Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing Madeline - Anyone else sick of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Mairt wrote:
    I'm sure this brings great comfort and joy to those of you who couldn't give a rats ass about a missing child.

It sure does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

when all the other media outlets have long forgotten about this story it will live on in this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Well a stolen Alpha 156 was recovered in Swords because of a thread here on boards. Maybe, just maybe the same thing could happen with poor Maddie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

FX Meister wrote:
    Well a stolen Alpha 156 was recovered in Swords because of a thread here on boards. Maybe, just maybe the same thing could happen with poor Maddie.

Wait a miniute. Are you saying shes in swords and you have her locked up and that if we say the right things you'll release her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott

I quite innocently made a blog post in which I was sceptical of how much coverage it was getting.

Within a day, a few hundred people has visited through searching for "madeline mccann" on Google, and quite a few had berated me for being so horribly insensitive, etc. That is, these people were seeking out posts about it so that they could complain about the writers not taking it seriously enough. Bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,945 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Interestingly enough scanning the teletext today looks like some people have started an online petition to get Social Workers in the UK to investigate why they left the kids alone http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/leicestershire/6740315.stm

Also the parents are going to hire a Media Manager to keep the case in the media.

Snake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

From the article

When questioned earlier about critical reaction to the family, Mrs McCann replied: "To be honest, I don't actually think that is the case.

"I think that is a very small minority of people that are criticising us."

Maybe not in the English media, it seems the ones abroad arent quite as happy to pander to the whole thing. Personally I wouldnt sign the petition unless she was found alive. If she is found its time for them to answer some serious questions about their conduct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭CherieAmour

If she's found alive she should be taken off them. it's a total disgrace and anyone that excuses them is an idiot.

But I'd imagine no one will give the fact that it is her parents fault a second thought - sky news & co. will all be too busy rejoicing to deal with the reality of it!

How come within days police announced that they were looking for bodies in the cases of Robert Holohan and Holly & Jessica but there hasn't been a mention of this in the Madeleine case? They are CONVINCED that she is still alive.......why????

Whatever chance the poor thing had of being found alive initially, with the intense media coverage, her kidnapper may have been forced to kill her to save him/herself though this may have not been his/her original plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

http://www.itv.com/news/world_45300f3a5b761edbda58d29b72004768.html

Looks like they are looking for a body now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,841 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

If she's found alive she should be taken off them. it's a total disgrace and anyone that excuses them is an idiot.

But I'd imagine no one will give the fact that it is her parents fault a second thought - sky news & co. will all be too busy rejoicing to deal with the reality of it!

How come within days police announced that they were looking for bodies in the cases of Robert Holohan and Holly & Jessica but there hasn't been a mention of this in the Madeleine case? They are CONVINCED that she is still alive.......why????

Whatever chance the poor thing had of being found alive initially, with the intense media coverage, her kidnapper may have been forced to kill her to save him/herself though this may have not been his/her original plan.

Just whats needed , another compasionate hysterical post .. while we're at it , why not stone the parents or castrate them --- i'm as sick as anyone about this ongoing saga , but please have some humanity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I was away, in Turkey, all last week, and Madeline McCann wasn't mentioned once on the news the whole time I was there.

Oh there was plenty of Paris Hilton news, but not a dickie bird about Maddie.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

well at least they've finally gotten their priorities in order

Well if this latest lead turns out to pin point where she is buried it will be a very sad day indeed.

Snake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭CherieAmour

thebaz wrote:
    Just whats needed , another compasionate hysterical post .. while we're at it , why not stone the parents or castrate them --- i'm as sick as anyone about this ongoing saga , but please have some humanity

How can I be described as compassionate one minute and lacking humanity the next?:rolleyes:

I have both. Compassion for the child, humanity for the child - none for the parents who so irresponsibly left her and two other children alone in an apartment.

I'm not alone in thinking this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I'm not alone in thinking this.

Don't worry. thebaz has a habit of jumping up on his high horse when someone disagrees with his point of view.

Mossy Monk wrote:
    Don't worry. thebaz has a habit of jumping up on his high horse when someone disagrees with his point of view.

No Mossy I agree with you now, cause your never wrong , i now want to further punish the parents for there heinous crimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

thebaz wrote:
    cause your never wrong

Not once have I claimed this. I think it is time you gave it a rest now.

Mossy Monk wrote:
    Not once have I claimed this. I think it is time you gave it a rest now.

what are you talking about -- you take a swipe at me -- i respond -- then you tell me to give it a rest -- oh i'm so sorry your honour -- i didn't realise you had taken control of boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Lads, take your little 'argument' to PMs please.

scojones wrote:
    Lads, take your little 'argument' to PMs please.

Fair eneough , i shall post no more on this, as i know i'll let rip and cop a ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Yup, its looking like she's dead:
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/crime/article/0,,2102182,00.html?gusrc=rss&feed=networkfront
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/6751189.stm
    thebaz wrote:
    what are you talking about -- you take a swipe at me -- i respond -- then you tell me to give it a rest -- oh i'm so sorry your honour -- i didn't realise you had taken control of boards

Seriously dude, your attitude has been awful.

So the parents are giving out about the media now, what do they expect??? interesting similarities in the this case and the belgian step sisters, i.e. sisters left alone while parents were drinking in a nearby bar, and the parents were actually prosecuted for neglect.

Snake ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

So the parents are giving out about the media now, what do they expect???
    Are they really?
    I guess if they are its a case of them only wanting them around when it suits...which is not how it works.If you're happy to use the media when you want you buy into the entire package.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Zillah wrote:

Seems that they've called off the search, having found nothing.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/news/worldnews.html?in_article_id=461295&in_page_id=1811&ct=5

Odd thing about this is that the Dutch police say that they'll try and track down the anonymous tipster if they're asked! Considering that they think that it was the same person who tipped them off over the location of the Belgian girls' bodies, you would have thought that they'd have already tried to find out who the source was!

Does this mean that there aren't any efficient cops in Europe? It looks like the Portuguese, The Brits and the Dutch, at least, couldn't find their Ar*e in their pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

interesting similarities in the this case and the belgian step sisters, i.e. sisters left alone while parents were drinking in a nearby bar, and the parents were actually prosecuted for neglect.

Snake ;)

Interesting that there are similarities..
    is there any chance that they are involved in some way? I read that people are talking about an international child porn network being responsible. There's something not right about the two of them, especially the father. And once you actually stop concentrating on him the wife looks guilty as hell. If you had been irresponsible and your daughter had been taken because of it then obviously you would feel guilty but in interview they seem very cool about the whole thing, a much more common reaction would be to act angry with yourself and beg for forgiveness, "I won't be able to bear it if she comes to harm because of what we did", etc. Instead it was more of a "yes we were irresponsible and naive but the important thing now is to get her back safe"

Plus this whole media tour, could this be interpreted as them trying to pretend that the hoped she was alive when it's quite possible they knew all along that she wasn't? Watch her eyes.. WATCH them!! UNCLEAN!!!

I don't trust them. There's a faint whiff of Jon Benet about this

#Elites wrote:
    im sorry but when i read

in that article, i just clicked off..

Perhaps the extraordinary journalist doubles as a magician's assistant in their spare time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

#Elites wrote:
    im sorry but when i read

in that article, i just clicked off..

I lost interest when I saw "Daily Mail" to be honest :)

Well the cops didn't take much time to search the area did they??? Think they are doing it for the media, I wouldn't be to confident about the cops there. The map of the whereabouts of the bodies of the Belgian girls was about a mile off, but it was still fairly accurate, chances are you could have the real abductor sending emails and maps and getting a thrill out of them finding the body.

Snake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Interesting that there are similarities..
    is there any chance that they are involved in some way? I read that people are talking about an international child porn network being responsible. There's something not right about the two of them, especially the father. And once you actually stop concentrating on him the wife looks guilty as hell. If you had been irresponsible and your daughter had been taken because of it then obviously you would feel guilty but in interview they seem very cool about the whole thing, a much more common reaction would be to act angry with yourself and beg for forgiveness, "I won't be able to bear it if she comes to harm because of what we did", etc. Instead it was more of a "yes we were irresponsible and naive but the important thing now is to get her back safe"

Plus this whole media tour, could this be interpreted as them trying to pretend that the hoped she was alive when it's quite possible they knew all along that she wasn't? Watch her eyes.. WATCH them!! UNCLEAN!!!

I don't trust them. There's a faint whiff of Jon Benet about this

You pretty much summed up what alot of people are thinking. Social service's in the UK really should be looking into their parenting skills or downright lack of them.These sorry excuse for parents also really come accross as odd to me from the pictures and video clips Iv seen in the media since this whole sorry mess began. They both really seem to lack the emotion's that any normal person would be going through in a situation like that and they both come accross as cold and calculating.

Venom wrote:
    You pretty much summed up what alot of people are thinking. Social service's in the UK really should be looking into their parenting skills or downright lack of them.These sorry excuse for parents also really come accross as odd to me from the pictures and video clips Iv seen in the media since this whole sorry mess began. They both really seem to lack the emotion's that any normal person would be going through in a situation like that and they both come accross as cold and calculating.

Of course, many times, when some people are sobbing and snivelling at media press-conferences after their loved ones have been murdered or gone missing, they seem to get charged for the crime a few days later. Perhaps they've set the precedent for normal behaviour on these occasions.