got ripped off today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

you do not get anything for free. or even at a really cheap price. you want a bargain, go to tk maxx.
    lord, no.
    I went there with a friend a few years back. He told me it was a great place. I picked up a baseball cap and it way manky. I showed it to my friend and we both walked out, never to return. Except for my friend who went back to buy skanger maternity clothes for his 16 year old pregnant skanger girlfriend.

Wertz, did you ever live in Leixlip? if so, I'm sorry about the briquettes. I'll buy you a beer if we ever meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Elessar wrote:
    Yeah happened to my friend a few years back. He bought the leather jacket too and was really pleased with it, even though he knew it was dodgy.

My uncle bought it too, but haggled him down to 150. This was the year the euro was brought in iirc. So long as you realise there is something dodgy going on, it becomes a choice about whether the rip off jacket is good enough to be worth 50 quid or whatever. So long as you didn't think you were getting a good deal no one is being harmed.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Futureman

sharpjaws wrote:
    http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/ripoff117740.htm

:( scroll down and see how many more people fell for the same story all over the world lol!
    Yep - there are idiots & suckers everywhere! The world needs them IMO; if everyone was clever, there would be too much competition for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Terry wrote:

Wertz, did you ever live in Leixlip? if so, I'm sorry about the briquettes. I'll buy you a beer if we ever meet.

lolz, no I believe buying peat under dubious circumstances is a rite of passage countrywide....you only get caught once (unless you're complete eejit) and some people even feel the need to try and pass along the scam. ¬¬
    I've heard of people that got some lovely oxo cubes or aptly shaped twigs for their eighth but turf seems to be so much more fitting. Probably healthier for you than some of the muck that's really being passed off as dope lately mind...

themole wrote:
    A similar story happened to a guy i know, lets call him john, but with a nice twist.

John was approached, same story, but 3 jackets around €400 i think. He says he had no cash, just a cheque for 4,000 which he had just gotten as an insurance payment. The guy says no problem, i can take the cheque, even though its written in Johns name. So the guy pulls out 3,600 in cash and exchanges it and the three jackets for the 4,000 cheque.

The next day John rings the insurance company from which he had gotten the cheque and says he lost it, so they got the cheque canceled and posted him another one.

So he ended up making 3,600 and some jackets off the guys.
    Bullsh*t.

Just wondering if it would be a good idea making a stickey of every scam that has been experienced by people and updating it as new ones come about? Have- Attention: Read Here First or something there.

Why should we have to cater to the lowest common denominator? Stupid things happen to stupid people - it's a fact of life - that's what makes them stupid. Besides, they probably wouldn't even read the topic - they're stupid, remember?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Futureman wrote:
    Why should we have to cater to the lowest common denominator?

Well, if it's good enough for our education system...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Package

Pighead wrote:
    Don't mind her Wertz, Pythias a bit narky today because Pighead didn't sent her a Valentines Day card yesterday. She'll be alright in a day or two.

i bought her a card, just waiting on her to collect it :rolleyes: ahh if only :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭hoolio

Almost the exact same thing happened to me not a week ago. Sounds like it was the same fella too.

Was walking down dawson street towards stephen's green around 10:30 one morning with heaphones in. I hear this knocking and see some guy in his car (black jeep possibly?) has pulled over and is tapping on the window. I wander over seeing as i'm in no rush, he asks me am i italian, i say no, and he says i look it (ha! pasty kerryman in reality).

He launches into his spiel about being a tailor for Brown Thomas, on his way home to Italy with free Armani samples they gave him, except he doesnt want to pay the extra baggage fee so 'maybe it is an opportunity for you'.

I'm far too cynical to fall for that to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

sharpjaws wrote:
    http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/ripoff192620.htm

^^ Exact same thing happend to me today. I i was walking down in Coolmine Blanchardstown today around 1 o'clock , a man drove slowly towards me and stoped, he had a map in his hand and he asked me directions to the airport, he had very strong Italian accent, he was well dressed, looked like a very educated person, his car had 06 Dublin plate, must of been a rental car. the man started to introduce himself to me as a designer for G Armani,he then presented me with 3 very nice Reportage Giorgio Armani lather jackets, his boss gave him after a meeting last night, now his going back to Italy ,so due to some tax issues he wanted to give them to me for free, he only asked me to pay half price on one of the jackets, around 200 euros. i really had nothing more to ask because these jackets looked very decent and i tried one on it was very nice . so i took 200 euros and went, even tho i thought they were nice but they are counterfeits, fake Armani, i probably would of bought them for half the price i payed for :(
    I met this exact same guy in Shannon over the summer.
    I can't believe you fell for it, that guy is a dodgy fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭koneko

I can't believe people still fall for these scams...

Someone in my neighbourhood recently fell for an age-old scam, woman rings the door and tells you "My husband is away and I really need some money to buy nappies for my baby, can you lend me 20/50/whatever euro, I live in house number x and I'll pay you back when he's home". Oh, sure, here's my money, complete stranger, I trust you!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Next time anybody comes across one of these Italian guys, just say something alone the lines off 'Orly, I'm a customs officer and I'm very interested in your scam'. See how fast they drive away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

koneko wrote:
    I can't believe people still fall for these scams...

Someone in my neighbourhood recently fell for an age-old scam, woman rings the door and tells you "My husband is away and I really need some money to buy nappies for my baby, can you lend me 20/50/whatever euro, I live in house number x and I'll pay you back when he's home". Oh, sure, here's my money, complete stranger, I trust you!
    That is just pathetic, its as if people just want to have their money stolen :/

Problem solved:

If it happens to anybody again tell them something along the lines of "if you give me 200€ I wont call the guards."

200€ richer. Excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,727 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Why would you buy anything from a man in a car whos says he has a bargain for you !!!

Feel sorry for you OP but its one of the oldest cons in the trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Futureman wrote:
    Bullsh*t.
    i was just thinking exactly the same thing. a bit too "catch me if you can" for my liking and i couldn't picture a scam artist going into a bank and trying to cash a cheque that's almost certainly been cancelled because the scamee has told his mates what a great deal he got and been laughed at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

if he was so eager to sell thme dont agree on the price he says :(
    haggle people! haven't you ever been abroad and pestered by the fear gorm selling chains and the like?
    2 euro!

• Subscribers Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Problem solved:

If it happens to anybody again tell them something along the lines of "if you give me 200€ I wont call the guards."

200€ richer. Excellent.

why yes, that is what would happen.

• Subscribers Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

i was just thinking exactly the same thing. a bit too "catch me if you can" for my liking and i couldn't picture a scam artist going into a bank and trying to cash a cheque that's almost certainly been cancelled because the scamee has told his mates what a great deal he got and been laughed at

i dunno, I quite like the idea of a scam artist being as gullible as their 'marks'.
    Very unlikley story though, unless the cash was counterfeit. Then I'd believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

stupid people will never learn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 rufio

It happened as well to my grandfather a few years ago. Waiting the train a man approached him saying that he had to sell those "expensive" leather jackets for half price because he needed medicines to cure his wife's sickness. My grandfather gave him the money and the man just after said that he was going to take a coffee and then come back to have a later talk... disappeared :-)

Sounds funny, heh?

By the way.. if you really like italian clothes and want to get good bargains, why don't you take a cheap RyanAir or Aerlingus flight to Rome for a weekend and go to some outlets over there? They sell original branded clothes for half price (sometimes even less) just because they belong to the previous clothing collection. And if you like roman history after the shopping you can get into the city center to visit the relics/ruins etc...

As somebody said keep in mind that you would never have tax issues within EU countries so that you are free to import/export anything you want.

Fabio

rufio wrote:
    By the way.. if you really like italian clothes and want to get good bargains, why don't you take a cheap RyanAir or Aerlingus flight to Rome for a weekend and go to some outlets over there? They sell original branded clothes for half price

Eh, because you'd still have to pay for a flight, accomodation, spending money, and transport (or parking) in Dublin airport......all this just to get a leather jacket (or 2) for half price? Seriously....get real!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Problem solved:

200€ richer. Excellent.
    :D:D Classic

But 99% unlikely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Futureman wrote:
    Eh, because you'd still have to pay for a flight, accomodation, spending money, and transport (or parking) in Dublin airport......all this just to get a leather jacket (or 2) for half price? Seriously....get real!
    People go on shopping weekends to Italy and New York the whole time.

rb_ie wrote:
    People go on shopping weekends to Italy and New York the whole time.
    For just one jacket? That was the point wasnt it - he was telling the OP that he could simpy fly to Italy to get a jacket, instead of buying a jacket in a car park in Dublin!

Futureman, stop picking arguements just for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

rufio wrote:
    My grandfather gave him the money and the man just after said that he was going to take a coffee and then come back to have a later talk... disappeared :-)
    Wait Im having trouble following this, your grandfather handed over the money without any product being there. He left the guy walk off without giving your grandfather the jacket. If thats the case then Im shocked at your grandfathers actions, I mean does he regularly just hand random people large wads of cash and then just stand there as they walk off?

BBC3 right now.
    The real hustle.
    They are doing the jacket scam.