Kids Outside The Off License

wow, interesting, if somewhat scary. I'll have to avoid the off license area for a while then. Usually buy my drink in tesco (half price god bless them) anyway and they never hang around there.

yeah me too, lidl and aldi have some good deals too.

:| wrote:
    Yeah I saw that too, thought it was a bit odd.
    it was odd because i dont think it specified who the employer was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

I know u see that kinda thing in the films to catch prostitutes/their clients/underage sex, but I hadn't heard of it for drink. Pretty tough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Actually thinking about it now I don't think it could be a setup. As far as I know the gardai wouldn't be alowed to use someone under the age of 18 in an operation so would have to use someone over 18 that looked younger but then when it came to course the case would be thrown out because all you were doing was buying drink for someone that was over 18, the fact that they said they were under 18 or that you thought they were under 18 wouldn't make a difference. Although I might be wrong on the garda not being able to use a minor in an op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

s'pose it could be a media company/newspaper doing a shock horror story about "how easy it is for underage kids to get drink" these days. They'd probably need the slightly over 18 person to cover their arses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭oleras

6th wrote:
    Same here, though I once saw a seriously sleezy guy going in for some obviously underage girls, I knew his game so I followed him into the offy and said it as he was paying for it. He freaked out so I suggested that he shut up or the Gards get called. I wouldnt be surprised if he wanted the girls to be real "grateful".

Thats one active imagination you have there !! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,192 ✭✭✭1huge1

Well im 17 myself and from personal experience my local off licence usualy just sells us the stuff or the old I left the I.D in the car excuse
    and all the pubs just need the money I suppose they dont care, though I suppose 17 isnt a big deal not like im 12 or anything

Ive never personally asked any adult I didnt know to get it for us and I wouldnt be hanging around outside the off licence in the 1st place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Fair play to the guards, definately approve of this in areas where there is a problem of underage drinking. I never buy for muppets outside offies although I normally only get asked to buy ciggies for some reason.

Happens to me a lot. One day these kids came up to me saying something about buying them cigs from the shop. When I said, No, they asked why not? To that I replied, "because I'm a mean bastard, now fúck off". Bunch of scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

o1s1n wrote:
    There are plenty of options out there apart from boozing. To say otherwise is complete ignorance. Either that or you have a very inactive imagination.
    There 'are' plenty of options in a general sense, what are yours? Considering your background, your area, your apparent priviledge? Put that in there to avoid being a victim of your own opinion of 'ignorance combined with inactive imagination'.
    There are plenty of options there, they are not being used obviously since screaming drunk kids on weekends annoy you, you have this problem like everyone else, do you choose to add to the debate by insult or input?

I think the drink culture in Ireland exists still. Only ignorance and a lack of imagination would 'ignore' it.

Ps I witnessed a guy buying drink for kids outside an offy and went in to the offy and told them that he was doing so, because I knew that later on in the night the same kids would be outside my window screaming drunk.

I took a risk doing so because if I was targeted as being a grass I would recieve hell later, I came very close to being caught out as the buyer came in again and the server stupidly said to me 'is that him', I nodded and they refused him.
    I had to hard nose his eyeballing of me as a result and keep my nerve. He backed off and even waited outside, I walked past him and deliberately stopped to 'check my phone' right next to him as an invitation to say something... He didn't, the bluff paid off. The fact that I had to do this in the first place is a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

Raheny Super Valu.

Raheny Garda station is literally 2 minutes around the corner and there are always Gardai walking around the shops there so I doubt it was a setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

It's not caused by having nothing to do. You could give kids all the amenities in the world and they'd still do it.

The truth is that kids like rebellion, face peer pressure and are very sexily charged. Yet insecure, self conscious and seeking acceptance. The answer? Alcohol. And if it wasn't street drinking it'd be a free house getting trashed after raiding a liquor cabinet.

What I have noticed is teenagers involved heavily in drama groups that are sociable and confident that would never even think of drinking.

Parents need to keep a closer eye on their kids and respect alcohol themselves. Ireland has a drink culture that needs to be curbed. That's the bottom line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

There 'are' plenty of options in a general sense, what are yours?

You seriously want me to list all the different things I do to entertain myself? That could take quite some time. Okay, I moderate the airsoft forum. Therefore I have an interest in airsoft. Infinately more entertaining then getting pissed.
    wrote:
    Considering your background, your area, your apparent priviledge?
    How do you know anything about my background, area and my "privledge"? The truth is, you don't..so I don't know where you're going with that.
    wrote:
    Put that in there to avoid being a victim of your own opinion of 'ignorance combined with inactive imagination'.

What?
    wrote:
    There are plenty of options there, they are not being used obviously since screaming drunk kids on weekends annoy you, you have this problem like everyone else, do you choose to add to the debate by insult or input?

My input was people like the person I replied to should stop buying CHILDREN who are standing outside off licenses alcohol. The fact that an adult would do something like that is insane. What are they thinking?
    wrote:
    I think the drink culture in Ireland exists still. Only ignorance and a lack of imagination would 'ignore' it.

Who says I'm ignoring anything? Again, you make no sense. I said to say that the only option children have is to booze is an extremely ignorant comment. Which it is. They have lots more to do. The problem is, most of them are too cynical to take part in such activities.

"I'm not doing that, its ghey".
    wrote:
    Ps I witnessed a guy buying drink for kids outside an offy and went in to the offy and told them that he was doing so, because I knew that later on in the night the same kids would be outside my window screaming drunk.

Fair play to you. I only wish I could find out which off licenses the kids around here are buying drink from.
    wrote:
    I took a risk doing so because if I was targeted as being a grass I would recieve hell later, I came very close to being caught out as the buyer came in again and the server stupidly said to me 'is that him', I nodded and they refused him.
    I had to hard nose his eyeballing of me as a result and keep my nerve. He backed off and even waited outside, I walked past him and deliberately stopped to 'check my phone' right next to him as an invitation to say something... He didn't, the bluff paid off. The fact that I had to do this in the first place is a problem.

I agree. It is a problem. However, the problem does not lie in the fact that kids have nothing to do. Or the government not supplying the kids with things to do. Even if they did, do you really think they would?

"Yay Jimmy, lets take part in Government sanctioned activity number 1!"

????????????????/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Beecher

looked like a setup, beware!

Back in the day when I used to work in an off-licence which was connected to a supermarket, customers used to always warn us of the kids outside trying to get some drink and we'd send someone off the supermarket floor to keep an eye out so we'd know who was coming in for them (although usually the order is obvious enough, some old guy asking for 7 naggins of vatsky or some sh*t). Due to some trouble the off-licence had been in previously if there was anything that might jeopardize us remaining open, for example someone supplying alcohol to kids from our off-licence, we would instantly inform the police of it, and with the police station being quite close a few people were caught.

It might seem harsh but if some 15 yr old kids were found with cans and a receipt with my name on it I personally am f*cked, and I have known some off-licence staff who have gone to court over similar situations. If someone is voluntarily willing to put me in a situation like that I have no problem screwing them over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I'm sick of reading all this high and mighty bollox coming from many. Most of us (I reckon) have taken a drink under age. I know I certainly did. I wouldn't consider myself a scumbag, I was involved in many extra curricular activities as a teenager and still went for a tipple on the weekends and a pee in the nettles. When I found I could blag my way into local bars and clubs at 16/17, I was off the streets and less of a potential 'threat' to adults. Young people are not as intimidating half the time, if we take the time out to get to know who they are in your area and stop seeing them as constant pests. Treat them with a little respect and less suspicion and you may be surprised.

Master of the Universe

boreds wrote:
    f we take the time out to get to know who they are in your area and stop seeing them as constant pests. Treat them with a little respect and less suspicion and you may be surprised.

How do you treat kids with respect and less suspicion when they're vomiting/pissing/having sex in your gardens and smashing up your local area?

I drank when I was underage too. That doesn't mean it's not a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

oleras wrote:
    Thats one active imagination you have there !! ;)

Trust me, you should have seen the guy!

o1s1n wrote:
    How do you treat kids with respect and less suspicion when they're vomiting/pissing/having sex in your gardens and smashing up your local area?

I drank when I was underage too. That doesn't mean it's not a problem.

They wouldnt be smashing up and defecating their local areas if they felt a bit more integrated into the communities. They would have less contempt.

So you drinking underage was a problem then? or do you have a problem with others doing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

i know a lad and some well known scangers asked him to buy the drink and gave him a fifty and he came back with 12 cans and kept the money forhimself lol and the tools thought that 12 cans cost 50 ntoes rofl

Master of the Universe

boreds wrote:
    They wouldnt be smashing up and defecating their local areas if they felt a bit more integrated into the communities. They would have less contempt.

This all sounds too like the "hug a hoody" thing in the UK :rolleyes:
    I'm not a social worker. People should have more common sense than to act like scum. Adults should have more common sense than to buy children alcohol. No one should have to make excuses for that kind of behavior. "Not feeling integrated into the community" just doesn't cut it.
    wrote:
    So you drinking underage was a problem then? or do you have a problem with others doing it?

Of course it was a problem. Underage drinking is a problem. No point denying it.

o1s1n wrote:
    This all sounds too like the "hug a hoody" thing in the UK :rolleyes:
    I'm not a social worker.
    No one has to be a social worker to be pleasant to their neighbours (that includes the younger ones)
    You don't have to buy them drink to be pleasant, or lick their arses. If you treat most people with respect, chances are you will get it in return. ie you won't have your lawns shat on and walls tagged.

[/quote]
    Of course it was a problem. Underage drinking is a problem. No point denying it.[/quote]

It still sounds a bit hypocritical to me. The problem isn't the drinking. It's the attitudes. And that is from all ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

o1s1n wrote:
    You seriously want me to list all the different things I do to entertain myself? That could take quite some time. Okay, I moderate the airsoft forum. Therefore I have an interest in airsoft. Infinately more entertaining then getting pissed.

How do you know anything about my background, area and my "privledge"? The truth is, you don't..so I don't know where you're going with that.

What?

My input was people like the person I replied to should stop buying CHILDREN who are standing outside off licenses alcohol. The fact that an adult would do something like that is insane. What are they thinking?

Who says I'm ignoring anything? Again, you make no sense. I said to say that the only option children have is to booze is an extremely ignorant comment. Which it is. They have lots more to do. The problem is, most of them are too cynical to take part in such activities.

"I'm not doing that, its ghey".

Fair play to you. I only wish I could find out which off licenses the kids around here are buying drink from.

I agree. It is a problem. However, the problem does not lie in the fact that kids have nothing to do. Or the government not supplying the kids with things to do. Even if they did, do you really think they would?

"Yay Jimmy, lets take part in Government sanctioned activity number 1!"

????????????????/
    I appreciate your comments to a point, though I think you missed my sarcasm on some others.

What would your solution be on said issues based on experience of the highlighted problem?

Master of the Universe

boreds wrote:
    No one has to be a social worker to be pleasant to their neighbours (that includes the younger ones)
    You don't have to buy them drink to be pleasant, or lick their arses. If you treat most people with respect, chances are you will get it in return. ie you won't have your lawns shat on and walls tagged.

When did I ever say I wasn't pleasant to my neighbours? I'm the epitome of pleasantness!
    I was just of the opinion that if less adults were going into the off licenses for kids then there'd probably be much less insanity around here on the weekends. Boo hoo if they have no other way to entertain themselves. Over stimulated brats! ;)
    wrote:
    It still sounds a bit hypocritical to me. The problem isn't the drinking. It's the attitudes. And that is from all ages.

So if you were an underage drinker you have to spend the rest of your life being pro underage drinking? Eh yeah....

The main issue isn't actually underage drinking. It's going into off licenses for kids. Something I won't do. No matter how many times they ask me.

Master of the Universe

I appreciate your comments to a point, though I think you missed my sarcasm on some others.

What would your solution be on said issues based on experience of the highlighted problem?

My solution?
    Don't buy alcohol for kids standing outside off licenses. There'll be less drunk kids on the streets. Pretty simply stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭ellenmelon

Beecher wrote:
    Back in the day when I used to work in an off-licence which was connected to a supermarket, customers used to always warn us of the kids outside trying to get some drink and we'd send someone off the supermarket floor to keep an eye out so we'd know who was coming in for them (although usually the order is obvious enough, some old guy asking for 7 naggins of vatsky or some sh*t). Due to some trouble the off-licence had been in previously if there was anything that might jeopardize us remaining open, for example someone supplying alcohol to kids from our off-licence, we would instantly inform the police of it, and with the police station being quite close a few people were caught.

It might seem harsh but if some 15 yr old kids were found with cans and a receipt with my name on it I personally am f*cked, and I have known some off-licence staff who have gone to court over similar situations. If someone is voluntarily willing to put me in a situation like that I have no problem screwing them over.

i worked in an offie over the summer..ie over christmas/NY's here...and christ they really chanced their arms! most of them understood and just looked really embarrased, and some would whinge and moan but if i got caught, theres my job gone(so couldnt pay the big arse fine you get) and if the cops got involved heaven bloody help me. 16 year olds shouldnt be drinking ...supplying alchohol to minors is wrong.. couldnt have it on my conscience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Think my local bars you if they see you handing drink to kids after leaving. I used to buy smokes and drink the odd time if I was going in myself, but some of the eejits hang right outside the door waiting for you to come out, so now unless I know them (and its fast getting to the stage where I dont know a whole pile of underagers) I say no.

17 year old birds may get an exception to the rule depending on appearance :)

Those of you on the anti side need to bear in mind that when you were 16 you didnt have much in life either bar a few cans of dutch in the fields or a house party. And anyway, isnt it better for a kid to get used to it rather than collapsing/puking in a crowded bar on their 18th? Maybe IDs should be issued to kids on a behavioural basis i.e. an underagers ID for buying offy drink that can be taken off them for bad behaviour. Back in the day i may have done some stupid ****e, but i was always pissed off with twats who would smash their empty bottles over the playground, act the fool etc etc. I took a "if we dont bother them, they wont bother us" view of local homeowners.

Master of the Universe

shane86 wrote:
    Those of you on the anti side need to bear in mind that when you were 16 you didnt have much in life either bar a few cans of dutch in the fields or a house party.

Yes, when I was 16 the only thing I had worth doing in life was hard drinking. What the hell? Where do you live? Out in the middle of nowhere?
    Why do so many seem to think that there's nothing for kids to do but go boozing?

i used to get served in my offy before i was 18 and when i went up after my 18th and he asked me for id again he was shocked because he had been servin me the last 2 years!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

o1s1n wrote:
    Yes, when I was 16 the only thing I had worth doing in life was hard drinking. What the hell? Where do you live? Out in the middle of nowhere?
    Why do so many seem to think that there's nothing for kids to do but go boozing?

So what did you do? I regret it now but I was just too lazy to push myself in sports to be the best of the best. Sometimes I think that if I could go back Id spend every waking hour perfecting my sport skills rather than just having one hour of kickabout with the lads in the evening. So basically yes, drinking was our main pastime. The best period of my life was the summer i left school, a few months before I turned 18. It was a scorcher, and with fake ID in hand we were on the tear every Thursday night to Monday morning. Never harmed us, we never harmed anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 squiggy

i saw some guy getting arrested for buying drink for a few kids the other day. looked like a setup, beware!

I doubt it was a set up. My fella works in an off licence and the guards are always in the place trying to catch them selling to underage kids.

They have often arrested kids for being drunk in the town but at the end of the day nothing can be done because somebody that was over 18 has bought the drink for them. :mad: