Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cockney Rhyming Slang

• 08-11-2006 3:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭

It's great isnt it, but do many people actually use it?

For instance, apparently Taxi's are widely referred to as Jo-ers due to the RTE tv programme in the early 1990s called Jo-Maxi. I've heard jo-maxi but never jo-ers or joeys'.

Also, whats peoples favourite rhyming slang, whether cockney,made-up or otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

don't use it as i'm irish. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

sad as it is i find the rhyming slang in the Ross O Carroll Kelly books very very funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭SmoothyG

I would use butchers a lot

ie take a butchers at that
    (for those not familiar, butchers hook = look)

and many many might not know that the term "loosing your bottle" comes from rhyming slang although i cant remember the root any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

You'll find they were called Joe Maxis long before RTE called a kids show by the name.

Since I've let my hair grow I've been referring to it as a Barnet. I can't think of any other CRS I use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭lacuna

My old boss used to use it...generally when he was taking the piss out of someone or just messing around. I can't remember most of it now though, which is a pity 'cause he came out with some gems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

One I came up with was 'Central Bank' for ****, I liked it 'cause it worked both ways, in that I call people that hang around Central Bank ****, and it makes more sense now...

Also, if someone is in the toilet for longer than the usual time, you ask them if they've had a Central, and only a select few of us know it's funny. Arrogant and elitist, yes, but amusing at the same time.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Tin of Fruit = Suit
    Paddy Power = Shower
    Dog and Bone = Phone
    Jack n Jill = The Pill

Sorry can't think of any more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

"Me old China" - China + Plate = Mate

Apples and pears = Stairs

Trouble and Strife = Wife

Brahms and Liszt = Pissed (a bit posh for the east end that one).

Sweeney Todd = Flying Squad (shortened to Sweeney)

J Arthur Rank = ****

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I was chatting to a mate the other day and he told me that he "got us some Lemonys for the game" (Reading V Spurs). Work it out. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭conical

Would love to read more of this thread, but have to go for a Barry White

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Lemony Snickets = tickets.

Nice one.

lemony(s) + snicket = Cricket! :p

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

conical wrote:
    Would love to read more of this thread, but have to go for a Barry White

Me too, but I'm going to stick on my tennis & head to the battle for a Nelson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

Cremo wrote:
    don't use it as i'm irish. :p
    It was created by the Irish in London to disguise what they were talking about.

Joers comes from jo-maxi it is a second deriviative of the slang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭stooge

El Pr0n wrote:
    Also, if someone is in the toilet for longer than the usual time, you ask them if they've had a Central, and only a select few of us know it's funny. Arrogant and elitist, yes, but amusing at the same time.

:D nice

a few others

harry huss = bus
    iron rod = prod (as in "give him and iron rod to wake him up")
    carsten janker(former german soccer player) = w****r

(Its all gone) Pete Tong = Wrong

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Vegeta wrote:
    sad as it is i find the rhyming slang in the Ross O Carroll Kelly books very very funny

Yep gotta admit I loved it in the latest book too :) although I do think Irish people using it is a bit sad.

A friend of mine at home goes way over board with it:

"Lads, someone get on the dog and bone and call a Jo-maxi, I'm going for a hit an'miss and a pony, I'll be out in a Liffey..." :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Here's a good site to while away a few hours on this subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭stooge

I was surprised at the origins of 'Berk' and 'Cobblers'

Berk = Berkeley Hunt = C**t

and

Cobblers = Cobblers Awls = Balls

Not just as innocent as I first thought :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭puffmullett

Jeyes Fluid: Nude
    Bugs Bunny: Money
    Cream Cookies: Bookies
    Inspector Morse: Horse

So heading down the cream cookies to put a bit of bugs bunny on an inspector morse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I never really heard it spoken in Ireland. Perhaps by some english guy over on stag night. Is it spoken in the pale?

Oh, trouble and strife I said on occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

"That's a fine set of Bristols there madam"

Bristol City's = Titties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Katykaboom

cheese and rice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Creamers- Knackers

from Cream Crackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

What about Del Boy's two common ones:

"C'mon Rodney, this place is a mess. You get out the J Edgar while I get a Ruby".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

What about Del Boy's two common ones:

"C'mon Rodney, this place is a mess. You get out the J Edgar while I get a Ruby".

Or how about him trying to cheer Rodney up after his plans tro hit it big time musically failed

"C`mon Rodders, ya dont wanna be gettin into that music lark. I mean, alot of them promoters, managers, theyre all a bit Stoke-on-Trent. Yid wanna watch your old deaf and dumb in that game son!" :D

Few I or people I know would use

Rockford Files- Piles "these rockfords are killing me"
    Shes up the Damien- a relatively new Irish one :)
    Mickey Monk- "Id Mickey Monk all over her" * Yeaaahhhh :D
    Tom Hanks- y`know
    Cream Crackers- Knacks
    Barry White

re the Pete Tong one I was suprised at one of the older cops on the Bill using this once. I didnt think house DJs and cockney men in their 50s really moved in the same circles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

shane86 wrote:
    Or how about him trying to cheer Rodney up after his plans tro hit it big time musically failed

"C`mon Rodders, ya dont wanna be gettin into that music lark. I mean, alot of them promoters, managers, theyre all a bit Stoke-on-Trent. Yid wanna watch your old deaf and dumb in that game son!"
    LOL :D:D I don't remember that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

stooge wrote:
    It's great isnt it, but do many people actually use it?

i don't. i think it is quite stupid myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

Londoners, black-cab drivers and east end types do, never heard an irish person use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

I live in Greenwich and very very rarely hear any, and its usually just 'trouble' or 'bone' .... a lot more likely to hear 'Corrrrr' and blimey which I thought was only ever spoken in Beano comics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Skin and blister - Sister
    "Did ye get yer rock and roll?" - did you get yer hole?
    Tommy tank - y'know
    Pedal and cranker - y'know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

tbh I've never heard this used in ireland, pretty surprised to see a thread on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Brad pitt - S**t
    apple tart - fart
    hit and miss - piss
    mae west - best
    pedal and crank - w**k
    dog and bone - phone
    donald trump - dump
    damien duff - m**f

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭swalsh

The lads in the Ross O Carroll-Kelly books use rhyming slang alot for example

Peter Pan--- tan
    Boat race--- face
    Britney or britney spears--- beers
    swiss---hole, in that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Are you lot taking the hit and miss. Would never use slang myself.
    It's a load of old Barry white, and anyone who says any different is
    a pedal and cranker.
    If anyone uses slang around me they'll get such a kick in the rock an roll
    they wont be able to apple tart or take a Donald Trump for a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Jimmy floyd = W**k (Jimmy floyd hasslebank)
    Chickens neck = Cheque

One i use with the missus.
    "I've got a BK love", meaning i'm looking for cuddle
    BK= Burger King= Home of the Whopper. You get me:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Jamey

Some local guy told me yesterday to 'watch the Highland Jig on your man' as another guy with a wig walked past!

A favourite here is "What's the Kenny Gory?', Kenneth Gory being a local lad who works in Super Valu :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Dun laoire wrote:
    Jimmy floyd = W**k (Jimmy floyd hasslebank)
    Chickens neck = Cheque

One i use with the missus.
    "I've got a BK love", meaning i'm looking for cuddle
    BK= Burger King= Home of the Whopper. You get me:D

BK=Burger King= Home of the Whopper=I've got a Whopper.
    or simply
    BK=Big K*ck:D

Del boy called a guy who couldn't father a child a Jaffa (seedless)
    Take a jack and jill (pill)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

one i would use now and again........... your'e have a Bubble.........Bubble bath = Laugh..... there are probably a few others but can't think now...........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

would you adam and eve it, believe it. I occasionally use this one.

Tom and dick, sick

To go for a gypsy's or gypsy's kiss, p*ss

to go for a burst on the banjo

I lived in the east end of London for years and heard quiet a few of those already mentioned from the blokes I worked with but have forgotten most of them now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

I think Irish people, in particular Dublin males from aged 16-30 have there own form of rhyming slang, unrelated to the cockney form. One of my friends will coin a phrase and then most of us use it without even realising. Newest one is Peter Crouch for couch. All time favourite is bunz for money. Bunsen burner nice little earner ala David Brent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

gemma hussey= ahem
    tin roofer = spoofer
    billy barry/cash n carry= marry
    daniel day = luas
    rythym n blues = shoes
    rocknroll= dole
    jackpalance/southoffrance= dance
    garden hose=nose
    napper tandy= ehhh head :confused:
    jackanory=story

Dubs definitely make up rhyming slang and word plays all the time. Culchie types might be a bit too dull to manage it though. And whoever said jo maxi was doing the rounds before the RTE kids show is talking outta their swiss imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

The only ones I've ever used are "cashing a chicken" (chickens neck, cheque) or having a nice cup of Rosie (Rosie Lee, Tea)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think Irish people, in particular Dublin males from aged 16-30 have there own form of rhyming slang
    Yeah, figures. Probably have been over to London and came back well impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭exCrumlinBoyo

When I lived back home in Crumlin Dublin, I used various ones a lot. I’m going for a hit and miss or a barry white or I am heading for a Mac **** after eating MacDonald’s.

My favorite one I used was in reply to something I did not like. Go ask me swiss roll… Go ask me hole….. Swiss Roll I like.

Living here in the states I will throw out that I am going for a hit and miss and a barry white and if the trouble and strife calls me on the dog and bone tell her I am having a mac ****… They think I am gone crazy…

Go ask me swiss roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭uncle ernie

tom kite = sh*te
    brown bread = dead
    ham shank...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Sp@rtacus

I hit the basement for a barry, then had a quick dickie and a chaz. I lashed some gel in the barnet and threw on me new bucket, whistle and rhythms. I stuck some giros in the @rse sky and caught the Huey into town to meet me chinas for a few scoops in our favourite Battler. I met a girl at the bar who wasn’t the mae… she had a cracking set of top tens alright, but her Brendan was in ribbons. The goggles went on after a few more britneys though, so off I went with her for an oul Jack Palance, a ruby then a schnakey joer home to get her in the Jeyes and have me Nat King.

Basement (Jaxx): le jacksers
    Dickie (Dower): Shower
    Chaz (& Dave): Shave
    Barnet (Fair); Hair
    Bucket (of dirt): Shirt
    Whistle (and Flute): Suit
    Rhythm (& Blues): Shoes
    Giros: Euros
    Sky (Rocket): Pocket
    Heuy: Luas (..and the News)
    China (& Plates): Mates
    Battler(Battle Cruiser): Boozer
    Mae (West): Best
    Top Tens(Top ten hits): Her tatties
    Bredan(Grace): Face
    Ribbons: Resembled one that perhaps had been set alight then extinguished with the use of a 9-iron
    Britneys: Beers
    Jack Palance: Dance
    Ruby Murray: Curry
    Jeyes(Fluid): Nude
    Nat King(Cole): Hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

Tom Hank
    Tommy The Tank
    J. Arthur Rank
    Peddle & Crank
    Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP