Veronica Mars - Season 3 [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

I just watched 4 & 5 together and they were not that bad.

The black shop cashier had the funniest lines, something like they bought condoms to stop them producing bastard children, the morons.:eek:

So Claires boyfriend raped her or not? I am losing interest in the rapist case, who cares at this stage?

Cliff was brill and so was the Dean. I cringed when Lamb did the robot dance, how ****ed up can you get.

Only 2 more episodes of this section, anyone know if another 7 will air?

Obviously I am the only one who still watches :) but episode 6 is so much better, just like the old ones. The case was interesting and Keith's car crash made me jump off my seat. Great stuff.

Episode 7 is supposed to great, watch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nVS08JiEzlU.

MODEDIT: Post Edited as per user's request.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

USE SPOILER TAGS!!!

im still really interested in the rapist storyline, its just the minor episodic plot lines that are boring me right now(alot like season 1 i suppose). i am SO in love with Piz & Parker though :D oh and lamb too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

It was definitely a better episode. I liked how the main characters are starting to interact as a group and I like how Lamb is having more than one dimension for the first time this season. The one thing that bothers me though is that a lot of Veronica's unpopularity seems contrived. I remember in college being the only student to get an A in one exam when the next best student got a D+, but nobody looked at me with intense dislike the way the whole class looked at Veronica.

The women protesting the rapes are all quite irrational, and it is obviously being done that way so Veronica is the voice of reason against the rest of the world like she was at the beginning. But just because she was unpopular in season 1, she doesn't have to be every year. I didn't like season 1 because it was Veronica against the world. I liked it because it was a well thought out, engaging story, that is the season 1 feel I am looking for, not emotional nostalgia when it doesn't fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭SoSueMe

Things are looking good for a full season with the announcement that The CW have ordered 3 addition scripts (Same for One Tree Hill).

herobear wrote:
    USE SPOILER TAGS!!!

Sorry, thought it was quite a tame spoiler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,790 ✭✭✭tvnutz

pokerwidow wrote:
    Sorry, thought it was quite a tame spoiler.

you said
    someone dies
    ,big enough spoiler to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

pokerwidow wrote:
    Obviously I am the only one who still watches :)

You aren't the only one don't worry. Yeah its definetly picking up in the last few episodes and this one was better again. Good to see Keith getting down and dirty (and we got to see his room ... for the first time ... in a house with 5 rooms). Finally Wallace and Piz and Parker getting some meaty stuff in the same episode. Pity we won't see Mac till episode 9.
    I know your saying that the Veronica against the world is a little contrived but I think it was more that she was becoming a teachers pet rather than that she was getting an A.
    Good to see that the standard is staying high and as I said last week keep it up.

PS. Ed Begley has been great in this so far, really funny in this episode

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Chevano Riley

episode 7, and the first big deal of the series. i dunno how plausible the whole drink spiking was... i mean is the rapist following veronica around just waiting for her to conveniently leave a drink unattended? or did he spike her spagetti with hair? hmm. IMHO, VM's strongpoint as a series has always been the logic of the crimes... maybe'll it will be explained in the next ep.

as someone forget to spoiler earlier
    the rapist mystery will end in episode 9 and a new one will start - that certainly seems likely now. veronica will go hell for leather from this point on trying to sort it out.

series 3, so far is boring me. its hard to believe its 1/3 the way through. COME ON, lets see a murder, or a mass murder, or a big conspiracy or something.
    although now that i remember the unspoilered post, it was said there would be a major character death, so thats probably a grisly butchering. im trying to think who... weevil, perhaps? or logan...? in fact i hope its wallaces stupid roommate

The plot about the stupid girl looking for her boyfriend annoyed me. I just wanted to slap her for being so stupid,even if she was right about him in the end. when she started talking about lasers...grrrr :mad:

The ending was chilling i thought. Chevano,I think it was plausible how it happened. I would imagine it is quite obvious to everyone on campus that Veronica is trying to solve the rapes. It would have been good for the real rapist if someone else had gone down for the crimes,but Veronica stopped that. The rapist obviously started following her because she is trying to catch him. Perhaps the drink spiking was just luck on the rapists part. He saw an opportunity when she left the drink there. I would assume sick rapists do carry GHB around with them! :rolleyes:

It does need to pick up pace a bit though.

So does the rapist shave their heads and then rape them? Bald, unconsiciouss lady's is a pretty strange kink. It seems likely that the rapist is a woman then, simulating rape situations for some ulterior motive? As I'd imagine the head-shaving to be a post-rape, territory marking rather than something that he would do first.

Either way I think this show was a bit of a one season wonder. Pity.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,437 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Well.. it looks like it's got itself a full 3rd season (20 episodes)!

Read here!
    Just heard from Rob Thomas, and the CW has given "Veronica Mars" a back seven instead of the traditional back nine. This is obviously brand-new information for them, so it'll take a while to figure out how this will affect the later two arcs. (My guess: since they're already at work on arc #2, the last one will take the biggest hit.)

This is good news, certainly for this season, and I don't know that the slightly reduced order is a big danger sign for the possibility of a fourth season. The CW hasn't been as successful out of the gate as expected, and they may be looking to pinch pennies until they get through to next year. Or maybe I'm just being naively optimistic. Wouldn't be the first time.

UPDATE: Rob says he's still trying to figure things out, but as of now, the plan is to do a four-episode arc for the end of the season.

Thought the latest episode was the best of a bad bunch to be honest with the last couple of minutes being particularly chilling.. the vision of the rapist in black was certainly effective.

good news I guess,better than just 13 episodes. You would think thye would just give them the last 2 episodes if indeed this will be the last season!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭SoSueMe

basquille wrote:
    Well.. it looks like it's got itself a full 3rd season (20 episodes)!

Read here!

Thought the latest episode was the best of a bad bunch to be honest with the last couple of minutes being particularly chilling.. the vision of the rapist in black was certainly effective.

If ratings don't improve in the second half of the season there will be no season 4. It's not a good sign of faith if the show isn't given 22 episodes:mad: . Warner Bros. which produces the show need a fourth season for the show to have any syndicated life. So maybe the 50:50 CW might compensate for that. I guess it depneds what shows they have in development for next season.

I just hope if this seires is the shows last they go out on a highnote. But from the reviews and general opinion the first part of the season doesn't live up to one and two.

I think it has improved in the last three episodes even if it did get off to a shakey start. I don't think we can take much out of the fact that the rapist shaved some Veronica's hair as he probably did that just to show her that it was him. He knew he had to take off when the car alarm started up.
    The story with the missing boyfriend was a little stupid and was really just used to get the Fitzpatricks and Vinnie Van Lowe back into it. I hope it continues as it has picked up and should really move on from here. The move to a new college was always going to be tough but it had to be done.
    I think the 20 episodes is good news cos if the really wanted to get rid of it why bother ordering more episodes.

kevmy wrote:
    .. was really just used to get the Fitzpatricks and Vinnie Van Lowe back into it.
    Not a bad thing.. Vinnie's my favourite non-recurring character in it!

I'm in work so can't check but remember one of his lines last week being hilarious!

basquille wrote:
    Not a bad thing.. Vinnie's my favourite non-recurring character in it!

I kow it's not a bad thing I like Vinnie too, just saying the rest of the storyline was a bit stupid. Especially as said before about the lasers, I work with lasers and I know you don't learn about them in first year Physics. That just annoyed me.
    But overall a decent episode 7/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Dustbowl

Trailer for episode 3 x09

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LqLvBuVa9RM

Episode 3 x08 was great really looking forward to next week.

Ye good episode. So many of the rapes were actually real? I presume it was just those two that faked it,pretty stupid imo.

Looks like the end for Logan and Veronica,Im surprised the lasted this long,I expected them to be broken up sooner.

wallace's hair...:p

next week looks good! :D

Twas an alright episode.. preferred last week's one though this week's had a very sharp funny script for once.

Some fantastic lines in the Dick and Veronica scene.. especially the "Keester Eggs".. and the "what next? You want me to tell you where i buried Jimmy Hoffman?.. Dustins' brother?" line was classic too! :D

I read in Michael Ausiello's column that while Rob Thomas always remained optimistic during the show's iffy renewal chances during season 1 and 2, he isn't at all optimistic for a fourth season so enjoy possibly the last 11 or so episodes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

Yeah it was a better episode than the past few.
    To be honest if thats the calibre we can expect maybe its good this is the last season. ya dont wanna drag it on.
    That said the dialogue was alot wittier this week.
    and the whole rift between veronica and logan seems more believable now... but still shes a twat. and the rape storyline being fake was a bit...meh to be honest. no buildup at all. so big episode next week eh?

Smurfpiss wrote:
    To be honest if thats the calibre we can expect maybe its good this is the last season. ya dont wanna drag it on.
    Couldn't have said it better myself.. it's not the same show i loved for the past 2 seasons!

Everytime Veronica would ask "why did Patrice Pitrelli jump off the roof of the building?" did anyone else think, well she'd been having these incredibly realistic dreams that she could fly, and then she saw this painting..............?
    No? Just me then.:o

I was actually pretty annoyed by the reaction to what happened to Chip. I'm not sure about California law, but surely being drugged and having something inserted annally would be considered either rape or similar. I know Veronica acknowledged this by the end of the episode. But all along she and everyone else was considering it as funny.

I'm starting to think that the implication that all the rapes were faked by the feminists is a red herring. And even if the rapists turned out to be woman drugging their victims and violating them with a dildo or something, that is still rape.

And the MOW annoyed me, having a gimmick of Patty Hearst basically playing herself isn't much of a substitute for good writing.

iguana wrote:
    And the MOW annoyed me, having a gimmick of Patty Hearst basically playing herself isn't much of a substitute for good writing.

yeah wasnt spectacluar...reminded me of columbo for some reason! :rolleyes:

Well.. that's the end of the rape storyline and onto the next story arc (the "moida").

Thought the rape was a bit of a cop-out.. don't get me wrong, the final couple of minutes alongside "Right Here, Right Now" were possible the most tense the show has been in a while... but Mercer's reason... somewhat along the lines of "i could get you back here within an hour.. but that's an hour of my life wasted listening to you talk!"... eh?!?! :confused: And what was Mo's reason.. that was never established. Logan's arrival into the jail cell was excellent though.

The episode as a whole was probably the best of a bad bunch this season.. we had Dick, Mac, Weevil, Wallace all back. Great to see Mac back - criminally under-used this season after becoming "a regular".. loved the bit with her STD shirt! :D

The scenes with them moving around the party testing the drinks was also very good.. Piz acting mental to allow Wallace to check out a possibly spiked drink. Veronica telling the girl Chip was with "if it (the coaster) turns red, he's trying to rape you. If it doesn't, he might STILL be trying to rape you!" :D

So.. killing off Ed Begley Jr (who was my new favourite character this season).. who are the suspects? Girl with the nose ring (forget her name), her wife, the professor? Probably will be someone completely outta left field though like a student.

I just watched 9 and it was only alright, I liked that most of our favourites (except Lamb) were in it and there was the odd funny. Pity we didn't get a look at Dicks ass though :)

The solving of the rape was pretty dumb. So it was Mercier and his geeky side kick. Did Logan get a baseball bat to the cop car just so he could get into jail and beat the crap out of Mercier. He looked pissed.

And the Dean? I wonder is he actually dead. Can't say that I will lose sleep waiting for the next one. It's such a pity because season 1 and 2 were very edge of seat stuff but this season seems alot less smart, if that makes sense.

I'm fairly sure the dean is dead pokerwidow,he had a bullet hole in the head.

I liked the episode,especially the part where Veronica is running to the tune of fatboy slim :D It actually makes sense now,whereas the whole Beaver thing last season didn't really. Mercer had an alibi for one of the rapes that was faked,irony! Those girls did more harm than good. If they hadn't faked those rapes,he wouldn't have had an alibi for them.

Who cares about his reasons? If you are sick enough to rape someone,no reason is good enough,he was obviously just a deluded tool. Mo was probably just the loser who never got laid and gets pushed around easily.

Logan smashing the cop car to get into the cell with Mercer was great...classic. Even though they finally broke up,took a while,but we knew it was coming.

Good to see mac back,Parker actually had a good scene despite being in it for only a few minutes.

And the dean is dead...I presume he didn't go and shoot his wife and the professor,but who shot him...might be more interesting than the rape storyline.

So far it hasn't been a great season as some people have mentioned,but I still think it is a great show and despite having an average season,probably still one of the better shows on tv at the moment.

Lets just hope Weevil doesn't get blamed for the murder...that might get old :rolleyes: :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Chevano Riley

decent ep. my big problem of the whole rape mystery was that the guilty pair weren't prominent enough at all.

i was amused by logans stunt at the end, and look forward to him becoming the happy-go-psycho guy he was in series 1.

and the deans murder could be very interesting. im glad they gave his character room to develop. i never suspected he would form the basis of the 2nd mystery, though looking back he was strangely focused on since series 3 started. theres already serveral suspects - anyone of the feminists, the wife, the criminology professor... im also curious about the fag-hag wifes gay friend - im almost sure he'll come into it somehow. the deans secretary?

and oh god, as the above poster said, weevil being the first person on the scene... man that guy has bad luck...

loved the line: "there ya go bambi - if it turns red hes trying to rape you; if it doesnt he might still be trying to rape you."

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Thought this was easily the best episode of what's been a pretty weak season. The rape storyline actually maked a bit of sense when the fake rapes were taken into account.

Having it be a duo also worked for me - notice how Mercer called the other guy "prisoner". I'm assuming this is a reference to the prison experiment run in the season opener (we set up this type of relationship in that episode too - Mercer must have been a guard when it was run a previous year).

Lots more wit and nice to see some faces back, although it'd have been polite to at least make reference to the fact Mac's not been around.

Next mystery could be good - let's blame it on his wife's gay friend now as the initial suspect and the professor to be the actual cause (as he could use his expert knowledge of criminology to frame someone).

hmm. yeah wasn't a bad episode..some bits were a bit lame. I dunno, have the writers ever been to college? i really doubt a horde of women would really pelt the deans car with eggs.. anyhoo moot point.
    Rape story ended neatly enough, it didn't exactly blow you away but at least it didn't go over the top like the end of season 2.
    Really like how logan went and got himself arrested. that mad bastard :)
    good enough eppy overall.