Gift ideas for girlfriend? [sorry]

• 04-10-2006 02:24AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,852 ✭✭✭

Hi.

Sorry if this has been brought up before. Im sure it has, but then again everyone is different.

My gals birthday is coming up and I am completely broke. Shes has a good job and pretty much already owns everything I think she might need, lots of perfume, CDs, mp3 player, camera, clothes etc...

Shes not particulary zany, so zany stuff is out. Id also prefer not to get a voucher!

My budget is around 30-60.
    I was thinking tickets for a gig but there doesnt seeem to be any gigs coming up that she would be into.

Any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

feckin hell, it seems that January is the most frisky month of the year...!!!

I'm gonna start a thread suggesting a seperate forum for Gift Ideas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

DaveMcG, please do.

Does she like being pampered? Day in a salon, spa or similar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Rampant Rabbit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,852 ✭✭✭condra

Ruu. Thanks for the good suggestion, Ill think a bit more about that one.

Kenny I dont think a Rampant Rabbit would be an appropriate present at this early stage in our relationship, but thanks for the suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭il gatto

Just buy pefume or jewellry. You can rack your brains all you want, but you'll get the same thanks at the end of it. I know every time something like this comes up, I try to think of something cool/different/useful and the net result has been the same. Never use it. Last Christmas it was a digital camera, a memory card and a good printer. Memory card isn't near full and the printer is in the box. At least she'll wear the perfume and jewellry (unless you've got awful taste:D )

She has lots of perfume and rarely wears jewellery but thanks for your suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,873 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

As you are completely broke & as she has pretty much everything that she needs - why not give her something that only you can? How about a romantic midnight picnic up on Howth Head? Get some nice grub, a couple of bottles of vino & spend the evening wooing (& by this I don't mean shaking your head between her breasts & shouting "Woooo!") your loved one while gazing starry-eyed across Dublin Bay. Birds love that romantic stuff.

Unless of course it p1sses rain in which case you head off to The Summit for pints of stout & packets of Tayto. (But it is the thought that counts.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

Hill Billy wrote:
    As you are completely broke & as she has pretty much everything that she needs - why not give her something that only you can? How about a romantic midnight picnic up on Howth Head?

I agree. Just spend time with her. Surprise an outing for her. You don't have to spend money to have a good time. She'll love it, I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Hill Billy wrote:
    spend the evening wooing (& by this I don't mean shaking your head between her breasts & shouting "Woooo!")

LMAO!! :D

Ebay is your friend, you can get some really cool unusual stuff if you're willing to search for a bit and have maybe 2 weeks to play with for delivery time.

Failing that, dinner drinks and candles ftw :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭Lothaar

I did the surprise evening picnic at Howth Head about 8 years ago and she still gets misty-eyed thinking about it. Packed a blanket, glasses, wine, cheese and stuff, and coerced her into walking up to the Martello Tower that overlooks the harbour. We got a perfect sunset and, by some stroke of providence, the sound of uileann pipes came rolling down the hill as I uncorked the wine and played a haunting melody for the duration of our picnic.
    Cost: €10. Net Profit: I’m marrying her in about two weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Cook her dinner.

I don't mean spag bol out of a jar...I mean a full-on 3+ course meal, nice wine, the works, with nothing pre-prepared (i.e. out of a tin/jar/ready-made-meal box) if at all possible.

Your budget should cover the shopping bill, and the rest is just an invetment of time on your part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

You might need a girl to help you pick, but I would go for beauty products.
    Find out what her fave products are and then head into arnotts.

the following fall within your budget and they are absolutely gorgeous presents:

Benefit Bathina Body So Fine
    http://www.amazon.com/Benefit-Bathina-Body-So-Fine/dp/B00021CJWE

Elizabeth Arden Bohemian Bronze Sheer Body Shimmer
    http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=152849&catid=25343&brand=15644&trx=PLST-0-BRAND&trxp1=25343&trxp2=152849&trxp3=1&trxp4=0&btrx=BUY-PLST-0-BRAND&cmbProdBrandFilter=15644

"touch me then try to leave"...cream
    http://www.benefitcosmetics.com/gp/product/B000FBLTBI/sr=1-1/qid=1159953599/ref=sr_1_1/002-7673856-8050437?ie=UTF8&n=238635011&bcBrand=core

hollywood glo body lustre
    http://www.benefitcosmetics.com/gp/product/B000FBNYNY/sr=1-4/qid=1159953723/ref=sr_1_4/002-7673856-8050437?ie=UTF8&n=238636011&bcBrand=core

Or, get yourself into Lush - they have some amazing stuff in there that you could easily afford.
    There is one on Henry St, and one just beside the Molly Malone statue.

http://www.lush.co.uk/shop/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=19_39

Jaysus - Just goes to show you how wrong us lads can be!

There we all are over the last few posts being all rosemantic thinking that midnight picnics & haunting uileann pipes over Dublin Bay or lovingly-prepared home-cooked meals would be what women really want.

Then along comes Mrs Doyle & shatters our illusions by telling us that all they really want is a bit of muck to hide the wrinkles & cellulite!

If that's the case - OP should get her a trowel to slap it on as a little something extra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

If someone took me on a romantic camping trip i would love them forever :D but thats just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Hill Billy wrote:
    Jaysus - Just goes to show you how wrong us lads can be!

There we all are over the last few posts being all rosemantic thinking that midnight picnics & haunting uileann pipes over Dublin Bay or lovingly-prepared home-cooked meals would be what women really want.

Then along comes Mrs Doyle & shatters our illusions by telling us that all they really want is a bit of muck to hide the wrinkles & cellulite!

If that's the case - OP should get her a trowel to slap it on as a little something extra.

Ha ha ha, maybe I am just hideously ugly and wrinkled and need all the help I can get :D

If someone took me on a romantic camping trip i would love them forever :D but thats just me.

Ahh - A blemish-free little hottie! :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Get her something quirky.
    A didgeridoo.
    Some backwards masked Frank Zappa albums.
    The carcass of a beloved childhood pet.
    A lump of your petrified poo in a glass case.
    A dead unicorn's heart.
    A superhero costume only you can wear.
    A ham radio.
    a list of all the great things about being single carved on some ornate wood.
    A giant plastic novelty penis that squeaks.
    Subscription to Sperm Donor Magazine.
    A tigers cock.
    A charitable donation to aryan nation.

At least she won't forget you.
    Now, who wants to do a boards secret santa?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I second the carcass of a beloved childhood pet.

Presents are way too hard to get.
    :/

Does she watch TV a good bit? -> DVDs.

Does she like Science Fiction, documentaries, or something else? Perhaps there's a film she really wanted to see and she always forgot about it, that could make up part of the present.

Books? Autobiographies?

Worst comes to worse, get her a La Senza voucher on Grafton street (voucher doesn't expire).

A surprise outing sounds like a good plan though. If you want to go all out, you could arrange a surprise party for her! The compulsary stripper might be a bit outside your priceframe though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

A new boyfriend that knows what she likes. Wahey.

sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Might as well pimp the forum idea as appropriate, support the Gift & Party Ideas forum under Forums. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

oh yesh... me too! :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ruu wrote:
    Might as well pimp the forum idea as appropriate, support the Gift & Party Ideas forum under Forums. :)
    That pimping is below par. The IQ of a lot of people in here make it more suitable for a click and follow approach.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054998732

Thanks for the suggestions guys.

I do like the idea of a surprise picnic on Howth Head, but preferably if either of us drove, or the weather was warmer.

I might just buy her dinner and give her a couple of tickets for a gig. Found a few gigs comin up shed like. Shes super obsessed with live music.

I guess thats decent enough? Now I just have to find a cheap place to eat!

Feck I just thought. She uses this site. I better shurrup now.

You should be careful and edit your posts so as to not give out any info as to what you might get/do.
    Gotta be careful when the other half might stalk you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead would recommend one of these. You can put my name on the back if you want. No probs.
    http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/boards/302%20.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

dinner or drinks on the night of the gig too, make it a nice night out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Get her pregnant. Women love babies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Kaiser_Sma

30-60 euros could buy you a dinner for two, i sugest some place that serves marmite. Yes your right there is ONLY one place.