Pirates! Arrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Pirate copy one night, sticker on the outside of the box "PIRATING CREATES JOBS"

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I personally can't watch a pirated movie. They are shite. Even if its a bad film I'd still prefer to watch it properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,584 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

"Would you steal a car, or a handbag?"

yeah, I would!
    now f*ck off before I knife ya.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,720 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Ya know I've never really understood the point of those piracy ads on dvds. I mean anyone who's watching it almost certainly bought the dvd in question. If it was a pirated copy there wouldn't be any ad because, well, the pirates tend to take those things out :D

So the honest consumers have to suffer through these traumatising ads (which they can't skip) accusing them of funding terrorism and baby killing and other bs. I paid for the dvd, you f**king w**kers!! F**k off!

Would it kill them to have a simple on-screen message at the start of dvd, thanking you for buying it and supporting the film industry?

No wonder everyone is downloading movies, they don't want to watch those stupid ads anymore!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

rb_ie wrote:
    Agreed.

<3 Pirates (both kinds).

seconded, If these brave people didnt do it, how would i see films weeks before they hit ireland ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

I thought the best one was 'Video Piracy funds terrorism' followed by that blonde english chap looking for his money back from a scumbag. "verbal contract, not worth the paper it's printed on", then he wimps out and goes away all sad like.

/edit refresh page before posting.

No, I wouldn't care less if someone recorded the film while I was watching and I woudn't try to ruin it either. Can't understand why someone would ruin it on purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

:/

Hasn't this thread degenerated in to arr's and yarr's yet ye scurvy dogs.

Fair play nesf! me matey.......AAARRRRRRRRRR!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Carbiens

ninja's make better rips anyway >_>

..that reminds me, where's the ninja smiley gone o.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

petes wrote:
    I can't wait until September the 19th.

yarr matey!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

People who illegally pirate films aren't 'pirates' - they are seaman stains!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭paconnors

Whats on Sept 19th

simu wrote:
    Narr. Do you think the min-wage cinema workers would care?

On a related note... those DVD warnings! "You wouldn't steal a car, handbag etc etc". How presumptuous!
    It's more like... making a copy of a car from a car you've seen, which doesn't affect anyone as long as you just use it and don't try selling it...
    it doesn't affect a particular person, it's more like affecting car making companies... I can't see them being too affected...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

paconnors wrote:
    Whats on Sept 19th

Talk Like A Pirate Day! Avast! When I saw the thread title I though it has come early this year.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

petes wrote:
    I personally can't watch a pirated movie. They are shite. Even if its a bad film I'd still prefer to watch it properly.

Sure these days pirated movies are just as good quality as the actual releases. Eh... so I hear...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭AntiVirus

humanji wrote:
    Sure these days pirated movies are just as good quality as the actual releases. Eh... so I hear...:p

All of them are! Once they become available on DVD, they get uploaded onto the internet. Its impossible to stop. With internet speeds get faster (except Ireland) and faster all the time soon enough you'll be able to email a DVD rip to a friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

AntiVirus wrote:
    All of them are! Once they become available on DVD, they get uploaded onto the internet. Its impossible to stop. With internet speeds get faster (except Ireland) and faster all the time soon enough you'll be able to email a DVD rip to a friend.

Same quality as the theatrical release? Yeah, I guess....if you're borderline blind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

HavoK wrote:
    Same quality as the theatrical release? Yeah, I guess....if you're borderline blind.
    Well movies are generally released in the US months before here, so by the time they get to use, a lot of them are already set for DVD release in the states. It takes one person to get their hands on one dvd and rip and upload it onto the net, and everyone here has a perfect dvd copy of a film coming out in the cinemas. Add to this the amount of advanced dvd copies that get sent around (for all the oscar films for example), and there's no real need to watch a dodgy quality pirate film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭AntiVirus

HavoK wrote:

You wouldn't know were to look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Peteee

I made a copy of the baseball game with only implied oral consent....not express written consent!
    HavoK wrote:

We cant all be downloading 50GB Blu-Ray rips (and even then its maybe half the resolution of 35mm)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Nah I wouldn't bother. It's not like these people are making any money out of it. Plus that annoying downloading movies is a crime ad is not only appearing before every movie I see in the cinema, but on some of the dvds I buy as well. Enough is enough, I bought the f*cking dvd. Don't preach to me about piracy.

That's true, why do they feel the need to preach to their customers? There should be a message at the start thanking you for buying the fecking thing!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

"it's just a block of cheese"

what skit was this from?

the guy goes to the trader "i bought this video blah blah"
    "what's the problem"
    "it's eh, it's just a block of cheese..."

I can't remember, and I can't find it on youtube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I wouldn't do anything to upset him tbh, he's probably a terrorist. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I wouldn't do anything to upset him tbh, he's probably a terrorist. :eek:

Either that or he is funding friends who are into terrorism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

HavoK wrote:
    I never got people who watch movies like that on a regular basis.
    Last year, I know of 6 films that were never released over here. IMDB had no record of two of them. One was low bedget, but it was good.

=-=

Over the past 6 months the major movie studios have been releasing retail dvds early in Russia. They do this to stop the widespread use of pirated telecines (which were once very common). Lately however there has been very few real telecines, most of the scene telecines you see are actually R5 retails. R5 retail is rushed out by the studio, they are basically competing with pirates, so there is little to no cleanup of the film after the telecine process. So the main difference between telecines put out by the pirates is that the r5's are done using pro equipment, professional studios and professional people. The quality of R5 retail is very similar to dvdscr's, no time is usually spent cleaning up dvdscrs either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Unless it was bugging me I don't think I'd bother reporting it, I'd have to miss some of the movie to do it.

My bf used to have a very annoying habit of saying "yeah Stella put the camera away" REALLY loudly everytime they showed the message telling you not to record it. I'd sit there cringing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

humanji wrote:
    Well movies are generally released in the US months before here, so by the time they get to use, a lot of them are already set for DVD release in the states. It takes one person to get their hands on one dvd and rip and upload it onto the net, and everyone here has a perfect dvd copy of a film coming out in the cinemas. Add to this the amount of advanced dvd copies that get sent around (for all the oscar films for example), and there's no real need to watch a dodgy quality pirate film.

Not really. These days we're certainly far behind but it's not like the retail DVD is out when it hits the cinema here in most cases. 300, for example, only came out a few weeks ahead of us in the US. Hardly enough time for it to remotely hit DVD, in fact, it's probably still showing in the cinema....

Most of the good quality copies are screeners, not camcorded copies, but these are the minority and anyone who would maintain that watching camcorded copies, which do make up the bulk of pirate releases, are just as good as watching in the theatre and the same quality...no.