Culchies

• 14-01-2007 07:14PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭

Hi

Was just wondering was the term culchie offensive to anyone. Even if its used by a country person addressing themselves. Im asking because I seen this in a magazine .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

i just call them boggers mainly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

I'm interested in knowing what magazine it was?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Backhoe and Shovel weekly..........:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

They can't complain, Dublin says so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Zonko

Culchies normally hate townies just as much, so I don't think so really. Although if you called a culchy so to their face as an insult, I don't think they're be pleased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭plonk

The only townies cluchies dont like are the same townies as everyone dislikes----scummers.

Once, at a birthday party in tipperary aged about ten, a big fight broke out between the culchies and the townies. This is no joke. The culchies were the boys from outside the village whose Dads were farmers, and the "townies" were the boys whose parents worked in the nearest towns, Nenagh or Limerick, or perhaps the village.
    The culchie/ townie divide is something I will truly never understand. It even exists in the country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I always find the term culchie confusing when i leave dublin. I mean, to me, basically anyone further out than say leixlip is a culchie. But when I'm down in, say, cork and I call someone a culchie, they sometimes reply in their big bogger accent "no, im not a culchie, im from the town".

Does anyone else agree that they're still culchies??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

tallaght01 wrote:

Of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Pantsless wrote:
    Im asking because I seen this in a magazine .

What does this even mean :confused:

If the term 'Culchie' does offend you then you must have very little else to be worried about tbh :)

It all comes from the inherent belief that someone who lives on a farm in the middle of the beautiful Irish countryside is a lesser person by virtue of that fact. I put it down to either envy or pointless line-drawing between people. Is it just an Irish thing? I've never heard of it anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Pantsless wrote:
    Im asking because I seen this in a magazine .

I think you'll find it's "I saw this in a magazine" not "I seen this in a magazine".

Damn townies and their bad grammar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭purple'n'gold

This is slightly off topic, but I’m sure you will get my drift. This harks back to the days when the Irish were simply landless peasants. Everyone who lives outside a town and owns a couple of acres describes himself as a farmer. In some cases this is ludicrously funny. I remember being at a political meeting some years back and this pathetic individual with 10 children and 20 acres actually put himself on the same par as his “neighbour” who had 10 horses and 200 acres.

I'm not sure I understand why he was a 'pathetic individual'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

InFront wrote:
    I'm not sure I understand why he was a 'pathetic individual'?

Indeed, it looks like he did quite a bit more riding than the horse farmer...
    naw, same amount of riding I would say, except he listened to the parish priest. The guy with the horses (the real farmer) did'nt. Hence, "pathetic individual "

What are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

No point in asking here, us culchies don't have the internet, not that we'd know what to do with it if we did.

Edit: Ger'of my land. Tey tuk ur jawbs!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

D wrote:
    No point in asking here, us culchies don't have the internet, not that we'd know what to do with it if we did.

Edit: Ger'of my land. Tey tuk ur jawbs!

At least if ye had the internet, ye mite stop robbin our women and jobs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

tallaght01 wrote:
    I always find the term culchie confusing when i leave dublin. I mean, to me, basically anyone further out than say leixlip is a culchie. But when I'm down in, say, cork and I call someone a culchie, they sometimes reply in their big bogger accent "no, im not a culchie, im from the town".

It's them vs us. A bunch of Cork lads and Dublin lads slag each other over being from Cork or Dublin. Then they are put into seperate rooms and the northsiders and southsiders in the respective rooms start slagging each other. And so on.

faceman wrote:
    At least if ye had the internet, ye mite stop robbin our women and jobs!
    Culchies?Robbing women?Lol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

doc martins or boots that were in style 5 years ago, rolled up cheque shirts and the obligatory pack of john player blues or major, and rebel songs blaring out of their sh4tty pimped up cars lol.

And a love of the “music” and I use the word with extreme caution, of Big Tom and Brendan Shine. Shudder!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Pantsless wrote:
    Hi

Was just wondering was the term culchie offensive to anyone. Even if its used by a country person addressing themselves. Im asking because I seen this in a magazine .

Not half as offensive as bad grammar tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Sorry Jeff didn't see your post...well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I only find culchie offensive when said by a jackeen ;)
    On the other hand I sometimes refer to rural Galwegians as boggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

The above is what I'd call a culchie / bogger / redneck.

The Dublin thing of "anyone outside the pale" is just painting with too wide a brush to be honest. You can be from the 'countryside' these days without being a culchie.

big tom... brendan shine ahhhhhhhhhhhhh.

i am from the midlands, so may i firstly apologise for the following people who have destroyed your granny's (anyone ever have to go to there grans on a sunday and put up with the following on radio/video, or be bored senseless at a wedding) the list is as follows;

brendan shine - athlone co. roscommon
    mike flavin and declan neery - somewhere in lonford like newtownforbes
    foster n allen - mount temple, moate, co westmeath
    joe "the boy" dolan - mullingar, co westmeath
    tr dallas - mount temple, moate, co westmeath
    sharon turley, - athlone westmeath
    seamus moore - kilitimagh co roscommon
    loads more but i dread to even think about them, as it may give them much needed exposure.

so as i say we are sorry. i remember some donegal people use to appologise for danny o'donnell, well fair enough although a big monster but at least that is one person. we have 8. ahhhh

Goodshape wrote:
    The above is what I'd call a culchie / bogger / redneck.

The Dublin thing of "anyone outside the pale" is just painting with too wide a brush to be honest. You can be from the 'countryside' these days without being a culchie.

yep that is what a cultie/bogger/redneck is. i am sure they have new fades though, maybe found brycream or shockwaves and up graded from lynx though.

as regard to your second comment, fair enough that is true, but then again is there a good lot from the pale living in the country side now lol. but ye you are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I don't find it offensive at all as I'd much rather be a culchie than from Dublin.