Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Culchies

• 14-01-2007 6:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭

Hi

Was just wondering was the term culchie offensive to anyone. Even if its used by a country person addressing themselves. Im asking because I seen this in a magazine .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

i just call them boggers mainly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

I'm interested in knowing what magazine it was?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Backhoe and Shovel weekly..........:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

They can't complain, Dublin says so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Zonko

Culchies normally hate townies just as much, so I don't think so really. Although if you called a culchy so to their face as an insult, I don't think they're be pleased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

The only townies cluchies dont like are the same townies as everyone dislikes----scummers.

Once, at a birthday party in tipperary aged about ten, a big fight broke out between the culchies and the townies. This is no joke. The culchies were the boys from outside the village whose Dads were farmers, and the "townies" were the boys whose parents worked in the nearest towns, Nenagh or Limerick, or perhaps the village.
    The culchie/ townie divide is something I will truly never understand. It even exists in the country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I always find the term culchie confusing when i leave dublin. I mean, to me, basically anyone further out than say leixlip is a culchie. But when I'm down in, say, cork and I call someone a culchie, they sometimes reply in their big bogger accent "no, im not a culchie, im from the town".

Does anyone else agree that they're still culchies??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

tallaght01 wrote:

Of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Pantsless wrote:
    Im asking because I seen this in a magazine .

What does this even mean :confused:

If the term 'Culchie' does offend you then you must have very little else to be worried about tbh :)

It all comes from the inherent belief that someone who lives on a farm in the middle of the beautiful Irish countryside is a lesser person by virtue of that fact. I put it down to either envy or pointless line-drawing between people. Is it just an Irish thing? I've never heard of it anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Pantsless wrote:
    Im asking because I seen this in a magazine .

I think you'll find it's "I saw this in a magazine" not "I seen this in a magazine".

Damn townies and their bad grammar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭purple'n'gold

This is slightly off topic, but I’m sure you will get my drift. This harks back to the days when the Irish were simply landless peasants. Everyone who lives outside a town and owns a couple of acres describes himself as a farmer. In some cases this is ludicrously funny. I remember being at a political meeting some years back and this pathetic individual with 10 children and 20 acres actually put himself on the same par as his “neighbour” who had 10 horses and 200 acres.

I'm not sure I understand why he was a 'pathetic individual'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

InFront wrote:
    I'm not sure I understand why he was a 'pathetic individual'?

Indeed, it looks like he did quite a bit more riding than the horse farmer...
    naw, same amount of riding I would say, except he listened to the parish priest. The guy with the horses (the real farmer) did'nt. Hence, "pathetic individual "

What are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

No point in asking here, us culchies don't have the internet, not that we'd know what to do with it if we did.

Edit: Ger'of my land. Tey tuk ur jawbs!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

D wrote:
    No point in asking here, us culchies don't have the internet, not that we'd know what to do with it if we did.

Edit: Ger'of my land. Tey tuk ur jawbs!

At least if ye had the internet, ye mite stop robbin our women and jobs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

tallaght01 wrote:
    I always find the term culchie confusing when i leave dublin. I mean, to me, basically anyone further out than say leixlip is a culchie. But when I'm down in, say, cork and I call someone a culchie, they sometimes reply in their big bogger accent "no, im not a culchie, im from the town".

It's them vs us. A bunch of Cork lads and Dublin lads slag each other over being from Cork or Dublin. Then they are put into seperate rooms and the northsiders and southsiders in the respective rooms start slagging each other. And so on.

faceman wrote:
    At least if ye had the internet, ye mite stop robbin our women and jobs!
    Culchies?Robbing women?Lol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

doc martins or boots that were in style 5 years ago, rolled up cheque shirts and the obligatory pack of john player blues or major, and rebel songs blaring out of their sh4tty pimped up cars lol.

And a love of the “music” and I use the word with extreme caution, of Big Tom and Brendan Shine. Shudder!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Pantsless wrote:
    Hi

Was just wondering was the term culchie offensive to anyone. Even if its used by a country person addressing themselves. Im asking because I seen this in a magazine .

Not half as offensive as bad grammar tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Sorry Jeff didn't see your post...well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I only find culchie offensive when said by a jackeen ;)
    On the other hand I sometimes refer to rural Galwegians as boggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

The above is what I'd call a culchie / bogger / redneck.

The Dublin thing of "anyone outside the pale" is just painting with too wide a brush to be honest. You can be from the 'countryside' these days without being a culchie.

big tom... brendan shine ahhhhhhhhhhhhh.

i am from the midlands, so may i firstly apologise for the following people who have destroyed your granny's (anyone ever have to go to there grans on a sunday and put up with the following on radio/video, or be bored senseless at a wedding) the list is as follows;

brendan shine - athlone co. roscommon
    mike flavin and declan neery - somewhere in lonford like newtownforbes
    foster n allen - mount temple, moate, co westmeath
    joe "the boy" dolan - mullingar, co westmeath
    tr dallas - mount temple, moate, co westmeath
    sharon turley, - athlone westmeath
    seamus moore - kilitimagh co roscommon
    loads more but i dread to even think about them, as it may give them much needed exposure.

so as i say we are sorry. i remember some donegal people use to appologise for danny o'donnell, well fair enough although a big monster but at least that is one person. we have 8. ahhhh

Goodshape wrote:
    The above is what I'd call a culchie / bogger / redneck.

The Dublin thing of "anyone outside the pale" is just painting with too wide a brush to be honest. You can be from the 'countryside' these days without being a culchie.

yep that is what a cultie/bogger/redneck is. i am sure they have new fades though, maybe found brycream or shockwaves and up graded from lynx though.

as regard to your second comment, fair enough that is true, but then again is there a good lot from the pale living in the country side now lol. but ye you are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I don't find it offensive at all as I'd much rather be a culchie than from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I'm a culchie and wouldn't have it any other way!

It's just a meaningless term used for slagging between country people and townies / Dubs ... no more than jackeen.

The very odd time I hear someone use it in a way which implies they think they mean something by it, I just feel sorry for their intelligence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Culchie at heart here (but in yankeh land for super sekrit business so nicknamed "the yank" by my folks ¬.¬) and doesn't bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

seamus moore - kilitimagh co roscommon

Eh, I dont think so. try and have your geography facts correct next time you post some drivel

kilitimagh is in mayo if my geography serves me correct, but isnt parts of it belonging to roscommon, like ballinadreen?

:rolleyes: Is parts of the midlands belonging to cork?

And its Ballaghadereen, btw.

gippo there is a ballaghdereen and a kiltimagh in mayo/ roscommon.

Bloody culchies fighting over townlands.

don't be a sensitive spanner all your life. the county boundaries can get a bit messed up like in roscommon-westmeath-galway (balinasloe hinterland). it was a fair question, a yes or know would have suffice.

either way i was being humours about the amount of rubbish musicans (and yes i do have a choice not to listen to them) that are from this region ie midlands-mid west region. the reason i brought it up cause another person mentioned one or two of these type of musicans, and i attempted to list what this region, where i am from by the way, has given to this country,

and for the record i do not have a hatred from th country folk, how can i as i am from the midlands, and my parents are from ros comain agus gaillimh. anyway its far game as ye can have a pop at the jackeens/palers. its just a bit of craic.

InFront wrote:
    gippo there is a ballaghdereen and a kiltimagh in mayo/ roscommon.

Bloody culchies fighting over townlands.

Jeez, another one:rolleyes:

Listen very carefully............

Kiltimagh is in Mayo - not Roscommon, not even close to Roscommon.

Ballaghadereen is in County Roscommon - just. Ballaghadereen's local authority is Roscommon County council.

Finally, Mayo and Roscommon are two Different counties. The same as Dublin and Donegal are two different counties. Comprende??

Agreed, some of them arfe truly terrible. Who's the guy who sings that song with all the kids... in the classroom, it's supposed to be offensive... he has curly hair...?

gyppo wrote:
    Jeez, another one:rolleyes:

Listen very carefully............

Kiltimagh is in Mayo - not Roscommon.

Ballaghadereen is in County Roscommon - just. Ballaghadereen's local authority is Roscommon County council.

Finally, Mayo and Roscommon are two Different counties. The same as Dublin and Donegal are two different counties. Comprende??

Wow. Never disrespect county boundaries eh. I don't really care tbh. Relax.

oh god the bain of my life when it came to culchie weddings, the wedding band (mullets and mouth carpets) play for the little kiddings

richie kavanagh from carlow. over the hills with my sheep dog over the hills .... shoot the $$$$.

right kilitimagh or however its spelt, my bad.

ah now in front tis tis.. you should know how important the auld county boundaries are, the gaa is religion here.feckers in balinadreen (whatever) stole our footballers, john o'maghony may have played for the primrose n blue.

ah sure we will feck off, to dublin we go, all the smut, and scum, why not. jesus that lap dancer aint bad, wonder she do much for €50, he he

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭lost_soul

Coincidently enough the term 'culchie' actually comes from Kiltimagh aka Coillte Mach!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

eo980 wrote:
    I don't find it offensive at all as I'd much rather be a culchie than from Dublin.

Second that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

lost_soul wrote:
    Coincidently enough the term 'culchie' actually comes from Kiltimagh aka Coillte Mach!!

It comes from coillte all right but not from a a specific town...I'm sure you will easily find other towns with an coillte etymological root...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭lost_soul

It comes from coillte all right but not from a a specific town...I'm sure you will easily find other towns with an coillte etymological root...

Yes but its the town Kiltimagh where the term actually originates from.... Well actually people from Kiltimagh who went to work in Birmingham....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

lost_soul wrote:
    Yes but its the town Kiltimagh where the term actually originates from.... Well actually people from Kiltimagh who went to work in Birmingham....

Incorrect the lot of ye. The term culchie comes from Dublin in the 1800's. People from the country and the poorer parts of the city were working for the rich Dubs. However because they "the help" they weren't allowed to come in through the front door and could only enter the house through the back door. Therefore they had to go round to the back of the house (cul an ti - as gaeilge). And so after a while were referred to as culchies. As all of the Dubs became richer and only the country folk were left doing these types of jobs the term culchie became associated only with people from the country.

And I'm a culchie/mucksavage/redneck in most defeinitons I suppose. Come from a farm in the Whest but I am offended with being lumped in with everybody outside the pale (whether as a culchie or not) Almost every Dubliner would be offended as being called all the same. I have no interest in C&W music, do not drive tractors for a living, do not own a check shirt or smoke any form of cigarettes. I have nothing in common with these people and don't want to. Yet I am a culchie.

And FFS Kiltimagh is in Mayo (nowhere near the border) and Ballaghdereen is in Roscommon (except that the football club plays in Mayo)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Culchies ftw!!!

I just wish that posters, whether culchies or jackeens, would improve on things like spelling, punctuation, grammar etc. Some posts are insanely hard to read.

Speaking of Ballaghadereen though, it was a great place for fights outside the discos where they let anyone of any age into. Town on town carnage.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I am from the heart of the countryside.
    Way better growing up there than in a city.
    My grammar blossomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

I am from the heart of the countryside.
    Way better growing up there than in a city.

Yeah the countryside is fantastic when you're young. Loads of fields for football, climbing trees, getting lost in forests, mud fights and heaps of unexplored places to go. Ahhhh those were the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

grammar \o/

<sarcasm>"dooobs air best reeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!?" :D</sarcasm>