Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do you drink on a night out?

• 06-09-2006 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

Ok, I realise this is a pretty vague question so I'll clear it up a bit:

How much do you drink on an average night out?

By "average night out", I mean a house party/trip to the pub/night club or any combination of these, where the objective is to drink your usual amount e.g. not "taking it easy" or not drinking more than usual, for example celebrating exam results etc.

Recently I've found I've been drinking more than usual; 4-6 cans, a naggin or bottle of buckfast (or both :( ) before I go out, then maybe 3-4 more pints out and 2-4 shots. If there's a vodka redbull special, probably have them instead of the shots, maybe 3 or 4 doubles.

Yes, I'm currently drinking far too much, but this seems to be an average at the moment. Just wondering what others drink. I suppose demographically I'm 21 Male and a college student with plenty of money to play with (lucky, i guess).

Also, if this should be moved to like UCD forum or something, go for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

*waits for some knob to say "belongs here "link to Food/Drink".....tbh", despite the fact the alcohol forums arent about discussing issues of health or intake*

Night out, usually about 4- 5 pints in a pub, 2 odd pints in a nightclub, then buy 2 or 3 rounds of 3 blue WKDs a time all for meself.

Its dancefloor rocket fuel so she is :D

I think its drink practices like that which shock foreigners. Of Europeans Ive found that only the Irish, Brits, Dutch and the E Europeans drink like that. My mates American bird was a cock when it came to her attitude to the Irish and drink (actually, she was a cock when it came to everything, hated her. 90 year old woman in a 20 year old head). Its simply a fact i feel that the Irish genetically need more to get locked, generally speaking. One French girl told me most people she knew were fairly drunk on 4 or 5 pints. When I told her me and the boys were on roughly the 18th beer (out of a total of 22 that day, it was the latter hours of a summer session that started in Bray at 2pm and ended in Finglas at 5am, legend of a day) she thought we would die :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

varies from 5 pints to 8 or 9

rarely drink the small drinks anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I don't drink before I go out, but If I go out I go out early enough. Start drinking in the pub at about 7, then move on else where after that. Usually over the whole night it would end up being something like 7 - 8 Pints and maybe a shot or two, then two or three cans to try and keep myself at the same level of drunkeness (not too drunk, but not too sober) from what ever time we leave the club/pub till about five or so in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

it varies.
    some nights i just go to the local and have 4. other nights start out at the local and i end up drinking anything up to 15 or thereabouts. they're more of a rarity these days though as i'm turning into a pussy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

4, 5 or 6 pints. If you are drinking much more than that, then you have a problem. If you are drinking to get drunk, then you have a problem. Getting drunk is a risk of having a drink, not the intention. Drinking to get drunk is like driving a car in the hope of crashing. You enjoy your night out more if you have just a few drinks, and you can remember all the fun you had when the next morning comes.

way too much!!!
    if i drink wine too fast makes me puke though!
    I hate getting sick when i drink rarely happen's now but happen's at the worst of time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Flukey wrote:
    If you are drinking to get drunk, then you have a problem. Getting drunk is a risk of having a drink, not the intention. Drinking to get drunk is like driving a car in the hope of crashing. You enjoy your night out more if you have just a few drinks, and you can remember all the fun you had when the next morning comes.

I used to drink a lot, rarely if ever now....but the above is just not true. I (and most everyone) invariably went out to get drunk. Crashing a car and getting smashed are not the same! The drink fueled the madness, the madness made the stories we still talk about today, simple as that. I never 'had a problem'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

i dont go out drinking that much nowadays but when i do i usually wreak havok on meself, f****d if i can ever remember how much ive drank lol

I think 6-7 pints of guinness until im sick of it and then hit the vodka or cocktails (white russians.mmm long island iced tea...mmmm). I can knock back a fair amount of vodka but i reckon thats because most clubs/pubs are only serving half measures once its late :mad:. I went right off whiskey as a "night out" drink as it gave me some horrific hangovers

Obviously if you start early in the day and pace yourself then the toll rises signficantly. One thing ive found over the last few years is i can't drink draught lager at all anymore...way too gassy, guinness or weissbier only now :( Must try get back into the cider..its been a decade since we fell out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Usually the 6-8 mark. If I can't remember, I usually judge by the amount of money I have left in my pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

I know a lot of heavy drinkers in college, and there's only a handful I'd consider have "a problem". If any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

usually have about 3-4 cans before heading out, then another 3-4 pints (or bottles, depends on what kind of mood i'm in) in there with 2 shots and maybe one or two jd&coke/jager&red bulls...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Flukey wrote:
    4, 5 or 6 pints. If you are drinking much more than that, then you have a problem. If you are drinking to get drunk, then you have a problem. Getting drunk is a risk of having a drink, not the intention. Drinking to get drunk is like driving a car in the hope of crashing. You enjoy your night out more if you have just a few drinks, and you can remember all the fun you had when the next morning comes.

jesus lighten up there grandma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

mloc wrote:
    bottle of buckfast

Ahhh the drink of the Gods :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

A pint or two and perhaps a round of cocktails would be a usual night out drinking as im a complete lightweight... ive fallen for the casual 'Southern Comfort and Red' on occasion too.

I dont drink to get drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭markk06

Most nights start out with a naggin, usually vodka mixed with 2 cans of redbull.. most of the time i'll have a few cans to top that off, one while on my way to wherever it is that i'm off to.. eg club, pub, party....

then when i get inside i normally have a few bottles of beer and then comes (against my better judgement) the double jagermeister and half redbull.... or four... on a bad night i usually get talked into drinkin more(which can be once a week)

I know i drink too much and i've cut back lately, but as MLOC says i'm a 21 yo male student, and all my mates drink pretty much the same.. we're a messy lot, crawdaddy tomorrow anyone....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

Bottle of Buckie before I go out

3/4 pints in the pub.

2/3 pints in the club.

Any house parties after that; would be only the one bottle/can of beer and a J.

That's a normal; not taking it easy and not drinking to the point where I loose control, Saturaday night for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

Average night out with friends would be 8 cans or a shoulder of whiskey of some kind.

The rare occassion I do go to town because of some bizarre influx of money I'd go somewhere cheap :P or drink beforehand aswell.

8 cans though on average. Less(4-6) for taking it easy and more(10-hazey memory) for special occassions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Jamey

Bit of a lightweight compared to others I know but on a night out I would either have:

- A bottle of Buckfast before I go out and maybe 3 pints at the pub. I'd be locked on that.

or

- About 5 pints at the pub. (Guinness)

or

- Maybe 3 Pints, 2 Vodka Redbulls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

2-5 bottles/cans what evers on special at the off licence
    3 or 4 pints in the pub (or else a few whiskeys neat or mabye with coke.)

then if theres a mates free gaff, just for the road home (i live in a small town) or a late show at the cinema - rocks to have friends with access to cinema screens and shop keys:D:D... a few bottles of beer or a half bottle of whiskey with a 2 lr of coke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

just did a few quick calculations, worked out over the course of friday, saturday, sunday night I drank the equivelent of 760ml of alcohol, which equals approx 3 bottles of vodka or about 35 pints or 9 bottles of wine. That's a conservative estimate of the drink I remember having.

it was a messy weekend, and certainly way more so than usual, probably the most intoxicated period for a year or so. i guess in a way it was spurred on by certain recent personal events, but really...

I should drink less!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Last friday I drank 15 Cans, 4 pints, 3 white russians, some SC, 3 bottles of miller. Then I watched Army of Darkness :) (I was drinking from around 6 though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Not trying to be mad or anything but your gonna get people saying. "ah jaysus mossie I drink 15 pints then 12 shots and then I walk intot he chipper and wash it down with some vinegar". ya always have them people.

Every pay day. Ill go out and have hmmm anything between 4-8 pints. I normally go hoime and have cans. Depending on how I feel, sometimes I'll drink 12 cans other times Ill just come home and fall asleep.

Tonight for example. I have been good. I have to be good. Have a fecking cold at the moment. But theres a quiz on in me local every wed night. So I went down tonight. Meant to ask for a coke with loads of ice. And for some reason I got a pint of guinness. Anyways. had 4 pints in the pub tonight and came home and am on me 5th can now. I got loads left, but I dont see the point in finishing them for the sake of it.

A lot of the time. I will get 12 cans in offie. drop em home. go to pub have about 4-10 pints then come home and drink about 8-10 of the cans. if I drink 8 of them its ok. but if I drink 10 of them , I just finish them off. no use having 2 spare. Then again I does kinda rely on the beer a bit. so feck it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭nuttz

Lately when I'm out, it's been: 4 cans, leave house; 3 pints at late bar/club+ maybe a double vodka; That's too much, I'm ashamed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭JaysusMacfeck

6 or 8 cans of Dutch, Tubord, Prazsky.. whatever's goin.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Depends how much I can afford. In college last year it was two litre bottle of cider, naggin, drinking a little bit in the club.
    Started heavily drinking after that, roughly after holloween.
    Anyway. sorted that out now, so 3-10 pints, usually on the lower side.

Tonight was an exception, as I was saying goodbye to friends(Ugh, never down druids cider.). I'm off to college again. It was one of the, we are so drunk we will call random people in Tar's phonebook nights, even people off boards.
    If they called you, I'm sorry, and I'm certainly not in love with most of you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Don't drink that often or that much. A glass of wine with a meal out or a pint to sip on a hot day is grand. Once in a blue moon I might share a bottle of Asti, but that normally is for celebrating a special occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

mloc wrote:
    Recently I've found I've been drinking more than usual; 4-6 cans, a naggin or bottle of buckfast (or both :( ) before I go out, then maybe 3-4 more pints out and 2-4 shots. If there's a vodka redbull special, probably have them instead of the shots, maybe 3 or 4 doubles.

Holy ****:eek: thats a serious amount of booze for one night.Id be thinking about cutting back a bit for the sake of your health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

Usually drink a tray or two before goin out on a saturday (friday half a tray cos i only finish work at 4.30)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

Waaaaayyyy too much! i would go out on a sat night and usually head to the pub around 9! usually myself and my mates are on the same wavelength as far as holding your drink is concerned so we'd start off with around 4-5 wine+west coasts! usually around half ten we'd start off on the vodka and drink them continuously until we've stumbled out of the club around 3! i wouldnt be lying if i said that some nights we'd drink up to a bottle of vodka each, all depends on how early we start i think!-Not Proud but we do it anyways!!

Weddings are another story completely!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Flukey wrote:
    4, 5 or 6 pints. If you are drinking much more than that, then you have a problem.

Over what period? 4 hours? Half a day? Silly statement IMO. 4 - 6 pints may be enough for someone who only wants 4 - 6 pints, and/or someone who is badly affected by more than 4 - 6 pints.

I'm actually getting tired of defending myself when I'm drinking what I would qualify as a 'happy drunk' amount, once every 10-14 days. Binge drinking me hole!

I've never been one drink before I go out and there are different scenarios which warrant different intakes of the devil's water.

Match day - 12pm to 2am. 18 to 22 pints of the black stuff with prob no shorts.

Saturday down the country - 7pm - 3am. 11 to 13 pints with a couple of vodka & red bulls.

Saturday night in Dublin - 9pm - 2am. 4 to 5 pints with lots of V&R.

Taken that, I'm well able to go for 4 - 5 on a weekday and watch some footy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

My problem is i drink really fast (unintentionally) and i had to give up the pints so i drink bottles of heineken but i'm up and down to the bar every few minutes.

i'd day average 10-12 bottles on a night out but do be langered on that so trying to go out a little later than usual now gives me less time to drink and dont drink before i go out. I enjoy being a bit merry and having a laugh but i dont go out with the intention of getting pissed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Go out round 9pm, drink between 3 - 5 pints in the local and am back home by 1:30am, boring or what!! Used to drink a bucket load though when I was in my early 20's, pints, shorts, shots, out till 6am, etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I was out last night and had about 15 pints of Guinness. The poster who said over 4-6 pints and you have a problem is talking out of his arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I don't have any warm up drinks at home. I get to the pub / club and have about 4 - 6 pints and thats it for me.

I'm a big guy , but I just can't seem to drink any more (no matter how hard I try)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

On a normal Friday or Saturday its meet the mates in the pub around 8pm. We would do rounds and that usualy means about 8 pints before heading to club where the vodka and red bull/lucozade kicks in. Could easily have 5-8 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

I'm useless at drinking or something. After about 4 or 5 pints I'm usually fooked. I can get away with more if I'm eating (barbeque or whatever) though.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

pub: 5-8 pints depending on time of arrival.
    club: 4-8 double vodkas + mixer also depending on time of arrival.

I normally spend about 60 euro on a night where its €2 a drink (most nights in Dundalk depending on where you go)
    And about €100 or so on a full priced night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

At weekends I have 5-6 pints of Guinness/Bud in the pub, then 3-4 doubles of Smirnoff or Jameson in da club to give me my special dancing powers. If I go back to a party after, I'll have a few more shots or bottles of beer.

I don't drink to get falling-down, blacking-out drunk; I drink to get loud-and-making-an-eejit-of-myself drunk and I usually succeed. :)
    Was on the sauce last night too and feel fine today. It's all about knowing your limits and having a little sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

8 cans before hitting the club then in the club i'll usually have about 4 or 5 pints and a jagerbomb or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

Am I the only one taken aback by how high the average amount listed here is?

Andrew 83 wrote:

Im gobsmacked to be honest but there ya go.....pretty heavy drinking alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Andrew 83 wrote:
    I wouldn't read too much into it, a lot of people overstate the amount they drink. It's a bravado thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

What did you expect?? we didnt top the euro league for binge drinking by sipping on spritzers all night godammit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Shoulder of Southern Comfort sorts me out. If there's any Tequila going I'd have a taste aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

I wouldn't read too much into it, a lot of people overstate the amount they drink. It's a bravado thing.

I'd be surprised if anyone in this thread was overstating. One or two might be, but I'd believe most of the posters here.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Last weekend I drank 14 double Jack Daniels (according to my friends) in the space of two hours on an empty stomach. Wasn't the smartest of things to do. Woke up not remembering a thing and had cuts and bruises all over.

Normally I would have 2 pints of Bulmers, 5 Double Jack Daniels and 2 Double Jagerbombs.

Agreed , but i would say most of the amounts are not overstated by much but you will have some that blatantly push the numbers up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Usually four to five pints of Guinness if it's a night out at the pub. If we go to a club, add a double vodka and Lucozade. For all the talk of binge drinking, I don't see too many cases of it when I'm out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

2 or 3 cans of..... whatever's in the fridge (was Dutchy last time :() before I go out

Used to then have about 5 vodka and red bulls, but I've since had the damage it does to your heart explained to me, so I'm done drinking that.

Last time I went out I just had 5 bottles of bud (after the cans). Wasn't drunk, but had enough to get the creative juices flowing in the form of my expressive dance-moves :)

I used to hit the shots as well, but lately I've been wussing out of them :( Every time someone says "shot!!!", my stomach starts preparing itself to puke! :mad: Dammit
    I was able to do Micky Finns the other night, but that's got f*ck all alcohol in it.

Maybe I need a shot of Absinthe to get the tummy back in shape! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

Andrew 83 wrote:

I'm alcohol free, aint my thing. I knew people slaughter themselves with drink but the average here is my higher than i expected.

I drink about 2-4 orange juices/cokes before my bladder fills and it doesnt empty like with booze....