Nudity - Are we that bothered?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭RedPlanet

Well, i certainly hope ireland (nor any other countries) start emulating ameriKa:
    Art Teacher Loses Job After Kids See Nude Sculpture
    http://www.nbc10.com/education/9936513/detail.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    In reponce to the chap who streaked at the Ryder Cyp (and just about every other sporting event as well) and was then threated with jail if he didn't get out of Ireland

Are we that offended? Is it really a jailable crime? Considering what people got off with a fine for?

I'm of the opinion that, thanks to the cathoic church and the tabloids, we still have a hang-up about it. We haven;t made the dis-association between sex and nudity. It's still considered wrong or even evil.

And don't say "please think of the children" - other than a quick giggle I don;t really think they're going to be that bothered (unless someone dives five feet across the grass to block their eyesight from something the probably see in a swimming pool changing room if they ever go swimming)

So seriously. Do we still have a hang on? Do we care?

I theory I'm with you, in theory. But when you get down to the practicalities of it do we really need to see old mister Ryan from next doors 89 year old wrinkled body sprawled out getting a tan when you go for a walk in St. Stevens Green, or Mary Harney and Micheal McDowel doing a naked conga line on RTE if the PD's get re-elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

nesf wrote:
    I am against public nudity simply on the grounds that there are a lot of ugly people in our society. Like it's bad enough when they are covered by something.

Jaysus, that's about as shallow asmild condensation...

"A lot of ugly people in our society"???

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I would think that a hint of skin is a lot more arousing than total buff for women showing something to men. A little leg, a bare back, exposed shoulders, a bare tummy?

I think the element of surprise in a streaker is the big thing at first. But if people were in the raw all the time, Yawn! No mystery. No discovery. No fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I would think that a hint of skin is a lot more arousing than total buff for women showing something to men. A little leg, a bare back, exposed shoulders, a bare tummy?

I think the element of surprise in a streaker is the big thing at first. But if people were in the raw all the time, Yawn! No mystery. No discovery. No fun.

Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Ba_barbaraAnne

Totally agree with you.

Absolutely nothing wrong with nudity as long as you're not being offensive - and that includes taking your kit off in inappropriate places. Jailing a streaker is a bit much though. A fine would be appropriate, or, in the case of regular repeat offenders, psychiatric help

As for the kiddies.... mine have been taught the difference between being naturally naked and being deliberately rude or vulgar.... i.e getting out of the bath and drying yourself in front of the fire is fine - mooning or taking out your 'willie' to show off isn't. And if they insist on coming into my bedroom/bathroom without knocking they just have had to get used to seeing my naked body, cellulite and all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Then we'd have shocking cases of people wearing clothes!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

Hmm, it's true.
    Us lucky few have to put up with a lot, think about if they were naked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Its the brand of nudity that is the problem.

Most streakers are crazy fat blokes that run around aimlessly chased by security guards.

Most people would support creative streaking by attractive model types.

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    In reponce to the chap who streaked at the Ryder Cyp (and just about every other sporting event as well) and was then threated with jail if he didn't get out of Ireland

Are we that offended? Is it really a jailable crime? Considering what people got off with a fine for?

I'm of the opinion that, thanks to the cathoic church and the tabloids, we still have a hang-up about it. We haven;t made the dis-association between sex and nudity. It's still considered wrong or even evil.

And don't say "please think of the children" - other than a quick giggle I don;t really think they're going to be that bothered (unless someone dives five feet across the grass to block their eyesight from something the probably see in a swimming pool changing room if they ever go swimming)

So seriously. Do we still have a hang on? Do we care?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭oRlyYaRly

I'm against public nudity for the simple fact that I just don't want to see certain people naked as I'm sure plenty of people could live without seeing me naked.

Public nudity does not involve Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie slowly walking down the street with sunshine and angelic music in the background.

I'd have no problem with a little child seeing a penis/vagina but I don't want to expose our innocent youth to big fat naked people. I also feel men going topless should be banned for this reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

People keep saying "think of the children" to be fair young children tend to not care about or notice nakedness until they get older and society instills the view that nakedness is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

steve06 wrote:
    yes I am offended by nudity, unless it's hot a chick....

lol yeah some people should just not be naked!

But personally I have no problem with nudoty or with topless sunbathing etc. Some of the people in this country (esp older) do seem to have a hang up about it allright even to the extent of being disgusted by a mini skirt. I do find the exhibitionists a big strange (you know how it is you are in a swimming pool changing room and theres some woman happily wandering around with all her bits hanging out- and no guys - usually she is not hot!!) But if people wanna be naked go for it but its just too damn cold in this country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Ba_barbaraAnne

oRlyYaRly wrote:
    I'd have no problem with a little child seeing a penis/vagina but I don't want to expose our innocent youth to big fat naked people. I also feel men going topless should be banned for this reason.

Why should you pass on your discriminatory ideas to the next generation? Children should be learning not to be ashamed of their bodies regardless of shape or size. Differences on the outside do not make a difference - and after all, beauty is in the eye of the beholder!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

people are repulsed by fat people, not just because "society" says so, but at a biological level, our brain intuitively knows that fat people will have more health problems (dont give me that fattys in oil paintings example, its bs)

personally, i love the toned body type, ever seen a swimmers body?... smokin hot, and very healthy :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

oRlyYaRly wrote:
    I'm against public nudity for the simple fact that I just don't want to see certain people naked as I'm sure plenty of people could live without seeing me naked.

Public nudity does not involve Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie slowly walking down the street with sunshine and angelic music in the background.

That'll give the 'innocent youth' the illusion that everyone is skinny or slender and end up getting their teeth kicked in when they are older for laughing at an overweight person. Not a very smart thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭OliviaM

i'm not opposed to nudity in places where it is allowed. but if the law on certain place don't allow people to be nude then respect it too! that's pretty fair to everyone.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

There's a catch 22 in that were one to walk down Grafton St naked they are doing something rather exceptional (well, it's something I've only seen once) then they are doing an exceptional thing. It's hence not truly "natural", but exhibitionist.

Now, if our society were such that the only factor as to whether one walked down Grafton St naked was the weather and the usefulness of pockets, it would be a different matter, but it's not going to just happen overnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

yea Talliesin... (s)hes so clever :p

maybe we should start wearing less and less... slowly introducing new body parts to the public... i'd say: yes theres my nipples, yea i know they're hairy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

It's not shallow, it's just that I'd object to being put in a position where I might have to see them walking around naked. Do you disagree that there are a lot of people that you'd find unattractive/ugly physically? They could be lovely people and I might get on great with them or whatever but that doesn't mean that I'd like to see them naked tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Morse

6th wrote:
    For anyone who says they have no problem with nudity I say "post a pic!" ... if you're not willing to do that ... STFU.

I've absolutely no problem posting a naked photo of myself here if it gets the ball rolling!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

nesf wrote:
    It's not shallow, it's just that I'd object to being put in a position where I might have to see them walking around naked. Do you disagree that there are a lot of people that you'd find unattractive/ugly physically? They could be lovely people and I might get on great with them or whatever but that doesn't mean that I'd like to see them naked tbh.

Of course it's shallow! I've seen a lot of overweight people naked and it hasn't bothered me. They tend to be more fun, but you wouldn't know that, now would you?

And the question wasn't would you like to see them naked, nor was it would you be offended, the question was would it bother you? And to say that it depends on the attractiveness of the person, then you're being shallow. (Which I know is not exactly what you said orignially - just a general comment)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭DilbertPartII

no problem! just be sure the nudist feels comfortable with him/herself.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,822 ✭✭✭el diablo

Morse wrote:
    I've absolutely no problem posting a naked photo of myself here if it gets the ball rolling!.
    and me too. I'm certainly not ashamed of my wonderful body...;)

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

I think a bit of nudity is ok, it comes in package with sex education. In russia, there is a program at 6pm every day that shows the bodies of all the corpes being murdered that day on a program, In Ireland that simply wouldn't be allowed to happen.... we need to loosen up!

and for feck sake, I dont want a skinny girl with legs so thin, they'd fit up my nostril. I need a bit of meat on a woman, not too much....oh and the twins and a nice box included....

and the purpose of covering up is defeated in the Teen years anyway.... Girls walking around with skirts that look like belts, and tops just barely big enough to cover the nipples...makes for a good night's entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

We need pockets....