Culchies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I'm a culchie and wouldn't have it any other way!

It's just a meaningless term used for slagging between country people and townies / Dubs ... no more than jackeen.

The very odd time I hear someone use it in a way which implies they think they mean something by it, I just feel sorry for their intelligence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Culchie at heart here (but in yankeh land for super sekrit business so nicknamed "the yank" by my folks ¬.¬) and doesn't bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭gyppo

seamus moore - kilitimagh co roscommon

Eh, I dont think so. try and have your geography facts correct next time you post some drivel

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

kilitimagh is in mayo if my geography serves me correct, but isnt parts of it belonging to roscommon, like ballinadreen?

:rolleyes: Is parts of the midlands belonging to cork?

And its Ballaghadereen, btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

gippo there is a ballaghdereen and a kiltimagh in mayo/ roscommon.

Bloody culchies fighting over townlands.

don't be a sensitive spanner all your life. the county boundaries can get a bit messed up like in roscommon-westmeath-galway (balinasloe hinterland). it was a fair question, a yes or know would have suffice.

either way i was being humours about the amount of rubbish musicans (and yes i do have a choice not to listen to them) that are from this region ie midlands-mid west region. the reason i brought it up cause another person mentioned one or two of these type of musicans, and i attempted to list what this region, where i am from by the way, has given to this country,

and for the record i do not have a hatred from th country folk, how can i as i am from the midlands, and my parents are from ros comain agus gaillimh. anyway its far game as ye can have a pop at the jackeens/palers. its just a bit of craic.

InFront wrote:
    gippo there is a ballaghdereen and a kiltimagh in mayo/ roscommon.

Bloody culchies fighting over townlands.

Jeez, another one:rolleyes:

Listen very carefully............

Kiltimagh is in Mayo - not Roscommon, not even close to Roscommon.

Ballaghadereen is in County Roscommon - just. Ballaghadereen's local authority is Roscommon County council.

Finally, Mayo and Roscommon are two Different counties. The same as Dublin and Donegal are two different counties. Comprende??

Agreed, some of them arfe truly terrible. Who's the guy who sings that song with all the kids... in the classroom, it's supposed to be offensive... he has curly hair...?

gyppo wrote:
    Jeez, another one:rolleyes:

Listen very carefully............

Kiltimagh is in Mayo - not Roscommon.

Ballaghadereen is in County Roscommon - just. Ballaghadereen's local authority is Roscommon County council.

Finally, Mayo and Roscommon are two Different counties. The same as Dublin and Donegal are two different counties. Comprende??

Wow. Never disrespect county boundaries eh. I don't really care tbh. Relax.

oh god the bain of my life when it came to culchie weddings, the wedding band (mullets and mouth carpets) play for the little kiddings

richie kavanagh from carlow. over the hills with my sheep dog over the hills .... shoot the $$$$.

right kilitimagh or however its spelt, my bad.

ah now in front tis tis.. you should know how important the auld county boundaries are, the gaa is religion here.feckers in balinadreen (whatever) stole our footballers, john o'maghony may have played for the primrose n blue.

ah sure we will feck off, to dublin we go, all the smut, and scum, why not. jesus that lap dancer aint bad, wonder she do much for €50, he he

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭lost_soul

Coincidently enough the term 'culchie' actually comes from Kiltimagh aka Coillte Mach!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

eo980 wrote:
    I don't find it offensive at all as I'd much rather be a culchie than from Dublin.

Second that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

lost_soul wrote:
    Coincidently enough the term 'culchie' actually comes from Kiltimagh aka Coillte Mach!!

It comes from coillte all right but not from a a specific town...I'm sure you will easily find other towns with an coillte etymological root...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭lost_soul

It comes from coillte all right but not from a a specific town...I'm sure you will easily find other towns with an coillte etymological root...

Yes but its the town Kiltimagh where the term actually originates from.... Well actually people from Kiltimagh who went to work in Birmingham....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

lost_soul wrote:
    Yes but its the town Kiltimagh where the term actually originates from.... Well actually people from Kiltimagh who went to work in Birmingham....

Incorrect the lot of ye. The term culchie comes from Dublin in the 1800's. People from the country and the poorer parts of the city were working for the rich Dubs. However because they "the help" they weren't allowed to come in through the front door and could only enter the house through the back door. Therefore they had to go round to the back of the house (cul an ti - as gaeilge). And so after a while were referred to as culchies. As all of the Dubs became richer and only the country folk were left doing these types of jobs the term culchie became associated only with people from the country.

And I'm a culchie/mucksavage/redneck in most defeinitons I suppose. Come from a farm in the Whest but I am offended with being lumped in with everybody outside the pale (whether as a culchie or not) Almost every Dubliner would be offended as being called all the same. I have no interest in C&W music, do not drive tractors for a living, do not own a check shirt or smoke any form of cigarettes. I have nothing in common with these people and don't want to. Yet I am a culchie.

And FFS Kiltimagh is in Mayo (nowhere near the border) and Ballaghdereen is in Roscommon (except that the football club plays in Mayo)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,937 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Culchies ftw!!!

I just wish that posters, whether culchies or jackeens, would improve on things like spelling, punctuation, grammar etc. Some posts are insanely hard to read.

Speaking of Ballaghadereen though, it was a great place for fights outside the discos where they let anyone of any age into. Town on town carnage.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I am from the heart of the countryside.
    Way better growing up there than in a city.
    My grammar blossomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

I am from the heart of the countryside.
    Way better growing up there than in a city.

Yeah the countryside is fantastic when you're young. Loads of fields for football, climbing trees, getting lost in forests, mud fights and heaps of unexplored places to go. Ahhhh those were the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

grammar \o/

<sarcasm>"dooobs air best reeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!?" :D</sarcasm>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I always thought Culchies where anyone outside Dublin and buffers where the field people that work with cows and such.

I don't mind being called a culchie either anything that distinguishes me from a Dubliner has to be a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

All depends on the context really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

eo980 wrote:
    I don't find it offensive at all as I'd much rather be a culchie than from Dublin.
    QFT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Sounds like Dublin in the 80's tbh.

I had cousins down in Athboy who I used to hate visiting.When we'd go down there years back it was all fields and trees (I found it very boring myself with nothing to do) so I guess it's what your used to.

Frankly I couldn't imagine growing up in the country as a lot of you can't imagine growing up in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

Ah the slagging is always fun. Has anyone else ever been called a "ploughjockey" ???

During the foot and mouth thing a few years back my boss sent a mail to the entire building with the text "make sure and use the footbath at the main door to prevent the spread of foot and mouth and would clancy please leave his wellies there also"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

eo980 wrote:
    Snap.
    Culchie and proud!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

We were in some culchie place about 2 years ago. Waterford I think. OUt on the street after being in a nightclub we got into a friendly slagging match with a few boggers. just harmless slagging. We were all from Dublin so we were mocking them about the usual stuff...animals etc. Anyway, one of them wades in and says somehting like "yea but look what we did to youse in the hurling" and "who won the county championship (I think thats what they called it) 3 years running" !!!?? and they all start high fiveing each other. We're standing there lookin at them like they were total fools, but they were oblivious tot he fact that we wouldn't know a thing about GAA, nor would we care about what some load of culchies had done to us in a game. It was time to walk away.

Having said that, the country can be a good night out, except cork. We're doin another road trip of the west of Ireland this summer. Galway claire and a 3rd spot. Any suggestions for a 3rd spot? Are there nightclubs in mayo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

InFront wrote:
    Agreed, some of them arfe truly terrible. Who's the guy who sings that song with all the kids... in the classroom, it's supposed to be offensive... he has curly hair...?

Richie Kavanagh, the essence of Culchie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

tallaght01 wrote:
    Are there nightclubs in mayo?
    No, the local bishop is convinced they are occasions of sin, so has put pressure on the District Court not to grant licenses. Couple of good bingo venues, though, and they do a barndance in Knock on the First Fridays during the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭OMcGovern

Ah sure there's nothing wrong with our backward cousins from outside of Dublin.
    Sure don't they keep the countryside looking lovely for us.
    They're like our gardeners.