Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nudity - Are we that bothered?

• 26-09-2006 1:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭

In reponce to the chap who streaked at the Ryder Cyp (and just about every other sporting event as well) and was then threated with jail if he didn't get out of Ireland

Are we that offended? Is it really a jailable crime? Considering what people got off with a fine for?

I'm of the opinion that, thanks to the cathoic church and the tabloids, we still have a hang-up about it. We haven;t made the dis-association between sex and nudity. It's still considered wrong or even evil.

And don't say "please think of the children" - other than a quick giggle I don;t really think they're going to be that bothered (unless someone dives five feet across the grass to block their eyesight from something the probably see in a swimming pool changing room if they ever go swimming)

So seriously. Do we still have a hang on? Do we care?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

We do have a difference in opinion in comparision with other countries but I think that we are changing. On holidays with many kids this year and they didn't bat a eyelid to topless bathing. However, we are behind in the times when it comes to nudist beaches (maybe because its too cold here!!!!) and when you see the articles in the papers about "scantily-clad" young girls who are just wearing what's in fashion now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I'm am off the opinion that any law that means i don't need to see some other dudes wang can only be a good thing. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

its total bullshjt, everyone has genitals, wtf is the matter with people?

and this site perpetuates the bullshjt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    In reponce to the chap who streaked at the Ryder Cyp (and just about every other sporting event as well) and was then threated with jail if he didn't get out of Ireland

Are we that offended? Is it really a jailable crime? Considering what people got off with a fine for?
    You could imagine the 'reception' he'd get in prison when he reveals what he's in for!
    Christ!

Nudity has never really been a family issue (well at least not my family anyway).
    And I think most people would only be appauled or offended if yer man had been obviously aroused as he did his thing on the green.
    No child needs to see that!

But then again, how many children sit down to watch the golf for their weekends entertainment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

yes I am offended by nudity, unless it's hot a chick....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

If I was the streaker I would be much more offended at the pants the golfers were wearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

I'm reminded of when we got in the free-to-air satelite dish.
    The default satelite was the German/European one.
    Swear to God, 4 in the afternoon there were boobies on screen. The time difference is an hour or two at most.

Kinda wondering why I did change the dish direction now though :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭punky

Oh won't someone PLEASE think of the children!!!!!!! :eek:

Especially those poor naked ones in the Amazon jungle. Poor little mites must be fierce shamed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I dont want some bloke strolling along with his knob out in front of my daughter. BUt i do think it needs to be lightened up with maybe some nudest beaches etc.

Nude in public = not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

6th wrote:
    I dont want some bloke strolling along with his knob out in front of my daughter. BUt i do think it needs to be lightened up with maybe some nudest beaches etc.

Nude in public = not good.

Why? What would you daughter's reaction be and how would you react to that?

I am of course, assuming no erections or sexual content.

Well shes only 2 so wouldnt react other than saying whats that and pointing.

In appropriate places its fine, i mean like someone said you're gonna see it all at the swimming pool or at the beach but are you suggesting it should be ok for everyone to walk down O'Connell Street in the nip?

I have no problem with the human body, I spend hours every week in college with naked strangers in front of me in college.

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    I am of course, assuming no erections or sexual content.

See thats the thing in an ideal world it would be fine but sure if people being nude in public was fine then it may be easier for strangers to get kids kit off saying "sure its ok to be naked infron tof anyone".

There is no getting away from the fact that if it was totally relaxed it would be abused, and as a parent i dont want the risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

bounty wrote:
    its total bullshjt, everyone has genitals, wtf is the matter with people?

and this site perpetuates the bullshjt
    Yeah but I don't want to be looking at other people's all day long.

only because its currently the status quo

i bet the iranians, are similarly disgusted when looking at western women unveiled

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

There was also a streaker at the All-Ireland football final Kerry V Mayo this year in front of the Nally Terrace so only those and the people in the Hogan probably saw it. Some guy stripped of completely and tried to run onto the field wearing nothing but a Mayo hat. He was escorted off the pitch by two guards. :D I guess the thrashing Kerry was dishing out went to his head.

As for Nudity so what isn't it how we all come into the world?? I have yet to hear of a baby wearing clothes upon birth. I have no problem with it and the more the merrier*

*More female nudity that is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

netwhizkid wrote:
    There was also a streaker at the All-Ireland football final Kerry V Mayo this year in front of the Nally Terrace so only those and the people in the Hogan probably saw it. Some guy stripped of completely and tried to run onto the field wearing nothing but a Mayo hat. He was escorted off the pitch by two guards. :D I guess the thrashing Kerry was dishing out went to his head.

As for Nudity so what isn't it how we all come into the world?? I have yet to hear of a baby wearing clothes upon birth. I have no problem with it and the more the merrier*

*More female nudity that is

Ah it would be a different story if Mary Harney was running across Croke Park wouldn't it though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

No big deal at all. I've seen most people I know naked, for some reason or another - gym showers, sauna, bedroom, skinny dipping...

Let's get nekkid :D

For anyone who says they have no problem with nudity I say "post a pic!" ... if you're not willing to do that ... STFU.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Meh, I don't care about it. Hung up for no reason. Body, oh noe, evil.

6th wrote:
    For anyone who says they have no problem with nudity I say "post a pic!" ... if you're not willing to do that ... STFU.

its against the rules :p thats one of my points... why! whats wrong with nipples at least

Well then post it somewhere and post a link saying not work safe .... i dont think many (any) will.

Thought someone will do it as a joke and post a horrible pic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

6th wrote:

People being comfortable in thier own nudity (and being willing to post it on the internet for all to see/link to/photoshop/laugh at), and not being offended by others (As per OP) are two completly different things.

This thread has gone from "Should you be jailed for streaking, are we taking nudity a bit too seriously" to "Let's all walk down O Connell street naked, even in the pissing rain/no let's not".

I think nudity on TV is grand and streakers are funny, I do agree that streakers should be removed from a field of play/tv ground because they are interrupting, however, if someone is running around the green outside my house starkers, well, just leave them to it I guess , as long as they are not bothering anyone ( I will highlight that I find this situation highly unlikely). Something like the Janet Jackson "slip-up", or down as the case may be, should not send a nation into moral outrage to the point where you cannot say "ass" on TV any more.

Someone jiggling down the street is a bit OTT (Although that seems to be the direction this thread is heading!) and I don't see why they would not just put something on either because they will look better with something on or because it is so cold out I cannot even see your offending organs any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Ruu wrote:
    Ah it would be a different story if Mary Harney was running across Croke Park wouldn't it though?

:eek: :eek: My brain, what an awful mental image....

I think nudity on TV is grand and streakers are funny, I do agree that streakers should be removed from a field of play/tv ground because they are interrupting,.... . Something like the Janet Jackson "slip-up", or down as the case may be, should not send a nation into moral outrage to the point where you cannot say "ass" on TV any more.

Completely agree, I think people can be too strict on it but straight off i could see I was going to get hassle for not wanting naked men walking around in front of my daughter. Its not one extreme or the other it should be personal choice and that only lends itself to being in appropriate areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

6th wrote:
    Well then post it somewhere and post a link saying not work safe .... i dont think many (any) will.

Thought someone will do it as a joke and post a horrible pic!

I think that's a bit darker and exhibitionist than relaxed nudity. Ok, streaking is exhibitionist too, but it's a lot lighter.

I've spent a lot of time in the company of naked people too, mostly life-drawing or on Scandanavian beaches.

The idea I'm getting from you, is that you're not as comfortable as you suggest you are, especially if your family were present, in which case I think you'd be more awkward than them (not knowing your fmaily obviously... justthe sence I'm picking up on...)

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    The idea I'm getting from you, is that you're not as comfortable as you suggest you are, especially if your family were present, in which case I think you'd be more awkward than them (not knowing your fmaily obviously... just the sence I'm picking up on...)

Then you are getting it wrong, as i said i studied art for years and have drawn/painted/sculpted lots of naked men and women. I also believe the body is a very personal and special thing which can be used to express a closeness which would be lost if we all walked around in the nip.
    Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    just the sence I'm picking up on

Off to the Paranormal Forum with you! ;)

Seriously though for those on here who know me they'd know I am no prude.

6th wrote:
    Then you are getting it wrong, as i said i studied art for years and have drawn/painted/sculpted lots of naked men and women. I also believe the body is a very personal and special thing which can be used to express a closeness which would be lost if we all walked around in the nip.

Off to the Paranormal Forum with you! ;)

Interesting persepctive - ta for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

6th wrote:

Then show us your winky! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I am against public nudity simply on the grounds that there are a lot of ugly people in our society. Like it's bad enough when they are covered by something.

Then show us your winky! :p

You're gonna have to bid on ebay like everyone else for that photo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭RedPlanet

Well, i certainly hope ireland (nor any other countries) start emulating ameriKa:
    Art Teacher Loses Job After Kids See Nude Sculpture
    http://www.nbc10.com/education/9936513/detail.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

I'm of the opinion that, thanks to the cathoic church and the tabloids, we still have a hang-up about it. We haven;t made the dis-association between sex and nudity. It's still considered wrong or even evil.

And don't say "please think of the children" - other than a quick giggle I don;t really think they're going to be that bothered (unless someone dives five feet across the grass to block their eyesight from something the probably see in a swimming pool changing room if they ever go swimming)

I theory I'm with you, in theory. But when you get down to the practicalities of it do we really need to see old mister Ryan from next doors 89 year old wrinkled body sprawled out getting a tan when you go for a walk in St. Stevens Green, or Mary Harney and Micheal McDowel doing a naked conga line on RTE if the PD's get re-elected.

nesf wrote:
    I am against public nudity simply on the grounds that there are a lot of ugly people in our society. Like it's bad enough when they are covered by something.

Jaysus, that's about as shallow asmild condensation...

"A lot of ugly people in our society"???

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I would think that a hint of skin is a lot more arousing than total buff for women showing something to men. A little leg, a bare back, exposed shoulders, a bare tummy?

I think the element of surprise in a streaker is the big thing at first. But if people were in the raw all the time, Yawn! No mystery. No discovery. No fun.

I would think that a hint of skin is a lot more arousing than total buff for women showing something to men. A little leg, a bare back, exposed shoulders, a bare tummy?

I think the element of surprise in a streaker is the big thing at first. But if people were in the raw all the time, Yawn! No mystery. No discovery. No fun.

Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Ba_barbaraAnne

Totally agree with you.

Absolutely nothing wrong with nudity as long as you're not being offensive - and that includes taking your kit off in inappropriate places. Jailing a streaker is a bit much though. A fine would be appropriate, or, in the case of regular repeat offenders, psychiatric help

As for the kiddies.... mine have been taught the difference between being naturally naked and being deliberately rude or vulgar.... i.e getting out of the bath and drying yourself in front of the fire is fine - mooning or taking out your 'willie' to show off isn't. And if they insist on coming into my bedroom/bathroom without knocking they just have had to get used to seeing my naked body, cellulite and all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Then we'd have shocking cases of people wearing clothes!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

Hmm, it's true.
    Us lucky few have to put up with a lot, think about if they were naked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Its the brand of nudity that is the problem.

Most streakers are crazy fat blokes that run around aimlessly chased by security guards.

Most people would support creative streaking by attractive model types.

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭oRlyYaRly

I'm against public nudity for the simple fact that I just don't want to see certain people naked as I'm sure plenty of people could live without seeing me naked.

Public nudity does not involve Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie slowly walking down the street with sunshine and angelic music in the background.

I'd have no problem with a little child seeing a penis/vagina but I don't want to expose our innocent youth to big fat naked people. I also feel men going topless should be banned for this reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

People keep saying "think of the children" to be fair young children tend to not care about or notice nakedness until they get older and society instills the view that nakedness is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

steve06 wrote:
    yes I am offended by nudity, unless it's hot a chick....

lol yeah some people should just not be naked!

But personally I have no problem with nudoty or with topless sunbathing etc. Some of the people in this country (esp older) do seem to have a hang up about it allright even to the extent of being disgusted by a mini skirt. I do find the exhibitionists a big strange (you know how it is you are in a swimming pool changing room and theres some woman happily wandering around with all her bits hanging out- and no guys - usually she is not hot!!) But if people wanna be naked go for it but its just too damn cold in this country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Ba_barbaraAnne

oRlyYaRly wrote:
    I'd have no problem with a little child seeing a penis/vagina but I don't want to expose our innocent youth to big fat naked people. I also feel men going topless should be banned for this reason.

Why should you pass on your discriminatory ideas to the next generation? Children should be learning not to be ashamed of their bodies regardless of shape or size. Differences on the outside do not make a difference - and after all, beauty is in the eye of the beholder!

people are repulsed by fat people, not just because "society" says so, but at a biological level, our brain intuitively knows that fat people will have more health problems (dont give me that fattys in oil paintings example, its bs)

personally, i love the toned body type, ever seen a swimmers body?... smokin hot, and very healthy :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

oRlyYaRly wrote:
    I'm against public nudity for the simple fact that I just don't want to see certain people naked as I'm sure plenty of people could live without seeing me naked.

Public nudity does not involve Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie slowly walking down the street with sunshine and angelic music in the background.

That'll give the 'innocent youth' the illusion that everyone is skinny or slender and end up getting their teeth kicked in when they are older for laughing at an overweight person. Not a very smart thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭OliviaM

i'm not opposed to nudity in places where it is allowed. but if the law on certain place don't allow people to be nude then respect it too! that's pretty fair to everyone.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

There's a catch 22 in that were one to walk down Grafton St naked they are doing something rather exceptional (well, it's something I've only seen once) then they are doing an exceptional thing. It's hence not truly "natural", but exhibitionist.

Now, if our society were such that the only factor as to whether one walked down Grafton St naked was the weather and the usefulness of pockets, it would be a different matter, but it's not going to just happen overnight.

yea Talliesin... (s)hes so clever :p

maybe we should start wearing less and less... slowly introducing new body parts to the public... i'd say: yes theres my nipples, yea i know they're hairy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

It's not shallow, it's just that I'd object to being put in a position where I might have to see them walking around naked. Do you disagree that there are a lot of people that you'd find unattractive/ugly physically? They could be lovely people and I might get on great with them or whatever but that doesn't mean that I'd like to see them naked tbh.