New fireworks fines of €10,000, will they stop firework mayhem this halloween?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Diogenes wrote:
    Simply solution why aren't there ten cops on henry street for the month leading up to all this. But ten cops in the run up would do damage limitation.While the sellers could move on, and seeing as the people who buy fireworks aren't exactly drug buying networking lunactics, it makes sense to scatter the buyers as the users don't know where to picke up fireworks.

Seems like a bit of common sense.
    Nonsense. People travel to newry to get them and they are sold in every school in ireland , kids know who can get them in every neighbourhood etc so your suggestion would be futile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

"We tried to apprehend them, but they just kept throwing bangers at us." :eek: :(

Way to tackle the problem arse-about-face as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

Stekelly wrote:
    The sooner they start imposing fines for minors offences on their parents, the sooner they stop commiting them. Theres no punishment like a good ass whupping from your parents.
    Well said. A friend of mine was telling me that in China if you commit a crime your parents go to the western farms prison with you, thats why they put manners on there kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I've noticed a few people mentioning that its always the guards with families having the biggest fireworks displays, as they're the ones confinscating all those fireworks!

But its probably cheaper for them than having to dispose of them safely...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

de5p0i1er wrote:
    Well said. A friend of mine was telling me that in China if you commit a crime your parents go to the western farms prison with you, thats why they put manners on there kids.
    Yep. And you won't find any fireworks in China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Scumbags could care less about laws, fines and the guards, they do what they want, and they get away with it because they're under 18. How many of them have had over a dozen warnings? I've heard of some with more, and nothing happens, this will change nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

I've noticed a few people mentioning that its always the guards with families having the biggest fireworks displays, as they're the ones confinscating all those fireworks!

But its probably cheaper for them than having to dispose of them safely...
    True, perfect example being the family living next to me, either the Garda are getting a bonus which just happens to be in time for buying them or the real reason these fines don't get imposed is because the evidence never makes it to the trial date.

I love the fact that there is a ninja star on the wepons amnesty posters.
    They are illegal weapons, 3 or more points on a throwing star and it's illegal last I checked.

what if it only has 2 points?

¬_¬

Then they're legal to posses, buy, sell or manufacture, still not something you should be carrying around without good, and legal, reason to do so though.
    Sure the thing I find funny about the amnesty is the fact that they're looking to get people to hand in knives too, of which the standard ones of which aren't illegal, only ones designed to be concealed and quickly deployed (flick knives, belt knives, gravity blades, push knives, etc...).:rolleyes:

God, ninja stars... they were so cool in the 80's... I didn't think they were still around... right up there with knuckle dusters and survival knives. :D :rolleyes:
    farohar wrote:
    They are illegal weapons, 3 or more points on a throwing star and it's illegal last I checked.
    So they're 100% illegal to buy/own/etc?
    I was thinking it'd be a bit of a laugh to have them for target practice around the garden, but the prospect of having it fly off over the wall and take the nextdoor neighbours kids eye out kind of ruined the idea for me. :eek:

God, ninja stars... they were so cool in the 80's... I didn't think they were still around... right up there with knuckle dusters and survival knives. :D :rolleyes:

So they're 100% illegal to buy/own/etc?
    I was thinking it'd be a bit of a laugh to have them for target practice around the garden, but the prospect of having it fly off over the wall and take the nextdoor neighbours kids eye out kind of ruined the idea for me. :eek:

12.—(1) Any person who—

( a ) manufactures, sells or hires, or offers or exposes for sale or hire, or by way of business repairs or modifies, or
    ( b ) has in his possession for the purpose of sale or hire or for 3 the purpose of repair or modification by way of business, or
    ( c ) puts on display, or lends or gives to any other person,
    a weapon to which this section applies shall be guilty of an offence.

and from the list of weapons it applies to:
    ( i ) the weapon sometimes known as a shuriken, shaken or death star, being a hard non-flexible plate having three or more sharp radiating points and designed to be thrown;

http://193.178.1.79/ZZSI66Y1991.html
    http://193.178.1.79/ZZA12Y1990S12.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

farohar wrote:
    12.—(1) Any person who—

( a ) manufactures, sells or hires, or offers or exposes for sale or hire, or by way of business repairs or modifies, or
    ( b ) has in his possession for the purpose of sale or hire or for 3 the purpose of repair or modification by way of business, or
    ( c ) puts on display, or lends or gives to any other person,
    a weapon to which this section applies shall be guilty of an offence.

and from the list of weapons it applies to:
    ( i ) the weapon sometimes known as a shuriken, shaken or death star, being a hard non-flexible plate having three or more sharp radiating points and designed to be thrown;

http://193.178.1.79/ZZSI66Y1991.html
    http://193.178.1.79/ZZA12Y1990S12.html

heh the funny thing is a shuriken only has two points, anymore and its a shaken, try take that to the high court though

And my imperial death star was already half built when that legislation was passed :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Bambi wrote:
    heh the funny thing is a shuriken only has two points, anymore and its a shaken, try take that to the high court though

And my imperial death star was already half built when that legislation was passed :mad:

Was it fully operational by the time your friends arrived?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,077 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Doubt it will make a "real" difference. Oh, in the States during the 4th of July (their independence day), far too many people discharge their guns into the air with live ammo. I guess they have not heard of gravity?

And I guess you've never heard of friction?

astrofool wrote:
    Still, the terminal velocity would still be enough to take someones eye out if they happened to be looking up at the time of the unfortunate impact :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Yeah its mad. I'm studying over in England at the moment and we got an Aldi letter in the door and they where advertising all their fireworks.

astrofool wrote:

Whoa, whoa, whoa!!! I seen an epsiode of CSI where this exact thing happend, so I condsider my self an expert on this matter.

Discharging a firearm into the air is not only cool it is dangerously cool

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I live in finglas for my sins and i hafta say the amount of bangers and stuff going off has been but a small fraction of previous years.Usually they start up at the beginning of september and continue right through till halloween night when it sounds like a bad day in sarajevo.I can honestly say i've heard almost none this year and i suspect this has to do 1)with the constant raiding of dunsink halting site and 2)the fact that fireworks are no longer on sale all along the border road leading up to newry.As with previous years,however,i'll be locking my wheelie bin up and taping up the letterbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Whoa, whoa, whoa!!! I seen an epsiode of CSI where this exact thing happend, so I condsider my self an expert on this matter.
    Ha.. were they investigating the death of Yosemite Sam in that episode?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

Wiki- "In "Bullets Fired Up", for example, they tested if a bullet fired straight up can fall and kill the shooter or innocent bystanders. They gave the myth all three designations: "Busted", "Plausible", and "Confirmed". This urban legend was "Busted", because bullets fired straight up will tumble to the ground at a non-lethal velocity; "Plausible", because a shooter is much more likely to fire at a slight angle, wherein the bullet will maintain its ballistic trajectory and be potentially lethal when it comes back down; and "Confirmed", because there are many eyewitness accounts of falling bullets killing people. In fact, many municipalities have laws explicitly prohibiting firing weapons into the air for that reason."

Anyways........

The "hilarious" thing is, I live not 500m from a garda station and there are as I speak, fireworks going off right over said station, right where I live and all the surrounding areas, have been for over a week. Nothing at all happening about it as always (Ive been here 10 years!).

B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Degsy wrote:
    I live in finglas for my sins and i hafta say the amount of bangers and stuff going off has been but a small fraction of previous years.Usually they start up at the beginning of september and continue right through till halloween night when it sounds like a bad day in sarajevo.I can honestly say i've heard almost none this year and i suspect this has to do 1)with the constant raiding of dunsink halting site and 2)the fact that fireworks are no longer on sale all along the border road leading up to newry.As with previous years,however,i'll be locking my wheelie bin up and taping up the letterbox.

Have you confidence in the gardai enforcing this new law so you wont live in terror anymore ? :)

Yeh, it seems to be different areas which have been quieter and noisier than last year.
    Is there anyone on boards who uses fireworks on a regular basis 'scared' by this law and will change their ways? (reveal yourselves, ya can afford €40k fine :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I haven't heard a firework go off in three or four days now, whether its to do with the new implications I don't know but it's great all the same :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

rb_ie wrote:
    I haven't heard a firework go off in three or four days now, whether its to do with the new implications I don't know but it's great all the same :D

Don't jinx it now. :) *as 50 bottlerockets are set off*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Yeah, I'm not afraid to say it, myself and my friends usually put on a garden display at a halloween for everyone, and no way in HELL are we going to stop just because a bunch of skangers are ruining it for everyone. It's not all that hard anyway - just go to Joansborough, there are about 4 shops there selling selection boxes and what not, then take a country road back to Dublin, and you're set. No way are you going to get busted if you only set them off on halloween night, there's far too many of them for the Gaurds to start stopping individuals, especially if the ones you lose are slightly less loud than others.

And besides, as far as I know, it's still illegal for the gaurds to come into your house while you're setting them off unless they have a warrant. Like I said, I think this law is mainly aimed at people who fire them out of traffic cones in estates and shove them through windows.

Don't even get me started on those utter ****s who tried to burn a dog on that Derry bonfire last year, all over the news for weeks :mad: :mad: :mad:

I don't smoke. Does anyone have a lighter I could borrow? Or maybe those cool things they use to light their Bar-B-Ques?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,161 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I hate them with a passion. Was on the bus home the other night and stopped at a stop just before the James Joyce bridge. Door opened and some knacker threw a banger ontot he bus. Went off just in front of everyone. Absolutely disgraceful. Someone could have been seriously hurt. They should be banned altogether and large fines handed out to anyone caught with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Xavi6 wrote:
    I hate them with a passion. Was on the bus home the other night and stopped at a stop just before the James Joyce bridge. Door opened and some knacker threw a banger ontot he bus. Went off just in front of everyone. Absolutely disgraceful. Someone could have been seriously hurt. They should be banned altogether and large fines handed out to anyone caught with them.

They are banned already for years hence the uncontrolled sale of them to dodgy characters every single Halloween by smugglers !
    Way to go would be to legalise them like in N.I. which should reduce the chances of kids/skangers getting their hands on those bangers in the first place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

Wow.. no one pops fireworks here on Halloween.. just 4th of July and New Year's.

Well they did "outlaw" the ones that shoot up in the air, but that didn't stop people from buying them illegally (from who knows where) and shooting them off. :rolleyes:

People will do what they will, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭nah_biy!

I got 8 sweet Roman Candles, for genuine fun, live in the country, won't harm anyone, would love to get the fine though, 'cos I bought them off travellers, that'd be an interesting court case... oh wait .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

You realize of course that this will drive everyone to Moore Street? Myself and my friends always get them up North (usually at Galaxy near Newry, don't know if that's still there this year) and we're not stupid enough to buy the crap ones in Dublin's Henry/Moore st area which go off in your hand and are homemade, etc etc etc

But others probably would. I can imagine some 12 year old kid, "Ah **** it's hard to get them in from the North now, we'll have to get them in Dublin instead", whereupon they go and buy them off some skanger who goes home loaded with cash, and the kids go home witbh fireworks which are extremely dodgy and fake.

What we need in this country are specific laws, IE, No fireworks after, say, 10PM, no fireworks higher than cat.3, only 18+ can buy them in the shops, and no unlisenced selling of fireworks (at markets, etc). Also, of course, no fireworks in a public place, with a heavy penalty if that one is broken.

This would allow people trying to hold display parties and so on to do so without having to buy crappy quality fireworks and prevent the annual barrage of bangers and screamers which goes on for about 3 months from the start os September...