Arrogance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Get a life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

I'm probably not as angry as the OP but I do agree with him.
    I've found it in most Cork people, this arrogance and thinking they're better than everyone else.
    The funny thing is ye're saying that your only doing it for a rise and your not really arrogant, but deep down it's in there somewhere.
    There was a large percentage of Corkonians in my class in college in Dublin and most of them has that f**king stupid People's Republic of Cork t-shirt! Annoyed the hell out of me.

Also see it alot in sporting areas. Remember seeing da Cork-Kilkenny AI hurling final a couple of years ago and the fans being interviewed beforehand. Kilkenny fans were saying 'yeah will be a tight game, hopefully we'll win by a couple of points'. And the Cork fans 'Up ya bhoy, ya gonna win by 45 points, COME ON DA REBELS!!!.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Pal of mine and indeed sometimes of this parish (From Cork, natch) used to refer to the Post Office in Cork as the GPO. See, i could never, and still can't figure that one out. Every country has one GPO, right - and the Irish one happens to be in Dublin...

is this common that the place Corkonians use for the purchase of stamps and the like in the City Centre is called the GPO?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭flo8s967qjh0nd

Yes, the Post Office on Oliver Plunkett Street, Cork, is referred to as the GPO. It is referred to by An Post as GPO, Cork also.

The term GPO refers to the name of the service rather than a particular building. Originally, Britain had a GPO which delivered mail all over the country and had many post offices as part of it's network. The term GPO is wrongly used to describe one particular building. Hence, both dublin people and cork people are both wrong. So, it is not impossible to have more than one "GPO" in one country although technically, GPO refers to a forerunner of An Post rather than a particular building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Chill out, OP, we Corkonians are only having a laugh and winding up the other counties. It's like the way the Dubs wind people up by assuming that everyone outside the Pale is an amphibious creature that divides its time between caves and bogs.

Besides, there's nothing wrong with pride in where you're from. Imagine if RTE had programs about people moaning about how bad their locality was, praying for it to be nuked and attempting suicide live on air.

agamemnon wrote:

Imagine if RTE had programs about people moaning about how bad their locality was, praying for it to be nuked and attempting suicide live on air.

That sounds like a winner. Can we have that on instead of Trump Card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Its not the love of the county thing that gets me (patriotism, the belief your place of birth is the best in the world just because you were born there, we all suffer a little) to me its the complete belief that in every arguement they are right and you are wrong even when they are completely out of their depth.

I couldn't care what county they were from but I just seem to meet more people from Cork who behave like this than any other county (it is a big county though so this may account for that)

Then again one of the soundest lads in my class was from cork.

The people's repulic of cork thing is so sad. What purpose do they serve?? At least a GAA t-shirt or jersey implies a support of local sporting teams. The people's republic t-shirts might as well say, "I'm from Cork and I think its great"

The most annoying cnut i have ever met is from Cork and some of the nicest people I have met are from Cork. Its a mixed bag really. Hate those t-shirts though

They just had a bunch of crazies on that show anyway, hardly a true reflection of Cork at all. Being from Cork myself I couldnt help but laugh when they were going on about spike island being an international heritage site, and that bit when the old codger was going on about aliens. The show was fairly crap but Cork doesnt have any shows like that piece of s*** Capital D.

Well, the t-shirts are multi-faceted really. Not only can you wear them abroad and have your picture taken next to famous landmarks wearing the t-shirt, they also serve as a one-sport fits all supporters outfit.
    Soccer, hurling, football, rugby, you can wear it to all sporting events and get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

RuggieBear wrote:
    the arrogance of them...would they not just take their beating???:eek:

O.K. you've lost me, no idea what you are on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,407 ✭✭✭Ardent

Cork is a strange county alright - I've met some sound people from there but there's a far higher proportion of w@nkers. They're a strange breed, especially those who wear those People's Republic bollox t-shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭MrSquishSquash

Pal of mine and indeed sometimes of this parish (From Cork, natch) used to refer to the Post Office in Cork as the GPO. See, i could never, and still can't figure that one out. Every country has one GPO, right - and the Irish one happens to be in Dublin...

is this common that the place Corkonians use for the purchase of stamps and the like in the City Centre is called the GPO?

Up to this point in my life i thought a GPO simply referred to the main Post Office on a County level.

In my head it just meant "General Post Office" for my area so i would say that's pretty common misconception but their's nothing really wrong with as it does make logical sense ( i mean when i say the Tax Office in Cork it doesn't refer to the Tax Office in Dublin).

I'd let it go OP, It's not as if us "Corkonians" are claiming The Proclamation of Independence was declared off Oliver Plunkett St. now are we (If only :D )!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

There was a large percentage of Corkonians in my class in college in Dublin and most of them has that f**king stupid People's Republic of Cork t-shirt! Annoyed the hell out of me.
    '

ah just admit you are jealous that ye didnt think of it first.
    feck the lot of ye begrudgers

It's not as if us "Corkonians" are claiming The Proclamation of Independence was declared off Oliver Plunkett St. now are we !

Actually, I think it might have been! The 'real' one anyway. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

Best thing to do is just ignore them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

OP's got a point to some extent. I've generally not had a lot of time for the Cork folk I've met over the years. Small man syndrome all the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

Dublin is the capital of Ireland. Get used to it... bhoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Laslo wrote:
    Dublin is the capital of Ireland. Get used to it... bhoy.
    Amen to that Laslo :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

'wan cork

fight the jackeens! drive them back to their sasnach masters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

I'm a Dub, have never been to cork and never will, don't care about the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Mordeth wrote:
    'wan cork

Pfft...and us in the pale are supposed to be the anglophiles...?......Sasanaigh FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 JohnnyFilters

To all the Cork people saying that they it's pseudo arrogance just to get a rise out of people. I'd disagree I've been living in Cork since I was quite young but am not from there (I've picked up the accent though). I worked in a shop that sells all the peoples republic stuff, and the amount of tossers that come in buying it and then for no apparant reason saying how fecking great Cork is is ridiculous! Often followed by a comment about Kerry or Dublin! As another poster said serious case of small man syndrome type thing down here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Mordeth wrote:
    'wan cork

Sasnach masters? Sure the only thing to come from Cork was traitors - Roy Keane and Michael Collins ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

Cork people, highly arrogant and self-centred. They live in their own little world.
    It's an embarassment to hear them go on with that people's republic crap,
    how they possibly don't realise that the city is inferior to Dublin in almost every way I'll never know.
    Should just get over themselves. Those stupid RTE programmes with John Creedon in them,
    "we have an English Market where you can buy sausages and chicken and even fish!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Good to see that Dubs are beyond all that pettyness, tbh.

But then, how many threads about "town" do we see with a Cork origin popping up in AH? Hmm? Quite the bit of self-rectal sperlunking, that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

the city

LOL, they call that a city now? How cute!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The People's Republic of Cork website and paraphernalia is completely tongue-in-cheek. Anyone who actually takes it seriously is a knob and shouldn't be given any heed.

As a Cork person, I think the "patriotism", or whatever it should be called, is funny to a point, but it does start to grate after a while. Among most young people, it's intended as ironic. Among older people, not sure if there's much irony there.

I was appalled at the inability of so many Cork people to condemn Roy Keane's APPALLING behaviour in 2002. When I voiced my view that what he did was a disgrace, I was either met with deafening silence or abuse. So in a case like that, yeah, I do think there are some Corkonians who are incapable of criticising anything that originates in their beloved city. Cork is a good place though - there's a good vibe. Believe me, I'm sick **** of living there - that's why I moved to Dublin, but from here, I can see the merits of the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I'm from Cork and I've never heard that "real capital" "we hate the dubs" stuff anywhere apart from RTÉ programmes tbh. It's actually pretty annoying. You'd be looking forward to seeing the place on TV and the programme-makers just trot out a bunch of clichés that don't even reprazent. Seriously, you would think they were talking about a completely different place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Ruen

Sasnach masters? Sure the only thing to come from Cork was traitors - Roy Keane and Michael Collins ;)
    :mad:
    Michael Collins was one of the greatest men this country ever produced and you have some neck to call him a traitor.
    That "Peoples Republic of Cork" stuff is a load of crap because we all come from one Republic and that's The Republic of Ireland.
    Mordeth do you realise the "Sasnaigh masters", as you call them, were Corkonians masters as much as they were Dubs and Galwegians and every other counties until we all fought them and kicked them out:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

Dublin is a far superior county.