Deportation - Why don't the courts use it.

• 02-05-2007 10:18PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭

Reading the indo online and came across the following story. Why does this crap continue day in, day out without action.

"A 13-YEAR-old girl, facing nine theft charges over an alleged ATM machine scam, has been remanded on continuing bail pending directions from the DPP.

The Romanian girl, who lives in west Dublin, arrived in Ireland just over three months ago and in that time has been the subject of a number of arrests for stealing money from people at ATMs. She had been charged at the Dublin Children's Court with nine counts of theft of €200 from people at ATMs in Dublin city centre.

These alleged offences happened at bank machines on O'Connell Street, Grafton Street and at Stephen's Green, between February 20 and March 10 last.

On April 3 last the girl had been further charged with two more offences, for stealing €200 from a person on O'Connell Street, on February 14 last, and the same amount from another at Grafton Street, on March 9 last. Judge Bryan Smyth remanded her on bail until June 12. The bail has strict conditions stating that she must not loiter near any ATM, and that she must obey a curfew between 8pm and 8am daily."
    http://www.unison.ie/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1822891&issue_id=15575

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I think they generally don't send people back to dodgy countries.... Africa, Romania, Iraq, etc etc..... where they will get an unfair trial etc.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

how would deporting her have any bearing on her getting a fair trial for a crime commited in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

I would class this case as extreme. She is in the country 3 months, has 9 charges against her. We all know the Gardai don't have 100% detection rates, so how many times has she gotten away with it. Where are her parents. Why the hell isn't she in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

Here we go....
    *looks for immigrant bashing club

Agree strongly though. Any immigrant that recieves a criminal conviction within 12 months of being here should be put on the first plane home.
    Same applies for the Irish emmigrants.
    I'm with you 100% on this one get the criminals out and let the immigrants who want to make a new life for themselfs live here without been linked to these scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Lazare

I was only thinking about this today after reading another thread about Romany gypsies pickpocketing on Camden St. The Guards actually caught this scumbag red handed and let him go! :confused:

This girl landed here three months ago and has already been up in court numerous times, why is she not fcuked out? This country is a fcuking joke!

The sad thing is, these filthy excuses for humans are giving good Romanian people (of which there are plenty here) a really bad rep.

I don't think they should be deported though, I think they should be lined up against a wall and shot.

These people really infuriate me, don't reply here saying, 'ah sure they come from really tough backrounds, give them a break'. BOLL0X. Plenty of good natured, honest Romanians have come here and have blended in and contributed to this society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

DonJose wrote:
    Reading the indo online and came across the following story. Why does this crap continue day in, day out without action.

"A 13-YEAR-old girl, facing nine theft charges over an alleged ATM machine scam, has been remanded on continuing bail pending directions from the DPP.

The Romanian girl, who lives in west Dublin, arrived in Ireland just over three months ago and in that time has been the subject of a number of arrests for stealing money from people at ATMs. She had been charged at the Dublin Children's Court with nine counts of theft of €200 from people at ATMs in Dublin city centre.

These alleged offences happened at bank machines on O'Connell Street, Grafton Street and at Stephen's Green, between February 20 and March 10 last.

On April 3 last the girl had been further charged with two more offences, for stealing €200 from a person on O'Connell Street, on February 14 last, and the same amount from another at Grafton Street, on March 9 last. Judge Bryan Smyth remanded her on bail until June 12. The bail has strict conditions stating that she must not loiter near any ATM, and that she must obey a curfew between 8pm and 8am daily."
    http://www.unison.ie/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1822891&issue_id=15575

O'Connell St is getting to be a bit of a warzone lately. There was a young girl caught in my branch last month trying to swipe money out of customers hands. Money comes out of ATM and.. *Yoink*. Maybe she was the same one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Don't people from Romania have to come here as self-employed?
    Is begging and stealing a profession now?

It's too late now, this should have been stopped at the airports and ports before it even happened. Only people with a trade or useful skill should be allowed in-a work permit system.
    These people are here to stay and giving decent Romanians a bad name. Residents against Racism will see to it that they stay:mad:

This girl won't change and if she is here in 5 years she'll be doing the same. What are the odds her entire family are doing similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

This country seems to love criminals and scumbags and knackery skangers cnuts in general, you get away with anything including murder in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Lads and Ladies, these f*ckers are not Romainians, they are Roma Gypsies, there's a big bloody difference.

Romainians look a lot like Irish people and have similar colouring, these scum are darker and have been trying to pass themselves off as Romainians here for years. I'm really surprised that this has gone on for so long.

I was going to compair the Roma to Irish Travellers but there is absolutly no comparison, the Roma are the lowest of the low. I personally have more respect for rats than them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ach, come on - she's only 13. She must have come with parents though, can action against them be taken?

For adults I think deportation should be on the map, for violent crimes and such that gives a 3+ years gaol sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 mogsy

she may be 13 but is still not contributing anything to irish society, roma gypsies are con artists and criminals. fact.

i have never heard anyone say a good word about roma gypsies, has anyone any experience of working with them(in a noncriminal capacity) or do they work here at all apart from begging and stealing?

they are the scourge of europe and bring crime with them wherever they go, i feel zero tolerance should be shown with the roma gypsies and should be thrown out of country once crimes are committed and repatriated.

does anyone think the pc do gooders at residents against racism are an unfair representation of peoples views on this issue as whenever a deportation or the like occurs media bias is incredible with residents against racism calling deportations as racism when in fact they are the law of the land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

I'm always a little conflicted on immigrant issues, as I have good friends who are shining examples of how immigrants can both help our country and those coming to it.

However, in a way, it is people like this girl who can tarnish the image of those who work hard here for a better life. For those reasons, I think deportation should be a valid punishment for recent immigrants who commit crimes.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I think these people should be deported. As said before they give the hard working immigrants who are more or less upstanding members of society a very bad name which causes hostility towards these decent people. Especially for crimes that warrent jail time. These people cause the irish tax payer a fortune. It should be put up with no longer. Give them the boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

KTRIC wrote:
    Lads and Ladies, these f*ckers are not Romainians, they are Roma Gypsies, there's a big bloody difference.

Romainians look a lot like Irish people and have similar colouring, these scum are darker and have been trying to pass themselves off as Romainians here for years. I'm really surprised that this has gone on for so long.

I was going to compair the Roma to Irish Travellers but there is absolutly no comparison, the Roma are the lowest of the low. I personally have more respect for rats than them.

QFT. I'd stop quicker if I hit a cat on the road in my car than one of those scum. And if that makes me racist, so be it.

When I worked in a shop, the Polish and Romanian lads I worked with would always be the first to spot the Romas when they came into the shop. Every time they came in there would be trouble either by getting the kids to shoplift, passing off forged notes or trying to scam our ATM or other customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

QFT. I'd stop quicker if I hit a cat on the road in my car than one of those scum. And if that makes me racist, so be it.

When I worked in a shop, the Polish and Romanian lads I worked with would always be the first to spot the Romas when they came into the shop. Every time they came in there would be trouble either by getting the kids to shoplift, passing off forged notes or trying to scam our ATM or other customers.

Did you even read my post or do you even know what "QFT" means ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,343 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

The question is: who'd take all of our deportees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

I was in a queue at the Ulster Bank on O'Connell Street last week and there was a Roma Gypsy in front of me. He has 2 bank cards and withdrew a wad of 50's with the 2 cards and left the bank link empty! So I walked up a little bit to the next one and there was the same guy doing the same thing - left that one empty too! Now if that was legit, why wouldn't he just go into the bank to withdraw the money instead of leaving every bank link in O'Connell Steet empty?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Lump wrote:
    I think they generally don't send people back to dodgy countries.... Africa, Romania, Iraq, etc etc..... where they will get an unfair trial etc.

John

Can you really class Romania as that dodgy a country? Its just joined the EU hasnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

How is sending someone home an adequate punishment?

Jail them, *then* send them home.

The only problem being that prison is a free hotel, and our stupid laws will probably allow someone to accrue "residency" time in jail so that they can claim citizenship when released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Screw deportation, It's election time, we could probably demand decapitation and get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

But I don't wanna be decapitated!

I'd go for the X convitions during the first X months of residence though.

Considering I've been here 7 years on a clean sheet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

Overheal wrote:
    But I don't wanna be decapitated!

I'd go for the X convitions during the first X months of residence though.

Considering I've been here 7 years on a clean sheet :D

I am here 6 Years too No criminal record.

On the other note regarding the thread

the way it works is "If to dont get rewarded for doing good then its not good" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭gyppo

Surely some form of probationary period could be applied - keep the nose clean for 12 months from the date of entry, otherwise first plane back to where they came from.

Steal a pair of knickers from Dunne's - bye, bye, we don't want you here. You had your chance, you blew it.

It would be a damn sight less expensive to the state than having to go through offering legal aid, and the cost of imprisonment where appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

My God the Celtic Tiger has got some seriously ugly little cubs, hasn't it?

"Filthy excuses for humans"

"criminals and scumbags and knackery skangers cnuts"

"****ers"

"Scum"

"con artists"

And as for the twunt who said he'd stop quicker if his car hit a cat in the road than "one of these scum"

I think you should all be stripped of your Irish citizenship and sent off to be genuine stateless immigrants somewhere else. the you'd see the other side.

get off your moral pedestal snickers man, this thread involves the argument for deporting immigrants involved in crime not deporting all immigrants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

My God the Celtic Tiger has got some seriously ugly little cubs, hasn't it?

"Filthy excuses for humans"

"criminals and scumbags and knackery skangers cnuts"

"****ers"

"Scum"

"con artists"

And as for the twunt who said he'd stop quicker if his car hit a cat in the road than "one of these scum"

I think you should all be stripped of your Irish citizenship and sent off to be genuine stateless immigrants somewhere else. the you'd see the other side.

Oh, loike righish Roderick. Soooo totally un-PC loike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,343 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

get off your moral pedestal snickers man, this thread involves the argument for deporting immigrants involved in crime not deporting all immigrants

And not deporting all criminals, either. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Like those guys really give the impression they're concerned about the difference.

de5p0i1er wrote:
    I'm with you 100% on this one get the criminals out and let the immigrants who want to make a new life for themselfs live here without been linked to these scumbags.

yes i think they made a clear distinction here would you not agree??

or how about here

quote sky high flyer

or here

quote almighty cushion

I think these people should be deported. As said before they give the hard working immigrants who are more or less upstanding members of society a very bad name which causes hostility towards these decent people