Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fecking Rugby Bandwagon Jumpers

• 26-02-2007 11:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭

Ok, I'm sick of listening to it already. So many people in work who haven't the slightest interest in rugby going on and on about the Ireland England game all morning. Suddenly they are all rugby experts. Everytime someone is on the phone to a customer they are asking them did they watch the match, where they watched it, etc. It's doing my head in, arrrrrggggaaaaaahhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Fecking elitist feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

We should just ban rugby outright, that would solve the issue.

Stupid rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Can you blame them? Rugby is the only sport that Ireland don't look like a 3rd rate local Calcutta team in....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I hate the bandwagoners too.

One man asked me if I watched the game, I said no.

He then went on a mini rant, ending it with 'sure, I don't even like rugby' :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Oh teh noes, people want to be interested in something hyped up in the media. Who would have guessed it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

One of the girls on the phone now saying (to the tenth different customer) "oh it was a good game now, it was a great game, did you watch it, where did you watch it?". If I was the person on the other end of the line I would say "Really, who did you think played best?, what did you think of Girvan Dempsey's try? What about Stringer, how do you think he played? What about Paul O'Connell, what did you think about his game?". Stupid bimbo, I bet she can't even name 2 players from the Ireland team.

P.S. I am not a rugby fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Let them rant away, its great for the sport. More fans = more money. Any successful team always has bandwagon jumpers. I'm sure the 70,000 munster fans at cardiff go to every mangers league game...

Although if they say something stupid or just parrot what the papers/commentators are saying I'll tell them I disagree and why.

What really annoyed me though was hearing of people going to the match who had NEVER watched a game and couldn't name 2 players on the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

It happens with every event Ireland do well in, it'll die out in a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

The funny thing its not even that big a deal, we were always going to beat England and well. Although the record margin was nice.

One of the girls on the phone now saying (to the tenth different customer) "oh it was a good game now, it was a great game, did you watch it, where did you watch it?". If I was the person on the other end of the line I would say "Really, who did you think played best?, what did you think of Girvan Dempsey's try? What about Stringer, how do you think he played? What about Paul O'Connell, what did you think about his game?". Stupid bimbo, I bet she can't even name 2 players from the Ireland team.

P.S. I am not a rugby fan
    How to enforce a stereotype.
    Lesson one.
    Start a thread on boards.ie about how people are jumping on the rugby bandwagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Kenny 5 wrote:
    It happens with every event Ireland do well in, it'll die out in a few days.

You won't be saying that when we beat the **** out of Wales. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I haven't come across any bandwagon jumpers or bandwagon t-shirts, or any kind of bandwagon clothing!

ps I have absolutely no interest in rugby!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Backtoblack

When was the match? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

Ok, I'm sick of listening to it already. So many people in work who haven't the slightest interest in rugby going on and on about the Ireland England game all morning. Suddenly they are all rugby experts. Everytime someone is on the phone to a customer they are asking them did they watch the match, where they watched it, etc. It's doing my head in, arrrrrggggaaaaaahhhhh

This is the snobery I hate about rugby. Since when are you not allowed enjoy a sport unless you are an expert in it? I dont usually watch rugby and I dont event understand the rules. Does that mean I shouldnt watch it and say I enjoyed the game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

It's called having a bit of pride in your team folks. I love rugby, have done for years ever since I played it as kid and I can only say it's great to see so many are excited about the game that occurred over the weekend.

We put that Team under tremendous pressure to succeed and they went out and did it. So if people want to feel good about that then let them.

Ice_Box wrote:
    This is the snobery I hate about rugby. Since when are you not allowed enjoy a sport unless you are an expert in it?

You'll get this in every sport - often you hear people giving out about the fair weather supporters in GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭bugle

there was an article in the sunday independant yesterday where it basically says that a strong majority of rugby supporters are just on the bandwagon, women going religiously to away games (mostly for a nice weekend away in some snazzy european city, followed by a romantic meal and a show) is all fake. Also how rugby supporters, after a game, win, lose or draw are generally over the result in a few hours, whereas soccer supporters are broken for days when their team go down. He believes there is way more honest passion in soccer (supporters). He presents us with the scenario of ireland winning the soccer world cup, how it would send the country into meltdown. If we won the rugby world cup..We would probably be over it by monday morning.

Everyone has the chance to compete in the soccer world cup, if they are good enough. Its just a select few countries in the rugby world cup. Is it a true testament of talent, strength and passion or of wealth, power and pull?

While i dont agree with it entirely, however, it is an interesting article (especially the bandwagon point, i have always believed that rugby these days is the biggest bandwagon in the country). While I havent done the article justice on this thread, it is a little biased..but it did make me think about the win over england on saturday. People seemed over it, come closing time sunday morning. If that was soccer people may have been taking monday off work.

can anyone get a link to this article?i cant find it.

Myth wrote:
    You'll get this in every sport - often you hear people giving out about the fair weather supporters in GAA.
    The gah bandwagon is the worst tbh.

eighty-odd thousand people in a stadium in the summer, where are they in the cold winter months?

Die-hard my arse.

Same for soccer aswell tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

ah come on, we all shout at anything green when we're doing well. Italia 90, Sonia O Sullivan, Ken Doherty, Steve Collins, Michelle Smith etc... I can understand hardcore people getting upset a little, but there would be more complaints if the country wasn't behind the team.

Isnt it great that we can beat our "far superior" "old enemy" at one of their own sports anyhow? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

bugle wrote:
    there was an article in the sunday independant yesterday where it basically says that a strong majority of rugby supporters are just on the bandwagon, women going religiously to away games (mostly for a nice weekend away in some snazzy european city, followed by a romantic meal and a show) is all fake. Also how rugby supporters, after a game, win, lose or draw are generally over the result in a few hours, whereas soccer supporters are broken for days when their team go down. He believes there is way more honest passion in soccer (supporters). He presents us with the scenario of ireland winning the soccer world cup, how it would send the country into meltdown. If we won the rugby world cup..We would probably be over it by monday morning.

Everyone has the chance to compete in the soccer world cup, if they are good enough. Its just a select few countries in the rugby world cup. Is it a true testament of talent, strength and passion or of wealth, power and pull?

While i dont agree with it entirely, however, it is an interesting article (especially the bandwagon point, i have always believed that rugby these days is the biggest bandwagon in the country). While I havent done the article justice on this thread, it is a little biased..but it did make me think about the win over england on saturday. People seemed over it, come closing time sunday morning. If that was soccer people may have been taking monday off work.

Well soccer is a much more widely supported game therefore its obvious it would have a bigger impact (I dont get whats so great about soccer myself, too many scoreless draws for my liking). The bigger the hardcore support for a sport the bigger the bandwagon is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

bugle wrote:

So true. I spoke to a Leinster supporter in a bar in town after the Leinster v Munster semi-final (last year?) who said he was going to the final to support Munster!

Insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

DarkJager wrote:
    Can you blame them? Rugby is the only sport that Ireland don't look like a 3rd rate local Calcutta team in....

Agreed!

cooperguy wrote:
    bigger the hardcore support for a sport the bigger the bandwagon is.
    Soccer doesn't have anything like a 'big hardcore' support.

Sure, it has thousands upon thousands of people who like to sit in pubs watching tv. Or head for weekends away every couple of months, to England or Scotland. Hardly hardcore is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Dragan wrote:
    it's great to see so many are excited about the game that occurred over the weekend.
    Agreed.
    Its good for the game.
    bugle wrote:
    Everyone has the chance to compete in the soccer world cup
    Not the last time I checked, it is all up to FIFA and if they say you are not good enough then you wont be taking part in the worl cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Ice_Box wrote:
    This is the snobery I hate about rugby. Since when are you not allowed enjoy a sport unless you are an expert in it? I dont usually watch rugby and I dont event understand the rules. Does that mean I shouldnt watch it and say I enjoyed the game?

That's not what I'm on about, of course you can watch and enjoy a rugby game if you are not an expert in it. I am not a rugby fan and I don't generally watch it but I watched and enjoyed the game on Saturday. What annoys me though is people who are now going on and on about the game, giving their opinions, etc and acting as if they have been fans all their lives when they have just jumped on the bandwagon because of the win on Saturday.

ARGINITE wrote:
    Not the last time I checked, it is all up to FIFA and if they say you are not good enough then you wont be taking part in the worl cup.
    :eek: :D :rolleyes:
    I don't know about that.

Every team competes in a pre-qualifier tournament on a continent by continent basis. Those that qualify then travel to the country that is hosting the World Cup Finals.

It would be a logistical nightmare to have a team representing every country that has a soccer team at the World Cup every four years, so they have these qualifiers to whittle out the better teams.

Every team that deserves to qualify for the finals does qualify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

Funny thing I've noticed about soccer supporters in this country -

Almost all will be very vocally anti English when watching a match between England and anyone else.

Yet, most of them follow teams like ManU, Liverpool, etc.... WTF?
    Wheres the logic in that one??

btw, I dont follow soccer, rugby, or am I a west brit. Im just confused by the above observation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

bugle wrote:

Exactly. I think its as much to do with our soccer underdog status. We are in the top 6 odd of a sport that really is not at all popular outside of a few ex British colonies, France and Italy. With football, theres scores of teams to come on top of. I was in temple bar the night Italy won the world cup, and sure, they had a party, but **** me there was no way they gave the celebration 10% of the energy or the emotion the Irish would if we won the world cup (actually I guarantee you there will be more celebration and electriciy in TB if we merely qualify for 2008 than the Italians gave for winning the WC). My work has a fair few Italians, by Tuesday life was back to normal, whereas if Ireland won the WC on a Sunday the party wouldnt end until 2 days after the team bus paraded down O`Connell Street.
    gyppo wrote:

Almost all will be very vocally anti English when watching a match between England and anyone else.

Yet, most of them follow teams like ManU, Leverpool, etc.... WTF?

btw, I dont follow soccer, rugby, or am I a west brit. Im just confused by the above observation.

Its not a dislike of the English, Ireland simply likes to see them lose because they hype up their chances and are too cocky.

I dont support a specific prem team anyway, so Im grand :)

Mind you, re fairweather fans there are some pretty shameful examples of it on show in the Soccer forum during pretty much any match time since the Stan era began.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Would it be better if Croke Park had only 20,00 'true' fans in it? I've always detested the snobbery associated with the game.

Anyway, I was amused at times during the game. People would be telling the crowd to be quiet during any Irish penalty/ conversion attempts lest our chat put someone off... this was in the pub mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Orlee wrote:
    Agreed!

Isnt that the point the OP is making, that everyone is on a bandwagon just because the team in doing somewhat well now?

I watched the game the other day, as I was out with friends, and i'll be honest, I was bored silly. I fail to see the attraction, and found myself daydreaming for most if it.

Soccer has not got a big hardcore - maybe a few hundred hardy souls who travel the continent signing the national team, thats it. No doubt the hardcore rugby fans will be few and far between when Ireland is on a downturn (as happens pretty much every team, thats not a dig).
    gyppo wrote:

Simply, there isnt logic to it. Its even funnier when they are shoutinmg down England wearing their Liverpool/Man U shirt.

gyppo wrote:

Aye, they confuse me aswell.

The picture of the pleb with the SellThick shellsuit / jersey combo from the weekend. The idiot with the 'No To Foreign Games' placard. What a díckhead he is.

Wearing the merchandise of a foreign sport playing foreign team.

seansouth wrote:
    Soccer doesn't have anything like a 'big hardcore' support.

Sure, it has thousands upon thousands of people who like to sit in pubs watching tv. Or head for weekends away every couple of months, to England or Scotland. Hardly hardcore is it?
    Soccer supporters are generally insane and quite fanatic about "their" team.

If I was to throw out the name of some premiership team and say they were crap,. this thread would descend into complete chaos with the fans of said team giving me grief and supporters of other teams backing me up.
    They tend to take things a bit too personally when it comes to whatever team it is they support.
    I'm not talking about hooligans either.
    This is the general behaviour of the average soccer fan.
    That link in your sig says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

bugle wrote:

It's not a fair comparison for football and rugby. They are two very different cultures. You can play football as a kid from under 7's up you can't with rugby (unless things have changed and either way it would only be tag I'd assume as full contact would be too dangerous) so as a child you'll be more exposed to football. Rugby isn't played in most schools until secondary school either so by that stage you are already probably a football fan. So, the football fanbase is already much larger.

There is more football televised than rugby, rugby isn't a sport that gets seven or eight pages every weekend in the tabloids like football, nor is it mentioned every day in the tabloids. Obviously football is going to have a bigger following and as such you probably wouldn't even take notice of bandwagon supporters.

Club rubgy in Europe revolves mainly around the Heineken Cup and for international it's the Six Nations. That's really only two competitions. Magners League isn't often televised (unless it's on Setanta or something but not everybody has access to that). RTE show a live Premiership game every second week and have their highlights progam every Saturday. There's not as much exposure for rugby.

Rugby union hasn't been a professional game for that long, especially not in comparison with football. Saying that only a select few countries can play in the rugby world cup is basically down to the fact that only a select few countries play the sport in the first place. The tri-nations and the big European nations are the ones in most contention for winning the tournament but football isn't really that different either. Wealth and power has little to do with it. Rugby is more self contained than football anyway, the majority of the time a rugby player will play for a club within their nation.

As for passion of supporters, it's unfair to say that rugby supporters are over a result within a matter of hours where as football supporters are still getting over it days later. People are still giving out about the France result now so it's not to say they don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Sangre wrote:
    Let them rant away, its great for the sport. More fans = more money.

Was thinking the same myself. I personally was never really into rugby and just couldnt see why or how it was an enjoyable sport. The games in Croke Park in recent weeks have really increased the profile of the sport and is solely responsible for me actually sitting down to watch both matches and subsequently realising that I actually quite like the sport.

Why would you begrudge the profile of your sport dramatically increasing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

Typical Irish Whining Pucks
    The boys did well
    The country is smiling
    It's better than complaining about a tunnel that is to low.

Live with it or phis off
    Bandwaggon - Hundreds of millions of people (even billion) watch teh world cup final every 4 years - you can hardly say they go to football matcvhes every week.

Just let it be whinger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Dara Robinson

Ice_Box wrote:
    To be honest Ice_Box I think its about the people who are going on about Rugby who never watch it, don't like the sport, know nothing about and if Ireland had not of won against England probably would not have even known there was a game (well ok, the croke park thing not withstanding). Its those people who, as I mentioned above, have no interest but now because Ireland have done well they are all of a sudden an expert, completely enthralled with the game and, until we loose a few games, will talk about it like they have been following the sport for years.

I have no problem in people talking about Rugby, especially if they know nothing about it, because we have a very good national team and its nice to see people interested.

What grates on me is the ones that go on as if they know something about the game, talk about strategy and players ability and think that they know what they are talking about because they watched the commentary on the game. "Oh, wasn't Stringer great in the last Ireland V England game? pity he is not bigger though, we need bigger people in the Irish team"... [this is a quote from someone talking to me the other day]
    I just politely nodded and smiled and let the conversation move on swiftly because if not I would have to start asking them why they thought so and did they not think that stringer's size and speed was what we are all so happy about? and so on and so on.
    Why do people feel the need to bull**** about a game they know nothing about? Why not simply say, I'm so proud of Ireland, its nice to see Ireland doing so well on an international platform. Oh by the way, you know about Rugby, no? Would you tell me......?

I think its the Bull**** and the "bandwagon" jumping that is getting to HelterSkelter, its getting to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

bugle wrote:

You made a very good point there bugle ,even though I think it was unintentional.

The Rugby crowd would be back at work on Monday because they would be self employed professionals or own the business, so would have to be there for their customers.
    The soccer crowd would"make a week out of it" as they always do,max out the creditcards,go sick for the week and to hell with their customers,"someone else" will have to deal with that.

I fully realise this is a huge generalisation but when you drill down I am not far wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Dara Robinson

Sangre wrote:
    Let them rant away, its great for the sport. More fans = more money.
    To be honest mate I'm not sure that's a good thing. In fact I am sure its not a good thing. Money has completely destroyed club football. I'd hate to see it do the same to Rugby, it would break my heart to see Lenster, Munster or some other team turn in to MUFC or Liverpool or some other money hungry grabbing club with players who only care about the paycheck and not the sport at all
    The Rugby crowd would be back at work on Monday because they would be self employed professionals or own the business, so would have to be there for their customers.
    The soccer crowd would"make a week out of it" as they always do,max out the creditcards,go sick for the week and to hell with their customers,"someone else" will have to deal with that.
    That's very insulting (and I don't care that you sugar coated it by saying that your generalising). There is a perception that Rugby fans/supporters are snobs. That's just not true. There are a lot of so called "upper class" people at games. There are also a lot of snobs and other idiots but because a lot of the seating is given to corporate sponsors there are Muppet's at the games that don't actually care that much about the sport.
    Rugby may have, for some reason, a higher status as a sport (on the classiness scale) for many reasons but there is a huge amount of dedicated fans and almost all of them are extremely well grounded people.
    To insinuate that football players enjoy the game more and suffer more because they have less money is one of the most outrageous things I have heard in a while.

Anyways, you wont find Irish Rugby fans going abroad and brawling in bars around the world (win or loose) and you'll never find any police force around the world preparing for the arrival of any Rugby club supporters because they are worried about hooliganism. There is no such thing as banns on Rugby supporters around the world. We are just not like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭boy_wonder

H/cup is the only thing that matters in club rugby, for Munster anyway.

Is this the cup that the French teams have pulled out of and the English might be following suit??? Mustn't be that important to them so!!

Only sport i've watch where the crowd(pub included) goes nuts when the ball is kicked out of the field of play :)

Oh i'm such a wind up merchant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

I fully realise this is a huge generalisation but when you drill down I am not far wrong.

And your extensive research has shown you this?

Clearly, you can only support rugby if you are a self employed professional and live in the more salubrious areas of the country or your own the business. In similar manner, if they are unlucky enough not to have a job - probably through laziness, the filthy swines - football supporters are all on the scratcher, spend most of the day fighting and drinking and uusually end up pissing themselves after they pass out from all the smack they been smoking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I take it the majority of people writing on this thread do not live in Limerick or the Munster region. Always annoys me when those who have been to every celtic league game,down to Musgrave park in the freezing cold during the winter supporting Munster can never get tickets for the heineken cup final becuase the fecking Munster bandwagon jumpers get them first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭boy_wonder

Bandwagoners are part and parcel of any kind of hype. Without the bandwagoners Italia 90, USA 94, japan & korea 2002 and croker 2007 would have been very dull affairs. Its great when the whole country is taken over by a sporting event rather than a civil war etc etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

daveirl wrote:
    That doesnt garuntee you a ticket for the big matches though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

I really hope that anyone who hasnt been a longtime rugby fan and got swept up in all the hype and decided to give the match a go on Saturday really enjoyed themselves and now see why for some of us rugby is the greatest sport in the world. What a great day both for the sport and for our country. I hope you maybe try out a provincial match at some stage and then sure who knows you might find yourself at a local club game some day. This sport no longer needs to move on from its image as an upper crust sport and to be enjoyed by the masses for the great game that it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Ice_Box wrote:

How can you enjoy it if you don't even know what's going on? Ahhh, but sure we beat the Brits!!!! It all comes back to this country's hang-up with the English and the big event junkie mentality.

I'm sure it was a great day for real Irish rugby fans, but how many of them were screwed out of getting tickets because of the day-trippers who didn't even know what was going on?

Me? I didn't give a **** about rugby on Saturday and I still don't today, rather watch a Bolivian second division football game between a team of milkmen and farmers.