Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US/IRL] 3X13 - "The Man From Tallahassee" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 21-03-2007 11:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT YET SEEN "THE MAN FROM TALLAHASSEE" -

Episode Title: "The Man From Tallahassee"
    Airdate: March 21st 2007

Synopsis (from TV.Com):
    When Kate and Locke arrive at the Others' camp, Ben promises to tell Locke the island's secrets as long as he stops his destructive plan, and Kate's reunion with Jack doesn't go very well when she learns that the Others have offered him a deal.
    Through series of flashback we will discover Locke's painfull secret and it will be revealed how he ended up in a wheelchair.

Next New Episode: 3X14 - "
    Exposé
    " - March 28th 2007

SPOILER WARNING:

From now on, this thread shall reveal details of the episode mentioned above. If you have not yet seen this episode, please do not move any further down the thread.

This episode shall air on:

• ABC (US) - March 21st 2007
    • Sky One (UK/IRL) - March 26th 2007
    • RTÉ2 (UK/IRL) - March 27th 2007

If you are sure you have seen the episode as mentioned above (on the channels on those original airdates), you can move down further in order to discuss the episode.

Otherwise, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED - there shall be major plot details of the episode revealed and discussed below with no spoiler tags used!

What did you think of "The Man From Tallahassee"? 143 votes

0%
    22%
    digimanCreatureDukeDreddyawnstretchPsychedelicsomujKur4mAKanneyCatsmokinpotsteviecslave1Nike_DudeoklaUnpossibleStephen PtoxofSnake PliskenYoung SiwardThE_IVIAcIVIAIVWavioli 32 votes
    32%
    gandalfBardAnimaDSMr Eradiospanjor elsunbeammagickStandard ToasterFaithAdMMMsprinklesdead airyom 1Steoobziggyfightin irishGlenmantq 46 votes
    28%
    DaveGoodshapeGavin W[Deleted User]BeruthielJTMansteve-hosting36LizardKingsnickerpussbugfjoneirebhoyPonsterLegend_DITcousin_boratfly.on.the.wallKillaqueen!!!Robin1982storkaupmeath 41 votes
    11%
    PiEkaimeraV9mada999mr_angrymonkeyfudgestevejazzxdeisedollyEamonnKeanePatricideThe GnomedjkeoghRob308885uspectThe guyNeiloMac 16 votes
    4%
    scojonesAnaiyelaDuraspokerwidowCharlie[Deleted User] 6 votes
    0%
    Nick_oliveri 1 vote
    0%
    0%
    Jimboo_Jones 1 vote
    0%

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

whoa, what an episode. Last week's cliffhanger was great but this one has knocked me for six. So many new questions but several interesting answers about the Others as well. Definitely one the best episodes to date imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭DS

Yea great episode. Lost is seriously on form these days. The suspense built up in the last few moments was amazing, really well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭aidan_r

great ep, i see the mcutcheon (sp?) whisky shows up again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Nick_oliveri

Well i didnt see that ending coming!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Great episode :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

****'s sake, great ep, seems they noticed why people were getting pissed off with the show :P
    "Dad"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

Fantastic Episode! And Juliet's recruiter is on the island, Richard?

Obviously Cooper is also Sawyer, given the similarity in names between this con and Sawyer, and he saying he'd been conning all his life. He better hope James Ford doesn't hop over the fence!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

I actually thought the episode as a whole was a little weaker than the last two, but it still had some cracking scenes.

Michael Emerson put in another fantastic performance as Ben, bringing back the strength and cunning he had at the end of season 2. Kate and Jack's scene was good too I thought, he's in deep sh1t with her now. And talk about deep sh1t, I imagine Jack will have some harsh words for Locke. Also liked the way Sayid threw in the comment about Rousseau to Alex, and that Rousseau has actually seen her now.

Flashback was a bit meh on the whole, it was slightly contrived to build up to the final segment, which was pretty cool, loved the shot of Locke as he fell, fell, fell, and then crunch. At least it's one of the big questions answered though, and I can't really complain too much about the way they did it.

The ending is easily one of the biggest "wtf?" endings since the show began. I can't even try to explain where he might have came from. Ben's talk of this "box" must be an analogy for something surely, don't have a clue what though.

Going forward should be interesting. The Others have lost one of their most significant advantages of the survivors, in that they too can no longer leave (if Ben was indeed telling the truth). I wonder will the Other's revolt against Ben now, or will there be some level of co-operation between the Others and survivors, or if it will remain status quo.

I think it gets an 8 from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

Fantastic episode, that was why I watch Lost. Put up with a dodgy early part to the season but the last couple of episodes have been top quality television.

Loved the flashbacks and the build up all through the show in Locke's conversations with Ben, you just knew we were finally going to find out how he ended up in the wheelchair and I thought it was really well done. Locke and Ben's exchanges were fantastic throughout, Ben is just a fantastic character and Locke seemed to be back on top form after a brief stint as a bumbling idiot this season.

Have to say I saw the ending coming though, with the way Ben was talking to Locke the surprise was always going to be his Dad, but it was still brilliant to actually see it.

Then there's the stuff with Jack, I've no idea what's going to happen now. Will they take him prisoner again or send him back to the camp or is he actually going to integrate into the town. I bet he'll have some stern words for Locke in the not too distant future :) Probably nothing compared to what Kate will have in store for him though...

Stuff with Alex and Rousseau too, we've been waiting for that for a long time but with so much else going on in the episode it almost got buried, I think we'll see a lot more of that next week, I expect will probably try and help Sayid escape in return for taking her to Rousseau, should be interesting.

Also, did I mention how great Ben is? And I always prescribed to the Giant Hamster theory, good to know it was accurate :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Good ep I must say.

Didn't like the flashback all that much bar the explaining of how John ended up in a wheelchair.

Knew once Jack and Juliette were talking to Ben that he had played John. Guess he always has more than one motive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭stevejazzx

The writers are either very clever or very stupid, I suspect the former.
    The are leading us in the opposite direction of 'everything can be explained with some pseudo science' now. First desmonds time travelling flashback and now a pandoras box that is probably a reference again to Flann O' Briens 3rd policeman book and box in the chamber that gives you everything you dream of although sometimes you wish for things subconsciously and you don't know exactly what they are. Ever since charlie got his guitar back there has existed the idea of the Island giving and taking. The famous early scene with Boone and how the Island tried to cure his obsession with his sister.
    I reckon the Coopers appearance in the end of that ep was a con and a good con at that. It is way of curtailing John Lockes understanding. I believe ben when he said that although Locke did have a special connection with the Island he didn't really know what he was talking about. The Island is essentially smokey and smokey is essentially the Man behind the experiment. Smokey was cooper like he was Walt to Shannon, Christian to Jack, Yemi to Eko etc.
    It's interesting because the writers seem intent on confusing us now into thinking that lost is out and out science fiction (which it is) but even still I think there will be a much calmer overall explanation to a lot of this that meets the eye.
    Good episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Nike_Dude

I reckon the Coopers appearance in the end of that ep was a con and a good con at that. It is way of curtailing John Lockes understanding. I believe ben when he said that although Locke did have a special connection with the Island he didn't really know what he was talking about. The Island is essentially smokey and smokey is essentially the Man behind the experiment. Smokey was cooper like he was Walt to Shannon, Christian to Jack, Yemi to Eko etc. What this episode tells us is that the man from tallehasse i.e the very slick recruiting officer of Juliet is needed when they (the others engage with smokey). It's interesting because the writers seem intent on confusing us now into thinking that lost is out and out science fiction (which it is) but even still I think there will be a much calmer overall explanation to a lot of this that meets the eye.
    Good episode.
    good theory, you may be right.
    Great episode, its been said before but the writers really seem to have listened to the criticism and the last few episodes have been very good.
    Roll on next week:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Narcissus

stevejazzx wrote:
    The writers are either very clever or very stupid, I suspect the former.
    The are leading us in the opposite direction of 'everything can be explained with some pseudo science' now. First desmonds time travelling flashback and now a pandoras box that is probably a reference again to Flann O' Briens 3rd policeman book and box in the chamber that gives you everything you dream of although sometimes you wish for things subconsciously and you don't know exactly what they are.
    I imagine the box is a metaphor.
    I reckon the Coopers appearance in the end of that ep was a con and a good con at that. It is way of curtailing John Lockes understanding. I believe ben when he said that although Locke did have a special connection with the Island he didn't really know what he was talking about. The Island is essentially smokey and smokey is essentially the Man behind the experiment. Smokey was cooper like he was Walt to Shannon, Christian to Jack, Yemi to Eko etc.
    I assumed that Jack was hallucinating from fatigue when he saw Christian on the beach and that Walt actually did appear before Shannon. There is also Yemi appearing before Eko and Dave appearing before Hurley so i'm not sure.

What this episode tells us is that the man from tallehasse i.e the very slick recruiting officer of Juliet is needed when they (the others engage with smokey). It's interesting because the writers seem intent on confusing us now into thinking that lost is out and out science fiction (which it is) but even still I think there will be a much calmer overall explanation to a lot of this that meets the eye.
    Good episode.
    The man from Tallahassee is Locke's dad, Anthony Cooper. As anotherlostie said it's probable that Cooper is also Sawyer seeing as Sawyer(James Ford) said he'd been there and Anthony Cooper is from there.

Great episode. Shocker of an ending and i'm really glad that Sayid mentioned Rousseau to Alex. Very clever of Ben to say to Jack "I'll let your friends leave as soon as you leave the island" knowing Locke was going to blow up the sub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Ah great episode after the sh!te that was Sayid's flashback episode this was back on form. I disagree with the posters who thought Locke's backstory in this episode was week, I thought it was done great and most emotional scene was lockes look of dispair when he was being lifted into the wheelchair, also explains why he blew up the submarine. I also thought the reference to the man from Tallehasse was John's Dad. I'm sure Ben gathered all the info on John and it would be pretty easy to do the research on him and to track down his Father and bring him to the Island as kind of collateral to get John on to the others side. Although it could be a con. I wonder what Locke will do next?

A solid 10 out of 10 for this one :)

Snake ;)

Apapaia wrote:
    I imagine the box is a metaphor.

I assumed that Jack was hallucinating from fatigue when he saw Christian on the beach

I don't think it was a methaphor at all the way Ben explained it.
    But I do think there is more to it than what Ben explained. Smokey guards or is it thats for sure...
    apapia wrote:
    and that Walt actually did appear before Shannon

How do you know that for sure?
    First time maybe considering Mrs. Klughs clue but second time(just before shannon gets shot) it is widely believed to be Smokey as he controls who dies.
    apapia wrote:
    . There is also Yemi appearing before Eko and Dave appearing before Hurley so i'm not sure.

Evereyone Konws that smokey was Yemi, the way the episode was shot there is no doubt, smokey tried to get Eko to repent by emulating yemi. It didn't work so smokey killed him.
    apapia wrote:
    The man from Tallahassee is Locke's dad, Anthony Cooper.
    Yeah sorry I've edited that bit
    apapia wrote:
    As anotherlostie said it's probable that Cooper is also Sawyer seeing as Sawyer(James Ford) said he'd been there and Anthony Cooper is from there.

I don't how that would work or evcen mean in terms of significance? It woud be a massive connection so.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

Yeah, that was a great eppy. Gave it a 9.

Locke's flashbacks weren't anything special. Tbh, it just seemed a lame ass way of thinking of a last-minute plot so that it'd be Locke's auld man who paralysed him from the waist down. The first scene in the flashback was pretty cool though when Locke was receiving disability benefits for a depression.

Locke blowing up the submarine became a bit obvious from his scenes with Ben, which were pretty brilliant. There's just something about Ben, something about the way he manipulates everyone that makes him so interesting to watch. I was half hoping from the way they were going on that we'd actually find out how the hell Locke was able to walk again when he got onto the island, but not to be.

The one downside was the return of the most pathetic excuse of a man, Jack. Once again, he doesn't fail to deliver in being a whimp with a nice wee crying session with Kate. Twas class though when Locke blew up the submarine on him, he's ready to kill Locke now I reckon.

As for the return of Locke's dad, I was of course initially shocked. Then a sense of dissapointment set in. I'm tired sick of Cooper in the flashbacks, so having to deal with him on the island could be a pain in the ass. Though, thinking it over again, I think stevejazz might be spot on. It is a bluff of some sort on the others part, just like they did with Eko, Shannon and Jack. The only question left is, how the hell can they do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

kaimera wrote:
    Didn't like the flashback all that much bar the explaining of how John ended up in a wheelchair.

Wasn't that the essence of the flashback? What else did you expect to get from it?

I gave the episode an 8, the best of the third season so far but by no means the best over the three seasons to date. Powerful stuff from Michael Emerson and Terry O'Quinn again.

Can anybody explain to me how did Jack & Juliet's scheduled departure come about so quickly, considering how (according to Jack in "Stranger in a Strange Land") Ben needed somebody "to see him back to good health" only three days ago?

Jack and John's fathers seem to be coming into their own and may end up playing a big part in the outcome methinks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

upmeath wrote:
    Jack and John's fathers seem to be coming into their own and may end up playing a big part in the outcome methinks...

Indeed. If you add the wonderful pieces of humanity that are Mr Paik and Charles Widmore into the mix,you might end up with some of the world's worst Dads all together on the island yet. And we don't know anything about some of the Dads yet, like Charlie's, Sayid's etc. I was going to say that at least Kate's Dad is dead, but then again so is Jack/ Claire's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

Good question yer man asked there:

How was the pathetic excuse of a man, Jack, leaving so soon after saying he'd have to see Ben back into good health. Unless he considers being stuck on a wheelchair as good health, I don't know what the hell he's going for...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Finally, a good episode. Why oh why did I read that spoiler, ah well, still enjoyed it. Lots of good points being mentioned here about Cooper being the original Sawyer, didn't put that together myself. Finding out how Locke ended up in the wheelchair was also good and about time. It was obvious that he was going to blow up the sub after he asked for the bag, even if I didn't already know.

Some decent questions to come away with too, what exactly is "the box", metaphor or otherwise. Is that really Cooper in the chair, I'd imagine it is. How did he get there and how long has he been there would be very good questions too.

Getting getting virtually bitch slapped by the sub being blown up was cool too. That should wipe away his smug sense of self worth. I'd say Kate will be none too happy with him now either since he was just going to up and leave her. I hope something comes down between Rousseau and Alex in the next ep too. I would imagine Alex would have no problem leaving Ben and the rest since she's shown plenty of willingness to betray them already. Rousseau is still crazy though so I'm not sure how this will work out.

I'd give this 9/10 overall and say it was the best of season 3 so far.

jor el wrote:
    Some decent questions to come away with too, what exactly is "the box", metaphor or otherwise. Is that really Cooper in the chair, I'd imagine it is. How did he get there and how long has he been there would be very good questions too.

Ben described it as a very large box that no matter what you could wish for or imagine that it would be in there... makes me think of that nuke-proof remote storage facility the U.S. have where there's one of every animal and plant species in the world (they probably have one of everyone's dad in there too... :D )
    Maybe the DHARMA Initiative is responsible for that and Alvar Hanso is a civilian contractor or something, didn't it mention his past as an arms dealer on the Hanso Foundation website in the past?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Good question yer man asked there:

How was the pathetic excuse of a man, Jack, leaving so soon after saying he'd have to see Ben back into good health. Unless he considers being stuck on a wheelchair as good health, I don't know what the hell he's going for...

Well, as was mentioned in the episode, I think Ben was planning on getting better much quicker than normal. His plans probably aren't based on being in that wheelchair for a long time.

In his deception of Jack and Juliette, I think Ben has been even more clever than ever before. Not only did it mean that he doesn't have to admit that leaving the island is impossible, he can now place the blame squarely at the feet of the Losties. In the minds of the Others, they are now trapped thanks to Locke, and who knows what they'll do in retribution! Of course, Ben needs Locke alive and well in order to investigate his connection with the island. It'll be interesting to see how that plays out. Of course, this all has interesting repercussions for Michael and Walt! :)

Aside from that, I was a little disappointed that STILL nobody is asking "what's the purpose of DHARMA / the Others / the island itself"? I was sure Locke was going to get around to it, but it was neatly side-stepped. Its really grating on me at the moment... surely somebody wants to know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Wow. By far the best episode of the season although I'm saving the 9's and 10's for the later episodes :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Enjoyed it but wasn't really that surprised to see Daddy Locke on the island. Indeed when the cops went to talk to him in the flashback and said they didn't know where he was, I immediately chirped up "He's on the island! Everyone else is". I was right...

Ben's great and I like how he called Locke's sh1t. He's a brilliant manipulator and rules any scene he's in. Be interesting to see what Jack thinks of Locke's handiwork now. Locke may have just screwed over every single one of his so-called friends because he's afraid.

Definite improvement in the last 3 weeks but am increasingly worried about how they're going to explain the inter-linking coincidences and how they get someone to just "appear" on an island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

great episode, most of my thoughts have already been said, so i'll only say the ones that haven't.

I especially liked the opening scene, made me laugh, and lets you know the writers are listening... and i'm surprised nobody has mentioned it. It has been the debate ever since series one that lockes injury was due to some mental disorder and that he was never physically injured, which would explain why he could walk on the island. They shot that theory right out of the water by having him sit behind a desk (in what could have been a wheelchair) discussing his mental illness and therapy sessions and his "disability benefits"... only to just stand up and announce "well I guess i'm cured then"

I don't know about others but once Locke said "I could feel my back break", the suspense of every one of his flashbacks after that was unbearable knowing that his back was going to have to break at some point before the episode was out.

Also I liked the way the title only made sense right at the end... that was a real "wtf?" moment. The series is really picking up steam now, lets hope it can hold this pace. Can't believe its only 12 episodes into the season either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Excellent television.

so john blew up Mikhail's pad so there wouldn't be outside world connection, then blew up the sub so nobody could leave or come back?
    and this was all so that his dad couldn't ever get to him?
    but he's actually just trapped himself on an island with him!
    oh the irony!

people were mentioning maybe locke's dad is smokey,
    i think at this point in time, the question i'd most like answered is "What IS smokey?!", but that'll probably be left until season fifty million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Well just echoing the above sentiments, really really enjoyed the episode. I was engrossed throughout.
    I loved the opening, that was a nice little swerve they had making us think he was already in the wheelchair as it was.

The scenes between Ben and Locke absolutely legendry, they showed why they are my favourite characters and as they work together so brilliantly.
    I loved the lines about giant hamster cage or Ben saying that no they don't have a code word for there is someone in my closet holding my daughter at gun point, lol.
    Locke really came back into form in this episode and it showed there was a method in madness of the last few episodes.
    The look on Jacks face when the submarine was blown up, oh my there could be trouble in store.

I thought the actual moment where his dad attacks came out of nowhere, 1 second they are talking and the next he is out the window.

As for the ending, wow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

My first 10 rating for a long long time! :D

EXCELLENT!

When Ben started talking about taking John to see what came out of the 'box', I knew it HAD to be his dad!

(Although I think that they could have easily taken him there in the sub as opposed to opening a 'magic box' and finding him there.)

The thing that clicked with me right at the end was Lockes dad was "The man from Tallahassee"... Going on the title, I thought it was gonna be based on Sawyer... then I didn't know who it'd be... but I think that Cooper is DEFINATELY Sawyers dad too. Something that Ben et. al. could use to their advantage, and an extra reason to get him and bring him to the island.

And I was as blindsided as Locke when Cooper knocked him through the window! :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

A few points.

I actually don't think that Ben was going to let Jack and Juliette leave. He already stated that letting the sub leave would be bad for the morale of the Others as it couldn't come back. Juliett's comment to him, thanking him for keeping his promise, highlights this for me. He only let them go knowing that John was going to destroy it.

Alex now knows that the sub could never return so this information could prove crucial in later episodes - especially if the Others blame the losties for not being able to come and go.

The fridge being full of Dharma goodies is interesting. The others claim not to be Dharma yet supplies keep coming. Either Dharma still thinks that their people are still on the island and need supplies or the Others are Dharma. Maybe the Others were pertending to be Dharma scientists to Dharma to continue to get supplies. I think that we saw the supplies in the fridge was done on purpose.

Cooper, imo, is definately the original Sawyer - fits nicely. And probably a reason why Saywer didn't go on the rescue mission - from the writers point of view.

Ben's description of the "box" is interesting - get anything you wish for. It's obvious that if this is true then the Others are not able to use it. But John might be. If the Others could use it then they wouldn't be in the pickle they are in.

Also, if the sonic fence surrounded the camp, then why was it easy to get to the ocean/dock - surely anyone with a boat or who could swim could therefore access the camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Great ep, I gave it a 9.

One thing that seemed strange to me in this ep was the fact the the Island seems to make everyones illness go away and cure them from whatever life threatening issues they have.

YET, Ben was born on the Island as he said himself and he got "Cancer". Now he is unable to walk due to the surgeory on his spine. I think maybe John was onto something when he said to Ben, "thats why i am walking, and your stuck in a chair". Ben may have wondered about that, i mean why is it, he is unable to walk again and John is.

Ben was born on the Island and i am thinking that Ben may have done something that the Island does not like. I think whatever this "Island" is, has made Ben sick with the Cancer and now is not curing him so he can walk again. The Island is angry with Ben.

But as many other posters have said, Ben's acting is just unreal, he really is gifted. He makes his character look and sound so sinister.

Jack will be uber pis*ed at John and can't wait to see what Jack will do about it. At the end of the ep, when John opened the door, the music started and i thought we were not going to see what John saw. I was shocked when it was his father.

LOST is heating up :D

Also another side point but a scene I liked a lot. When Locke is sneaking onto the sub, looking over his shoulder, gun out, waiting for the others to try and stop him, you are assuming Ben has already raised the alarm, and the music leads you to believe Locke is now in danger. Then it suddenly cuts back to Ben, and all he is doing is putting the chicken back in the fridge... excellent!, actually come to think of it, this whole episode had fantastic dialogue throughout, I loved lockes line "you'd better hope that box is big enough to imagine yourself a new sub"

L31mr0d wrote:
    Also another side point but a scene I liked a lot. When Locke is sneaking onto the sub, looking over his shoulder, gun out, waiting for the others to try and stop him, you are assuming Ben has already raised the alarm, and the music leads you to believe Locke is now in danger. Then it suddenly cuts back to Ben, and all he is doing is putting the chicken back in the fridge... excellent!, actually come to think of it, this whole episode had fantastic dialogue throughout, I loved lockes line "you'd better hope that box is big enough to imagine yourself a new sub"

LOL yeah i loved when Locke said that too :P. Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭man1

upmeath wrote:
    makes me think of that nuke-proof remote storage facility the U.S. have where there's one of every animal and plant species in the world

Where did you hear that???????

man1 wrote:

I think the man from Tallahassee told him about it :D

man1 wrote:

Yeah thats just madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Yup it's logistically impossible, as they don't even know about all the animal species on earth never mind plant species or fish species.

They are however building a huge seed repository in the arctic circle containing seeds for almost every crop, so that if there's a catastrophy that wipes out a countrys stock of crops that they could use this seed bank to replenish the stocks.

Now that i have seen and read about :)

man1 wrote:

**** I wasn't supposed to say anything about that... ****, my boss (Dubya) is going to kill me... :D

upmeath wrote:
    **** I wasn't supposed to say anything about that... ****, my boss (Dubya) is going to kill me... :D

lol opps, shhhh i wont say i thing i swear :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

Locke "how do u get power?"

Loved Bens quote "we have 2 massive hamsters running in a wheel in our secret underground base"

This used one to be one of the grand theories of Lost that the DI was originally instigating such a thing. One of the major clues was study of the Polar bear in extreme climate change. And the references to snowman, snowglobe and of course Kelvins name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

als a good episode - i was starting to lose interest tbh, putting heroes 1st on my list, closely followed my Prison break, if lost keeps the momentum going it will surely be back on top!!

ps poor locke :D:D:D hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

I reckon the guy in the Darma video told Locke about the submarine and to try and blow it if he couldn't take it. Its what I would do if the island was being lost to the "hostiles", blow the communications hut and destroy/steal the sub so they cannot get out.

That plan would sit nicely with Locke and his feelings for the island :)

I thought this was a great episode and loved the Locke/Ben dialogue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭csk

Great episode! Lost is really on a roll, hopefully the writers can keep it up.

Another fantastic episode from Ben, even in his debilitating state he still manages to look like the eviliest mofo around. The way he manipulated Locke was excellent. I like the idea of Ben's leadership coming under threat and him having to keep ahead of the rest, really adds another layer to the Others.

The twist at the end was a bit meh tbh. After Ben said get the man from tallahassee, I knew straightaway cooper was going to appear. I'd put my house on it at this stage that Cooper is the real Sawyer. I wouldn't be too sure if the Others actually know this though, I think that would be too contrived. If Cooper is the real Sawyer and the Others want to use him to get to Locke then I think the potential connection between Cooper/Sawyer and Ford/Sawyer would throw a spanner in the works of whatever their plan is, presuming they have one that is.

However that does depend on Cooper being the real Sawyer and Cooper being flesh and blood and not just a product of this box. Hopefully he is flesh and blood as this box, if its real, sounds awfully too close to jump the shark territory for my liking.

Unpossible wrote:
    I reckon the guy in the Darma video told Locke about the submarine and to try and blow it if he couldn't take it. Its what I would do if the island was being lost to the "hostiles", blow the communications hut and destroy/steal the sub so they cannot get out.

That plan would sit nicely with Locke and his feelings for the island :)

I thought this was a great episode and loved the Locke/Ben dialogue.

Before Locke starts to lose support from both the Others and his Losties he really better start explaining why he has been acting so weird and doing "what we see as" stupid stuff without thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

Anyone who didnt see 3x13 then dont bother read down, could be mega spin outta control spoilers for ya !!! :eek:

If anyone remembers ep 4 of season 1 , "walkabout" theirs a flashback where Lockes sup is basically being an a$$ to him during his lunch break, and said that he checked Lockes C.V. and he had a Colonel description on it. Also he noted in 3x13 to Ben "you never know i could have been a navy commander"

Also in 3X13 when Locke boarded the sub isnt it weird he was able to find the lightswitch in the Sub so easily, like he knew it would be there, he seemed to have no bother in finding his way around.

Lastly when the others find him on the dock hes soaking wet, i mean not sweating, his shirt and pants and face are covered in water, did Locke blow up the Sub or Con the others into thinking he blew up the sub?

COLONEL (COL)
    (Addressed as "Colonel")
    Typically commands brigade-sized units (3,000 to 5,000 Soldiers), with a CSM as principal NCO assistant. Also found as the chief of divisional-level staff agencies.

logik wrote:
    Before Locke starts to lose support from both the Others and his Losties he really better start explaining why he has been acting so weird and doing "what we see as" stupid stuff without thinking.

It's true. Locke is probably the character with the most depth, there's so many layers to his back story and he seems really in touch with this island, but I think the reason people like him is because he's an honest do-gooder sort of character, and he has his flaws (terrible judgement breaking the computer in the hatch, and blowing up the sub may turn out to be one of his worst ideas yet)

That said, he's going to become isolated if it continues. I can see another heated exchange coming up between Locke and Jack after blowing up the sub!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭PokerChild

magick wrote:
    Anyone who didnt see 3x13 then dont bother read down, could be mega spin outta control spoilers for ya !!! :eek:

If anyone remembers ep 4 of season 1 , "walkabout" theirs a flashback where Lockes sup is basically being an a$$ to him during his lunch break, and said that he checked Lockes C.V. and he had a Colonel description on it. Also he noted in 3x13 to Ben "you never know i could have been a navy commander"

Also in 3X13 when Locke boarded the sub isnt it weird he was able to find the lightswitch in the Sub so easily, like he knew it would be there, he seemed to have no bother in finding his way around.

Lastly when the others find him on the dock hes soaking wet, i mean not sweating, his shirt and pants and face are covered in water, did Locke blow up the Sub or Con the others into thinking he blew up the sub?

COLONEL (COL)
    (Addressed as "Colonel")
    Typically commands brigade-sized units (3,000 to 5,000 Soldiers), with a CSM as principal NCO assistant. Also found as the chief of divisional-level staff agencies.

He was wet and I wondered why...... good theory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Thread title is a spoiler!!!!

Some of us haven't seen episode 13. If this relates to a previous episode I apologise.

I did my best not to see any of the posts in this thread. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Oh yess. thatd make sense, Spoiler: i hope he didnt blow up submarine. I thought he was just sweating loads :)