How much do you drink on a night out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Crate of Tuborg. €19.99.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I'm 29 now and don't drink anywhere near as much as I used to.

For a start I only go out at the weekends generally.

If I'm having a smoke before I go out, I'll have a glass of Jim Beam aswell, tho I don't smoke very often anymore.
    Then in the pub, it'll either be Guinness or Bulmers. Between 6-8pints, though I wouldn't usually drink 8 Guinness for fear of the after affects the next day.
    I'd drink slowly enough, but tend to speed up in the last hour, as last orders approaches. I'll always get one in at closing aswell.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

bluewolf wrote:
    No bloody kidding.

I think a lot of you have some problems, tbh ... seriously.
    And please don't tell me "but everyone else does it".

fraid i'm gonna have to say that everyone else does it...that i know, 35 pints is not unheard of or even shocking to me in a weekend, thats just over ten pints a day...which really isnt alot. in one night last week i had 8 cans followed by the guts of a bottle on white wine, then on the way to the club i split an shoulder with a friend... lets say i wasnt in the club long and was getting sick til the late hours of the next day, foolish upon relection but i didnt think bout the amount i was having at the time. still went out drinking the next night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,931 ✭✭✭Alkers

8 cans or a shoulder of whiskey/vodka and a few cans before getting the last bus, more if we start early. Then once in the club, money is the only limit, normally 2 or 3 pints so I can get a taxi home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

About 3 pints or a half bottle of wine. Sorry..boring really, but after that its drinking for drinking's sake: for me at least :)
    Oh and i occasionally savour a decent malt whiskey.. i still have a bottle after 8 months.. great especially if you have a cold..and i feel a sniffle coming on :)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Giblet wrote:
    Crate of Tuborg. €19.99.

Pah... Doesn't beat the old Warsteiner at the same price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

netwhizkid wrote:
    Starters, A pint of milk to line the stomach usually drank at home with strange looks from mum!

Batman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

At first I thought it might've been just a stereotype that we drink a lot, but after looking at this I realised the Irish really do like to knock the drink back! I don't have a problem with us being viewed as drunks, heck, it's gotten me free drinks in places around the world!

Actually I don't get "Booze Britain" drunk. I boughr a bottle of Southern Comfort and a crate of Bavaria + a few White Russians. Aw yeah. I'm still reasonably ok. 45 units. Alright!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Using a Friday night as an example; 4 bottles after work, 2 at half time, and then anything up to another 6-8 if it's a proper night out. Then maybe a couple of WKDs if I'm still standing. Did shots for the first time in months on Monday at a wedding and was dying the next day. :o

Right the bottle of SC is gone, and a load of cans aw yeah. Still got loads to go throtugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

just back from a night out, managed to have a good night and not drink too much, pretty happy with myself.

half a naggin, and two pints earlier on... then a double vodka redbull... and thats it. not bad. To be honest, the first half of the night pre-red bull wasn't much craic, but once i got the ould caffiene in that dancefloor didn't stand a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

12 cans tonite and a bottle of west coast cooler

starting next weekend im cutting down on drinking big time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭il gatto

I used to drink more, but I only get out for a few pints once every month or two these days. You get out of practice. No bad thing. Saves money. Only thing is, I dread the very occasional night out cos everyone else is still getting out regularly and I know I'll be twisted at 8-10 pints. Maybe 6-8. Depends on the night. I've found in the last few years that a hangover now lasts all day, if not two days. That puts the shots off you.
    Enjoy it while you're young (I'm only 28). The hell you'll pay the next day just won't be worth it in a few years. I'm a slow learner sometimes though:D

julep wrote:
    everyone else does do it.
    have you read the thread?
    If everyone else jumps off a cliff, will ye?
    I'm not even entirely joking there.
    Drinking oneself stupid on a regular basis is...well...stupid. It's expensive, it kills your health in the long term, and there's a point in the evening at which you would have been better off sitting in the corner at home drinking from the bottle.
    Are all your friends so incredibly boring that you have to do this on a regular basis to interact with them? If ye all stayed sober/tipsy, would it be that bad?
    I go out to have fun with my friends and drink along the way(when I do drink), not the other way around...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

One drink every 45 minutes to an hour, for as long as I'm out. That may be a pint of lager, ale or guinness, a jack daniels (I don't drink doubles normally) with a mixer, a gin and tonic, a bloody mary, a cocktail... basically a glass, can or bottle of something every 45 mins to an hour.

Three or four hours in, I'll start asking for a pint of water with whatever else I'm drinking, and drink that as I go. So if I'm out from 7pm to midnight, I've had five or six drinks with two or three pints of water. The water helps a lot the next day, as does milkthistle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

99% of the time I go out for the craic meaning 4-6 a night usually. Or more accurately, as MinesaJD said, about 1 for every half hour I'm out, and the pace slows at the 2 hour mark.

Occasionally (at most 3 times a year) I go out to get smashed, this usually happens when I know someone else is paying for the booze and I haven't been smashed in long time (so I forget just how bad hangovers are) - when that happens, usually 6-8 pints followed by an indeterminable number of shots until a suitable state of inebriation is achieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Rarely go out... when i do im usually driving so not drinking at all... at most i have a shandy if im not going to be driving for a few hours.

If on the rare chance im out and not driving.. i still do not drink that much... few bulmers or coctails.. not enough to make me legless... just enough for a buzz... only time i get wasted is at home or someone elses house with company... not with just myself and the wife... though... sometimes i make a pitcher (2L+) of STRONG sangria or Margarita and we both drink that on sunday or something if we are staying in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

bluewolf wrote:
    If everyone else jumps off a cliff, will ye?
    I'm not even entirely joking there.
    Drinking oneself stupid on a regular basis is...well...stupid. It's expensive, it kills your health in the long term, and there's a point in the evening at which you would have been better off sitting in the corner at home drinking from the bottle.
    Are all your friends so incredibly boring that you have to do this on a regular basis to interact with them? If ye all stayed sober/tipsy, would it be that bad?
    I go out to have fun with my friends and drink along the way(when I do drink), not the other way around...

Your last sentence is true. We just have a bit more drink when the craic is good. If I want to do it I will. I enjoy it a lot. Each to their own I guess. Saying that I had a good few last night. Some nights you will meet someone you haven't seen in a while and have a load of drink with them because chances are you won't see them for another while. I'm off to the pub.

my FOOKING HEAD! Worst hangover in years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,169 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Would be about 6 or 7 pints/cans for me. Although iv now started drinkin bottles mainly...just dont trust taps too much after working in a bar for 2 years. Think only one time i went over that amount, had 17, and by god did i regret that. The money gone was crazy. So now, starting sixth year...Iv decided to kinda stop drinkin, so i might have some money for better things. depends on occasion really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭angelbaby

on an average night out id usually have a naggin of vodka n a couple of cans before i go out and then id have bout 3 or 4 pints n a few shots in the pub.
    i think i drink a bit 2 much considering thats what i go out 2 or 3 times a week.....but sure you're only young once!!!!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Giblet wrote:
    my FOOKING HEAD! Worst hangover in years

So how is the head this morning Giblet ya lunatic :D Usually after a heavy Saturday night I'm dying on the Sunday, and Monday is such a drag. Didn't go out this weekend, but I have a few heavy nights coming my way in the next few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭cork-langer

Me and my mates do our usual 9 to 5's mon to fri and then personally go out our our way to get rat faced at the weekends. Shameful i know, but hey... this is ireland.

Overall sat night consumption: 6 dutchies before i hit town + another (average) 5-6 pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

3/4 cans before I go out [usually do this if I'm broke coz drinks cost lots on nights out] then maybe 3 pints [i'm such a man] anything more than that and I'm druuuunnnnk :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

probably the same as most people here with a few cans of dutch and about 6-8 pints or so of carlsberg. cant drink as much as i used to, lack of practice i guess. not that i miss it, the hangovers just got too much in the end and prefer spending time with my son than dying in bed all weekend. 2 days to recover from a night out and that would include a day of puking up bile. drank heavily when i was younger 17-22ish. used come home from college on a friday and head straight to the offie. drink a bottle of vodka in a friends flat over the course of 5-6 hours (started out originally with peach snaps but eventually progressed to vodka as ud be drinking PS all night), wobble home and 9/10 times end up puking. good chance this would be repeated the next day with a few cans had on a sunday. those were the days when i could actually handle a hangover/ got none. had to give up the vodka after about a year of that. hit the 2litres and found the hangovers even worse.
    changed to beer and for a while managed to calm my drinking. then around 24 i had some issues in my life which made be go off the rails, drank almost every night over a 7month period, 4-6 cans min. weekends would involve anywhere from 10-16 cans a night. most i ever managed was about 23 cans over a 18hour period. this may have been surpassed on other occasions which i dont remember, and to be honest i never really kept count but i just remember this as i basically drank myself sober and had 1 can left in the slab. luckily i sorted myself out (although the damage may already be done) and as i say, the average now once a month or so 8 pints if i was out with the lads and about 4 if i was with the missus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Just back from a Stags weekend, we started on Friday evening and were powerdrinking all weekend, ending on Sunday night/Monday morning. I did say I'd keep a record of what the alcohol consumption was of course that was knocked on the head after the third round on Friday! I'd say as a rough guesstimate, we drank about 12-15 pints each day and then each night switched to whiskey or vodka or whatever each lad was drinking. If this was added up over the whole weekend, I'd say I drank 40+ pints and about 15-20 whiskeys. It's now Tuesday and I'm still feeling out of sorts a fair bit but expect to be back to myself tomorrow maybe. I know this kind of consumption is over the top, I probably won't drink again for a few weeks after this, thankfully this doesn't happen very often!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

mloc wrote:
    Recently I've found I've been drinking more than usual; 4-6 cans, a naggin or bottle of buckfast (or both ) before I go out, then maybe 3-4 more pints out and 2-4 shots. If there's a vodka redbull special, probably have them instead of the shots, maybe 3 or 4 doubles.

That's called a drink problem ANYWHERE outside Ireland or the UK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

Flukey wrote:
    4, 5 or 6 pints. If you are drinking much more than that, then you have a problem. If you are drinking to get drunk, then you have a problem. Getting drunk is a risk of having a drink, not the intention. Drinking to get drunk is like driving a car in the hope of crashing. You enjoy your night out more if you have just a few drinks, and you can remember all the fun you had when the next morning comes.

Dito 100%!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

I don't go out thinking I'll only have x amount of this, this and this.
    I'll go by how much I can afford.

Usual trip to the offie:
    1 Naggin - Smirnoff Red Vodka
    4 cans of Bulmers
    2 litre bottle of LindenVillage
    Sorted

Only go out every 3rd or 4th weekend tho, so I'm not exactly killin myself.

There's that, or you can stay sober, reminding everyone what they got upta the next day :) You all need people like me.