Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New fireworks fines of €10,000, will they stop firework mayhem this halloween?

• 10-10-2006 6:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering, i read from a big govt sponsored advert in paper that new fines of €10,000 for possession and throwing of a firework(bangers, rockets etc) will be applied to offenders if they are caught:rolleyes:

Do you think that it will be a firework free halloween this year as people will be scared sh1tless at the thought of been caught with this new crackdown?:rolleyes:

PS - a banger just went off down the road as i posted this :)

Do you think the fireworks crackdown will stop the mayhem in the run up to halloween? 102 votes

Yes it will, €10k will 'hit' 'em hard
    0% 0 votes
    Dream on, not a hope it will be enforced and stop the mayhem
    2% 3 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    97% 99 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

so far i've heard 2 fireworks going off... one at 10AM for some reason. i somehow doubt this'll do anything...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

nope, how do you charge and fine a minor €10k?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Doubt it will stop it. Some is reading your post down the street OP. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I agree, very much doubt it will stop most people. That said, the ordinary decent families who get them to have displays in their back garden, during a halloween party etc. may stop, but I really doubt the skangers who import them and allow their kids to run around with them will pay any attention to it.

Would love to see it properly enforced though, fireworks on halloween that are used as a display don't bother me as theres generally precautions and safety measures put in place but its the little shíts going around the streets with them, throwing around bangers etc. that my problem lays with.

And don't even get me started about the sick f*cks who use them on animals.
    In conclusion, no, I doubt it'll have any major impact but sure we'll have to wait and see how seriously the Gardaí take it I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

faceman wrote:
    nope, how do you charge and fine a minor €10k?
    Aside from this law, as fireworks should be legal anyway. The sooner they start imposing fines for minors offences on theirparents, the sooner they stop commiting them. Theres no punishment like a good ass whupping from your parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

The €10,000 fines are for the sellers surely?

Although it's an improvment on the law a few years backwhere the maximum permissable fine was €6.35 for fireworks, under a law that admittedly did date back a fair bit.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Stekelly wrote:
    Aside from this law, as fireworks should be legal anyway. The sooner they start imposing fines for minors offences on theirparents, the sooner they stop commiting them. Theres no punishment like a good ass whupping from your parents.

ive never been convinced by the whole "fine the parents" argument. Im not saying not tryin it all, but where is the lesson for the guilty culprit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Mad Mike

Can't imagine that a big fine will deter your average juvenile but it might make smugglers think twice. I did get the impression that there were fewer fireworks last year than previously. Up until last year we had a re-enactment of the first battle of the Somme every night from the beginning of October. Last year the explosions were confined to the last two weeks of the month.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

faceman wrote:
    ive never been convinced by the whole "fine the parents" argument. Im not saying not tryin it all, but where is the lesson for the guilty culprit.

Quite simply... that should come from the parent. So, you arent so much punishing the child, as punishing the parent and thereby, indirectly, punishing the child. At least thats my view on the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Well it's taken me all of two minutes to read this thread and in that space of time, I've heard at least 10 bangers and a few screaming rockets going off both down the street in front of my house and to the street in the rear....those are the joys of council estate living though.

My cat is cowering under the bed....he hates the damn things.

The fines will do f*ck all...who's going to enforce them? The cops'll barely come out for joyriders lately....who excatly do you impose the fine on? I mean what one of the animals that find fireworks cool will have a bloody tenner let alone 10K for a fine? It'll go to court and they'll get a day's imprisonment in default which they won't do.
    You can't catch the importers by and large because they come from over the border. Also a lot of the travelling community involved in the sale and supply...when did you ever see them give a sh*t about laws and fines when there's easy money to be made?

The one thing that has quitened it down the last year is the outlawing of it in the North and in the UK...but border markets like Jonesboro are an alladin's cave of gunpowder treats and it only get's raided the odd time.
    ...and that's usually for DVDs and other counterfeit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

The €10,000 fines are for the sellers surely?
    Nope.
    If your caught in possession, igniting, throwing and with intent to sell or supply unlicensed fireworks, your liable for €10k fine on each count under the 'Criminal Justice Act 2006'

Only 1 voter confident so far that the new fines will act as a deterrent to the literally thousands of fireworks that go off!

At least when johnny scanger(no matter what age) in the area lets off a banger, the brave boys and girls in blue will haul the infringer before a judge and slap a €30k-€40k fine or 5 yrs jailtime, is that a tad over optimistic that there will be mass arrests in this crackdown? :):):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭fillmore jive

there were fireworks going off when i left the house this morning at 7.30AM! fine the whole lot of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

So in the north they're legal and in the south you can be fined 10K for having them, sounds sane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

Its laughable, purely a silly ploy to make it look like somthings being done. They will probably arrest two people then you will see no more about it.

This place (clondalkin) where I live, is really living up to its nickname tonight (Little Beirut). :(

My poor cat is so screwed up by it all, as I speak she is sleeping under the chair she normally sleeps on top of.

b

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Won't have a hope of stopping anything in coolock thats for sure. Its the start of the 2 months of fireworks and bonfires. Yay... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The 10k figure and blurbs are just all a big marketing pile of crap by the Government to make it look like their doing something about it.
    Like so many "laws" here, they'll just go unenforced as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

It hasn't stopped them so far...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭oRlyYaRly

It'd be great if it did, but it won't. Seriously, what the f*ck is the whole thrill behind setting off a few crap fireworks? Your "displays" are SH*T. Loud bangs ARE NOT INTERESTING. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I really hate this, I mean a few nights in the year, a few bangers going off. I mean how many people die from them, people blame grannys deaths from the things:rolleyes: You might have the odd spastic that holds a blackcat and gets the hand blowing off him.
    Maybe if they made them legal but had a strict law that dosent allow sales to minors, only adults could buy them and they were only sold for a week leading to halloween and maybe newyears eve. The government would get loads in tax and yet the fcukers are stll moaning!
    €10000 is too much for any fine never mind a few gay bangers.
    End of ramble:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

sounds like a law for the posh areas. im in clondalkin myself and cant see the gardai doing anything here. hell i rang em when a bunch of scumbags came into the estate nicking bins and setting em alight en mass in a field and the boys in blue never bothered their arse comming out to stop em so i cant see em enforcing this. sounds like more macdowelisms i.e write a law to look like your doing something, no matter how ridiculous or unenforceable, and forget about it

(by the way, heard 6 go off so far so thats what, sixty k at least? yeah, this'll work:rolleyes: )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭sonic juice

I hear fireworks and bangers going off everywhere buses, naked streets and public parks-I do'nt see nothing happening to the people who do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

humbert wrote:
    So in the north they're legal and in the south you can be fined 10K for having them, sounds sane.

yeah. imagine that. different laws in different countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Plug wrote:
    Maybe if they made them legal but had a strict law that dosent allow sales to minors, only adults could buy them and they were only sold for a week leading to halloween and maybe newyears eve. The government would get loads in tax and yet the fcukers are stll moaning!
    €10000 is too much for any fine never mind a few gay bangers.
    End of ramble:)

Surely they would be legalised all year if anything, take the emphasis off Halloween. The things would get boring then.

Oh btw, not a chance in hell that this law is getting enforced. Good luck Gardaí

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

ffs they go round door-to-door selling bangers and have been doing so for years. It goes to show how influential the gardai are.

Recently I remember walking down Henry St being offered fireworks left right & centre, then a garda van would appear and the sellers would leggit only to return 5mins later to resume their activities.

Such a crock of shit. More of the same this year I suspect :rolleyes::mad::rolleyes::mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Doubt it will make a "real" difference. Oh, in the States during the 4th of July (their independence day), far too many people discharge their guns into the air with live ammo. I guess they have not heard of gravity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Legalise like in UK to get rid of criminal element, collect taxes and reduce amount time they are sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Won't have a hope of stopping anything in coolock thats for sure. Its the start of the 2 months of fireworks and bonfires. Yay... :rolleyes:
    It's been fairly quiet so far though. But there was a bonfire lit in front of the gate of the building where I work this evening though... this is just the beginning... my next month in work will be like Assualt on Precinct 13...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Macker

Sounds a bit like the gun and knife amnesty , anybody know how many knifes and guns were handed in ,just Micky Mc dumb catering for the folks of D4 ,
    there's no way it can be policed

I love the fact that there is a ninja star on the wepons amnesty posters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Diogenes

Simply solution why aren't there ten cops on henry street for the month leading up to all this. But ten cops in the run up would do damage limitation.While the sellers could move on, and seeing as the people who buy fireworks aren't exactly drug buying networking lunactics, it makes sense to scatter the buyers as the users don't know where to picke up fireworks.

Seems like a bit of common sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Diogenes wrote:
    Simply solution why aren't there ten cops on henry street for the month leading up to all this. But ten cops in the run up would do damage limitation.While the sellers could move on, and seeing as the people who buy fireworks aren't exactly drug buying networking lunactics, it makes sense to scatter the buyers as the users don't know where to picke up fireworks.

Seems like a bit of common sense.
    Nonsense. People travel to newry to get them and they are sold in every school in ireland , kids know who can get them in every neighbourhood etc so your suggestion would be futile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

"We tried to apprehend them, but they just kept throwing bangers at us." :eek: :(

Way to tackle the problem arse-about-face as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

Stekelly wrote:
    The sooner they start imposing fines for minors offences on their parents, the sooner they stop commiting them. Theres no punishment like a good ass whupping from your parents.
    Well said. A friend of mine was telling me that in China if you commit a crime your parents go to the western farms prison with you, thats why they put manners on there kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I've noticed a few people mentioning that its always the guards with families having the biggest fireworks displays, as they're the ones confinscating all those fireworks!

But its probably cheaper for them than having to dispose of them safely...

de5p0i1er wrote:
    Well said. A friend of mine was telling me that in China if you commit a crime your parents go to the western farms prison with you, thats why they put manners on there kids.
    Yep. And you won't find any fireworks in China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Scumbags could care less about laws, fines and the guards, they do what they want, and they get away with it because they're under 18. How many of them have had over a dozen warnings? I've heard of some with more, and nothing happens, this will change nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

I've noticed a few people mentioning that its always the guards with families having the biggest fireworks displays, as they're the ones confinscating all those fireworks!

But its probably cheaper for them than having to dispose of them safely...
    True, perfect example being the family living next to me, either the Garda are getting a bonus which just happens to be in time for buying them or the real reason these fines don't get imposed is because the evidence never makes it to the trial date.

I love the fact that there is a ninja star on the wepons amnesty posters.
    They are illegal weapons, 3 or more points on a throwing star and it's illegal last I checked.

what if it only has 2 points?

¬_¬

Then they're legal to posses, buy, sell or manufacture, still not something you should be carrying around without good, and legal, reason to do so though.
    Sure the thing I find funny about the amnesty is the fact that they're looking to get people to hand in knives too, of which the standard ones of which aren't illegal, only ones designed to be concealed and quickly deployed (flick knives, belt knives, gravity blades, push knives, etc...).:rolleyes:

God, ninja stars... they were so cool in the 80's... I didn't think they were still around... right up there with knuckle dusters and survival knives. :D :rolleyes:
    farohar wrote:
    They are illegal weapons, 3 or more points on a throwing star and it's illegal last I checked.
    So they're 100% illegal to buy/own/etc?
    I was thinking it'd be a bit of a laugh to have them for target practice around the garden, but the prospect of having it fly off over the wall and take the nextdoor neighbours kids eye out kind of ruined the idea for me. :eek:

God, ninja stars... they were so cool in the 80's... I didn't think they were still around... right up there with knuckle dusters and survival knives. :D :rolleyes:

So they're 100% illegal to buy/own/etc?
    I was thinking it'd be a bit of a laugh to have them for target practice around the garden, but the prospect of having it fly off over the wall and take the nextdoor neighbours kids eye out kind of ruined the idea for me. :eek:

12.—(1) Any person who—

( a ) manufactures, sells or hires, or offers or exposes for sale or hire, or by way of business repairs or modifies, or
    ( b ) has in his possession for the purpose of sale or hire or for 3 the purpose of repair or modification by way of business, or
    ( c ) puts on display, or lends or gives to any other person,
    a weapon to which this section applies shall be guilty of an offence.

and from the list of weapons it applies to:
    ( i ) the weapon sometimes known as a shuriken, shaken or death star, being a hard non-flexible plate having three or more sharp radiating points and designed to be thrown;

http://193.178.1.79/ZZSI66Y1991.html
    http://193.178.1.79/ZZA12Y1990S12.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

farohar wrote:
    12.—(1) Any person who—

( a ) manufactures, sells or hires, or offers or exposes for sale or hire, or by way of business repairs or modifies, or
    ( b ) has in his possession for the purpose of sale or hire or for 3 the purpose of repair or modification by way of business, or
    ( c ) puts on display, or lends or gives to any other person,
    a weapon to which this section applies shall be guilty of an offence.

and from the list of weapons it applies to:
    ( i ) the weapon sometimes known as a shuriken, shaken or death star, being a hard non-flexible plate having three or more sharp radiating points and designed to be thrown;

http://193.178.1.79/ZZSI66Y1991.html
    http://193.178.1.79/ZZA12Y1990S12.html

heh the funny thing is a shuriken only has two points, anymore and its a shaken, try take that to the high court though

And my imperial death star was already half built when that legislation was passed :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Bambi wrote:
    heh the funny thing is a shuriken only has two points, anymore and its a shaken, try take that to the high court though

And my imperial death star was already half built when that legislation was passed :mad:

Was it fully operational by the time your friends arrived?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,159 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Doubt it will make a "real" difference. Oh, in the States during the 4th of July (their independence day), far too many people discharge their guns into the air with live ammo. I guess they have not heard of gravity?

And I guess you've never heard of friction?

astrofool wrote:
    Still, the terminal velocity would still be enough to take someones eye out if they happened to be looking up at the time of the unfortunate impact :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Yeah its mad. I'm studying over in England at the moment and we got an Aldi letter in the door and they where advertising all their fireworks.

astrofool wrote:

Whoa, whoa, whoa!!! I seen an epsiode of CSI where this exact thing happend, so I condsider my self an expert on this matter.

Discharging a firearm into the air is not only cool it is dangerously cool

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I live in finglas for my sins and i hafta say the amount of bangers and stuff going off has been but a small fraction of previous years.Usually they start up at the beginning of september and continue right through till halloween night when it sounds like a bad day in sarajevo.I can honestly say i've heard almost none this year and i suspect this has to do 1)with the constant raiding of dunsink halting site and 2)the fact that fireworks are no longer on sale all along the border road leading up to newry.As with previous years,however,i'll be locking my wheelie bin up and taping up the letterbox.

Whoa, whoa, whoa!!! I seen an epsiode of CSI where this exact thing happend, so I condsider my self an expert on this matter.
    Ha.. were they investigating the death of Yosemite Sam in that episode?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭FranknFurter

Wiki- "In "Bullets Fired Up", for example, they tested if a bullet fired straight up can fall and kill the shooter or innocent bystanders. They gave the myth all three designations: "Busted", "Plausible", and "Confirmed". This urban legend was "Busted", because bullets fired straight up will tumble to the ground at a non-lethal velocity; "Plausible", because a shooter is much more likely to fire at a slight angle, wherein the bullet will maintain its ballistic trajectory and be potentially lethal when it comes back down; and "Confirmed", because there are many eyewitness accounts of falling bullets killing people. In fact, many municipalities have laws explicitly prohibiting firing weapons into the air for that reason."

Anyways........

The "hilarious" thing is, I live not 500m from a garda station and there are as I speak, fireworks going off right over said station, right where I live and all the surrounding areas, have been for over a week. Nothing at all happening about it as always (Ive been here 10 years!).

B