No go areas you wouldnt go into in cities or towns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

We're like dogs us knack's we smell fear, we smell little nerdie boards, D4, boat shoe wearing little girls for miles and it's this little girly look which will engadge the youngest of scumbag's as even he is amused why such a well educated "man" from a good honest middle class background loses the ability to speak when confronted with....dun dun dun....a kid with a flat top and a cheap tracksuit.......posh people, you're funny!

pussies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Caliden wrote:
    Castlepark in Galway or the end stretches of Dominic street late at night.

Dominick Street? Are you serious?

That's no more dangerous than any other part of Galway late at night. And believe me I've wandered all over Galway late at night. Only place I ever had trouble was Eyre Square and it never stopped me going back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yes, several parts of Knocka are bad, but cork is a hole.
    this fits better IMO

/adds cance to list of anti-Cork Boardsters - and, therefore, enemies/

Damn, this list is getting long...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Can't think of anywhere i dublin i wouldn't walk, except into finglas at night, but other than that, nope.
    Doubt you know it that well. All of east finglas is pretty much fine, few people drunk in The Bottom of the Hill but that's about it. Some of West and south Finglas is dodgy but it's mostly Mulhuddart and Corduff that are a bit dodgy. No garda stations there though so much easier to say an incident happened in Finglas even if it didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

**double post***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

xzanti wrote:
    Ok I'll narrow it down for you to every part of Tallaght I've had the pleasure of visiting.. How's that..
    Theres no need to qualify or justify your ignorance to me chief, ill take it at face value. ;)

By the way me uncle Micko is banging out tracksuits from the back of his fiesta up in Belgard Heights there, buzz up to him and say I sent ye, he'll throw in a quarter of soap bar man no word of a lie.

*edit* Watch out for his ****in dog bu' ****ing yoke'll have the bollox off ye

you lived in every single part of Dublin????
    xabi is actually the dog from 'The Littlest Hobo', living out his retirement in a little house in Kenmare with his common-law wife Snuffalufagus from Sesame St, whom he married after a whirlwind 1980s romance.

As such, he has lived everywhere and is all-knowing.

There's a voice that keeps on calling me
    Down the road is where I'll always be
    Every stop I make, I'll make a new friend
    Can't stay for long, just turn around and I'm gone again.

Ah, the memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Can't say I allow myself to be intimidated anywhere in Ireland... May not be so comfortable up North though.... but I rarely find myself up there.

I've walked through favelas in Brazil in the past, so it sort of puts things in perspective.

I don't like being in Rathdrum after night fall though... scary stuff... brrrr....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭treefingers

Tazzle wrote:
    Guess it's all about vibe, Barracks Street isn't bad at all, I practically grew up on it (my grandparents & family owned a few houses there), never had an issue at all. I always felt grand around there, it's down around Patricks Street and Washington Street at 2 in the morning on a busy night I think is dodgey :) Or that street Mangans (mongs among mingers) is on. Is there ever a quiet night down there?

yup, live not far from there and nowadays its not bad at all. in fact, its after getting very studenty. theres new new student apartments there, plus pubs like nancys, tom barrys, gateway etc which would be frequented by generally upstanding individuals!

Tazzle wrote:
    Guess it's all about vibe, Barracks Street isn't bad at all, I practically grew up on it (my grandparents & family owned a few houses there), never had an issue at all. I always felt grand around there, it's down around Patricks Street and Washington Street at 2 in the morning on a busy night I think is dodgey :) Or that street Mangans (mongs among mingers) is on. Is there ever a quiet night down there?

Barrack Street can get a bit lonely and eerie very late at night though - as can anywhere I know, but there's something particularly gloomy about that particular street. The lack of decent lighting I suppose. I remember coming out of Tom Barry's and walking up to Sky Cabs on my own - ****ting it I was.
    Patrick Street late at night = rough, yes.
    Washington Street? Well, if you consider Reardens heads rough! ;)
    Mangans is on Careys Lane, but isn't Mangans itself gone? If so, immediate improvement. Or has it just been replaced by another skanger establishment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

jdivision wrote:
    Doubt you know it that well. All of east finglas is pretty much fine, few people drunk in The Bottom of the Hill but that's about it. Some of West and south Finglas is dodgy but it's mostly Mulhuddart and Corduff that are a bit dodgy. No garda stations there though so much easier to say an incident happened in Finglas even if it didn't

I'd would be comming up from glasnevin (by the cemetary) towards the 24hour tesco, which was never the most pleasant of areas whenever i passed through. Maybe i caught the god-fearing, law abiding locals in a moment of madness, who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Duiske

I worked as a courier in Dublin for 3 years, and the worst daytime area I have come across is the christchurch area (patrick st/nicholas St/bride road). Couple of years ago, so maybe things have changed.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

CiaranC wrote:
    Theres no need to qualify or justify your ignorance to me chief, ill take it at face value. ;)

By the way me uncle Micko is banging out tracksuits from the back of his fiesta up in Belgard Heights there, buzz up to him and say I sent ye, he'll throw in a quarter of soap bar man no word of a lie.

*edit* Watch out for his ****in dog bu' ****ing yoke'll have the bollox off ye

ye I'm a buuurd btw...

CiaranC and ntlbell = peasants. Although CiaranC's grammar and punctuation isn't bad for such a ruffian. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭xabi

Dublin.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

xabi wrote:
    Dublin.

Careful now.. Hope you can back that up ^^ :rolleyes: ;)

xabi wrote:
    Dublin.
    I'd imagine that makes life rather difficult.... It is still a rather centralised country after all.

I don't like being in Rathdrum after night fall though... scary stuff... brrrr....

As in *Deliverance banjo music* "Ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding"?

I was in Rathdrum once - 1990. Now that may seem like the Dark Ages to some Boardsters, but it's actually the modern era.
    A scary place indeed. Much cousin-marrying, methinks.

xzanti wrote:
    ye I'm a buuurd btw...
    I was clearly using the phrase in the colloquial, idiomatic, vernacular sense, not the literal. Your ignorance truly knows no bounds.

P.S. There are no birds on the interweb.

Dudess wrote:
    I think the OP means more specific than an entire area. Yes, several parts of Knocka are bad, but not the area as a whole.
    My apologies.

Dudess wrote:
    As in *Deliverance banjo music* "Ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding ding"?

I was in Rathdrum once - 1990. Now that may seem like the Dark Ages to some Boardsters, but it's actually the modern era.
    A scary place indeed. Much cousin-marrying, methinks.
    John Boorman who directed Deliverance lives near there too... I wonder where he got his influences from?

My apologies.

Wo... no need for an apology. I wasn't insulted by your first post. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

i wouldnt be afraid to walk around most areas but the area around the lower deck and portobello at the canal is rough, i have been warned about that area many times, a friend was set upon by a bunch of skangers there a while ago.
    talbot street and marlborough street are grand

I remember I walked down that canal near the overhead Luas line and saw a cordoned off area with a body on the pavement:eek:

John Boorman who directed Deliverance lives near there too... I wonder where he got his influences from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead would never ever dare venture down coolsmileygirls street.

Word on the street is its a black hole for men with working and usable todgers. Many brave men have gone down that road never ever to return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

Pighead wrote:

Word on the street is its a black hole for men with working and usable todgers. Many brave men have gone down that road never ever to return.

ah the street is damned... but the back passage is hell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭bandit*baby

Tazzle wrote:

maybe it was the fact that there was no street lights coupled with the very few people bar the occassional drunk it was the only place i can ever recall being that freaked out

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

Dudess wrote:
    Barrack Street can get a bit lonely and eerie very late at night though - as can anywhere I know, but there's something particularly gloomy about that particular street. The lack of decent lighting I suppose. I remember coming out of Tom Barry's and walking up to Sky Cabs on my own - ****ting it I was.
    Patrick Street late at night = rough, yes.
    Washington Street? Well, if you consider Reardens heads rough! ;)
    Mangans is on Careys Lane, but isn't Mangans itself gone? If so, immediate improvement. Or has it just been replaced by another skanger establishment?

haha I get your point about Washington street, perhaps its the side streets or people coming off the parade, but I've seen quite a few people with their heads bashed in around there.

With regards to Barracks Street, I kind of like the lighting there, it's cozy! It'd probably look like a **** hole (more so?) if it was well lit.

On a side note, I'm avidly against all this needless introduction of high power street lights going in along backroads. Ruined the nice scenic areas of Ballincollig at night it has.

Pighead wrote:

:D Bet Peter Collins will post a snide remark about how sexist and misogynistic you are any second now... oh wait... he's banned.

Who let all these bloody provincials in here? I thought crime didnt exist outside the pale?