Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

senan s wrote:
    links are working 100%
    Every link that I see and tried is an off-site link (yousendit and such).
    Any chance you copy and paste a direct link to them here ?? - thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

http://www.yousendit.com/download/OHo1anZrNXZwM2w1VEE9PQ
    got this off himself few years back around y2k, have not listened to it in a long time, think he was off the scene for a bit at the time and this mix was a sort of comeback mix as he was organising a gig in the tbmc.
    how come there is never any mark kavanagh mixes ? the man is lethal on the wheels of steel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

Gen:FX wrote:
    Every link that I see and tried is an off-site link (yousendit and such).
    Any chance you copy and paste a direct link to them here ?? - thanks.

they are direct links, its an attachment to a post, its not an upload.

Derra, whats the craic, what other stuff have ya got in that attic, must have a look the next time.

i have a kavanagh tape he made around 95/96 + a clubmix on radio ireland. i'll copy them for ya. and will hopefully have them for ya at the gig next week

alright senan !yeah just had those flyers in with other stuff, all i have really is ticket stubs from the ormonde and that, think i have a couple of radio ireland mixes meself around so will pass them onto ya yeah, like to hear the ones you have alright, cheers,

http://www.yousendit.com/download/YWhNUGhaY3lwM2w1VEE9PQ
    few pressure tape covers ,other ones i had were swiped in session s or was good roach material for them!:D

Link: http://www.yousendit.com/download/YWhPcmxaMGtwM2w1VEE9PQ
    this is a 50 min mix from himself ,some good stuff on it, not easy to get good mixes from him as alot of his styles varied over the years , but think yas like this... have another one fom angels 20th birtday 94 with him and oakenfold will u/l soon ... saw him a good few times but few sets will beat the one from paddys day in the ormonde 96 i think it was... he played the point that year with orbital in the green energy thing and the place was sold out , so i think he was the reason it sold out not orbital helping do that to be first dj to sell out the point as opposed to mark kavanagh saying tiesto was !! :D

http://www.yousendit.com/download/WTNMa3ZPcTJiV3g1VEE9PQ
    this is off the radio ireland clubmix, if only the asylum and olympic ballroom had been still open to hear this stuff... few more to dig out will u/l soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

good stuff derra, hopefully i dont have this already

http://download.yousendit.com/9C9C85095B2A8A63
    carl cox angels 20th birthday 94, fairly similar tunes to that of the waterford 94 show, side b is paul oakenfold of same show,will u/l soon
    in me first post i was goin on about a warren k tape that is floating around somewhere from the asylum, one of yas might have it an just has not been u/l in a while, anyway found a small bit of it on a tape and will post it later , its a cracking tune and a great tape from what i can remember....

http://download.yousendit.com/0A865E46475A2DC9
    easily know i was not working at the moment :D
    that link is for what i was rambling about in last post, its ten minutes , end of a tune then that cracking one and another one and then its about to go into hold that sucker down , brutal with names of tracks but can you feel it would be on it as well as san francissco , bit of mc just after start of tape as well. anyway was hoping someone might have that tape,

Yo! - Here's a lil' stomper....

From the EZ Possee, GTO, Homeboy / Hippy & Bug Khan all the way to the Spiral Tribe... Breach the peace, break the barrier, Make some F**kin' noise.
    Essential Asylum Tracks - Only For The Head Strong ! - 4Sure.

http://www.yousendit.com/download/dklvek9qb0J3TGg1VEE9PQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 flametop

oooh i do love stuff that gets put up at the crack o dawn!
    thx for this fx!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭turks

cheers caff!:D

This is what happens when you fall asleep during a session.

I invited a few of the crew around for tea and biscuits last night. I awoke to find my box had been 'booted, looted and upped'. :eek: (I mean my record stash lads.. ok :) ) - Well..., revenge will be sweet K-Boy (or was it 4-eyeZ or B-Kut)?? - I can't put the Genie back in de'lamp, so hope you guys here like their tune selection.

PS- The Artwork / Inlay they upped is the wrong one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭gottahavehouse

im thinkin bout gettin graeme park over for a gig he was a dj in the hacienda was wonderin do yout think many ppl would go to his gig

http://download.yousendit.com/657C66460BED6CC6
    mark kavanagh on the radio ireland clubmix , some of the last show broadcast which was recorded in sir henrys ,

I got them you sent me....
    wow, wow, and f*$k me. WOW.

I'll try to clean it as best I can from what you sent,...But I can do a lil' bit better If I have the actual cassette that it's from... or if you got the space on your drive, bang it down to *WAV, burn it, then give me a copy on CD. (Bypass the the Mpeg layer 3 thing)..... Sorted!

Ed & Deco go hand 'n' hand, hence their 'stage names' P&T:)
    Carney has 1'OF our best ever videos,.... I hope the fooker still has my original VHS. - mmmm ???

MIX REQUEST ??? - Find What You Want Here - http://www.rhythmfmdublin.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

right lads hows things.no real need to introduce meself as i probably know most of yez from ni etc.never bothered with this site before as there's other 1's out there aside from ministry and ni that 1 looked at but was'nt too keen on,so just stuck with ni and ministry.spent 2 nights last week in work reading tru this thread and thought why not i'll register here.

so as another who was also in the asylum why not jump in on the thread.

anyway the main reason i wanted to jump in was to ask about mick walsh's day's in the asylum.was going to start a thread on the other forums,but seen as this thread is dedicated to the asylum,i felt it appropriate to start the topic here.

so was just wondering is there any of mick's sets from the asylum floating about.have'nt seen any up till now so,any 1 any imput.:)

Here's one for the cause - Carpe Diem - Live!- @ The TEMPLE THEATRE on the 1st November 1997. DJs on the night were, Mick Walsh, Pat Hyland, Jamie Delaney & Ben Carvosso (Dublin) Dj De-Niro (Scotland) Conor Mac (Dundalk) Two Live P.AS from Transa (Scotland) and Nr:Gex - Live and Direct aka' Caf ;) & Mick (Dublin).

This re-edit captures that 'live-buzz' of back in the day. It was orginaly recorded straight to the main desk at the venue on a standard 2 track cassette, but, the quaility is massive, (just a few minor 'fluffy' bits) :rolleyes:. The crowd was 'stereo mic'd, hence that nice spatial dynamic :-0 The Age Of Love breakdown and kickback @ Clock 19:40 does it for me everytime, [Zoning out under a strobe or having free 'lazer' eye treatment.. ahhhhh yesssss]- This is PART II - (the last 30mins). PART I Comin' Soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 flametop

Here's one for the cause - .
    Theres no link mr caf!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 sugref15

wots de craic jdxtra would love to get some of them asylum sets on mp3 ..have loadsa oldskool mp3s if ya want reactivate and platipus and stuff ...nice one...sugref

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

any 1 out there happen to ave a mick walsh mix called leverage.used to ave it on tape.god knows where to **** it went to tho.could'nt even tell yez what tracks are on it.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 REACTIVE

LOOK NO FUTHER

reactivemarchfinal.jpgreactivenorthVssouthgig1.jpg

Download - LINK NO# 6

Artist : NR:GEX - ( Caf :) & Mick Walsh)
    Track : M-87 / The Trance Horizon. (Original Demo)
    Year : 1995
    Style : Trance (with a sprinkle of 'Hipno-Tone' :confused: )
    Venue : Studio53 North Dublin - (on the East Coast)

(the AA-Mix / M:87 The Event Horizon is better. . . . ;) )

Yo!- Heads-Up....Incomin'.... Two Track Tape from the last century. :eek:

Artist : NR:GEX - Hybrid (Warren K & Mick Walsh)
    Track : DJ Set / Freestyle.
    Year : 1993 - Back in the day @ studio53 North Dub
    Style : A bit of everything you'd expect :rolleyes:
    Venue : Studio53 North Dublin - (on the East Coast)

Download Link Freestyle53 Part I = LINK 4
    Download Link Freestyle53 Part II = LINK 5

More elusive than exclusive. Just one of them nights that you happen to 'tape' on the fly. No agenda, pick1, play1, jump on, jump off. Yet another average Tuesday @ Nr:Gex'ville. :D

Alright ladies...... :)

Gimme a lil' bit of feedback off them there up-loads. Good or bad I don't mind. Just send me some 'critique' , comments & heckles, say what you feel. Whatever I hear is not gonn'a stop me uploadin'. - it will however 'influence' me on what I upload - Going all the way to N0# 1. (10:4 Rubberduck)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

Alright ladies...... :)

Gimme a lil' bit of feedback off them there up-loads. Good or bad I don't mind. Just send me some 'critique' , comments & heckles, say what you feel. Whatever I hear is not gonn'a stop me uploadin'. - it will however 'influence' me on what I upload - Going all the way to N0# 1. (10:4 Rubberduck)

I WUD GIV FEEDBACK BUT THERES NO LINKS............?

DUB1 wrote:
    I WUD GIV FEEDBACK BUT THERES NO LINKS............?

The links are embedded in my signiture below. If you cant see the link graphics you need to make sure you have 'Show Signitures' enabled in the 'Edit Options' from the User Control Panel for them to show up. According to the stats at mediafire (were the files are stored) there's no problems... people are getting the downloads ok. I keep the links in the signiture part so I can manage them better, that way, as the thread evolves, I wont be leaving dead links all over the shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭DUB1

The links are embedded in my signiture below. If you cant see the link graphics you need to make sure you have 'Show Signitures' enabled in the 'Edit Options' from the User Control Panel for them to show up. According to the stats at mediafire (were the files are stored) there's no problems... people are getting the downloads ok. I keep the links in the signiture part so I can manage them better, that way, as the thread evolves, I wont be leaving dead links all over the shop.

OK NICE 1 M8

http://www.yousendit.com/download/dkJyV0owdGo0b0I1VEE9PQ side a
    http://www.yousendit.com/download/dkJveFlTVnNRYTk1VEE9PQ side b
    can someone id this pressure tape , just found it earlier, have had it few years, think it was called dreams or something from what i remember or could be hp5, cheers