Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gift ideas for girlfriend? [sorry]

• 04-10-2006 1:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭

Hi.

Sorry if this has been brought up before. Im sure it has, but then again everyone is different.

My gals birthday is coming up and I am completely broke. Shes has a good job and pretty much already owns everything I think she might need, lots of perfume, CDs, mp3 player, camera, clothes etc...

Shes not particulary zany, so zany stuff is out. Id also prefer not to get a voucher!

My budget is around 30-60.
    I was thinking tickets for a gig but there doesnt seeem to be any gigs coming up that she would be into.

Any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

feckin hell, it seems that January is the most frisky month of the year...!!!

I'm gonna start a thread suggesting a seperate forum for Gift Ideas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

DaveMcG, please do.

Does she like being pampered? Day in a salon, spa or similar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Rampant Rabbit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

Ruu. Thanks for the good suggestion, Ill think a bit more about that one.

Kenny I dont think a Rampant Rabbit would be an appropriate present at this early stage in our relationship, but thanks for the suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Just buy pefume or jewellry. You can rack your brains all you want, but you'll get the same thanks at the end of it. I know every time something like this comes up, I try to think of something cool/different/useful and the net result has been the same. Never use it. Last Christmas it was a digital camera, a memory card and a good printer. Memory card isn't near full and the printer is in the box. At least she'll wear the perfume and jewellry (unless you've got awful taste:D )

She has lots of perfume and rarely wears jewellery but thanks for your suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,829 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

As you are completely broke & as she has pretty much everything that she needs - why not give her something that only you can? How about a romantic midnight picnic up on Howth Head? Get some nice grub, a couple of bottles of vino & spend the evening wooing (& by this I don't mean shaking your head between her breasts & shouting "Woooo!") your loved one while gazing starry-eyed across Dublin Bay. Birds love that romantic stuff.

Unless of course it p1sses rain in which case you head off to The Summit for pints of stout & packets of Tayto. (But it is the thought that counts.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

Hill Billy wrote:
    As you are completely broke & as she has pretty much everything that she needs - why not give her something that only you can? How about a romantic midnight picnic up on Howth Head?

I agree. Just spend time with her. Surprise an outing for her. You don't have to spend money to have a good time. She'll love it, I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Hill Billy wrote:
    spend the evening wooing (& by this I don't mean shaking your head between her breasts & shouting "Woooo!")

LMAO!! :D

Ebay is your friend, you can get some really cool unusual stuff if you're willing to search for a bit and have maybe 2 weeks to play with for delivery time.

Failing that, dinner drinks and candles ftw :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭Lothaar

I did the surprise evening picnic at Howth Head about 8 years ago and she still gets misty-eyed thinking about it. Packed a blanket, glasses, wine, cheese and stuff, and coerced her into walking up to the Martello Tower that overlooks the harbour. We got a perfect sunset and, by some stroke of providence, the sound of uileann pipes came rolling down the hill as I uncorked the wine and played a haunting melody for the duration of our picnic.
    Cost: €10. Net Profit: I’m marrying her in about two weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Cook her dinner.

I don't mean spag bol out of a jar...I mean a full-on 3+ course meal, nice wine, the works, with nothing pre-prepared (i.e. out of a tin/jar/ready-made-meal box) if at all possible.

Your budget should cover the shopping bill, and the rest is just an invetment of time on your part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

You might need a girl to help you pick, but I would go for beauty products.
    Find out what her fave products are and then head into arnotts.

the following fall within your budget and they are absolutely gorgeous presents:

Benefit Bathina Body So Fine
    http://www.amazon.com/Benefit-Bathina-Body-So-Fine/dp/B00021CJWE

Elizabeth Arden Bohemian Bronze Sheer Body Shimmer
    http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=152849&catid=25343&brand=15644&trx=PLST-0-BRAND&trxp1=25343&trxp2=152849&trxp3=1&trxp4=0&btrx=BUY-PLST-0-BRAND&cmbProdBrandFilter=15644

"touch me then try to leave"...cream
    http://www.benefitcosmetics.com/gp/product/B000FBLTBI/sr=1-1/qid=1159953599/ref=sr_1_1/002-7673856-8050437?ie=UTF8&n=238635011&bcBrand=core

hollywood glo body lustre
    http://www.benefitcosmetics.com/gp/product/B000FBNYNY/sr=1-4/qid=1159953723/ref=sr_1_4/002-7673856-8050437?ie=UTF8&n=238636011&bcBrand=core

Or, get yourself into Lush - they have some amazing stuff in there that you could easily afford.
    There is one on Henry St, and one just beside the Molly Malone statue.

http://www.lush.co.uk/shop/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=19_39

Jaysus - Just goes to show you how wrong us lads can be!

There we all are over the last few posts being all rosemantic thinking that midnight picnics & haunting uileann pipes over Dublin Bay or lovingly-prepared home-cooked meals would be what women really want.

Then along comes Mrs Doyle & shatters our illusions by telling us that all they really want is a bit of muck to hide the wrinkles & cellulite!

If that's the case - OP should get her a trowel to slap it on as a little something extra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

If someone took me on a romantic camping trip i would love them forever :D but thats just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Hill Billy wrote:
    Jaysus - Just goes to show you how wrong us lads can be!

There we all are over the last few posts being all rosemantic thinking that midnight picnics & haunting uileann pipes over Dublin Bay or lovingly-prepared home-cooked meals would be what women really want.

Then along comes Mrs Doyle & shatters our illusions by telling us that all they really want is a bit of muck to hide the wrinkles & cellulite!

If that's the case - OP should get her a trowel to slap it on as a little something extra.

Ha ha ha, maybe I am just hideously ugly and wrinkled and need all the help I can get :D

If someone took me on a romantic camping trip i would love them forever :D but thats just me.

Ahh - A blemish-free little hottie! :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Get her something quirky.
    A didgeridoo.
    Some backwards masked Frank Zappa albums.
    The carcass of a beloved childhood pet.
    A lump of your petrified poo in a glass case.
    A dead unicorn's heart.
    A superhero costume only you can wear.
    A ham radio.
    a list of all the great things about being single carved on some ornate wood.
    A giant plastic novelty penis that squeaks.
    Subscription to Sperm Donor Magazine.
    A tigers cock.
    A charitable donation to aryan nation.

At least she won't forget you.
    Now, who wants to do a boards secret santa?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I second the carcass of a beloved childhood pet.

Presents are way too hard to get.
    :/

Does she watch TV a good bit? -> DVDs.

Does she like Science Fiction, documentaries, or something else? Perhaps there's a film she really wanted to see and she always forgot about it, that could make up part of the present.

Books? Autobiographies?

Worst comes to worse, get her a La Senza voucher on Grafton street (voucher doesn't expire).

A surprise outing sounds like a good plan though. If you want to go all out, you could arrange a surprise party for her! The compulsary stripper might be a bit outside your priceframe though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

A new boyfriend that knows what she likes. Wahey.

sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Might as well pimp the forum idea as appropriate, support the Gift & Party Ideas forum under Forums. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

oh yesh... me too! :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ruu wrote:
    Might as well pimp the forum idea as appropriate, support the Gift & Party Ideas forum under Forums. :)
    That pimping is below par. The IQ of a lot of people in here make it more suitable for a click and follow approach.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054998732

Thanks for the suggestions guys.

I do like the idea of a surprise picnic on Howth Head, but preferably if either of us drove, or the weather was warmer.

I might just buy her dinner and give her a couple of tickets for a gig. Found a few gigs comin up shed like. Shes super obsessed with live music.

I guess thats decent enough? Now I just have to find a cheap place to eat!

Feck I just thought. She uses this site. I better shurrup now.

You should be careful and edit your posts so as to not give out any info as to what you might get/do.
    Gotta be careful when the other half might stalk you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead would recommend one of these. You can put my name on the back if you want. No probs.
    http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/boards/302%20.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

dinner or drinks on the night of the gig too, make it a nice night out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Get her pregnant. Women love babies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Kaiser_Sma

30-60 euros could buy you a dinner for two, i sugest some place that serves marmite. Yes your right there is ONLY one place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭lau1247

check out swaroski range in town if you live in dublin..
    They are pretty sweet..
    Not all jewellery..
    I got a necklace ish thing where one the chain is made of rope and the pendent is crystal..
    Very nice..

Good luck with whatever you choose!

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

Mrs Doyle has indicated that birds like to apply "ointments" to their skin. So as a happy medium between that & the aforementioned jewellery how about the ol' tried & trusted "pearl necklace"?