Excuse me please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

In every other European country they said "excuse me" (local equivalent).

No one has yet to explain to me why it's not accepted in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,873 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

To be pedantic for a moment...
    "Sorry" implies that you did something wrong. (Which you didn't.)
    "Excuse me" or "pardon me" would be be the correct term to use to get someone's attention, such as wanting to pass them on an escalator.

OP - At the end of the day, you attempted to pass them in a mannerly fashion. They were rude by not accepting this.

KTRIC wrote:
    I'm from a normal working class backround
    Maybe the were shocked to see someone of your status on an escalator. Really, you should know by now that you should have used the staff staircase! Escalators are for the middle classes. ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

KTRIC wrote:

It is, I say it all the time.

Actually, I usually say it in french out of habit. Been saying it for six or seven years in french, without thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭cson

KTRIC wrote:

Probably considered as being pretentious.

Either way I can't understand why you'd apologise (excuse me? for what.) to go past someone anyway. Bulldoze them out of the way. Especially the old people. They can't fight back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    I always say, 'Sorry, excuse me' and I might even throw in another 'sorry' at the end, whenever I am trying to get by someone.

I can't explain why, I just do, I suppose it's just that bit more courteous.

Ha Ha, I do the exact same thing and then I just realise "Wait, did I say that right?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

just make ambulance noises as you push past them, works for me

Gauge wrote:
    When I was in the US last summer I got into the habit of having to say 'excuse me' when squeezing past people because 'sorry' would usually be followed by a puzzled expression and 'Oh, it's ok.' :(

Hah, that made me laugh.

I always say, "sorry, excuse me" as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's the Irish inferiority complex, but thankfully we're slowly losing it. The Irish say "Sorry" for everything, not just to push by you.

It's the same effect as politely refusing a cup of tea or a drink when it's offered, even you want it. It's polite to refuse the first one, polite for the host to offer again, and polite for the guest to accept then (even if they don't want it). There's very much an "I don't want to rock the boat or cause offence" attitude in Ireland which has been around for yonks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

KTRIC wrote:
    Ah f*ck it then :mad: . Next person that gets in my way is getting a kick in the back of the knee cap.

Try "get outta the way ya coffin dodger" next time...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

seamus wrote:
    It's the Irish inferiority complex, but thankfully we're slowly losing it. The Irish say "Sorry" for everything, not just to push by you.

It's the same effect as politely refusing a cup of tea or a drink when it's offered, even you want it. It's polite to refuse the first one, polite for the host to offer again, and polite for the guest to accept then (even if they don't want it). There's very much an "I don't want to rock the boat or cause offence" attitude in Ireland which has been around for yonks.
    That is exactly what my Dad tells me on a regular basis, you sound just like him.

Forever giving out about how we are a nation of 'suck holes and lick arses'. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

anniehoo wrote:
    so putting sorry in front of it makes it sound better and less offensive..its weird!

No, sorry for disturbing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

If you are outsider in Dublin, the etiquette is usually,

"Out of my way, plebs!":)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

seamus wrote:

Ahh, i was wondering why i keep doing that. Mystery solved.

next time i'll say yes right away, then punch them in the throat. Gotta make up for all that false humility somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,142 ✭✭✭olaola

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    I always say, 'Sorry, excuse me'

Yeah - I'm the same. I say 'sorry' to get their attention, and then say 'excuse me' as I pass.
    If I'm in a crowd it usually just ends up being sorryexcusemesorryexcusemesorryexcuseme...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Jonesy3110

I used to say sorry, but then i was like "what the hell am I apologising for Im not the one getting in peoples way!" So then I started saying excuse me. I see it as a shortened form of "Excuse me, may I get by"

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Just push the fúckers onto the road they'll get the idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Just give them a good hard shoulder and if they fall say "excuse me", otherwise nothing at all and add a smug grin. :)

I would normally say "excuse me" or "pardon me".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

seamus wrote:

That's what it is exactly, but as someone mentioned earlier, we've also lost our manners. So what you get now is all these eejits ploughing their way like there's no tomorrow through a crowd or off a bus or something, apologising profusely, but completely insincerely...:rolleyes:
    Seems to be more common in Dublin than down the country too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

I always say, "sorry, excuse me" as well.
    I would have thought that "Excuse me, sorry" would have been the more correct form.

As in "excuse me" I'm about to come past you so make way, followed by a "sorry" once you have already pushed them out of the way for being too slow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I just tell them to fook off! that'll learn them good! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I generally mutter something along the lines of 'sorryscusemethanks'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭cooperguy

People say sorry meaning Sorry for disturbing/inconveniencing/moving you. Its as appropriate as excuse me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭karen3212

seamus wrote:

I remember having to refuse twice.

I was told it came from the days when people had nothing. Therefore if they really didn't have anything, they'd drop it after the second asking.

Anyway I think the excuse me is something to do with the english language and not wanting to use it properly.

I don't like it when people say excuse me loudly.

I say sorry , excuse me sorry..... real culchie like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

All these niceties are very confusing by times.

I remember once I was sitting on a bus and a woman hit me in the head with her bag as she was getting off... she said "sorry" and I hadn't a clue what I was supposed to say in response so I just blurted out a "thank you" which made me sound like some sort of depraved masochist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

From hence forth I shall say "Pardon me" or possibly "C'emere yung wan will ya give us a go on yer fanny" whichever I deem to be more polite out the time.
    Or of course if you are a lady you could say "C'mere yung felleh an gis a go on yer mickey"
    TK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

NeMiSiS wrote:
    From hence forth I shall say "Pardon me" or possibly "C'emere yung wan will ya give us a go on yer fanny" whichever I deem to be more polite out the time.
    Or of course if you are a lady you could say "C'mere yung felleh an gis a go on yer mickey"
    TK

:eek: :eek:

That seems like a good approach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

NeMiSiS wrote:
    Remember... if the person in question is American you'd be asking to sodomise them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

she said "sorry" and I hadn't a clue what I was supposed to say in response so I just blurted out a "thank you" which made me sound like some sort of depraved masochist.

An oul 'no bother' would do the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭neGev

I remember once I was sitting on a bus and a woman hit me in the head with her bag as she was getting off... she said "sorry" and I hadn't a clue what I was supposed to say in response so I just blurted out a "thank you" which made me sound like some sort of depraved masochist.
    Post of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

cson wrote:
    Meh, just throw them a "Outta the ****ing way old timers!"
    oooo la dee da. kick in the hole ftw
    Hill Billy wrote:
    To be pedantic for a moment...
    "Sorry" implies that you did something wrong. (Which you didn't.)
    "Excuse me" or "pardon me" would be be the correct term to use to get someone's attention, such as wanting to pass them on an escalator.
    surely excuse me or pardon me is asking them to excuse you for something or pardon you for something. why would you have to be pardoned if you'd done nothing wrong?