Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fries with that?

• 30-06-2002 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭

The other day I read in The Irish Times that a man recieved something around €4,000 because he found both a worm and fragments or worm eggs in food that he purchased in MacDonalds. Subsequently he vomitted quite a bit and I think he actually ended up "getting worms".

*ick*

It also reminded me of such rumours of things like "The 10 second drop limit" and other such urban myths.

So this is where I invite all of those who have had any strange fast-food experiences either funny, revolting, or in any way interesting to share them here. (apologies if a similar post was done before, cba to check)

My one and only one has to be when I went to MacDonalds in Stillorgan at about the age of 10 and asked for a strawberry milkshake. The guy at the counter then asked what flavour strawberry milkshake I would like :)
    Remember my dad taking the piss out of him for a bit and the poor lad going strawberry red in the face....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Never had a bad experience myself, in a mainstream franchise anyway... some small chipers turn up some mystery meals alrite!

I know a couple of ppl who worked in Supermacs, they all say after what they've seen they'd never eat there again..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Half of these horror stories are exactly that. Im sure 90% of these places keep excellent hygeine and are inspected regularly.

Its the small places that would have problems.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

The only bad experience's I've had is getting things likes hairs in the food and that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭BabyEater

Well i know that the Abrakebabra beside me had maggots in their store room and lots of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I was in McDonalds with a mate and they gave him a used McFlurry spoon that had just been lying around.

Once in Burger Kng they gave my food to some other guy then said "I gave it toy your friend". this guy was about 7 rows away from me, and then i had to spend 7 minutes going "No, that wasn't my damn friend" before they eventually gave me my food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

I don't think you can guestimate the smaller places to be more dangerous. I would think the reverse is much more likely - especially when most of the staff in bigger places turn over very regularly and have absolutely no loyalty to the place and no interest in keeping the customer happy beyond their own bonuses or promotions. Saying that a bad small restaurant will be a bad restaurant - but they all (are supposed to) get checked by the health inspector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

Being a fat ba$tard I've had (too) many experiences of take-away food in Ireland. Supermacs (sorry to say) is at the bottom of my list of favourite resuraunts. Personally nearly every visit I find something wrong with their food, but don't mind complaining, and in the end I get what I asked for. I don't mean to offend anybody working in Supermacs, but most of the staff look like teenagers/college students that think it's hallarious to play with the customers food before serving. They often don't think of the concequences.

I have on many occasions found cold chips, that appear to have footprint marks on them. The coke in there never tastes like coke, but for some reason we have to pay premium prices for it (what ever it is). The burgers look like they are intentionally pounded as flat as possible. I've noticed as the years have gone by the general service/food/prices in Supermacs have worsened dramatically in a downward spiral.

Anyway enough with Supermacs, until they get their act together. I tend to agree with those of you that say the smaller outlets pose more of a threat, I've heard the stories too.

On a more positive note, I can't think when I had a problem with McDonalds apart from the odd cold batch of fries now and again, but a quick complaint is more than enough to solve that.

But at the top of my list is the Pizza outlets. I view them on a much higher level than your average take-away. Take Dominos pizza for example (and 4 Star Pizza), they are getting full marks from me. Taking in to consideration, price, service, quality of food, delivery time. Both do free delivery, but there have been occasions that 4 star have burned the base of the pizza, but we'll let that go, because it only happens on the rare occasion.

;-phobos-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Zyox

I have to agree there. Order 2 pizzas last week from 4star from ballsbridge. Now afaik, there is a shop of theirs there but anyway, I ordered the pizza, they said it would be 30-40mins and it came in like 15. Brilliant service but a little bit pricey. (€14 for med. pizza and 1.25ltr of coke, which was €2)

Have a mate in the IYC that works in supermacs and hes really honest about it ie. if it falls on ground, he bins it, but the others he says dont. and he says he wont eat in there either apart from the fries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭irishguy

well i have heard lots of bad things about the places in limerick.
    Eddey rockets:glass in food,food poisining
    Abra:Hair in food
    Burger king:a bite taken out of a burger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

Originally posted by Greenbean
    I don't think you can guestimate the smaller places to be more dangerous. I would think the reverse is much more likely - especially when most of the staff in bigger places turn over very regularly and have absolutely no loyalty to the place and no interest in keeping the customer happy beyond their own bonuses or promotions. Saying that a bad small restaurant will be a bad restaurant - but they all (are supposed to) get checked by the health inspector.

ya.. true, dont go to a big place on a sunday when its quiet... i know someone who worked in burgerking he said they used to have competitions on sundays to see who could do the most disgusting thing to the food :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭francie brady

In the take away in Ashbourne a unlucky punter found puss and maggots found in a piece of chicken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Ive only went to Pizza Hut[blanchardstown]twice.Each time the food was brutal.I got a tiny little greasy piece of crap which was aledgedly a ham and mushroom pizza.In reality it was a few minature strips of mushroom with equally small and rare ham pieces.And the grease-****in hell!I was expecting a regular 7-9 inch or whatever pizza-this piece of crap as the size of them awful little frozen gino ginelli pizzas.
    As for Dominos and 4 star,theyre the best pizza in Ireland.They are a little on the bad side of pricing but the pizza is the freshest ive probably ever had.
    As for other takeaways i was struck by the fast flowing rivers of brown after eating a burger with parts of it slightly blue in a local franchise takeaway[regional chain,not national or international].I was only 8 at the time and didnt know better.
    As for the big boys McDonalds and Burger King ive seldom had cause for complaint.I think BK used to put alot of water in their coke a while back but they seem to have stopped:) Only sickness i had from them was when my whopper junior had too much mayo in it.Me being me and loving the stuff i refused to empty any out.Lets just say that you didnt want to have to use the toilet after me..........It was one of those episodes where you jump out of bed,leg to the toilet,get paralysed with stomach pain and the heat makes you sit on the bog as naked as the day you were born.Never had any serious probs with McDs so im pretty much satisfied with irish takeaways.Unless its that ive built up an immunity that is............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

4Star and Dominos!! Nasty pizza places, all their stuff tastes like rubber, for the best pizza in Ireland go to Mizzonis, but getting back on the subject i remember being in macdonalds in the Ilac and a mate of mine got some wedges (remember them?!) and when he ate them all down at the bottom of the carton there was a thing that looked like a fried hair macnugget, it was a lump of wedge or somthing but it was full of hair!!! it was nasty he got the manager and all he got was his money back!:mad:

bomb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by bombidol
    4Star and Dominos!! Nasty pizza places, all their stuff tastes like rubber, for the best pizza in Ireland go to Mizzonis, but getting back on the subject i remember being in macdonalds in the Ilac and a mate of mine got some wedges (remember them?!) and when he ate them all down at the bottom of the carton there was a thing that looked like a fried hair macnugget, it was a lump of wedge or somthing but it was full of hair!!! it was nasty he got the manager and all he got was his money back!:mad:

bomb

I'd never accept my money back in a situation like that. I'd be straight on to the environmental health department the next day! (Besides, they'd give you way more cash that way heheheh)

Worst thing I ever had was a chicken burger in KFC in Belfast years ago, there was a massive (and I mean HUGE) lump of gristle in it, I was nearly sick and didn't eat in KFC for about 10 years after :(

4 Star pizza and mizzoni and f-cking MANKY pizza's, I don't know how they get away with it, it's not pizza, it's burnt stodge with manky toppings on :(
    Apache can be very hit and miss too, but Dominoes is by far the best, 8 euro for pizza, garlic bread, drink and dessert, can't argue with that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭SYL

I don't really eat fast food all that much, and live in the country so the big chain outlets are not really available to me much, unless I'm in town. I think that the local outlets are the dodgiest though, I've heard some stories, although I used to work as a commis chef in a hotel when I was at college and I seen some rank stuff going on there. SOme of the normal behaviour like using stuff past its sell by, undercooked meat etc. But the worst was the fact that the bins and skips and stuff were in dangerously close proximity to the storerooms and I seen many many maggots making use of the vegetables there. I'm not easily sickened, but there is something about the sight of about 2000 maggots under a crate of cabbage that makes my stomach churn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I've not had any presonal experiences with food from any fastfood places, but I was present at two such incidents.

The most recent was a friend in college (then about 2/3 years ago - 3rd year) in McDonalds outside the Square in Tallaght. He ordered a BigMac, went to open it, and discovered it had a MASSIVE bite mark in it. He took it back to the counter, and the girl called over the manager who said quietly to her (although my mate heard) "Give him a new one and apologise profously"

The second incident was MANYYYY years ago, with the original BurgerKing on O'Connell St (about half way down the st. me thinks??). I was about 5 at the time, and the family had been taken in for a bit of food whilst being in town. My older sister got some sort of burger ... opened it .. and discovered a caterpillar (or something green anyway, and moving) in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Well...when I worked part time in McDonalds in Drogheda when I was about 16, one of my mates worked there too, and one day he was making big macs and got given out to by a supervisor over something really stupid, and he.....stuck his hand down his pants, got some pubic hairs, and lightly sprinkled a few big macs with the short'n'curlies, which he then proceeded to box, and they were served to the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

a few years ago my brother and i were sitting down eating a bowl of cereal (COCO POPS) , i had finished my bowl and my brother was still munching away on his.
    when he looked in to the bowl there was an earwig swimming around in his cereal.
    the poor chap hasnt eaten cereal since then??
    this happened about 7-8 yrs ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Originally posted by francie brady
    In the take away in Ashbourne a unlucky punter found puss and maggots found in a piece of chicken.

Yea my uncle was in a similar situation. He bought a cooked chicken from Supervalu and begain eating it, only after one or two bitesdid he find out that it was crawling with maggots. He was sick for about a week after that but never even complained to Supervalu which I thought was stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭bozzie

when i was 10-11 i was in an uncle sams in enniscorthy eating a burger when the h&s officer found a nest of rats in their kitchen needles to say i was severly sick for about a week as was my uncles girlfriend who worked there

the place is now a burger macs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Sign in Eddie rockets:

"Toilets", sign under it:
    "Too much fun for the average man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Never had a bother with McDonalds, and KFC tend to be alright as long as you go for sensible stuff.

Domino's Pizza here in town has always been fantastic.

Oh, and we've got a great chippy near the house which is run by an old chinese couple and does really good traditional fish'n'chips-in-newspaper type food. Top stuff.

Burger King, never found anything odd in there but I've had food that has tasted VERY strongly of cleaning fluids and so on, which isn't pleasant at all. At least it means they're cleaning the place, I guess...

Originally posted by bozzie
    when i was 10-11 i was in an uncle sams in enniscorthy eating a burger when the h&s officer found a nest of rats in their kitchen needles to say i was severly sick for about a week as was my uncles girlfriend who worked there

My blue bunned burger incident was in an Uncle Sams in Cavan-i didnt mention it as i thought none of you wouldve heard of it.That place used to be filthy but i think theyre improving now[eu law has probably made everywhere need to improve].

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

Oh, and we've got a great chippy near the house which is run by an old chinese couple and does really good traditional fish'n'chips-in-newspaper type food. Top stuff.

I heartily endorce this product or service.
    Burger King, never found anything odd in there but I've had food that has tasted VERY strongly of cleaning fluids and so on, which isn't pleasant at all. At least it means they're cleaning the place, I guess...

My mother makes a chicken dish thing and there's always a really aweful taste off a few mouthfuls that reminds me of cleaning fluids, I'm pretty confident that she doesnt actually put cleaning fluids in it though, so maybe theres are combinations of ingredients that give a similar taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

My mother makes a chicken dish thing and there's always a really aweful taste off a few mouthfuls that reminds me of cleaning fluids, I'm pretty confident that she doesnt actually put cleaning fluids in it though, so maybe theres are combinations of ingredients that give a similar taste.
    But then again mate, you never know. Are you pulling your weight around the house? :D

;-phobos-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭mocar

thanks lads,
    just finished a meal in supermacs.....
    my mate was being served in maccers in the airport when the fire alarm went off and the fire screen shot down and nearly chopped his arms off..... More dangerous to health than a few pubic hairs????
    mo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Perhaps she cleans the plates with domestos :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

actually had some chips from sewermac's last night :( i had 3 of them and has to stop..they tasted REALLY bad a really strong acrid taste :( was going to complain only i was at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

yep that food that we got at the boards beer made me puke like no other ... god damb you logic ... was nice tho ... had some stomack cramps ...

... could of been the beer tho ?

on a small note flamegrill makes brillent food

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Qualm

on a small note flamegrill makes brillent food

As a regular at Chez Flamegrill, I can say that i totalleh agree :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Zyox

Originally posted by The Gopher

My blue bunned burger incident was in an Uncle Sams in Cavan-i didnt mention it as i thought none of you wouldve heard of it.That place used to be filthy but i think theyre improving now[eu law has probably made everywhere need to improve].

I'm from Cavan and eat there maybe twice in ten years. Never really heard any complaints at all apart from them being open after pub hours and causing drunks to hang about town causing damage to shop fronts etc.

Place is a bit of a hole too. Uncle Sam's is damn bad too ;)

Bleurgh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 875 ✭✭✭EvilGeorge

Not related to bad food but I remember being in MacDonalds adn there was a bloke at the counter who picked up a burger and took it out of the wrapper (think he paid for it) shouted murders as loud as he could and ran out of the building - great the way they do live shows :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Feckless Rogue

I got a Whopper with a large bite out of it in BK in Cork, but way more recently...

On Saturday night/Sunday morning at bout 3 or 4am me & a few pals stopped by for a bite at Charlie Chang's on Dame St, where while queueing I clearly saw one of the cooks sneeze into his hand, then reach into a bucket and pick out a big ol' handful of green peppers which he put straight into a serving carton.

Ok it's not maggots but ffs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Yesterday in Burger king in Birmingham Airport, they ran out of burgers. Hardly amusing but kind of ironic, being called Burger king and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Used to work in a Coleslaw factory in Chapelizoid yrs ago and they had the Lettuce order for Mc D ,i know where all those maggots came from and caterpillars.
    Did you know if you have 20 heads of lettuce 10 are off and 10 are fresh if you mangle them all up into a shredder they cant be told apart.
    The owner was at this all the time, we sent out some sick stuff.
    Once a pallet of tinned fruits fell off a boat at the docks and never one to see a bargain he bought the lot of them they were in the sea that long the cans were rusted.
    There was lot more that i seen that was sick ,eventually he lost most of his Dublin orders and moved to Ashbounre and went bankrupt.

But there a lot more like him and just cos you get somfin nasty in MC D or others doesnt mean it came from them.

Kdja

Originally posted by Dave
    Yesterday in Burger king in Birmingham Airport, they ran out of burgers. Hardly amusing but kind of ironic, being called Burger king and all.

Reminds me of a tv show i saw a few weeks where a man is ordering from a fast food chicken resturent kind of modeled on KFC.
    Worker-Sir im afriad were out of chicken.
    Customer-How can you be out of chicken?How can a restaruent called the Chicken Shed be out of chicken?
    Worker-Whaddya expect us to be out of?Pizza???!!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Harmo

The most ive got has been a hair in my mc donalds chips nothin as bad as worms i hope :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

a mate of mine will never get a burger with pickles. He used to work in BK and he walked into the store-room one day to find one of his co-workers taking a piss into the jar. He claims everything else is grand because of the way that it is packed, but the pickles are a major no-no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭phaxx

Originally posted by Lex_Diamonds
    Its the small places that would have problems.

I'm reminded of that small dodgy looking chipper beside mordeth's place...

As for earwigs and so on, I found a dead one in some broccoli once, but it was all fresh from the grandfather's garden so that hardly counts. :)

Cold chips once in Eddie Rockets... that's about the worst I've had. :) (that I've known about)

Oh, a friend got some "spicy buffalo chicken wings" at eddies and it had a few feathers on it. Yum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭Lolo

Originally posted by Rabies
    a few years ago my brother and i were sitting down eating a bowl of cereal (COCO POPS) , i had finished my bowl and my brother was still munching away on his.
    when he looked in to the bowl there was an earwig swimming around in his cereal.

I'd a similar experience with Shredded Wheat when I was a kid - we'd been away on holidays and a colony of earwigs had set up camp in one of our cupboards. When we shook the SW out of the box, it was crawling with the things. Haven't been able to eat them since, especially the wee ones with raisins in them :D

I worked for a summer in Burgerland (RIP) on O'Connell Street (do they still have Burgerlands in Cork?), and I must say I never saw anything dodgy going on. The occasional hair might slip in but the girls weren't even allowed to wear makeup in case it flaked off into the food.

I found a worm in my salad in the West Coast Coffee Co on Georges Street, but at least it was dead, and very clean - looked like it had been washed with the lettuce (!). But being a strict veggie, that's not any more gross to me than finding a piece of ham on my plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

The Good: Zaytoon, Porterhouse

The Bad: McDonalds, BK, Eddie Rockets for sloooow service

The Ugly: A woman in the US went into BK and got a chicken flamer sandwich thingy. Specifically asked for NO mayo, get the chicken flamer, back to her car, begins eating, finds all this white stuff in it once she bites down, say ick, and wonders whether to go back with it.
    eats about half of it then get severe stomach cramps and wretching, leaves the rest on the car floor, while phoning for ambulance.

Ambulance guys ask what shes eaten, she say the chicken flamer, they take it and do some tests,

it turns out the piece of chicken had a cancerous lump on it, which when cooked meant that she bit into a pus-laden piece of chicken, and that the mayo in her sandsich wasn't mayo after all,

enjoy your dinner tonight everyone!

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Originally posted by The_Bullman
    a mate of mine will never get a burger with pickles. He used to work in BK and he walked into the store-room one day to find one of his co-workers taking a piss into the jar.

Oh, I've a MUCH worse one than that for you. I've heard this from several people, including those who worked there, that a guy was caught **** in the storeroom or something in Supermacs in Portlaoise several years ago and then proceeded to go and serve up burgers WITHOUT WASHING HIS HANDS AFTERWARDS! I'm f**king serious. In fact, its become a bit of a joke now here in Portlaoise in that everybody says things like "Don't get a burger out of Supermacs because that's not mayonaisse they put on it!" lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Originally posted by lafortezza

it turns out the piece of chicken had a cancerous lump on it, which when cooked meant that she bit into a pus-laden piece of chicken, and that the mayo in her sandsich wasn't mayo after all,

enjoy your dinner tonight everyone!

Thanks.
    Getting a bit of jiz would be bad, but that's worse in my book. Pure poison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭TheIceMaker

I know its not fast food, but my friend found a ladybird in her tube of smarties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

I think in this day and age, with the info that is out there about fast food, u would have to be pretty desperate to eat it :rolleyes: . I think i would actually rather go hungry than eat anything that came out of macdonalds, its horrible :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Loobz

I tend not to go to ANY fast food chain for grub. Actually I dont go at all.
    Eurosaver menu my ass. They are not selling it for that price cos they are nice. Its cos all the ingredients are bottom of the barrel sh!te.

When I am in a chipper I keep a close eye on my order as its cooked, start to finish. Its just something I started doing subconciously. But when Im out on the beer, I find that difficult to accomplish. :p

I was in a chipper in Carrick-on-Suir 2 weeks ago. I got a Chip, Curry dip and a Half Pounder. The chips were ok, burger was crap cos the bun was soaked in both steam and grease. The curry sauce tasted like slightly curry flavoured chalk paste.
    My gf ordered a chicken burger meal at the same time as me. I was finished mine so she went up and the girl handed her a chicken burger. My gf said, 'No, a chicken burger meal'. The assistant went off to put on chips that took 10 mins to cook.
    During our 40 minute stay at the place, no less than 3 people all had complaints ranging from mixed up orders to half frozen pizzas. Filthy knackers the lot of em. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

I know its not fast food, but my friend found a ladybird in her tube of smarties

You brought up a 3 year old conversation to say that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

be this a lesson to you all

fast food is ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

One of the worst places I've come across has to be Abrakebabra in Donnybrook Village.

Saw the guy behind the counter standing up on a surface where he prepares food, in filthy boots!! Then went about chopping some chicken on the same spot!

God knows what the dirty pig's been waking in!! GrRrRrrRRrrrrrrrrrrRRR!!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

And there was me looking forward to my monthly takeway tonight. Jaysus :eek: