Fries with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Zyox

Originally posted by The Gopher

My blue bunned burger incident was in an Uncle Sams in Cavan-i didnt mention it as i thought none of you wouldve heard of it.That place used to be filthy but i think theyre improving now[eu law has probably made everywhere need to improve].

I'm from Cavan and eat there maybe twice in ten years. Never really heard any complaints at all apart from them being open after pub hours and causing drunks to hang about town causing damage to shop fronts etc.

Place is a bit of a hole too. Uncle Sam's is damn bad too ;)

Bleurgh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 875 ✭✭✭EvilGeorge

Not related to bad food but I remember being in MacDonalds adn there was a bloke at the counter who picked up a burger and took it out of the wrapper (think he paid for it) shouted murders as loud as he could and ran out of the building - great the way they do live shows :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Feckless Rogue

I got a Whopper with a large bite out of it in BK in Cork, but way more recently...

On Saturday night/Sunday morning at bout 3 or 4am me & a few pals stopped by for a bite at Charlie Chang's on Dame St, where while queueing I clearly saw one of the cooks sneeze into his hand, then reach into a bucket and pick out a big ol' handful of green peppers which he put straight into a serving carton.

Ok it's not maggots but ffs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Yesterday in Burger king in Birmingham Airport, they ran out of burgers. Hardly amusing but kind of ironic, being called Burger king and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Used to work in a Coleslaw factory in Chapelizoid yrs ago and they had the Lettuce order for Mc D ,i know where all those maggots came from and caterpillars.
    Did you know if you have 20 heads of lettuce 10 are off and 10 are fresh if you mangle them all up into a shredder they cant be told apart.
    The owner was at this all the time, we sent out some sick stuff.
    Once a pallet of tinned fruits fell off a boat at the docks and never one to see a bargain he bought the lot of them they were in the sea that long the cans were rusted.
    There was lot more that i seen that was sick ,eventually he lost most of his Dublin orders and moved to Ashbounre and went bankrupt.

But there a lot more like him and just cos you get somfin nasty in MC D or others doesnt mean it came from them.

Kdja

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Originally posted by Dave
    Yesterday in Burger king in Birmingham Airport, they ran out of burgers. Hardly amusing but kind of ironic, being called Burger king and all.

Reminds me of a tv show i saw a few weeks where a man is ordering from a fast food chicken resturent kind of modeled on KFC.
    Worker-Sir im afriad were out of chicken.
    Customer-How can you be out of chicken?How can a restaruent called the Chicken Shed be out of chicken?
    Worker-Whaddya expect us to be out of?Pizza???!!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Harmo

The most ive got has been a hair in my mc donalds chips nothin as bad as worms i hope :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

a mate of mine will never get a burger with pickles. He used to work in BK and he walked into the store-room one day to find one of his co-workers taking a piss into the jar. He claims everything else is grand because of the way that it is packed, but the pickles are a major no-no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭phaxx

Originally posted by Lex_Diamonds
    Its the small places that would have problems.

I'm reminded of that small dodgy looking chipper beside mordeth's place...

As for earwigs and so on, I found a dead one in some broccoli once, but it was all fresh from the grandfather's garden so that hardly counts. :)

Cold chips once in Eddie Rockets... that's about the worst I've had. :) (that I've known about)

Oh, a friend got some "spicy buffalo chicken wings" at eddies and it had a few feathers on it. Yum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭Lolo

Originally posted by Rabies
    a few years ago my brother and i were sitting down eating a bowl of cereal (COCO POPS) , i had finished my bowl and my brother was still munching away on his.
    when he looked in to the bowl there was an earwig swimming around in his cereal.

I'd a similar experience with Shredded Wheat when I was a kid - we'd been away on holidays and a colony of earwigs had set up camp in one of our cupboards. When we shook the SW out of the box, it was crawling with the things. Haven't been able to eat them since, especially the wee ones with raisins in them :D

I worked for a summer in Burgerland (RIP) on O'Connell Street (do they still have Burgerlands in Cork?), and I must say I never saw anything dodgy going on. The occasional hair might slip in but the girls weren't even allowed to wear makeup in case it flaked off into the food.

I found a worm in my salad in the West Coast Coffee Co on Georges Street, but at least it was dead, and very clean - looked like it had been washed with the lettuce (!). But being a strict veggie, that's not any more gross to me than finding a piece of ham on my plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

The Good: Zaytoon, Porterhouse

The Bad: McDonalds, BK, Eddie Rockets for sloooow service

The Ugly: A woman in the US went into BK and got a chicken flamer sandwich thingy. Specifically asked for NO mayo, get the chicken flamer, back to her car, begins eating, finds all this white stuff in it once she bites down, say ick, and wonders whether to go back with it.
    eats about half of it then get severe stomach cramps and wretching, leaves the rest on the car floor, while phoning for ambulance.

Ambulance guys ask what shes eaten, she say the chicken flamer, they take it and do some tests,

it turns out the piece of chicken had a cancerous lump on it, which when cooked meant that she bit into a pus-laden piece of chicken, and that the mayo in her sandsich wasn't mayo after all,

enjoy your dinner tonight everyone!

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Originally posted by The_Bullman
    a mate of mine will never get a burger with pickles. He used to work in BK and he walked into the store-room one day to find one of his co-workers taking a piss into the jar.

Oh, I've a MUCH worse one than that for you. I've heard this from several people, including those who worked there, that a guy was caught **** in the storeroom or something in Supermacs in Portlaoise several years ago and then proceeded to go and serve up burgers WITHOUT WASHING HIS HANDS AFTERWARDS! I'm f**king serious. In fact, its become a bit of a joke now here in Portlaoise in that everybody says things like "Don't get a burger out of Supermacs because that's not mayonaisse they put on it!" lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Originally posted by lafortezza

it turns out the piece of chicken had a cancerous lump on it, which when cooked meant that she bit into a pus-laden piece of chicken, and that the mayo in her sandsich wasn't mayo after all,

enjoy your dinner tonight everyone!

Thanks.
    Getting a bit of jiz would be bad, but that's worse in my book. Pure poison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭TheIceMaker

I know its not fast food, but my friend found a ladybird in her tube of smarties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

I think in this day and age, with the info that is out there about fast food, u would have to be pretty desperate to eat it :rolleyes: . I think i would actually rather go hungry than eat anything that came out of macdonalds, its horrible :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Loobz

I tend not to go to ANY fast food chain for grub. Actually I dont go at all.
    Eurosaver menu my ass. They are not selling it for that price cos they are nice. Its cos all the ingredients are bottom of the barrel sh!te.

When I am in a chipper I keep a close eye on my order as its cooked, start to finish. Its just something I started doing subconciously. But when Im out on the beer, I find that difficult to accomplish. :p

I was in a chipper in Carrick-on-Suir 2 weeks ago. I got a Chip, Curry dip and a Half Pounder. The chips were ok, burger was crap cos the bun was soaked in both steam and grease. The curry sauce tasted like slightly curry flavoured chalk paste.
    My gf ordered a chicken burger meal at the same time as me. I was finished mine so she went up and the girl handed her a chicken burger. My gf said, 'No, a chicken burger meal'. The assistant went off to put on chips that took 10 mins to cook.
    During our 40 minute stay at the place, no less than 3 people all had complaints ranging from mixed up orders to half frozen pizzas. Filthy knackers the lot of em. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

I know its not fast food, but my friend found a ladybird in her tube of smarties

You brought up a 3 year old conversation to say that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

be this a lesson to you all

fast food is ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

One of the worst places I've come across has to be Abrakebabra in Donnybrook Village.

Saw the guy behind the counter standing up on a surface where he prepares food, in filthy boots!! Then went about chopping some chicken on the same spot!

God knows what the dirty pig's been waking in!! GrRrRrrRRrrrrrrrrrrRRR!!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

And there was me looking forward to my monthly takeway tonight. Jaysus :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Is there any1 on the boards here that eats macdonalds :confused: , just curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Oh, I've a MUCH worse one than that for you. I've heard this from several people, including those who worked there, that a guy was caught **** in the storeroom or something in Supermacs in Portlaoise several years ago and then proceeded to go and serve up burgers WITHOUT WASHING HIS HANDS AFTERWARDS! I'm f**king serious. In fact, its become a bit of a joke now here in Portlaoise in that everybody says things like "Don't get a burger out of Supermacs because that's not mayonaisse they put on it!" lol

Something similar to that happened, some girl bought a... infected burger, anyway, a couple of days later she noticed she had caught an STD :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Funk Daddy

azezil wrote:
    Never had a bad experience myself, in a mainstream franchise anyway... some small chipers turn up some mystery meals alrite!

I know a couple of ppl who worked in Supermacs, they all say after what they've seen they'd never eat there again..
    I know a Chinese restuarent that jizzes in your chicken satay. Want the number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

Have to say though, McDonalds is an easy target since (according to wiki ) in 2004 they had 30,000 restaurants around the world. I am not in any way excusing low standards etc, but there are bound to be horror stories from such a huge franchise. I suppose the same should go for all the big chains.

Also remember that there are sick things that go on in small restaurants.

Since this thread has had almost everyone telling a horror here's mine:

I for one would be very off eating chicken curry. As a teacher who taught me, smartest man I think I've ever met, he has done work for newspapers, magazines and radios and I always valued his opinion very much. One thing that always sticks in my mind is that he told us never to eat chicken curry. He claimed that wherever curry originated from, I can’t quite remember (India?) Heavily spicing food was a method to disguise the taste of rotten meat, apparently you cannot tell the difference between chicken which is good and chicken once it has gone off if it is served in curry.

Also, as when I told this to my friend who was eating curry at work after he said it tasted a bit off. He said "fúck aye, I always wondered why it always tastes different when you make chicken curry at home" :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭*Angel*

lafortezza wrote:
    The Ugly: A woman in the US went into BK and got a chicken flamer sandwich thingy. Specifically asked for NO mayo, get the chicken flamer, back to her car, begins eating, finds all this white stuff in it once she bites down, say ick, and wonders whether to go back with it.
    eats about half of it then get severe stomach cramps and wretching, leaves the rest on the car floor, while phoning for ambulance.

Ambulance guys ask what shes eaten, she say the chicken flamer, they take it and do some tests,

That's unbelieveably rank, ewh, I'm quite freaked out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

That tumour thing happened to me when I was about 9 or 10 in KFC. Incredibly traumatising, actually. I didn't eat any chicken other than the freshly cooked kind til I was about 15!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Barrie

Im sure you all heard about Mc Donalds and their "hand-made" mayonaise?This was true as far as i heard :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

yeah, I would like some fries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

i would not lie fries, on the other hand i wouldnt mind a few chips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

phobos wrote:
    The coke in there never tastes like coke, but for some reason we have to pay premium prices for it (what ever it is).
    That's because they water it down on busy days.

Anyway, I know someone who works in McDonald's, and oh god... the stories! :eek:
    Now he's an idiot and nobody likes him, and him and other co-workers do things like taking half-drunk cups, filling them back up and serving them.