

zoos wrote:
    Laslo... are you for real? you smell a lie like a ... oh god! Thats real mature, and you are trying to argue how intelligent bouncers are ha! You know that, as everyone here does, that the police get in for free. How can you possibly claim that in your supposed years of bouncering a guard never even tried showing his badge?!

Maybe he's working on the door of Mothercare!

Most Guards I know don't shop there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

zoos wrote:
    You know that, as everyone here does, that the police get in for free.

There you go again, making those 'crazy' statements. Please see below 1st hand experience from someone who isn't a bouncer or a Guard.
    Degsy wrote:
    Saw three blokes getting refused from 4 Dame lane(a kip) because one of tehm was wearing an all blacks top..then he says to the bouncer "does it matter that we're guards?" and showed his ID and the bouncer says "no,it only matters that you're not getting in wearing that top".Then ensued a lively threatening match with the cops walking away promising to be back.Great entertainment altogether.

Some bouncers feel that its the Guard's right to walk in where ever they want. Some bouncers (rightly) feel that the house rules must be adhered to regardless of who they are dealing with. The only people with the state given right to walk past a doorman without hassle are fire inspectors, guards on duty, security personel inspectors and the owner of the establishment.

Mairt wrote:
    Maybe he's working on the door of Mothercare!

Most Guards I know don't shop there :D

:D:D:D

Conundrum, nobodies saying there are not exceptions to the case or the unwritten rule. Yes I'm sure gardai have been refused, but more often than not they will be let in!
    That in itself is known by MOST people! I was meerly replying to laslo and his mortifying comments :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

zoos wrote:
    Laslo... are you for real? you smell a lie like a ... oh god! Thats real mature, and you are trying to argue how intelligent bouncers are ha!

Saying that you're full of s**t is hardly a sign of immaturity/lack of intelligence.
    zoos wrote:
    You know that, as everyone here does, that the police get in for free. How can you possibly claim that in your supposed years of bouncering a guard never even tried showing his badge?

How can I claim it? I'm not claiming anything, I'm simply stating a fact based on years of experience. Seeing as none of the idiots on this thread have ever worked on the door (presumably) or are Gardai themselves, how can they claim that it happens all the time? Exactly, they can't. They're just speculating.

I'm sure it happens from time to time but it's not common practice and I don't think the cops would appreciate it being spread around in the public domain as it's an incredible abuse of their power. To be quite frank, anyone who takes this side of the argument is a complete moron as none of you, again I assume, could have the real-world experience to do so. Are there any Gardai or doormen here that can tell me I'm wrong and not members of Joe Public who are just making assumptions?
    zoos wrote:
    Why are you embarrased for me?? are you actually blushing for my outright ridiculous statement??? Well I have seen it happen on many many many occasions and yes my boyf has allowed gardai in for free because it is a done thing and the head doorman has told him to allow them in. Im not saying it is the right thing to do either. God I would be delighted to hear of a policeman being told where to go for doing that, but please don't blush because of me, i'd rather you blushed because of your complete Bull response!

My response was a fact based on my experience. You're telling us that you're going out with a doorman who gives you all the little intimate details of how Gardai abuse their power off-duty. You're either lying, stupid or both. Personally, I don't believe you. What club does your boyfriend work in?

Laslo it is ridiculous even arguing with you! Its just silly because all you can do is call people stupid etc...

Yes my boyf is a doorman, and no i dont need to prove it to you by telling you where he works, and this would be breaking his privacy!
    Yes we are in a relationship so he tells me most things. The police getting in for free is not an intimate secret of the gardai in Ireland. Its a known thing that happens! If you just read above you will read people saying they have seen it first hand etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Who cares tbh.