Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

got ripped off today

• 15-02-2007 5:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭

http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/ripoff192620.htm

^^ Exact same thing happend to me today. I i was walking down in Coolmine Blanchardstown today around 1 o'clock , a man drove slowly towards me and stoped, he had a map in his hand and he asked me directions to the airport, he had very strong Italian accent, he was well dressed, looked like a very educated person, his car had 06 Dublin plate, must of been a rental car. the man started to introduce himself to me as a designer for G Armani,he then presented me with 3 very nice Reportage Giorgio Armani lather jackets, his boss gave him after a meeting last night, now his going back to Italy ,so due to some tax issues he wanted to give them to me for free, he only asked me to pay half price on one of the jackets, around 200 euros. i really had nothing more to ask because these jackets looked very decent and i tried one on it was very nice . so i took 200 euros and went, even tho i thought they were nice but they are counterfeits, fake Armani, i probably would of bought them for half the price i payed for :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

There was a post about this chap or similar at Dub airport not so long ago with the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pssst sharpjaws, edit the title of your thread and amend the spelling of "riped". The smart fcukers will crucify you otherwise. By the way great story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭sharpjaws

http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/ripoff117740.htm

:( scroll down and see how many more people fell for the same story all over the world lol!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

you didn't buy milk in a laptop bag for €500 while you were out as well by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

you have to think to yourself though 'what tax issues could he possibly have traveling between EU countries'?

Anyway when was the last time you got taxed for bringing your underwear across the border?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

People who fall for this scam have nobody to blame but themselves and thier own greed.If you want to wear poxy aramani go out and pay the full price it,trying to glom it on the cheap rather defeats the purpose does it not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

Degsy wrote:
    People who fall for this scam have nobody to blame but themselves and thier own greed.If you want to wear poxy aramani go out and pay the full price it,trying to glom it on the cheap rather defeats the purpose does it not?

Bit harsh - everyone likes a bargain... Cant believe this scam is still going on - they tried it on me back in 2000; apparently even then it was an old one. Didnt fall for it tbh - something about a car pulling up that doesnt inspire me, and Im not particularily turned on by brand names. Other than that exact same spiel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

LOL me and two of my friends were approached by this guy in carlow. was last september though.

exact same story, clothes designer, tax issues etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

daveym wrote:
    you didn't buy milk in a laptop bag for €500 while you were out as well by any chance?

Thats a story I really want to hear. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

They're still doing that?!....they've been trying that one with the builders since at least the 70's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Elessar

Yeah happened to my friend a few years back. He bought the leather jacket too and was really pleased with it, even though he knew it was dodgy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 pinkie1

same happened my friend in fairview few years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Meself and a workmate were in Paris in 1986 on work business when a guy drove up in a car and claimed virtually the same: "just finished a fashion show; driving back to Italy; no money; will sell these leather jackets for next to nothing, blah blah".

Started off at x amount (I can't remember, but while it would have been a lot of money, it was still a so-called bargain). I had absolutely no interest, but my friend was going to buy them off him, even to the point of borrowing some money off me, and bargained him down to about 20% of what they started at (almost giving them away). He kept on walking away, and your man would drive off, and five minutes later would pull up alongside and the haggling would restart. Eventually (after my nerves were thoroughly frayed), Willie reached a point where your man was almost giving him the Jackets for nothing, but he walked off. Afterwards, he confided in me that he had no intention of buying, but just wanted to tease things out for as long as possible. He had me convinced. He must have p1ssed your man off rightly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

A labourer on a site I was working on in Merrion sq a few weeks back came into the building all excited telling us that this idoot was outside who was gonna sell him some class leather jackets for 1/2 price...."Did he tell you he was just on his way to the airport and that he had to get rid of these now" I asked? "How did you know that" The labourer says...it's a scam I told him....he went back out into the street and stuck his 2 fingers up at the guy...the guy tells him to go f*ck himself, his loss etc and jumps in the car and away....if I hadn't have been there he'd have made his money.

Reminds me too of the day before xmas eve last, walking to the car at some shopping centre, some oul fella pulls up, gives me the nod and the wink and asks how would I like a "wee bargain"....I turned round and told him there was no such thing especiallly at that time of year and certainly not from some random old bloke in a car park...he was disgusted, rolled his window and drove on.

The only times I've ever been conned is when buying drugs, be it cut to f*ck with something, below weight or just not what it should have been (like some peat briquette wrapped in cling film .lol)....hate that...

moneyman wrote:
    Thats a story I really want to hear. :D

it's the other std one, you are approached by a couple of guys with
    a 'hot' laptop or camcorder going cheap. they demo it for you and
    put it back in the case, then you go and get the cash and they hand
    it over, only they have switched bags and you have bought a couple of
    litres of milk in a bag. Know one Guy it happened to here and it also was on
    one of those episodes of 'road wars' when two irish travellers were stopped
    by the cops and their customer came flying up after he realised the con!

The Guy here said himself and his mate realised something was up at the handover but that the guys were scary as f*** so they just handed over
    the money anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

LOL just because looks well educated doesnt mean he wont try rip you.

That's funny he got them In Italy right? So how would he have to pay VAT :rolleyes:

Just like you said a guy was In Athlone not so long ago an Italian driving a good car hardly be the same guy but these people are out there.

If a traveller stopped you and asked would you buy them Im sure you would of said no should be the same for anyone who stops you like that.

May aswell add this If you ever get offered good camera's off people dont take them even If they work and good make there's one's they only work for about 20mins then no good loads of people stop me In the street asking would I buy them Its so annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Wertz wrote:
    The only times I've ever been conned is when buying drugs, be it cut to f*ck with something, below weight or just not what it should have been (like some peat briquette wrapped in cling film .lol)....hate that...

Stop buying the drugs altogether, problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

people, stop buying things off dodgey people in the street.

seriously, since this site started, there seems to be at least one of these stories every other month.

you do not get anything for free. or even at a really cheap price. you want a bargain, go to tk maxx.

but im sorry you got hit, all we can do is spread the word.

Pythia wrote:

There's one small flaw in your logic here; in order to imbibe them I usually have to buy them first...

Besides if I did it your way I'd be forced to allow publicans to blatantly (and legally) rip me off on an all too regular basis.

Don't mind her Wertz, Pythias a bit narky today because Pighead didn't sent her a Valentines Day card yesterday. She'll be alright in a day or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

A similar story happened to a guy i know, lets call him john, but with a nice twist.

John was approached, same story, but 3 jackets around €400 i think. He says he had no cash, just a cheque for 4,000 which he had just gotten as an insurance payment. The guy says no problem, i can take the cheque, even though its written in Johns name. So the guy pulls out 3,600 in cash and exchanges it and the three jackets for the 4,000 cheque.

The next day John rings the insurance company from which he had gotten the cheque and says he lost it, so they got the cheque canceled and posted him another one.

So he ended up making 3,600 and some jackets off the guys.

themole wrote:
    A similar story happened to a guy i know, lets call him john, but with a nice twist.

John was approached, same story, but 3 jackets around €400 i think. He says he had no cash, just a cheque for 4,000 which he had just gotten as an insurance payment. The guy says no problem, i can take the cheque, even though its written in Johns name. So the guy pulls out 3,600 in cash and exchanges it and the three jackets for the 4,000 cheque.

The next day John rings the insurance company from which he had gotten the cheque and says he lost it, so they got the cheque canceled and posted him another one.

Nice story John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Watch this show. Learn something. Trust no-one. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I was approached on Halston Street a few months back by a well dressed guy in a nice car claiming the very same story. Thankfully the auld common sense kicked in and I wasn't remotely interested in what he had to peddle for whatever reason.
    He gave up on me but unfortunately he caught the attention of some african woman futher down the street who seemed rather keen on the jackets.

This is such a well known scam I can't believe people still fall for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Pythia wrote:
    Yeah, Wertz, quit the drugs man *

OP: How the hell have you never heard of this scam?Seriously?You've been on Boards for over a year, and there has certainly been threads on this and similar scams in that year. Your own fault as far as I'm concerned, as the old rule says, if it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.

*or the contaminated weed will never disappear

people, stop buying things off dodgey people in the street.

seriously, since this site started, there seems to be at least one of these stories every other month.

you do not get anything for free. or even at a really cheap price. you want a bargain, go to tk maxx.

but im sorry you got hit, all we can do is spread the word.

Just wondering if it would be a good idea making a stickey of every scam that has been experienced by people and updating it as new ones come about? Have- Attention: Read Here First or something there.

So far, I haven't been scammed like that, but would find it extremely dodgy if someone pulls up beside me in a car and tries to sell jackets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Just wondering if it would be a good idea making a stickey of every scam that has been experienced by people and updating it as new ones come about? Have- Attention: Read Here First or something there.

Pffft, nahhh. A quick google of "scams" will link sites that already have such a facility. If anything, something should go into the Charter along the lines of :

"Scams Reports/Warnings:
    We've heard them all, they're no longer interesting or entertaining so please do not post them. Any offenders get an insta-month banning."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

If someone pulled up in a car and tried to sell me a jacket I wouldn't be slow in telling them to **** off, that's just me though :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Mahou

Sounds like the guys trying to sell suits in the lovely northside shopping centre carpark years ago.Can't remember what I said but they disappeared.They must have got some almighty slaps in their time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Von Manstein

Lol - same thing happened to me in the Blanchardstown Centre a year and a half or so ago. Exact same situation. Luckily though I had read about it on boards and said no. He knew I was on to him and I even ended up getting a bit of the reg. So as the guy was reversing and turning back he started screaming abuse at me. Pretty heavy language. What a con artist. I think anybody could see him a mile off.

Naturally everyboday in the centre took note :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

lord, no.
    I went there with a friend a few years back. He told me it was a great place. I picked up a baseball cap and it way manky. I showed it to my friend and we both walked out, never to return. Except for my friend who went back to buy skanger maternity clothes for his 16 year old pregnant skanger girlfriend.

Wertz, did you ever live in Leixlip? if so, I'm sorry about the briquettes. I'll buy you a beer if we ever meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Elessar wrote:
    Yeah happened to my friend a few years back. He bought the leather jacket too and was really pleased with it, even though he knew it was dodgy.

My uncle bought it too, but haggled him down to 150. This was the year the euro was brought in iirc. So long as you realise there is something dodgy going on, it becomes a choice about whether the rip off jacket is good enough to be worth 50 quid or whatever. So long as you didn't think you were getting a good deal no one is being harmed.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Futureman

sharpjaws wrote:
    http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/ripoff117740.htm

:( scroll down and see how many more people fell for the same story all over the world lol!
    Yep - there are idiots & suckers everywhere! The world needs them IMO; if everyone was clever, there would be too much competition for me!

Terry wrote:

Wertz, did you ever live in Leixlip? if so, I'm sorry about the briquettes. I'll buy you a beer if we ever meet.

lolz, no I believe buying peat under dubious circumstances is a rite of passage countrywide....you only get caught once (unless you're complete eejit) and some people even feel the need to try and pass along the scam. ¬¬
    I've heard of people that got some lovely oxo cubes or aptly shaped twigs for their eighth but turf seems to be so much more fitting. Probably healthier for you than some of the muck that's really being passed off as dope lately mind...

themole wrote:

Bullsh*t.

Why should we have to cater to the lowest common denominator? Stupid things happen to stupid people - it's a fact of life - that's what makes them stupid. Besides, they probably wouldn't even read the topic - they're stupid, remember?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Futureman wrote:
    Why should we have to cater to the lowest common denominator?

Well, if it's good enough for our education system...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Package

Pighead wrote:
    Don't mind her Wertz, Pythias a bit narky today because Pighead didn't sent her a Valentines Day card yesterday. She'll be alright in a day or two.

i bought her a card, just waiting on her to collect it :rolleyes: ahh if only :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭hoolio

Almost the exact same thing happened to me not a week ago. Sounds like it was the same fella too.

Was walking down dawson street towards stephen's green around 10:30 one morning with heaphones in. I hear this knocking and see some guy in his car (black jeep possibly?) has pulled over and is tapping on the window. I wander over seeing as i'm in no rush, he asks me am i italian, i say no, and he says i look it (ha! pasty kerryman in reality).

He launches into his spiel about being a tailor for Brown Thomas, on his way home to Italy with free Armani samples they gave him, except he doesnt want to pay the extra baggage fee so 'maybe it is an opportunity for you'.

I'm far too cynical to fall for that to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

sharpjaws wrote:
    http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/ripoff192620.htm

^^ Exact same thing happend to me today. I i was walking down in Coolmine Blanchardstown today around 1 o'clock , a man drove slowly towards me and stoped, he had a map in his hand and he asked me directions to the airport, he had very strong Italian accent, he was well dressed, looked like a very educated person, his car had 06 Dublin plate, must of been a rental car. the man started to introduce himself to me as a designer for G Armani,he then presented me with 3 very nice Reportage Giorgio Armani lather jackets, his boss gave him after a meeting last night, now his going back to Italy ,so due to some tax issues he wanted to give them to me for free, he only asked me to pay half price on one of the jackets, around 200 euros. i really had nothing more to ask because these jackets looked very decent and i tried one on it was very nice . so i took 200 euros and went, even tho i thought they were nice but they are counterfeits, fake Armani, i probably would of bought them for half the price i payed for :(
    I met this exact same guy in Shannon over the summer.
    I can't believe you fell for it, that guy is a dodgy fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

I can't believe people still fall for these scams...

Someone in my neighbourhood recently fell for an age-old scam, woman rings the door and tells you "My husband is away and I really need some money to buy nappies for my baby, can you lend me 20/50/whatever euro, I live in house number x and I'll pay you back when he's home". Oh, sure, here's my money, complete stranger, I trust you!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Next time anybody comes across one of these Italian guys, just say something alone the lines off 'Orly, I'm a customs officer and I'm very interested in your scam'. See how fast they drive away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

koneko wrote:
    I can't believe people still fall for these scams...

Someone in my neighbourhood recently fell for an age-old scam, woman rings the door and tells you "My husband is away and I really need some money to buy nappies for my baby, can you lend me 20/50/whatever euro, I live in house number x and I'll pay you back when he's home". Oh, sure, here's my money, complete stranger, I trust you!
    That is just pathetic, its as if people just want to have their money stolen :/

Problem solved:

If it happens to anybody again tell them something along the lines of "if you give me 200€ I wont call the guards."

200€ richer. Excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Why would you buy anything from a man in a car whos says he has a bargain for you !!!

Feel sorry for you OP but its one of the oldest cons in the trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Futureman wrote:
    Bullsh*t.
    i was just thinking exactly the same thing. a bit too "catch me if you can" for my liking and i couldn't picture a scam artist going into a bank and trying to cash a cheque that's almost certainly been cancelled because the scamee has told his mates what a great deal he got and been laughed at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

if he was so eager to sell thme dont agree on the price he says :(
    haggle people! haven't you ever been abroad and pestered by the fear gorm selling chains and the like?
    2 euro!

Problem solved:

If it happens to anybody again tell them something along the lines of "if you give me 200€ I wont call the guards."

200€ richer. Excellent.

why yes, that is what would happen.

i was just thinking exactly the same thing. a bit too "catch me if you can" for my liking and i couldn't picture a scam artist going into a bank and trying to cash a cheque that's almost certainly been cancelled because the scamee has told his mates what a great deal he got and been laughed at

i dunno, I quite like the idea of a scam artist being as gullible as their 'marks'.
    Very unlikley story though, unless the cash was counterfeit. Then I'd believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes