Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No go areas you wouldnt go into in cities or towns?

• 03-07-2007 1:13pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Just wondering - after listening to the radio just now about Marlborough street in Dublin being a no go area - what areas in your town or city have you decided never again to enter or to stay away from out of fear that something would happen to you? I was just listening about a 16 year old boy who literally got the sh*t kicked out of him by a few 20+ year old gougers at 1 in the afternoon on that street for no reason and how even the gaurds dont police it anymore - refering to it as 'murder mile'. Bare in mind this street is literally in the shadow of the GPO right in the center of Dublin. I have a mate who makes it his buisness not to walk down Talbot st from Connolly station under any circumstances because what he says is the amount of scum around that area at all times of the day never mind at night. So in your town or city what area would you do your best to avoid?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Tallaght.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭FOGOFUNK

Are you listening to this old biddy yapping on about the "new breed of speed", shes a complete head wrecker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Ive turned it off already!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Rathmullen in Drogheda, never ever.

And it'd be very rarely that I'd walk up Sheriff Street on my own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

walk down talbot st. everday. never had any trouble. there is some scum but theyre all pretty much out of their heads cuz of the clinic thats right there.

most of tallaght is fine too.

no where in the city centre springs to mind for me.

was out in inshicore a few weeks ago and got a lot of hassle. t'was a fairly dodgy spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Never had any bother walking down Talbot Street either.

Can't think of anywhere i dublin i wouldn't walk, except into finglas at night, but other than that, nope.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

judas101 wrote:
    walk down talbot st. everday. never had any trouble. there is some scum but theyre all pretty much out of their heads cuz of the clinic thats right there.

most of tallaght is fine too.

no where in the city centre springs to mind for me.

was out in inshicore a few weeks ago and got a lot of hassle. t'was a fairly dodgy spot.

What about where the Abbey theatre is there - Would you walk down there? It has to be said you see scum everywhere even in the middle class areas where they are commonly known as 'wannabe scumbags'.......The only real no go area im aware of is Sheriff street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

darkman2 wrote:
    I was just listening about a 16 year old boy who literally got the sh*t kicked out of him by a few 20+ year old gougers at 1 in the afternoon on that street for no reason and how even the gaurds dont police it anymore - refering to it as 'murder mile'.

Seriously? God, I know a girl who's moved into an apartment on that very street.
    I have a mate who makes it his buisness not to walk down Talbot st from Connolly station under any circumstances because what he says is the amount of scum around that area at all times of the day never mind at night.

Yeah, horrendous. When I get the bus back from Cork on Sunday nights I always get out before O'Connell Bridge. I wouldn't get out at Busarus if you paid me. My mate used to work in Bank of Ireland near Talbot Street. Often she was afraid of her life - in broad daylight. F*cking scum :mad:.

I avoid the very ironically named Sober Lane in Cork. Two lads have been beaten into comas in that area. There are always scobes hanging around there. My cousin lived near it for a while. Several houses in her neighbourhood got their windows smashed. Her flatmate was mugged. If you're not familiar with Cork and you pay it a visit, the area I'm talking about is just over a little foot-bridge from where Grand Parade meets South Mall. It's also near the Fás office and Instinct gay bar. Avoid when you're on your own at night - the side street nearby that is, not the gay bar :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Flashraziel

darkman2 wrote:
    a 16 year old boy who literally got the sh*t kicked out of him

Literally? how are his bowels now? Sorry that's a bit of a pet peeve.

Not had any trouble with Talbot Street and Marlborough street is where my bus leaves me but I guess I wouldn't hang around there too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

donnybrook, full of tossers and idiots at the best of times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I live in Dublin, and there's no where I wouldn't go.

darkman2 wrote:
    What about where the Abbey theatre is there - Would you walk down there? It has to be said you see scum everywhere even in the middle class areas where they are commonly know as 'wannabe scumbags'.......The only real no go area im aware of is Sheriff street.

yeah, sheriff st. is a bad spot alright but abbey st. is fine now since the clinic on it closed down. there's a great pub on it too (the flowing tide)

i'm on that road every day without fail and never had any trouble. seems to have a bad rep for some reason.

its always southsiders who say how dodgy abbey st. is. it's not at all bad. there's far worst places.

Mairt wrote:
    I live in Dublin, and there's no where I wouldn't go.

same here.

and i'm not a black belt like yourself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

no go area's you say?

well heres one :P

The George.

/awaits retorts on homophobia.

Iago wrote:
    donnybrook, full of tossers and idiots at the best of times

i hear that. gimme a heroin addict over a D4 head any day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

What a bunch of pussies. Do yis have your mammies check under the bed for monsters before she tucks yis in too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

And it'd be very rarely that I'd walk up Sheriff Street on my own.

That's the safest area in Dublin. 4 gardai on permanent duty and an unmarked car on call too.
    Haven't seen them this week but there were there for last few months.

I challenge anyone to beat Dunsink Lane, Finglas :eek:

micmclo wrote:

I challenge anyone to beat Dunsink Lane, Finglas :eek:

I'd kick the crap out of that lane :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Anywhere inside the M50 tbh! :D Not out of fear, just that I hate the place with undying passion. Actually come to think of it most of this country annoys me at this stage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

rough spot.....the george

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Sherrif street used to be a no go area, but with the advent of the ifsc i find it pretty safe now.

I do lots of photography round Dublin, and find it safe eneogh, though this estate in the inner city wasn't too hospitable

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/544831600/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sandy Row at night

Literally? how are his bowels now? Sorry that's a bit of a pet peeve.
    :rolleyes: Considering how many such expressions there are, you must have countless pet peeves.
    judas101 wrote:
    abbey st. is fine now
    Lower and Middle maybe, but I don't always feel 100% safe on Upper - where I work. Junkieville. But as you said about the junkies on Talbot Street, most of the time they're ok cos they're so ****ed - God love them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

philstar wrote:
    rough spot.....the george

i know, george michael wannabee's. stubble rash is harsh! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭bandit*baby

xzanti wrote:
    Tallaght.

all of tallaght? Because Tallaght is huge

Now dont start bringing rationality, intelligence or facts into this.

Yes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

thebaz wrote:
    I do lots of photography round Dublin, and find it safe eneogh, though this estate in the inner city wasn't too hospitable

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/544831600/

where that then baz??....go on tell us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭pedro ferio-vti

I think you'll find most people who wouldn't "go into" certain streets or areas in Dublin, are often from outside of Dublin up on work, college or whatever.

I'm from Dublin and there is no street I wouldn't walk up during the day. At night time, obviously wouldn't walk up any dark lanes or badly lit areas in dodgy spots. Obviously there are some rougher spots than others but the way this thread is portraying things, you're taking your life in your hands by simply setting foot onto Marlborough Street lol........

Dudess wrote:
    I avoid the very ironically named Sober Lane in Cork. Two lads have been beaten into comas in that area. There are always scobes hanging around there. My cousin lived near it for a while. Several houses in her neighbourhood got their windows smashed. Her flatmate was mugged. If you're not familiar with Cork and you pay it a visit, the area I'm talking about is just over a little foot-bridge from where Grand Parade meets South Mall. It's also near the Fás office and Instinct gay bar. Avoid when you're on your own at night - the side street nearby that is, not the gay bar :)

God i walked down the street every single night on my own ..... there is a side road if you walk past the fas building as if your heading up to UCC past the quay co-op, where you come to a set of traffic lights (they were doing roads works there for ages) there is a bridge for cars to the right and a pub on the left hand corner... well if you turn left at the pub instead of crossing the road there is a great big hill - i know i know a hill in cork what a shocker - that road has no street lights and its a fairly dodgey area - i wandered onto it walking home from a friend's house one night and i was terrified never ever again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i wouldnt be afraid to walk around most areas but the area around the lower deck and portobello at the canal is rough, i have been warned about that area many times, a friend was set upon by a bunch of skangers there a while ago.
    talbot street and marlborough street are grand

xzanti wrote:
    Yes.
    +1 Insightful

So for example where D24 borders with D6, does it instantly transition into a no-go area, or is it a graduation over say, 50 metres?

They should really put up some signs to let people know.

CiaranC wrote:
    Now dont start bringing rationality, intelligence or facts into this.

oh heaven forbid :rolleyes:

CiaranC wrote:
    +1 Insightful

So for example where D24 borders with D6, does it instantly transition into a no-go area, or is it a graduation over say, 50 metres?

There are some really lovely parts of Tallaght ....
    Your not one of those Ross O'Carroll-Kelly muppets that refers to it as the militarised zone are ????

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Part of Moyross is pretty much "no go" (Delmege Park etc.) but the rest of it is fine. Some good people live there.

Other small areas in Southill, & Weston are scary enough too.

City centre of Limerick is fine in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Castlepark in Galway or the end stretches of Dominic street late at night.
    I've heard of quite a few people getting the faces jumped on near Ballybaan too and was unlucky enough to see the end result. I couldn't recognise the poor lad he got beaten so badly.

There are some really lovely parts of Tallaght ....
    Your not one of those Ross O'Carroll-Kelly muppets that refers to it as the militarised zone are ????
    *whoosh*

/watches the sarcasm fly over bandit*babies head

Im from Old Bawn.

CiaranC wrote:
    *whoosh*

/watches the sarcasm fly over bandit*babies head

Im from Old Bawn.

ah yes sarcasm can't say that i'm familiar with seeing it here on boards ;)

Old Bawn JAYSUS now that is a no go area :D:D:D

there is a side road if you walk past the fas building as if your heading up to UCC past the quay co-op, where you come to a set of traffic lights (they were doing roads works there for ages) there is a bridge for cars to the right and a pub on the left hand corner... well if you turn left at the pub instead of crossing the road there is a great big hill - i know i know a hill in cork what a shocker - that road has no street lights and its a fairly dodgey area - i wandered onto it walking home from a friend's house one night and i was terrified never ever again

The lovely Barrack Street?! Ah that's not the worst. Although walking there on your own late at night - yes, not the most comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

skerries.

it gets mental during the sailing season.

Part of Moyross is pretty much "no go" (Delmege Park etc.) but the rest of it is fine. Some good people live there.

Other small areas in Southill, & Weston are scary enough too.

City centre of Limerick is fine in my experience.

I've only driven past Southill a few times but it looks horrific. How can any local authority allow houses to get to such a condition? How can they house people there at all? Presume a lot of it is derelict?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭crushproof

darkman2 wrote:
    I have a mate who makes it his buisness not to walk down Talbot st from Connolly station under any circumstances because what he says is the amount of scum around that area at all times of the day never mind at night.

Oh come on, daytime???? Hardly ever seen trouble down there in daylight! What a wuss!

Dudess wrote:
    The lovely Barrack Street?! Ah that's not the worst. Although walking there on your own late at night - yes, not the most comfortable.

Barrack Street thats the one .... i dont know if they have sorted it out since but at the time they had no street lights ..... scared the bejaysus outta me

crushproof wrote:
    Oh come on, daytime???? Hardly ever seen trouble down there in daylight! What a wuss!

On Talbot Street? I have. Granted, not every single time I've walked down there, but on a number of occasions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Delmege Park in Moyross, most of Southill and all of the Island Field in Limerick. The rest of the city is absolutely fine though.

CiaranC wrote:
    +1 Insightful

Do you live in Tallaght or something?

Yes, he does. Seems like a right skanger ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Acid_Violet

Is Marlborough street the one between the GPO and Penny's that you can access that mall behind the GPO by? Never would expect that to happen, especially at that time of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭2rs

Is Marlborough street the one between the GPO and Penny's that you can access that mall behind the GPO by? Never would expect that to happen, especially at that time of the day.

runs parallel to O'Connell Street behind the Gresham from Parnell Street down as far as the quays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

No, thats Princess St and the GPO arcade your talking about.

Marlborough St run's from Parnell St (China town now) down to and past the Abbey theatre to the Liffey.