[US/IRL] 3X13 - "The Man From Tallahassee" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭catho_monster

ok fine.
    then why was the sub not at the dock when the others and jack arrived, when they met locke wet, just before the c4 went off?
    because the sub was underwater.
    which means locke would have got wet getting out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

ok fine.
    then why was the sub not at the dock when the others and jack arrived, when they met locke wet, just before the c4 went off?
    because the sub was underwater.
    which means locke would have got wet getting out of it.

Yeah, that's right. He submerged the sub before getting out if it. :rolleyes:
    That's smart thinking.

ok. jeez. i must be having a really slow day that i can't explain this thing that i think its so self-evident that im losing my mind in explaining it.

fine.
    he didnt submerge the sub.

all i was saying earlier was that if he wasnt bothered by damaging the dock, and we couldnt see it, then it must be underwater. which backs up my point really, that it wasnt underwater at all, but moved.

isnt it at all possible that he moved the sub, left it above water. climbed out of it. AND HAD TO SWIM BACK? ... IN THE WATER....GETTING WET.

somebody tell me why else he was wet?

or why him being wet is such a big deal at all?

how could he not get wet? unless he stepped off the dock into the sub, then back off the sub onto the dock. but the sub wasnt at the dock when everyone arrived.

[edit]i was thinking of the underwater thingy because i thought he hid the sub instead of blowing it up. and hiding stuff underwater sounds like a good idea. thats what happens when you do boards at work. my brain is tired. my point still stands though with everything but the underwater bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I actually agree with catho_monster.

I think he hid the sub, and swam back to the dock so people would see him coming from the dock. Only explanation for him being soaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭ZiabR

I actually agree with catho_monster.

I think he hid the sub, and swam back to the dock so people would see him coming from the dock. Only explanation for him being soaking.

So he piloted the sub and has it hid away for himself if he ever needs it? Where did he learn the control a sub? I can't imagine it being easy. But yes it is possible he blew up nothing and has the sub in full working order for a later purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

I'd think it much more likely that he found something of interest on the sub. He knew the others would capture him soon after the sub blew, so hid that something underwater so he could go back and get it later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Good episode. I gave it a 9. We're slowly finding things out but alas I fear we'll be back to some biring filler episode next week and the tension will be lost (no pun intended). That's the 1st time they kept with the same arc and it worked really well. I'm thinking about skipping the filler episodes and letting you guys keep me posted on the important snippets :)
    Talisman wrote:
    Cooper isn't really Locke’s biological father, it was just part of his con to get a kidney - "You needed a father, I needed a kidney. Get over it".
    I was thinking that. That's why I though Locke was so p*ssed off when the "son" came to see him about Cooper, cause he realised he wasn't conned by his Dad but by a randomer.
    upmeath wrote:
    makes me think of that nuke-proof remote storage facility the U.S. have where there's one of every animal and plant species in the world
    Wouldn't they need 2 of every animal? (Noah's ark and all....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

Dar wrote:
    I'd think it much more likely that he found something of interest on the sub. He knew the others would capture him soon after the sub blew, so hid that something underwater so he could go back and get it later.
    makes way more sense than him hiding the sub :) good thinking
    sprinkles wrote:
    Wouldn't they need 2 of every animal? (Noah's ark and all....)
    oh no, not in Flanders' ark

Dar wrote:

Yeah that actually makes alot more sense. He may have found something that he can use later on. Also i find it weird that he came out of the water without his trusty old bag. He has so much stuff in that bag so i find it odd for Locke to leave it behind unless he did it for a very good reason.

Dar wrote:

Never thought on that, good point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭man1

logik wrote:
    Yeah that actually makes alot more sense. He may have found something that he can use later on. Also i find it weird that he came out of the water without his trusty old bag. He has so much stuff in that bag so i find it odd for Locke to leave it behind unless he did it for a very good reason.

Yeah never thought of that either, he is definitely up to something.
    Good Ol Locke.;)

Any talk of this "not blowing up the sub" theory on any of the other lost forums? Too lazy to check.

We could be onto something here lads and lassies!

man1 wrote:
    Yeah never thought of that either, he is definitely up to something.
    Good Ol Locke.;)

Any talk of this "not blowing up the sub" theory on any of the other lost forums? Too lazy to check.

We could be onto something here lads and lassies!
    http://www.thefuselage.com/Threaded/showthread.php?t=73194

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭dream brother

Did locke say something to ben like "you put the C-4 in the bag in the first place"?

Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

Talisman wrote:
    Cooper isn't really Locke’s biological father, it was just part of his con to get a kidney - "You needed a father, I needed a kidney. Get over it".
    yes he is, do you really think that the others being able to know everything about everything would forget that tiny detail?

ben said, "i didn't want to know how the pain felt, i wanted to know how it felt when your own father tried to kill you." (cannot remember exact quote but that was the jist of it)
    locke said "thats why you left the c-4 in the bag", if the C-4 was in the bag the others would have found it and confiscated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭magick

i wouldnt be surprised then if Cooper was the one responsible for fuc*king up sawyers life when his Daddy blew his brains out.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,888 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Lost back to it's best
    10/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,226 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

magick wrote:
    i wouldnt be surprised then if Cooper was the one responsible for fuc*king up sawyers life when his Daddy blew his brains out.
    I would be willing to put good money on it.

Locke's dad has gone under two names on the show, Anthony Cooper and Adam Seward.

"Anthony Cooper, Adam Seward" is an anagram for "Sawyer, the con man, a poor dad"

Mellor wrote:
    I would be willing to put good money on it.

Locke's dad has gone under two names on the show, Anthony Cooper and Adam Seward.

"Anthony Cooper, Adam Seward" is an anagram for "Sawyer, the con man, a poor dad"

Yeah this i have to agree with. But we prob wont find out what the story is for a few more eps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Old_-_School

kevmy wrote:

Ben manipulated Locke by doing everything possible to try and get him to blow up the sub. He used simple reverse psychology. He actually wanted the sub blow up so Juliet and the rest of the Others would be more committed/stuck on the island.

I still can't see how people think that Ben manipulated Locke into blowing up the sub seeing that Locke had been planning to blow up the sub ever since Mikhail told him about the existence of the sub. You can't manipulate someone into doing something if they were going to do it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,226 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I still can't see how people think that Ben manipulated Locke into blowing up the sub seeing that Locke had been planning to blow up the sub ever since Mikhail told him about the existence of the sub. You can't manipulate someone into doing something if they were going to do it anyway.
    Its not that he gave him the idea,
    its that he let him think he was getting away with it in the first place.
    Ben let him CONTINUE to blow up the sub, he could of probably stopped him at any time. I am sure he has a method of contacting his people quickly from his, button on the controls,
    but he chose to let locke think he was getting away with it, when he was being let away with it.

Mellor wrote:
    Its not that he gave him the idea,
    its that he let him think he was getting away with it in the first place.
    Ben let him CONTINUE to blow up the sub, he could of probably stopped him at any time. I am sure he has a method of contacting his people quickly from his, button on the controls,
    but he chose to let locke think he was getting away with it, when he was being let away with it.

Yeah sure Ben has always said, he looks for ways to manipulate people and then exploit their weaknesses. He found John's a long time ago and then just fed that weakness to reach his own multiple goal.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I think he is locke's dad, didnt locke say "Dad?" at the very end? Wouldn't he have said "You?" if it was someone he now thought wasn't his dad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Fantastic episode. I'm giving it an 8....what the hell...8 and a half! Great stuff. It wasn't predictable which is what I liked about it (bar the bit with Locke blowing up the sub).

Speaking of that, the theorey that he didn't blow it up is interesting. It would be good if that were the case but I don't think it is. I mean, surely the Others are going to see that the sub is there (if it wasn't blown up) or surely they will see the remains of the sub (if it was blown up)? Maybe it is just a directing error that Locke was soaked (I noticed it but I just thought he was sweating...did anyone see the boobs on Locke? Nice!)

Sticking to Locke, I think the flashbacks were great. Typical Lost when he got pushed out of the building. Fantastic. We've been wondering since season 1 how Locke got in the wheelchair. It's about time we found out. Nice easter eggs too, with the McCutchonson whiskey. I think yer man (Copper, I hear? How do we know his name?) is Lockes real father. There's no real evidence to suggest that he isn't. Plus, it wouldn't be as emotional a story if he wasn't lockes biological father.

I don't understand what people are talking about...what is the connection between Cooper and Sawyer? I immediately assumed that Cooper was the man from Tallahasse but do we know if he is from Tallahasse? We know that Locke was born in California...

Fantastic acting from the chap who plays Ben. He's a great character. As long as they don't kill off him, I'll be happy. Somebody made a nice point there about the Dharma food....I hope we will learn more about the Dharma/Others situation before the end of season 3 because it's confusing me. Who is who? I'm pretty sure the Others aren't Dharma but....who knows...

There's definitely more going on with Jack. I know that he said to Kate that he's coming back for Kate but it is still very out of character. I think the Others told Jack more because he was acting as if it was more than just a deal that he made. I mean, he wouldn't be playing football with Tom just because they agreed to let him go. There's more too it. When kate and Jack were talking in the games room, Tom said to Jack "be careful in here" and pointed to his hear, as if to say that the room is wired. So surely the Others now know that Jack would come back for Kate?

Also nice to finally have Alex and Sayid to cross paths.

I also think that Ben wanted locke to blow up the sub. If he's telling the truth that he has lived on the island all his life, he has no need to get off the island. And he certainly doesn't want any of his people to leave. It's clear that the sub was just an illusian to make it seem like they had a choice. He is very sinister indeed....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

I don't understand what people are talking about...what is the connection between Cooper and Sawyer? I immediately assumed that Cooper was the man from Tallahasse but do we know if he is from Tallahasse? We know that Locke was born in California...

Remember, Sawyer's life was fcuked up by some guy who conned his parents? Remember the con guy's name was Sawyer, so our Sawyer (James Ford) assumed the name Sawyer and went on his journey to get even with him? Everyone's thinking Cooper was the original Sawyer...
    Makes sense I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

doonothing wrote:
    Remember, Sawyer's life was fcuked up by some guy who conned his parents? Remember the con guy's name was Sawyer, so our Sawyer (James Ford) assumed the name Sawyer and went on his journey to get even with him? Everyone's thinking Cooper was the original Sawyer...
    Makes sense I guess.

Oh right, yeah.

I'm kinda hazey on Sawyers back story anyway.

Didn't his parents die? Or his dad killed his mam? I can't remember...

His mum had an affair with the original Sawyer (And who we think might be Cooper) who was the con man. Of course when he got the money, he ran, leaving young James Ford's parents with nothing. His dad then blew his brains out, and James Ford grew up to become the 'Sawyer' we know.

Where did you get that from? What it mentioned before in a ep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

logik wrote:
    Where did you get that from? What it mentioned before in a ep?
    I thought we were told that Ford copied the con that was used on his mother and that was also why he took the name Sawyer. I think it was in some background episode of his back in season one