Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kids Outside The Off License

• 13-04-2007 6:03pm

i saw some guy getting arrested for buying drink for a few kids the other day. looked like a setup, beware!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

That's out of order tbh... if a group of 5 17-year-old scumbags came up to me "asking" me to buy them booze, I might just do it to avoid a beating... can't always count on the Guards to be bothered showing up if you were to go into the offy and call them.
    Unless they were 10-year-olds... I think the factor of intimidation needs to be taken into account.
    Arrest the teenagers for hanging around being annoying little shíts IMO.

I was only ever asked to buy booze for strangers once... just ignored them.
    But exactly... why risk getting busted for doing a favour for some random knobs? Makes no sense... no matter what the odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

i saw some guy getting arrested for buying drink for a few kids the other day. looked like a setup, beware!
    Are you in the habit of buying drink for kids?

never bought it for kids, the ****es must wait like i had to. i just couldnt be bothered anyway. they act like the nicest people until you say no! then the scumbag gene intervenes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

My interaction with them usually goes: "Here Miste...." "NO!". End.

you could get the money, tell them to wait around the corner. then do a legger in the opposite direction:D

when you think about it, it could save their life in a strange way!
    No Money, No Drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Just say no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

whenever it happens to me i just say no, smile and keep walking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Never really happened to me too often, a few times when I was in Liverpool for a few days a few years ago. Majority of the time anywhere else the little ones (my guess is 8-10 year olds) would be looking for a few smokes instead. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Which off license Nipper? and you might want to think about not playing it so fast and loose with the word scumbag if in your next post you plan on saying you think people should steal money from children. I've been asked a good few times to go into the off license by people. Sometimes I say no, sometimes I go in for them. I remember being 15/16 and sitting outside dunnes with a few mates asking people to go in for us, we used to be waiting hours sometimes, so I know how they feel. I'm sure most of the people here saying they never do it drank alcohol before they were 18, that means someone else had to buy it for you (in a lot of cases) so whats the difference. Personally I think the age for drinking in a pub should be 16 (lets face it most 16 year olds are drinking anyways, better to have them in a pub where they'll cause less trouble).

Raheny Super Valu. I agree with the minimum age of 16. i'm talkin bout the guys who wait outside offo's and you their going to cause a bit of trouble, they drink on my road and are very annoying. I'd go in for someone who i knew wouldnt go wreckin the place with cans and bottles, people i know.

I agree with the minimum age of 16

Balls to that, its bad enough having messy 18 year olds in the pub. 16 would be ridiculous.

#Elites wrote:
    You Live in belgium = 16 year old minium age...

True enough....you never see kids of that age in the pubs though. I suppose its just a matter of where you drink. Different mentality too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

What really annoys me about these guys is that they'll ask you to go in, if you say "Sorry, no" they suddenly revert to something like "Yeah yer a fuckin ****!"

Piss off. I hate you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

I think that if it was a setup, it would technically be entrappment so illegal, but correct me if i'm wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

My friend and I were walking past an off-license and this thug came up to us asking us to buy drink for him and his mates. He towered over both of us and looked at least 18. We obliged him because he was very threatening looking, although realistically he probably wouldn't have touched us, it was the intimidation factor that made us do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

How could it be entrapment, technically?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Not sure about the law here, but in the US, it would definitely be entrapment, and there would be no case
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Entrapment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I don't think we have such a law here, because i've read before about the relevent bodies here sending underage teens in to offies/pubs to try and get served, and the offie/pub was then heavily fined/closed down.

The issue goes deeper than 'entrapment' laws I think, It may take time to get out of this rut. Irish culture is a drink culture, what else is there to do for entertainment?

I think people are forced into this culture because it is there. And there is nothing better to do.

Those that work and work hard, particularly the single folks, what is there to do on your holidays at home? 2 wks off, relax and recuperate? Visit huge interesting museums, discover huge nationally funded areas of interest or entertainment provided by taxes that you paid for 50 wks of the year?

Maybe one could just enjoy an overwhelming amount of activities given by imaginative and knowledgeable individuals in government based on said individuals needs?

Or maybe their is nothing there in the first place and the individual just heads to the pub, after all that is what every one else does. Maybe the kids wouldn't need the 'offy' if they had something better to do, and the example they get anyway by the adults makes it the thing to do.
    Problem as usual is from the top down, this country is as far as I can see a factory with little regard for the individual, Maybe that will change but it will take realisation and hindsight as usual.

Our drinking culture needs to be addressed by giving people and kids more options which are more interesting than the booze.

And there is nothing better to do.

So what do other countries have that's better to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

What they need to to to get to booze is go to the local town drunk and ask him/her, then pay him/her for his favours with a couple of cans of dutch gold or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

The issue goes deeper than 'entrapment' laws I think, It may take time to get out of this rut. Irish culture is a drink culture, what else is there to do for entertainment?

I think people are forced into this culture because it is there. And there is nothing better to do.

Those that work and work hard, particularly the single folks, what is there to do on your holidays at home? 2 wks off, relax and recuperate? Visit huge interesting museums, discover huge nationally funded areas of interest or entertainment provided by taxes that you paid for 50 wks of the year?

Maybe one could just enjoy an overwhelming amount of activities given by imaginative and knowledgeable individuals in government based on said individuals needs?

Or maybe their is nothing there in the first place and the individual just heads to the pub, after all that is what every one else does. Maybe the kids wouldn't need the 'offy' if they had something better to do, and the example they get anyway by the adults makes it the thing to do.
    Problem as usual is from the top down, this country is as far as I can see a factory with little regard for the individual, Maybe that will change but it will take realisation and hindsight as usual.

Our drinking culture needs to be addressed by giving people and kids more options which are more interesting than the booze.

There are plenty of options out there apart from boozing. To say otherwise is complete ignorance. Either that or you have a very inactive imagination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

i've bought drink for kids outside a offy once or twice and have refused a few times, depending on how young they are and how many of them there are. Partly because you'd be intimidated and partly because I remember hanging around offys myself when i was 16ish. 18 is too old to start drinking. Had my first drink (glass of wine) when I went on exchange visit to france aged 13. Never did me any harm, in my 30s now and rarely drink.

About the gaurds doing a setup job... i doubt they'd be allowed to do that. They might just happened to have been around the corner rather than a setup.

Master of the Universe

i've bought drink for kids outside a offy once or twice and have refused a few times, depending on how young they are and how many of them there are. Partly because you'd be intimidated and partly because I remember hanging around offys myself when i was 16ish. 18 is too old to start drinking. Had my first drink (glass of wine) when I went on exchange visit to france aged 13. Never did me any harm, in my 30s now and rarely drink.

About the gaurds doing a setup job... i doubt they'd be allowed to do that. They might just happened to have been around the corner rather than a setup.

You're in your thirties and buy kids drink in off licenses? So YOU'RE the reason I have a load of scummers wandering around past my house on weekends off their face screaming.

Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

zuutroy wrote:
    My interaction with them usually goes: "Here Miste...." "NO!". End.

Same here, though I once saw a seriously sleezy guy going in for some obviously underage girls, I knew his game so I followed him into the offy and said it as he was paying for it. He freaked out so I suggested that he shut up or the Gards get called. I wouldnt be surprised if he wanted the girls to be real "grateful".

"So YOU'RE the reason I have a load of scummers wandering around past my house on weekends off their face screaming"

No no, I specifically tell them not to go near your house :-)

Suppose you're right, I probably shouldn't... and mostly wouldn't, but if there's a group of them and I have longish walk home, down some dark roads... probably cowardly of me but...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

I dont get asked anymore but if I wasnt going into the off-license, id say no that im not 18. Sometimes id point out that they guy knows what I drink and will think its strange if I buy ye stuff, and will probably cop on. Othertimes id remind them that im sure the guy behind the counter knows your asking so no.

Iv done it once or twice but felt guilty. 16 Years of age in Ireland - god no. Leave it as it is.

well i saw an advert on jobs.ie before looking for 2 people. 1 over 18 and 1 under 18 to go to various off licenses and buy drink, to help catch out the sellers who sell to the underage type.

wow, interesting, if somewhat scary. I'll have to avoid the off license area for a while then. Usually buy my drink in tesco (half price god bless them) anyway and they never hang around there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

well i saw an advert on jobs.ie before looking for 2 people. 1 over 18 and 1 under 18 to go to various off licenses and buy drink, to help catch out the sellers who sell to the underage type.
    Yeah I saw that too, thought it was a bit odd.

wow, interesting, if somewhat scary. I'll have to avoid the off license area for a while then. Usually buy my drink in tesco (half price god bless them) anyway and they never hang around there.

yeah me too, lidl and aldi have some good deals too.

:| wrote:
    Yeah I saw that too, thought it was a bit odd.
    it was odd because i dont think it specified who the employer was

I know u see that kinda thing in the films to catch prostitutes/their clients/underage sex, but I hadn't heard of it for drink. Pretty tough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Actually thinking about it now I don't think it could be a setup. As far as I know the gardai wouldn't be alowed to use someone under the age of 18 in an operation so would have to use someone over 18 that looked younger but then when it came to course the case would be thrown out because all you were doing was buying drink for someone that was over 18, the fact that they said they were under 18 or that you thought they were under 18 wouldn't make a difference. Although I might be wrong on the garda not being able to use a minor in an op.

s'pose it could be a media company/newspaper doing a shock horror story about "how easy it is for underage kids to get drink" these days. They'd probably need the slightly over 18 person to cover their arses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

6th wrote:
    Same here, though I once saw a seriously sleezy guy going in for some obviously underage girls, I knew his game so I followed him into the offy and said it as he was paying for it. He freaked out so I suggested that he shut up or the Gards get called. I wouldnt be surprised if he wanted the girls to be real "grateful".

Thats one active imagination you have there !! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

Well im 17 myself and from personal experience my local off licence usualy just sells us the stuff or the old I left the I.D in the car excuse
    and all the pubs just need the money I suppose they dont care, though I suppose 17 isnt a big deal not like im 12 or anything

Ive never personally asked any adult I didnt know to get it for us and I wouldnt be hanging around outside the off licence in the 1st place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Fair play to the guards, definately approve of this in areas where there is a problem of underage drinking. I never buy for muppets outside offies although I normally only get asked to buy ciggies for some reason.

Happens to me a lot. One day these kids came up to me saying something about buying them cigs from the shop. When I said, No, they asked why not? To that I replied, "because I'm a mean bastard, now fúck off". Bunch of scumbags.

o1s1n wrote:
    There are plenty of options out there apart from boozing. To say otherwise is complete ignorance. Either that or you have a very inactive imagination.
    There 'are' plenty of options in a general sense, what are yours? Considering your background, your area, your apparent priviledge? Put that in there to avoid being a victim of your own opinion of 'ignorance combined with inactive imagination'.
    There are plenty of options there, they are not being used obviously since screaming drunk kids on weekends annoy you, you have this problem like everyone else, do you choose to add to the debate by insult or input?

I think the drink culture in Ireland exists still. Only ignorance and a lack of imagination would 'ignore' it.

Ps I witnessed a guy buying drink for kids outside an offy and went in to the offy and told them that he was doing so, because I knew that later on in the night the same kids would be outside my window screaming drunk.

I took a risk doing so because if I was targeted as being a grass I would recieve hell later, I came very close to being caught out as the buyer came in again and the server stupidly said to me 'is that him', I nodded and they refused him.
    I had to hard nose his eyeballing of me as a result and keep my nerve. He backed off and even waited outside, I walked past him and deliberately stopped to 'check my phone' right next to him as an invitation to say something... He didn't, the bluff paid off. The fact that I had to do this in the first place is a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

Raheny Super Valu.

Raheny Garda station is literally 2 minutes around the corner and there are always Gardai walking around the shops there so I doubt it was a setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

It's not caused by having nothing to do. You could give kids all the amenities in the world and they'd still do it.

The truth is that kids like rebellion, face peer pressure and are very sexily charged. Yet insecure, self conscious and seeking acceptance. The answer? Alcohol. And if it wasn't street drinking it'd be a free house getting trashed after raiding a liquor cabinet.

What I have noticed is teenagers involved heavily in drama groups that are sociable and confident that would never even think of drinking.

Parents need to keep a closer eye on their kids and respect alcohol themselves. Ireland has a drink culture that needs to be curbed. That's the bottom line.

Master of the Universe

There 'are' plenty of options in a general sense, what are yours?

You seriously want me to list all the different things I do to entertain myself? That could take quite some time. Okay, I moderate the airsoft forum. Therefore I have an interest in airsoft. Infinately more entertaining then getting pissed.
    wrote:
    Considering your background, your area, your apparent priviledge?
    How do you know anything about my background, area and my "privledge"? The truth is, you don't..so I don't know where you're going with that.
    wrote:
    Put that in there to avoid being a victim of your own opinion of 'ignorance combined with inactive imagination'.

What?
    wrote:
    There are plenty of options there, they are not being used obviously since screaming drunk kids on weekends annoy you, you have this problem like everyone else, do you choose to add to the debate by insult or input?

My input was people like the person I replied to should stop buying CHILDREN who are standing outside off licenses alcohol. The fact that an adult would do something like that is insane. What are they thinking?
    wrote:
    I think the drink culture in Ireland exists still. Only ignorance and a lack of imagination would 'ignore' it.

Who says I'm ignoring anything? Again, you make no sense. I said to say that the only option children have is to booze is an extremely ignorant comment. Which it is. They have lots more to do. The problem is, most of them are too cynical to take part in such activities.

"I'm not doing that, its ghey".
    wrote:
    Ps I witnessed a guy buying drink for kids outside an offy and went in to the offy and told them that he was doing so, because I knew that later on in the night the same kids would be outside my window screaming drunk.

Fair play to you. I only wish I could find out which off licenses the kids around here are buying drink from.
    wrote:
    I took a risk doing so because if I was targeted as being a grass I would recieve hell later, I came very close to being caught out as the buyer came in again and the server stupidly said to me 'is that him', I nodded and they refused him.
    I had to hard nose his eyeballing of me as a result and keep my nerve. He backed off and even waited outside, I walked past him and deliberately stopped to 'check my phone' right next to him as an invitation to say something... He didn't, the bluff paid off. The fact that I had to do this in the first place is a problem.

I agree. It is a problem. However, the problem does not lie in the fact that kids have nothing to do. Or the government not supplying the kids with things to do. Even if they did, do you really think they would?

"Yay Jimmy, lets take part in Government sanctioned activity number 1!"

????????????????/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Beecher

looked like a setup, beware!

Back in the day when I used to work in an off-licence which was connected to a supermarket, customers used to always warn us of the kids outside trying to get some drink and we'd send someone off the supermarket floor to keep an eye out so we'd know who was coming in for them (although usually the order is obvious enough, some old guy asking for 7 naggins of vatsky or some sh*t). Due to some trouble the off-licence had been in previously if there was anything that might jeopardize us remaining open, for example someone supplying alcohol to kids from our off-licence, we would instantly inform the police of it, and with the police station being quite close a few people were caught.

It might seem harsh but if some 15 yr old kids were found with cans and a receipt with my name on it I personally am f*cked, and I have known some off-licence staff who have gone to court over similar situations. If someone is voluntarily willing to put me in a situation like that I have no problem screwing them over.

I'm sick of reading all this high and mighty bollox coming from many. Most of us (I reckon) have taken a drink under age. I know I certainly did. I wouldn't consider myself a scumbag, I was involved in many extra curricular activities as a teenager and still went for a tipple on the weekends and a pee in the nettles. When I found I could blag my way into local bars and clubs at 16/17, I was off the streets and less of a potential 'threat' to adults. Young people are not as intimidating half the time, if we take the time out to get to know who they are in your area and stop seeing them as constant pests. Treat them with a little respect and less suspicion and you may be surprised.

Master of the Universe

boreds wrote:
    f we take the time out to get to know who they are in your area and stop seeing them as constant pests. Treat them with a little respect and less suspicion and you may be surprised.

How do you treat kids with respect and less suspicion when they're vomiting/pissing/having sex in your gardens and smashing up your local area?

I drank when I was underage too. That doesn't mean it's not a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

oleras wrote:
    Thats one active imagination you have there !! ;)

Trust me, you should have seen the guy!

o1s1n wrote:
    How do you treat kids with respect and less suspicion when they're vomiting/pissing/having sex in your gardens and smashing up your local area?

I drank when I was underage too. That doesn't mean it's not a problem.

They wouldnt be smashing up and defecating their local areas if they felt a bit more integrated into the communities. They would have less contempt.

So you drinking underage was a problem then? or do you have a problem with others doing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

i know a lad and some well known scangers asked him to buy the drink and gave him a fifty and he came back with 12 cans and kept the money forhimself lol and the tools thought that 12 cans cost 50 ntoes rofl

Master of the Universe

boreds wrote:
    They wouldnt be smashing up and defecating their local areas if they felt a bit more integrated into the communities. They would have less contempt.

This all sounds too like the "hug a hoody" thing in the UK :rolleyes:
    I'm not a social worker. People should have more common sense than to act like scum. Adults should have more common sense than to buy children alcohol. No one should have to make excuses for that kind of behavior. "Not feeling integrated into the community" just doesn't cut it.
    wrote:
    So you drinking underage was a problem then? or do you have a problem with others doing it?

Of course it was a problem. Underage drinking is a problem. No point denying it.