Zombies!!!

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭Homer

Use this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Shaun of the dead

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lR0J5G1AFM8
    Heya, Tom' it’s Bob from the office down the hall
    Good to see you, buddy; how’ve you been?
    Thing have been OK for me except that I’m a zombie now
    I really wish you’d let us in
    I think I speak for all of us when I say I understand
    Why you folks might hesitate to submit to our demand
    But here’s an FYI: you’re all gonna die screaming

All we want to do is eat your brains
    We’re not unreasonable; I mean, no one’s gonna eat your eyes
    We’re at an impasse here; maybe we should compromise:
    If you open up the doors
    We’ll all come inside and eat your brains

I don’t want to nitpick, Tom, but is this really your plan?
    To spend your whole life locked inside a mall?
    Maybe that’s OK for now but someday you’ll be out of food and guns
    And then you’ll have to make the call
    I’m not surprised to see you haven’t thought it through enough
    You never had the head for all that bigger picture stuff
    But, Tom, that’s what I do, and I plan on eating you slowly

If you open up the doors

I’d like to help you, Tom, in any way I can
    I sure appreciate the way you’re working with me
    I’m not a monster, Tom...well, technically, I am
    I guess I am

I’ve got another meeting, Tom; maybe we could wrap it up
    I know we’ll get to common ground somehow
    Meanwhile I’ll report back to my colleagues who were chewing on the doors
    I guess we’ll table this for now
    I’m glad to see you take constructive criticism well
    Thank you for your time; I know we’re all busy as hell
    And we’ll put this thing to bed
    When I bash your head open

If you open up the doors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

First thing I would do is find Duggy747, has all the answers.

Duggy is going to die first, mark my words..... Guns aren't the best weapon against zombies, machettes/axes/swords etc are. They don't make any noise (which would attract more undead), they don't need reloading and they don't jam.

Me, i'm gonna go to the aran islands, probably Inishmore. Isloated enough to be free of newly formed shambling hordes, while the current shambling hordes aren't actually zombies, believe it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Duggy is going to die first, mark my words..... Guns aren't the best weapon against zombies, machettes/axes/swords etc are. They don't make any noise (which would attract more undead), they don't need reloading and they don't jam.

I didn't recommend melee weapons cuz 1) I wouldn't like getting any closer than an arm's length to the ever-growing army of the undead and 2) I forgot :o . That and there's the higher possibility of zombie blood splashing back and going into your mouth / eyes resulting in you joining their army. Now, a crossbow would be handy! That would solve both our dilemma's; quiet, long-range, dosen't jam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Duggy747 wrote:
    I didn't recommend melee weapons cuz 1) I wouldn't like getting any closer than an arm's length to the ever-growing army of the undead and 2) I forgot :o . That and there's the higher possibility of zombie blood splashing back and going into your mouth / eyes resulting in you joining their army. Now, a crossbow would be handy! That would solve both our dilemma's; quiet, long-range, dosen't jam!

But the bolts are hard to make and the strings can break. A sword or melee weapon would be in your hand so they would be further that arms length away.
    Thats why I mentioned that you should get a gas mask, Cover your hands (because they get the most cuts) and wear protective clothing. Even a thick jumper would work for a while!

Still! Why don't we all agree on one building and head towards it should Z day happen. Call the new building fort boards or something.

I recommend the Dail building or the GPO. The Dail would have Garda or the military protecting the politicians. Worst case scenario we find a few guns and protective jackets. Hold up there for a week and wait for other survivors. Than head to the coast onward to the Aran Islands. That could be the second meeting point for people who aren't in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

A crossbow would be useless against zombies. If it did get through their skull (don't know if it would or not), it would take more than a stick to destroy the brain. Also they need ammo and how often are you going to be able to stock up on croossbow bolts? Get a good melee weapon like a spear or sword. Big enough to kill them while keeping them at a distance and no limit to the amount of times it can be used.

Than head to the coast onward to the Aran Islands. That could be the second meeting point for people who aren't in Dublin.

That's where I'd go first since I'm from the west *spits out potato*. After being holed up in my house for a few days with my monkey companion I'd go and get myself a Transit van, crash it (Since I can't drive for shít), get another one and then make my way to an R.D.F barracks, probably Boyle since it's the closest to me, where hopefully some folk there are still alive with all the guns. Crack into one of the Supermarkets, garner enough rations to last more than a long time and split to the Aran islands where we'll surely lose the occasional few characters (The slut, the hillbilly, the couragous anti-hero, etc) Taking the by-roads would be risky but be far better than being on the main roads where you'll have all sorts of crazy shít happening!

That is a sticky plan considering that these zombies are quick! There would be the whole situation of securing a boat and fending off the bastards at the docks.

Funny how zombie's never ate each other, how do they know what's warm & cold flesh just by looking at their potential dinners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Still! Why don't we all agree on one building and head towards it should Z day happen. Call the new building fort boards or something.

I recommend the Dail building or the GPO. The Dail would have Garda or the military protecting the politicians. Worst case scenario we find a few guns and protective jackets. Hold up there for a week and wait for other survivors. Than head to the coast onward to the Aran Islands. That could be the second meeting point for people who aren't in Dublin.

Nah, you're best getting out of the city as soon as you can. Imagine dublin on a friday/saturday night but times a thousand.
    You should probably not take the roads out either, they'll be congested to feck, Probably on foot, or on a bicycle, seeing as they don't make noise, are faster than the undead, don't need fuel, and a hell of a lot easier to repair than a car.
    Plus if you've gotten a mountain bike, off road you go, plenty of room to see zombies comming, and plenty of space to outrun them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭coyote6

How about confiscating some nice suppressed weapons from the powers that be. MP5SD...small but stylish...perhaps the monkey could carry it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

If ya can't beat them - join them.

That, or a shotgun and backpack of ammo would do nicely.
    Fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Duggy747 wrote:
    I didn't recommend melee weapons cuz 1) I wouldn't like getting any closer than an arm's length to the ever-growing army of the undead and 2) I forgot :o . That and there's the higher possibility of zombie blood splashing back and going into your mouth / eyes
    Two pair kitchen scissors (or punch knives if you can get em) and a motorcycle helmet. Thats the ticket. Monkey optional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

class its all about swords and lawnmowers... bloodbath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Hop on a bot. Head over to England. Go to a military base. Get in a tank.

Boom!

I would avoid Dublin ata all costs. Whats worse than a regular zombie- a scanger zombie in a rotten tracksuit. They would probably remember how to use the concealed knives they have hidden on them!
    I would head down to Sherkin Island, hardly anyone there Plenty of places to hide from the few undead that might be roaming around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Some of us can't avoid Dublin. :P

On Z day the odds are that the most survivors would be in Dublin City centre. I couldn't leave those uneducated people behind, they know none of the advanced tactics we do! I would rally a few of my heroic/suicidal friends and try to break into Dublin City centre! Image the herioc epics that would be made and the movies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Most of the survivors would be in the countryside. Cities are where you don't wanna be unless you've got a fortified apartment with some sort of rooftop escape route. Even then your escape route might be their entrance!

Then again... Look at the opening scene of 28 Weeks Later...

Do you think you could get out of that alive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Duggy747 wrote:
    This has always been a good source of pub talk.

Okay, so you wake up one morning, there's nobody in the house and so you decide to nip down to the shop. Suddenly you're greeted with hordes upon hordes of zombies (The quick ones from 2004 Dawn of the Dead). After gleefully shítting you're pants you run home, change your pants, and turn on the TV where the news is covering a worldwide zombie infestation.

What would you do??

.......some things never change!

FÚCK YOU!! It's been an interesting discussion anyways, that's why Frank you're gonna be zombie noodles when Z-day arrives!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Me, i'm gonna go to the aran islands, probably Inishmore. Isloated enough to be free of newly formed shambling hordes, while the current shambling hordes aren't actually zombies, believe it or not.

Forget that, the Blasket Islands are the best place, even the zombies will know that no-one lives there!:p

I agree on the choice of weapons except the probability of getting swarmed and bitten, throw on full body armour and ensure that it has childproof/zombieproof locks keeping them from taking any parts of it off to expose the tasty flesh underneath.