Cockney Rhyming Slang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Skin and blister - Sister
    "Did ye get yer rock and roll?" - did you get yer hole?
    Tommy tank - y'know
    Pedal and cranker - y'know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

tbh I've never heard this used in ireland, pretty surprised to see a thread on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Brad pitt - S**t
    apple tart - fart
    hit and miss - piss
    mae west - best
    pedal and crank - w**k
    dog and bone - phone
    donald trump - dump
    damien duff - m**f

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭swalsh

The lads in the Ross O Carroll-Kelly books use rhyming slang alot for example

Peter Pan--- tan
    Boat race--- face
    Britney or britney spears--- beers
    swiss---hole, in that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Are you lot taking the hit and miss. Would never use slang myself.
    It's a load of old Barry white, and anyone who says any different is
    a pedal and cranker.
    If anyone uses slang around me they'll get such a kick in the rock an roll
    they wont be able to apple tart or take a Donald Trump for a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Jimmy floyd = W**k (Jimmy floyd hasslebank)
    Chickens neck = Cheque

One i use with the missus.
    "I've got a BK love", meaning i'm looking for cuddle
    BK= Burger King= Home of the Whopper. You get me:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Jamey

Some local guy told me yesterday to 'watch the Highland Jig on your man' as another guy with a wig walked past!

A favourite here is "What's the Kenny Gory?', Kenneth Gory being a local lad who works in Super Valu :P

Dun laoire wrote:
    Jimmy floyd = W**k (Jimmy floyd hasslebank)
    Chickens neck = Cheque

One i use with the missus.
    "I've got a BK love", meaning i'm looking for cuddle
    BK= Burger King= Home of the Whopper. You get me:D

BK=Burger King= Home of the Whopper=I've got a Whopper.
    or simply
    BK=Big K*ck:D

Del boy called a guy who couldn't father a child a Jaffa (seedless)
    Take a jack and jill (pill)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

one i would use now and again........... your'e have a Bubble.........Bubble bath = Laugh..... there are probably a few others but can't think now...........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,810 ✭✭✭deisemum

would you adam and eve it, believe it. I occasionally use this one.

Tom and dick, sick

To go for a gypsy's or gypsy's kiss, p*ss

to go for a burst on the banjo

I lived in the east end of London for years and heard quiet a few of those already mentioned from the blokes I worked with but have forgotten most of them now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,827 ✭✭✭Charlie

I think Irish people, in particular Dublin males from aged 16-30 have there own form of rhyming slang, unrelated to the cockney form. One of my friends will coin a phrase and then most of us use it without even realising. Newest one is Peter Crouch for couch. All time favourite is bunz for money. Bunsen burner nice little earner ala David Brent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

gemma hussey= ahem
    tin roofer = spoofer
    billy barry/cash n carry= marry
    daniel day = luas
    rythym n blues = shoes
    rocknroll= dole
    jackpalance/southoffrance= dance
    garden hose=nose
    napper tandy= ehhh head :confused:
    jackanory=story

Dubs definitely make up rhyming slang and word plays all the time. Culchie types might be a bit too dull to manage it though. And whoever said jo maxi was doing the rounds before the RTE kids show is talking outta their swiss imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Archeron

The only ones I've ever used are "cashing a chicken" (chickens neck, cheque) or having a nice cup of Rosie (Rosie Lee, Tea)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think Irish people, in particular Dublin males from aged 16-30 have there own form of rhyming slang
    Yeah, figures. Probably have been over to London and came back well impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭exCrumlinBoyo

When I lived back home in Crumlin Dublin, I used various ones a lot. I’m going for a hit and miss or a barry white or I am heading for a Mac **** after eating MacDonald’s.

My favorite one I used was in reply to something I did not like. Go ask me swiss roll… Go ask me hole….. Swiss Roll I like.

Living here in the states I will throw out that I am going for a hit and miss and a barry white and if the trouble and strife calls me on the dog and bone tell her I am having a mac ****… They think I am gone crazy…

Go ask me swiss roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭uncle ernie

tom kite = sh*te
    brown bread = dead
    ham shank...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Sp@rtacus

I hit the basement for a barry, then had a quick dickie and a chaz. I lashed some gel in the barnet and threw on me new bucket, whistle and rhythms. I stuck some giros in the @rse sky and caught the Huey into town to meet me chinas for a few scoops in our favourite Battler. I met a girl at the bar who wasn’t the mae… she had a cracking set of top tens alright, but her Brendan was in ribbons. The goggles went on after a few more britneys though, so off I went with her for an oul Jack Palance, a ruby then a schnakey joer home to get her in the Jeyes and have me Nat King.

Basement (Jaxx): le jacksers
    Dickie (Dower): Shower
    Chaz (& Dave): Shave
    Barnet (Fair); Hair
    Bucket (of dirt): Shirt
    Whistle (and Flute): Suit
    Rhythm (& Blues): Shoes
    Giros: Euros
    Sky (Rocket): Pocket
    Heuy: Luas (..and the News)
    China (& Plates): Mates
    Battler(Battle Cruiser): Boozer
    Mae (West): Best
    Top Tens(Top ten hits): Her tatties
    Bredan(Grace): Face
    Ribbons: Resembled one that perhaps had been set alight then extinguished with the use of a 9-iron
    Britneys: Beers
    Jack Palance: Dance
    Ruby Murray: Curry
    Jeyes(Fluid): Nude
    Nat King(Cole): Hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭sturgo

Tom Hank
    Tommy The Tank
    J. Arthur Rank
    Peddle & Crank
    Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

Barney - Barney Ruble - Trouble :D

Dublin spire (dire):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭stooge

Sp@rtacus wrote:
    I hit the basement for a barry, then had a quick dickie and a chaz. I lashed some gel in the barnet and threw on me new bucket, whistle and rhythms. I stuck some giros in the @rse sky and caught the Huey into town to meet me chinas for a few scoops in our favourite Battler. I met a girl at the bar who wasn’t the mae… she had a cracking set of top tens alright, but her Brendan was in ribbons. The goggles went on after a few more britneys though, so off I went with her for an oul Jack Palance, a ruby then a schnakey joer home to get her in the Jeyes and have me Nat King.

:D brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

jack n jills - pills
    Jo maxi - taxi
    gone for a kit kat - taking a break
    jack-a nory- story
    Flunchy - a mixture between feeling 'm'eh' and being indecisive
    hibernators - bugs, spiders
    your having a bubble-having a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭daosulli

Loup da Loup = Soup
    Dickie Rocks = Socks
    one's & two's = Shoes
    Scobby Doo's = Shoes
    Jack n Gill = Bill

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,462 ✭✭✭fitz

I've been using Jacob's for years. (Jacob's Cream Crackers).
    You can call a chav a Jacob without him realising what you mean.
    Second layer slang ftw.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Used to be so confused when I start working here as boss uses it quite a bit with the lads

-Is that a new tin ya have on?

-Did you get a chicken off that shop?

Eventually I understood it :D

Would use Mae West & ruby meself as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

shane86 wrote:
    re the Pete Tong one I was suprised at one of the older cops on the Bill using this once. I didnt think house DJs and cockney men in their 50s really moved in the same circles.

EXACTLY!!!

I remember that episode...don't watch it nowadays, but I remember thinking 'Jack Meadows, gruff yorkshire cop, saying 'it's all gone Pete Tong'...surely not'

oh - and somebody else said 'bubble' for laugh...AFAIK, you could use that as short for bubble bath, but most folk'd think you meant a Greek person, as in 'bubble and squeak'

BTW...I've heard cockneys (well, Danny Baldwin in Coronation St) use terms like 'Harris' or ''arris' (that's quote mark, apostrophe, a, r, r, i, s quote mark) to describe ones posterior. Is that more a corruption of the word 'arse' than a rhyming slang thing, does anybody know.

Similarly, i've heard the word 'joanna' used to refer to a piano. Can't think what the link is, unless it's a play on a bad pronunciation of, er, piano?

thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Sp@rtacus

...BTW...I've heard cockneys (well, Danny Baldwin in Coronation St) use terms like 'Harris' or ''arris' (that's quote mark, apostrophe, a, r, r, i, s quote mark) to describe ones posterior. Is that more a corruption of the word 'arse' than a rhyming slang thing, does anybody know...thoughts?

Yep, "aris" is slang for @rse...

Aris = Aristotle
    Aristotle = Bottle
    Bottle & Glass = Arse

AFAIK, thats where the expression "to lose your bottle" ie: to lose your @rse, comes from.

Never hear of Joanna/Piano.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

On Bo Selecta the other day Pete Doherty talked of getting arrested by "the Rodders"

Grandad and Uncle Albert must be spinning in their graves to find that Rodney Trotter=Copper :eek: :D

Ocasionally use Dot Cotton (rotten) As in "ah his bird is a bit Dot Cotton in fairness"

Dublin has its own unique style of word association, kind of rhyming slang but not at the same time e.g. the Huey Luas, a Ronnie (Ronnie Drew, usually to describe a girl who has a hairy lip)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

shane86 wrote:
    On Bo Selecta the other day Pete Doherty talked of getting arrested by "the Rodders"

Grandad and Uncle Albert must be spinning in their graves to find that Rodney Trotter=Copper :eek: :D

Ocasionally use Dot Cotton (rotten) As in "ah his bird is a bit Dot Cotton in fairness"

Dublin has its own unique style of word association, kind of rhyming slang but not at the same time e.g. the Huey Luas, a Ronnie (Ronnie Drew, usually to describe a girl who has a hairy lip)
    thats an insult all on its own pmsl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

You sure it ain't getting arrested by 'the Rozzers'

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_slang_terms_for_police_officers