irish men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Dun laoire wrote:
    Is it o.k if it's a council gaf? If so ASL?
    Will Sir be requiring his usual Barry White CD and 2mg phial of Rohypnol?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

ferdi wrote:
    Surly irish women are to blame here?

Irish women mother their sons too much thereby turning irish men into mammys boys.

its coming around to bite yiz in the ass.

Yes but then Irish Men go and Marry (women like) their Mothers, so it perpetuates the problem.

I also don't like Irish Men because (many) are too pasty skinned for my tastes. With hair in the wrong places. Bad teeth too, and the whole handsome package is wrapped up in a shuddersome bundle of tracksuits and Man Utd Jerseys. Topped off with an alluring smell of Guinness fart. Yum :eek:

Ps yes my location is with my Mother, but I'm a Woman, and its a temporary living arrangement :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭daiixi

kizzyr wrote:
    Also I would steer well clear of anyone who is still living with their parents past the age of 20 tops, ideally they will have moved out once they have finished school and gone to university or started working.
    Sure go to Australia and you'll find that a lot of people move out of home between the ages of 18 and 23 and then move back home about five years later because they realise what a sweet deal it is/was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well this has to be the most disappointing thread ever !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

daiixi wrote:
    Sure go to Australia and you'll find that a lot of people move out of home between the ages of 18 and 23 and then move back home about five years later because they realise what a sweet deal it is/was!
    Which means I'm not going to like Australian men a whole lot then. I really cannot understand people living at home long term. I can get to grips with it if someone is saving like mad to get a place of their own if they are intent on buying if not get the hell out, be a grown up, find a place to rent, cut those apron strings and make a life and home of your own. Someone living at home when they are an adult is one of the biggest turn offs no matter where the hell they are from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

the OP tried a clever ploy to "out" all the female members on boards. only one took the bait tho. poor girl. she should expect a flurry of PMs now!! lol

gandalf wrote:
    Maybe thats because Irish women aren't as overly fragile are the Irish men are when it comes to being knocked back and so having to resort to telling all and sundry that all Irish men are fat, ugly, have bad dress sense, are overly materialistic, up themselves, etc etc etc. :) and so don't feel the need to vent what are the obvious frustrations of the Irish male.

yes, god bless irish womens low standards!!

The_B_Man wrote:
    yes, god bless irish womens low standards!!
    and yet all you can do is criticize them:rolleyes:

kizzyr wrote:
    LOL I'm a lovely girl though (and not in the Father Ted sense either as can be a little bit naughty too;) ).........does it matter which part of Meath I'm from
    Yes, don't say Duleek as I've just come back from the local pub quiz and the first prize was fire.

kizzyr wrote:
    and yet all you can do is criticize them:rolleyes:

ah c'mon now! we all love irish women, but only the nice ones. we dont like the ones that arent nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

gandalf wrote:

Agreed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

My experience of Irish men has been positive, both as friends and as boyfriends - they have been intelligent, funny and sensitive. What more could a girl want. And one of the greatest things is that I married a great one :D (sorry, still a newly wed).

Still beta testing their hardware.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

I think that if there is anything wrong with Irish men, (of this current generation), its directly as a result of what's wrong with society.

For the sake of the thread topic I'm just dealing with blokes here and not at all assuming all Irish women are exempt.

I could say that alot of Irish men have little or no respect for women, but thats generally the fault of the women they may have been, or are currently surrounded by.
    Some of you have spoken of the mammy complex for example.
    The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world, and unfortunately sometimes ruins it for those of us who have to date, or procreate with these particular men.

Irish men of this generation don't seem to be family orientated, (by that I mean respect their own families and the nature of belonging to such a structure), and take a long time to mature well into their 30's perhaps, but that's because they don't have to.
    Society says they don't, by that I mean they can stay single for as long as they want and continue their teenage years well into their late twenties and indeed fourties in some cases.
    There is less societal pressure on them to start a family or be the head of one...like for example the pressures in the 50's 60's etc..i.e. In short,they have little responsibility and little direction.

There are other pressures the poor sods have to deal with though. I would much prefer to be a woman than a man.
    I'm not taking all the responsibility away from them and putting it on their mammies though :)
    Whist Irish women tend to mature and grow out of the shackles of their perhaps crappy family life, from my own observations Irish men don't tend to grow out of it as quickly.

And as for yer one who has a hang up about people who live in the family home. If that's a standard you've set yourself for weeding out the useless, you had better be able to wait out for the property crash so as everyone fits your ideal profile. If that's the only problem you have with Irish men, I would suggest strongly that you don't have one, and perhaps assess the dynamics of the Irish property market before making rash statements.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

hell yeah, I moved back in with my parents after a year in Canada and I'm just fantastic!.

bug wrote:
    I think that if there is anything wrong with Irish men, (of this current generation), its directly as a result of what's wrong with society.

For the sake of the thread topic I'm just dealing with blokes here and not at all assuming all Irish women are exempt.

I could say that alot of Irish men have little or no respect for women, but thats generally the fault of the women they may have been, or are currently surrounded by.
    Some of you have spoken of the mammy complex for example.
    The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world, and unfortunately sometimes ruins it for those of us who have to date, or procreate with these particular men.

Irish men of this generation don't seem to be family orientated, (by that I mean respect their own families and the nature of belonging to such a structure), and take a long time to mature well into their 30's perhaps, but that's because they don't have to.
    Society says they don't, by that I mean they can stay single for as long as they want and continue their teenage years well into their late twenties and indeed fourties in some cases.
    There is less societal pressure on them to start a family or be the head of one...like for example the pressures in the 50's 60's etc..i.e. In short,they have little responsibility and little direction.

There are other pressures the poor sods have to deal with though. I would much prefer to be a woman than a man.
    I'm not taking all the responsibility away from them and putting it on their mammies though :)
    Whist Irish women tend to mature and grow out of the shackles of their perhaps crappy family life, from my own observations Irish men don't tend to grow out of it as quickly.

And as for yer one who has a hang up about people who live in the family home. If that's a standard you've set yourself for weeding out the useless, you had better be able to wait out for the property crash so as everyone fits your ideal profile. If that's the only problem you have with Irish men, I would suggest strongly that you don't have one, and perhaps assess the dynamics of the Irish property market before making rash statements

That was me and it wasn't a rash statement, it really and truly bugs me when people (male and female) stay at home with their parents forever. Everyone doesn't have to own a house, I don't know why it is the thing that everyone in this country is obsessed about to the point where our government comes up with an affordable housing scheme. If you can't afford to buy you rent simple as.
    I find that when people live at home well past the time they should have grown a back bone and moved out are overly pampered and spoiled and then when they eventually decide to grow a pair a move out they fully expect the same level of service with the person they are now living with.

If you can't afford to buy you rent simple as.

Rent is just dead money. You might as well be throwing it out the window.
    I find that when people live at home well past the time they should have grown a back bone and moved out are overly pampered and spoiled and then when they eventually decide to grow a pair a move out they fully expect the same level of service with the person they are now living with.

How so? Many people who still live at home are paying money each week, cook their own meals, have their own room, do their own laundry, buy their own food, contribute to the bills, and lead a very independant life. The only difference to renting is that they aren't paying ridiculous amounts of money to strangers for the privilege, and are in fact adding to the income of people who raised them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

kizzyr wrote:
    t really and truly bugs me when people (male and female) stay at home with their parents forever... Everyone doesn't have to own a house... If you can't afford to buy you rent simple as... they should have grown a back bone and moved out are overly pampered and spoiled and then when they... decide to grow a pair a move out they fully expect the same level of service with the person they are now living with.
    Remember that Irish women thread? :D
    Rent is just dead money. You might as well be throwing it out the window.
    In the current climate, rent on a house or apartment will generally be less than or equal to the interest portion of a mortgage to pay for a similar property in that location. You can justify renting as long as its a bit cheaper than the interest payments. Mind you, I'd only advise renting until the current climate changes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

kizzyr wrote:
    Maybe thats because Irish women aren't as overly fragile are the Irish men are when it comes to being knocked back and so having to resort to telling all and sundry that all Irish men are fat, ugly, have bad dress sense, are overly materialistic, up themselves, etc etc etc. :) and so don't feel the need to vent what are the obvious frustrations of the Irish male.

or maybe its because as soon as they do all they are going to get is abuse.
    or maybe the majority of posters are male anyways.

I am really struggling to find many female viewpoints in this thread in any event and the only common thing i can find is that irish men are mammy's boys in the negative and have a great sense of humour in the positive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭karen3212

Irish men, great fun, the best looking in the world, mammy's boys,

Great fun because they're not pressured into growing up too quickly and desperately competing with every other man they meet. Some men from other countries spend all of their youth chasing money, no fun at all, by the time they are 60 realise they should have had more fun while they were young, fecking eejits.

Manny's boys, definately, but that is their Daddy's fault, if he supported the boys mother properly like a man, then Mammy would not have substituted and used little Johnny as her emotional partner.

Weirdest self-promotion from an Irish man I've ever heard, I'm a fully qualified butcher,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

kizzyr wrote:

Some people working in an underpaid workforce just can't afford excessively expensive houses in a massively inflated property market. A lot of the time it has nothing to do with 'back bone' and more to do with the kind of corruption that allows big business to profit from one of life's most basic necessities/other people's misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,963 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

kizzyr wrote:
    That was me and it wasn't a rash statement, it really and truly bugs me when people (male and female) stay at home with their parents forever. Everyone doesn't have to own a house, I don't know why it is the thing that everyone in this country is obsessed about to the point where our government comes up with an affordable housing scheme. If you can't afford to buy you rent simple as.

I disagree. There are various reasons why people remain at home in their early twenties. There are multiple obstacles to obtaining property of your own in the greater Dublin area - and solid arguments against renting long - term.

I don't believe that it is as black and white as you would like to think. But you are entitled to your opinion - and forcefully expressing opinions is never a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭magick

I believe that a lady should know her place after I wine and dine her. As a lady she is expected to acknowledge my manly needs by hoisting her skirt high above her Venus mound, as I shove my throbbing member into her entrails

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

magick wrote:
    I believe that a lady should know her place after I wine and dine her. As a lady she is expected to acknowledge my manly needs by hoisting her skirt high above her Venus mound, as I shove my throbbing member into her entrails

Haha. Oh... my... God.

karen3212 wrote:
    Manny's boys, definately, but that is their Daddy's fault, if he supported the boys mother properly like a man, then Mammy would not have substituted and used little Johnny as her emotional partner.
    Words like pot, kettle and black spring to mind when I consider how many Irish women in their 20's are still living at home, even when they have kids.

Laslo wrote:
    Some people working in an underpaid workforce just can't afford excessively expensive houses in a massively inflated property market. A lot of the time it has nothing to do with 'back bone' and more to do with the kind of corruption that allows big business to profit from one of life's most basic necessities/other people's misery.
    Having a home and a safe place to live is one of life's basis necessities, owning that place is not a God given right and as I said before if you can't afford to buy you rent. Irish people are odd about this issue, in other countries the world over people rent and rent for their entire lives. They do have a better organized rental system and the tenants have much more security in their leases than they have here and this is only right people do have the right to be secure in their home but we are not all born with the right to own a house automatically.

I disagree. There are various reasons why people remain at home in their early twenties. There are multiple obstacles to obtaining property of your own in the greater Dublin area - and solid arguments against renting long - term.

I don't believe that it is as black and white as you would like to think. But you are entitled to your opinion - and forcefully expressing opinions is never a bad thing.
    I appreciate that things are never ever as black and white as we would sometimes like them to be, and what I initially said about people living at home long past the time I think they should was said in a more trivial manner about the things that are "wrong" with Irish men. Some people live in their parents home for a variety of reasons, some people are caring for a parent, some will always need (through no fault of their own) a parent to help care for them, some are there while they save to buy a place of their own, some while they are finishing college and due to pressures of course work can't afford the time the work part time too and so pay rent and so stay in the parental home........ all of these reasons are perfectly understandable and I wouldn't judge anyone badly for such reasons. My problem comes from those people who think they are onto a good thing and have little or no responsibilities in their life apart from maybe washing their own clothes once per week and that the money they hand over to their parents is in the region of €300 incl. food and bills. Those people I have a problem with when they are there just for the hell of it and unfortunately there are many of these people.
    Maybe this is down to my own experience of moving out of my parents house, I moved out when I was 19 to go to college as did my brother and my 3 sisters. My parents encouraged us to stand on our own two feet and be self sufficient from an early age and so at this time in our lives we were ready to make this move. Maybe other parents keep a greater hold on their kids and so they don't feel ready at that age I don't know:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭BobbyD10

kizzyr wrote:
    but we are not all born with the right to own a house automatically.

Doubt anyone would expect to own a house automatically, with a few exceptions of course as there always is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Kaizan

Love Em . . .as friends. I've got lots of Irish men friends and I get on great with them. HOWEVER, having been a lone woman with a group of men regularly in their world for the last 3 years I've somewhat become one of them (their words, not mine). I have to say I'd never date an Irish man and I tell all of my foreign friends (mainly Aussies, English and Kiwi women to stay well away from them. Having witnessed first hand what they say about women in general and how they perceive women and the various nationalities I'd hate for one of my friends to be near one. I've travelled abroad with a large group of really nice lads whom I'd trust with my life. However, if I was going out with one of them I'd get myself tested every time they came home from a trip way from me. Each and every one of these lads, who I get on great with, spent every night we were away trying to sleep with the dirtiest women they could find. I'm fond of a good night out myself and like to have a bit of craic and if you get lucky then good luck to you but the last time I was with the lads I felt sickened at the way they were behaving, especially since they all had girlfriends/wives at home. Girls if an irish man asks you out RUN FOR THE HILLS.

Cue all the men commenting that I'm bitter and twisted. No guys, I've merely been in the company of Irish men for too long