wexford tragedy

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Children do not have to enrolled in primary school until the reach the age of 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

InFront wrote:
    Suicide gets far less coverage, why? If we know the stigma is undeserved, why do we invest in it?

I suppose there is concern that the families of those who have taken their own lives will have to deal with the added trauma of their loved one's very personal and private situation being in the press.
    InFront, I would have shared your exact sentiments up to last year when a 25-year-old guy from where I grew up, committed suicide. The fact that I knew him and know his family changed my perspective. Because of his sports involvement, he was relatively known, and there were a couple of pieces in the evening paper in Cork about him. And I just thought it seemed the best way to handle it, because it would have been weird if the paper actually mentioned that he had taken his own life. But prior to this, I was of the view that suicide will continue to be a stigma if the papers don't report on it, or use euphemisms - eg the "single vehicle" crash phenomenon.
    On reflection though, I actually don't think suicide is necessarily a stigma any more - in the way that there was such shame attached to it in Ireland of old.
    No, I think incidents are not being reported simply out of respect for the families.

I do wonder why there appears to be a geographical pattern to suicides in Ireland. For example, as nlgbbbblth mentioned, a frightening recent number in New Ross.
    Midleton and Macroom in Cork are apparently blackspots too.

I'm horrified by all the tragedies to have hit Wexford in recent years - this case, the Sharon Grace case, the Evelyn Joel case. And the trawler tragedies. It's so much for a community to have to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

the post mortem results wont be out for a numbre of weeks, waiting for toxicoligy to come back, they think there may have been somehing suspiciosu with drugs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

there seems to me to have been one glaring omission in the litany of those contacted regarding this family- doctors, or more specifically, psychiatrists. why didnt the guards ring a GP, caredoc, or the local psych unit?? i think the poor priest is being unfairly scapegoated in all this, after all hes not trained to assess peoples mental state. there has been a lot of talk over the last few days about the gardai's power to invoke section 12 of the childcare act and remove the children freom the home. however, i havent heard anyone say that the guards can also use the mental health act to have someone assessed by a psychiatrist.all the guards have to do is fill in a form, then they have the authority to have that person assessed by a GP AND then brought to a psychiatric unit and assessed by a consultant psychiatrist, and if the psychiatrist agrees that the person is a danger to themselves or others, they can then be detained against their will.

now, I am a psychiatrist and ive worked in many units throughout the country, both in urban and rural areas. the first thing i'd like to point out is that psychiatric units provide 24 hr cover, and while obviously we'd prefer that people have a referral from a gp, to prevent abuse of the service, if someone turns up without a referral they are not going to be turned away. so while social workers may only do mon to fri 9 to 5, there still are services who provide assessment and treatment 24/7.

Secondly, ive had personal experience of guards bringing all sorts of muppets to psych units for assessment using the mental health act. now i know the cops arent trained in psychiatry, but you'd expect them to use some common sense, but often ive had the experience of being called to assess someone who was drunk and abusive and the cops were just trying to pawn them off on us. so if they make applications for these guys, why in the name of god did no cop think of getting this man and possibly the wife seen also???

the same thing struck me about sharon grace - again, while she was looking for the (non existant) out of hours social work service, why did nobody direct her towards the 24/7 psychiatric service?

I know someone is probably going to reply and say that not all general hospitals have psych units, but the reality is that the psychiatric services are geographically based, so that whatever your address you will have a designated unit. your gp should know where this is, or a quick call to a nearby unit will tell you pretty quickly where you should attend.

Maybe if the mental health act had been invoked, this tragedy could have been averted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

xebec wrote:
    Mods: move to Wexford forum?

Oh jesus h christ, this place gets worse by the minute.

Is it just me or do women never seem to get the blame in family killing cases like men do? Seemingly the public perception is that if a man kills his own kids hes an evil bastard, if a woman does it she "had problems".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

It actually does seem as if the man was the one running the family in this case. The woman sounds as if she was in the state of mind you get into if you're involved in a cult - outsiders are kept out, and you unquestioningly follow orders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Cos88

I'm from Wexford, and here's what I have to add to the discussion:

Adrian Dunne's family seem a bit "odd". I know for a fact that his parents were 1st cousins and that one or the other of them had eyesight problems. His brother commited suicide a few weeks ago and his father died last year. Adrian has been completely blind since 2000, both his kids had poor eyesight.

Even Adrian's marriage seems a bit weird. His wife knew nothing of it - according to his obituary in local paper, he told her to put on her best clothes one morning and they married that afternoon. I believe this is so as to distance her parents from the process, as it seems to me like Adrian never got on with them.

I think the feeling was mutual. In fact I think the parents want to distance themselves from the Dunne family completely.

This next bit I heard today from a social worker but I'm not sure if it's true:

After her death the parents collected their daughter's body 12 hours earlier than agreed - practically in the middle of a wake - and brought her home to Donegal. Apparantly this is so as they can ensure her funeral arrangements clash with Adrian's, thus preventing his family from attending hers. Rumour has it they "paid off" the Dunne family to make sure this happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

1) Weren't the Dunne family (as in the guy's family) in Cork for the weekend? They weren't exactly there to see what the situation was.

2) The mother is reported to have dictated what they wanted the children to be buried in, causing the woman at the undertakers to call someone. Their Liverpool jersey and socks and Dora jeans each. That poor woman must feel destroyed, knowing that what she did still didn't stop the whole situation from going too far.

3) I'm sure sam34 knows what he's talking about - so why is he the first person to bring this to light? IMHO that transfers a portion of whatever blame was due to the social services to whoever was contacted in the HSE's name, be it the PHN who was on duty, the receptionist who picked up the phone and told them there was nobody available, whoever it is. [The Ma's a PHN and although she works Monday to Friday and there's a relief PHN service at the weekends, if she gets a call from someone in need, she's not going to tell them to feck off, as much as it might (frequently) disrupt the families plans - our family, I mean.] It also throws a significantly larger portion of the blame onto the Gardaí. They say Section 12 is used roughly once a week and was invoked in Dublin that same weekend. So why not Wexford? It's disgraceful. I know this is going to sound a lot crueller than I mean it to be, but if he wanted to kill himself that was (to a large extent) his own problem. The children should have been rescued from that situation and weren't. They had no intent in the whole thing, whereas he did, and the situation with the wife was very, very odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I was really disturbed when i watched a report on tv news woth Mr. Dunnes mother and family. Something about them was definitely askew. They kept saying how he'd said how selfish it was of his brother to have killed himself... etc. Tv3 have no cop, they just go in for the drama, the granny was coming out with all sorts, painful to watch.

Nobody wants to take respnsiblity for failing to act, it's disgraceful. he fact that Mrs. Dunnes family had expressed concerns(although not officially recorded) is surely damming evidence? Those little children were failed by our society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Dudess wrote:
    No, I think incidents are not being reported simply out of respect for the families.

But why?

If someone dies in say, an industrial accident in a factory, their death will be reported as such.

We have a situation where newspapers are refusing to report or highlight suicides while simultaneously bemoaning the 'suicide crisis' in general articles. What crisis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Tv3 have no cop, they just go in for the drama, the granny was coming out with all sorts, painful to watch.
    I didn't see the report you're talking about, but I did see the interview with the dead guy's brother, and it really was unnecessary. So was the RTE Radio 1 interview with the same brother, it has to be said, though the latter was more dignified.
    Originally posted by Dudess
    I suppose there is concern that the families of those who have taken their own lives will have to deal with the added
    You are correct, but that does reveal a certain amount of stigma attached to suicide. The inference might be that there was a faulty upbringing, or that the family were reflective of the individual - because people who kill themselves are dysfunctional.
    As the above poster said, if it were another type of death, it would be reported. This policy of not reporting it is really an outdated custom I think. There should be no shame in psychiatric illness. It's like being embarrassed about someone getting cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    But why?

If someone dies in say, an industrial accident in a factory, their death will be reported as such.

We have a situation where newspapers are refusing to report or highlight suicides while simultaneously bemoaning the 'suicide crisis' in general articles. What crisis?
    Suicide is a very personal issue.

In Ireland we have a problem talking about it generally, and things like depression. We probably all know somebody who has killed themselves. We need to learn to talk about this, and depression and other such issues, among one another, rather than sweeping it under the carpet. Your son should be able to talk to you about feeling depressed, you should be able to talk to your wife or best friend about it, or your mother or father. Rather, we brush it off when it comes up in life, and sweep it under the carpet it death. The media has no part to play in people discussing their innermost selves, but it's a change we need to make as people one-to-one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Blush_01 wrote:

I'm sure sam34 knows what he's talking about -

Cheers for the vote of confidence, blush 01!;)