Fecking Rugby Bandwagon Jumpers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,361 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Heinrich wrote:
    You won't be saying that when we beat the **** out of Wales. :D
    It will stop once France beat the crap out of us.........again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

i say fair play, well done and thank you to the Irish XV , they made me proud to be Irish , unlike those muppets managed by Steve Staunton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

MikeHoncho wrote:
    I really hope that anyone who hasnt been a longtime rugby fan and got swept up in all the hype and decided to give the match a go on Saturday really enjoyed themselves and now see why for some of us rugby is the greatest sport in the world. What a great day both for the sport and for our country. I hope you maybe try out a provincial match at some stage and then sure who knows you might find yourself at a local club game some day. This sport no longer needs to move on from its image as an upper crust sport and to be enjoyed by the masses for the great game that it is.

heh heh... exactly why the GAH took so long to hand over the "Crown Jewel" to the opposition sport.... think about it;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

It will stop once France beat the crap out of us.........again.
    Last minute try = beating the crap out of us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I fully admit to not really caring about rugby except for big games, and Munster rugby (cos it's nice to see my mum so happy when they win) And I don't mind saying that I pretend to be interested in rugby to chat up rugby players from the local boys schools, nothing wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I know virtually SFA about sport of any kind. I love watching rugby, preferably on the television. Main reason for that? I'm not a "fan". I won't stand in the pi$$ing rain on a saturday evening or sunday morning watching the local team playing, so why should I head off to the big matches when I don't have the dedication of the die-hards who'll be in bits if they can't go. Also, I find when a camera is trained on the action I can actually see what's going on and understand it better.

If asked, I'll give my opinion of what happened. Sure, I'll struggle with the player's names. Maybe I won't know who scored what try, or who converted them once O'Gara went off. Perhaps I don't remember exactly what minute O'Driscoll went off in. I was still behind the team 100% and was damn delighted when they won by 30 in Croke Pk.

I'm not going to pretend I know more about the game than I do. Likewise I'll say what I think (regurgitation is for the leaving cert and feeding baby birds, ta very much) and engage in discussion in as far as I can without apologising for it. I probably won't watch a rugby match if an Irish team isn't playing if I have better things to do, unlike hurling, which is fantastic and can't be beaten imho. Now that I WILL stand in the pi$$ing rain for. (It's still better on the telly though. My specs agree with me! And by the way, Leahy did score that goal against Clare, it shouldn't have been disallowed, we should've won. Baxturds.)

If you have a trouble with people who got tickets you wanted, then fine. It's childish and petty, but that's up to you. If you don't even like the game, then what bloody harm is it doing? Maybe it makes a change of conversation topic for that girl on the phone from what the weather is like, which is what she'll go back to talking about tomorrow, or maybe the day after. A change is as good as a rest. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,380 ✭✭✭pred racer

Sangre wrote:
    Let them rant away, its great for the sport. More fans = more money. Any successful team always has bandwagon jumpers. I'm sure the 70,000 munster fans at cardiff go to every mangers league game...

Although if they say something stupid or just parrot what the papers/commentators are saying I'll tell them I disagree and why.

What really annoyed me though was hearing of people going to the match who had NEVER watched a game and couldn't name 2 players on the team.

^^
    what he/she said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Well I see nothing wrong with it. Look at it this way, how many of the "bandwagon haters" here who have no interest in athletics watched Sonia O'Sullivan winning medals and didn't feel a bit of pride?

Wouldn't you all be posting on boards giving out if there was only four or five people at the airport to greet her instead of thousands when she came home with her medals. Ye'd be moaning about the lack of national pride and how Sonia had made great achievements etc.

With some people you can't win. I know someone who thinks that if you can't name every player who wore an Irish rugby shirt in the 70's then you shouldn't call yourself a fan. Where does it end? According to him most people here (and probably the OP) are jumping on the bandwagon :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭s8n

No harm to see the traditional elitist Rugby set being broken up & invaded, now if only I could get a ticket for Croker next year....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

When was the match? :D
    I needed to ask who was playing :)
    Called home last week and the mother said that my father was just sitting down to watch the match. Hadn't a clue who was playing, didn't even know it was rugby.

I like sports I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Let them enjoy it, not as though other irish sporting teams are giving them anything to cheer about :p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

I went to a match to support my local club on Sunday in the pouring rain with harsh winds. Have been doing this all my life. I have to agree with the OP. The amount of pure bulls*it coming out of peoples mouths is bad.

I remember a time standing in Thomond Park and other pitches for matches around the country (I am only in my 20s) and there was noone there.

Do you think 3/4 of the people at that match on Saturday deserved to be there? Do you think that they are down most saturdays/sundays supporting local clubs? Just because you have an interest in rugby doesnt mean that you deserve to be there.
    Nope.

I remember being practically ostracised as a kid for following rugby. Now it is the Sport de Jour and I cant but feel a little bitter that there are so many people out there getting tickets and spouting crap about a sport they will only follow when they are winning. Its very false.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

dellas1979 wrote:
    I went to a match to support my local club on Sunday in the pouring rain with harsh winds. Have been doing this all my life. I have to agree with the OP. The amount of pure bulls*it coming out of peoples mouths is bad.

I remember a time standing in Thomond Park and other pitches for matches around the country (I am only in my 20s) and there was noone there.

Do you think 3/4 of the people at that match on Saturday deserved to be there? Do you think that they are down most saturdays/sundays supporting local clubs? Just because you have an interest in rugby doesnt mean that you deserve to be there.
    Nope.

I remember being practically ostracised as a kid for following rugby. Now it is the Sport de Jour and I cant but feel a little bitter that there are so many people out there getting tickets and spouting crap about a sport they will only follow when they are winning. Its very false.
    If you paid for your ticket then you deserve to fucking be there. P*ss off.

No - it would be the opposite.

The stadium would be full of people who actually have an interest in the game.

Not people who are there just because it seems to be the cool thing to do. This is grossly unfair.

Maybe it needs to be nipped in the bud from places/people who give out the tickets.

There needs to be some moderation and control. It is next to impossible to get a ticket for games because of all these fake freeloaders. The auld crowd down in croker with their "we want tickets because its a GAA stadium" and the auld freeloaders who, well, to be honest, will join in on anything.....

One thing I and plently others have noticed in the last year or 2 is the whistling that goes on during a penalty or conversion. What in the name of god is that about? That was never part of the game. The crowd should be the indispensible 16th man on the pitch and all you have is a crowd of ejits who know and appreciate nothing of rugby history, whisting like common knackers.

More fool you DaveMcG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭raido9

dellas1979 wrote:

Nope.

No - it would be the opposite.

The stadium would be full of people who actually have an interest in the game.

Not people who are there just because it seems to be the cool thing to do. This is grossly unfair.

Maybe it needs to be nipped in the bud from places/people who give out the tickets.

There needs to be some moderation and control. It is next to impossible to get a ticket for games because of all these fake freeloaders. The auld crowd down in croker with their "we want tickets because its a GAA stadium" and the auld freeloaders who, well, to be honest, will join in on anything.....

One thing I and plently others have noticed in the last year or 2 is the whistling that goes on during a penalty or conversion. What in the name of god is that about? That was never part of the game. The crowd should be the indispensible 16th man on the pitch and all you have is a crowd of ejits who know and appreciate nothing of rugby history, whisting like common knackers.
    That gave me a good laugh.

"Just because you have an interest in rugby doesnt mean that you deserve to be there."
    Ok so, what do you have to do to deserve to be their supporting the Irish rugby team?

" The crowd should be the indispensible 16th man on the pitch and all you have is a crowd of ejits who know and appreciate nothing of rugby history, whisting like common knackers"
    Not only are they turning up when they dont deserve to, but now their whistling. Cheek of them. Hahaha.

You sir are an idiot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

raido9 wrote:
    That gave me a good laugh.

"Just because you have an interest in rugby doesnt mean that you deserve to be there."
    Ok so, what do you have to do to deserve to be their supporting the Irish rugby team?

" The crowd should be the indispensible 16th man on the pitch and all you have is a crowd of ejits who know and appreciate nothing of rugby history, whisting like common knackers"
    Not only are they turning up when they dont deserve to, but now their whistling. Cheek of them. Hahaha.

You sir are an idiot!
    DaveMcG, Dllas and raido9, take it to PM if you want ot carry that crap on.

Sir? I am a madam thank you very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MICKEYG

Originally Posted by DarkJager
    Can you blame them? Rugby is the only sport that Ireland don't look like a 3rd rate local Calcutta team in....
    Orlee wrote:
    Agreed!

If rugby was played by as many countries as soccer instead of the 7 or so countries who take it seriously then I am 100% sure we would be rubbish at it too. If the Germans take it up they will win it (7 nations) every year. Also, give a team of American football running backs 6 months training and they would win the world cup running back-wards.

What kills me is that all the media folk (Gerry Thronley and that sport expert and in no way self obsessed Gerry Ryan to name two) have to have a dig at soccer when they have a good result. Saturday was a great occasion but to say soccer is rubbish in comparison is ludicrous.

Soccer caters for for more people and not just those who go to the right school (although from the Irish Times coverage of the Leinster Schools rugby you would think it was the only sport played in schools).

Soccer supports a professional league which no other sport does. It may not be successful but it is still professional. Rugby has to combine its clubs to compete with the other clubs in Europe). The soccer tema has to compete in a sport which is far and away the most popular in the world and is only getting more popular and the standard getting higher each year.

There are so many soccer teams at under age level it is amazing. They do not all have great clubhouses like the GAA and Rugby but that is because there are far more of them and they do not have the corporate backing that Rugby has (wrong schools again). More kids get to play as there are more teams which is extremely important.

Fair play to Rugby but they do themselves no favours by having a dig at the most popular sport in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

I attend about 50 GAA games a year and watch about the same number on TV (obviously not including the tapes of the ones I've attended). Because GAA does not have an International dimension does not take away from the fact that it is played at the highest level by Irish players in front of Huge crowds all year.

Our international team may be going through a lean patch at the moment in Soccer but Irish players are putting in great performances for clubs in England and Scotland.

While I acknowledge the rise in support for Rugby it is still a mile behind GAA or Soccer in popularity.

I really enjoyed the Rugby game on TV on Saturday - but if anyone I know asked me on Monday if I enjoyed the game they would have either have been talking about GAA or the Carling Cup or the Celtic comeback - unless of course they weren't sports fans!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

I read the SIndo article being talked about here. It was bullshít begrudgery from a soccer fan.

Soccer fans are pissed off that they're slowly losing the limelight in terms of the national team following declining and people showing an interest in rugby.

They've had a dedicated following since 1990, ie. all the bandwagoners supported soccer. Irish rugby began to really improve in the late 90s/early 00s, but soccer still had the upper hand due to qualifying for the 2002 world cup. Now the Irish soccer team has hit rock bottom and the Irish rugby team more successful than ever, the bandwagoners are switching allegences and the soccer fans aren't happy about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

I saw at least 5 kids today playing rugby with their friends on my way home, i've never before seen one. I see it as a good thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MICKEYG

daveirl wrote:

The GAA is not the most popular sport in Ireland. Soccer is. It has the most particpants.

Oh come off it!

I would have maybe agreed with that a year or two ago. When I used to go to the school boy section, there might be a whistle followed by a “will you shut up will you”.

Now its everywhere. Everywhere in the stadium.

Was at the Munster V Perpignan match last year. 2 young fellas of about 17 standing behind us in the terrace. 2 of them drinking, 2 of them cursing and whistling, then one turns to the other “Jaaayyyssuuuusssss Mike, who the f*ck is playing again??”

Yes there is more than 80,000 people out there with an active interest in the sport.

I believe you might be part of a larger senior club or else ye have very little membership/demand for tickets or some other reason.

Its amazing who crawls out of the wood work when they want tickets. You’ll see “John” standing at the sideline of the rugby match on Sunday. Doesn’t know one end of the ball from the other, hasn’t been at the local grounds since one of the matches last year, but shur he doesn’t care. As long as he stands there for 80 mins and looks like he is supporting the team, shur he thinks that he might be in with a shout for a ticket.

“I was down at the match there Sunday……great win……….(followed by a limited conversation) ………. any chance of a ticket for next Saturdays game?

I think there should be more tickets available to young kids, as it is these people who will carry on the game and be inspired. Not greedy GAA, corporate fat cats and fancy freeloaders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

dellas1979 wrote:

lol, i've noticed this creeping into soccer matches to lately. I find a loud "Tut Tut" usually quietens them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

wah wah wah.
    My sport is more popular than yours.

I don't think i'll ever understand the obsession with this sort of crap.

Here's the thing.
    People will go to an event just to say they were there. it's they way people are. Most people are sheep. Just deal with it and get on with your life.
    Also, next time you should apply for your ticket on time.
    Or should that be 'tickets', because I doubt very much that any of you are buying just one and are therefore taking a ticket that might have gone to another "real fan".