Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing Madeline - Anyone else sick of this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Blondie86Star

I've just seen the TV3 appeal fund for Madeline with Lorraine Keane.....I feel sick.

I saw that aswell. FFS isnt there better things IN IRELAND to be donating money to? The last time I checked we do have a homeless problem in this country.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,404 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I saw that aswell. FFS isnt there better things IN IRELAND to be donating money to? The last time I checked we do have a homeless problem in this country.
    not to mention that one foreign kid goes missing here every week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭flynnser19

if its true that she was taken to sell to a family they would have killed her the minute the parents appealed for her because she's useless!!people will recognise her straight away!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭robnubis

I wonder if little Maddy is just really, really, really dedicated to a game of hide and seek.

News agencies need to get their priorities straight and stop focusing on this so much, there are a few wars going on atm, but apparently people being killed by suicide bombers and palestianian camps being shelled pales in comparison to a missing darling little blonde girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,090 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Robnubis it has died down and will even further (I just wish this thread would as well)

Snake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Crazy Christ

Here is a little poem I came up with for our sweet princess while I was on the toilet :

Madeleine
    Today I am thinking of Madeleine McCann
    Who was taken away probably by a man
    That man must have been a paedophile
    And thanks to him her parents might never again see her innocent smile
    This makes me so sad I don’t want to play
    And neither does my cat who ran away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

robnubis wrote:
    I wonder if little Maddy is just really, really, really dedicated to a game of hide and seek.

News agencies need to get their priorities straight and stop focusing on this so much, there are a few wars going on atm, but apparently people being killed by suicide bombers and palestianian camps being shelled pales in comparison to a missing darling little blonde girl.

This thread was almost dead until you brought it back to life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭dcarroll

saw a missing poster for madeline in a shop in tramore at the weekend! i do hope they find the girl and all but i was still raging at this, if the manager had been there i would have asked him can i stick up a poster for every other missing child in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

You guys are cold....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

This is also starting to piss me off. At first I didn't want to be a heartless bastard, but now "Missing Madeline" is all I see over the net. It's turned into some sort of tightly knitted package people can tout and show off how much they care/want to get involved, even though it's a lost cause. It's getting too much publicity, this happens all the time. We've got war that is wrong and is killing about 10 more Madeline's a week yet no one cares. People NEED to stop watching "the news". You're not going to find peace and resolution there, it's built on bad news

/RANT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Actually this thread is probably more irritating to me at this stage :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

GREAT NEWS FOR SOME OF YOU GUYS

The little girls family have given up their media campaign from today and have taken time to greive her loss.

I'm sure this brings great comfort and joy to those of you who couldn't give a rats ass about a missing child.

Mairt wrote:

The little girls family have given up their media campaign from today and have taken time to greive her loss.

I'm sure this brings great comfort and joy to those of you who couldn't give a rats ass about a missing child.

It's not that we don't care, it's just that the media publicity if out of control, there more serious matters at hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

Arathorn wrote:
    Now they have appointed a paid adviser and talking about having a designated Madeleine Day later this year, and a possible concert or sporting event.

http://observer.guardian.co.uk/uk_news/story/0,,2094258,00.html

Lolz! This is starting to get more and more like the Simpsons episode where Bart fools the town into thinking poor Timmy is trapped down a well. All we need are the Hollywood celebs....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Really feel so sorry for them now, they really tried to undo the wrong they commited, I hope they never give up hope and realise that theres a big bunch of people out there still holding out for them, and the other family’s that have missing family members.

The media coverage done absolutly no harm to anyone. I for one dont actually watch sky news, so it had very little impact on my life, but I still wanted the little girl found.

So Glad wrote:
    It's not that we don't care, it's just that the media publicity if out of control, there more serious matters at hand.

I too think that at times the media went overboard. My problem with this thread however is the people who tried to turn this into (another) race issue.

Its Fook all to do with her being a beautiful, blonde white child. Because if that was the case we wouldn't still be listening to and seeing news of the couple of black teens murdered in the UK, ie Steven Laurance (sp'ing) and other's.

So Glad wrote:
    Ye don't give a sh1te. lets be honest. So if your child was missing you wouldn't exhaust every avenue. At least now ye will have peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

I guess if it ever happens to So Glad he'll just forget about it and apprecate the spare seat on the way home on the plane and the new den he can turn his kids bedroom into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,278 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

FX Meister wrote:
    I guess if it ever happens to So Glad he'll just forget about it and apprecate the spare seat on the way home on the plane and the new den he can turn his kids bedroom into.

I presume that child benefit would still be paid every month - as an added bonus.
    I wonder when payment would stop, if the child were never to be found......................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Mairt wrote:

I saw them on Sky News only this morning. And there was no mention of giving up the media campaign.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I did hear somewhere else that they were stopping, or at least slowing down.. but I wasn't really paying attention .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

they said that after morocco they were going back to the algarve to morn her and would stay there until the end of the summer and then return to britain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,090 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Can one of the Mods close this thread now as the media interest has died down and with the Parents withdrawing from the media spotlight, I think its fair to shut this thread.

Snake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Can one of the Mods close this thread now as the media interest has died down and with the Parents withdrawing from the media spotlight, I think its fair to shut this thread.

Snake
    It's far from over yet IMO.

whiskeyman wrote:
    It's far from over yet IMO.

Not if you bump your own thread it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Mairt wrote:
    Not if you bump your own thread it's not.
    thanks for bumping it again... :rolleyes:

There mightn't be any developments in the actual investigation, but I'm sure the whole Madeline campaign will keep going on.
    I mean, aren't we all holding out to see the line-up for 'Maddie Day 07'?

Jaysus, a lot of people picking on me here. I don't have any children so the chances of me loosing one would be nil. **** happens get over it.

"OH! D'you ear tha', Vera!? Eees bloody at it again! Testing my nerves so eee is!

So Glad wrote:
    I don't have any children "OH! D'you ear tha', Vera!? Eees bloody at it again! Testing my nerves so eee is!
    Thank fcuk for that...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Whether or not the parents give up the media campaign doesn't matter as the news will still talk about it.....even if its to tell us that nothing has changed.So its a safe bet on their part that they can step back and give up their own campaign as the media momentum will still keep it in the public's eye.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

what i find galling is the fact that even to this day, the parents don't believe their actions on the night in question was reckless.:eek:

ill judged but not reckless they say

I mean HELLO...you went out dining with your friends and left your kids all alone in a hotel bedroom with the door open...COP ON!!