How much do you drink on a night out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

To be honest I don't think people are overstating too much - I'd know plenty of people who'd drink that much.

I used to drink more than I do nowadays. In the past maybe 8-10drinks on a night out (not a big event or anything, roughly 1 night a week). A drink would usually be a pint/can of guinness/lager or alternatively a vodka+something later on.

Nowadays I'd be more inclined to drink bottles, and drink much only on special occasions of some sort.

The most drinking I've seen people take on a regular enough basis with no major personal implications would be 15-20 drinks a day for a friday and saturday with a few on sunday. I dunno how they'd do that.

1-2 pints... then soft drinks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

chump wrote:
    To be honest I don't think people are overstating too much - I'd know plenty of people who'd drink that much.

I used to drink more than I do nowadays. In the past maybe 8-10drinks on a night out (not a big event or anything, roughly 1 night a week). A drink would usually be a pint/can of guinness/lager or alternatively a vodka+something later on.

Nowadays I'd be more inclined to drink bottles, and drink much only on special occasions of some sort.

The most drinking I've seen people take on a regular enough basis with no major personal implications would be 15-20 drinks a day for a friday and saturday with a few on sunday. I dunno how they'd do that.
    i think that's how most people do it.

as you get older you tend to drink less because of the increasingly bad hangovers.

i wish they would invent a beer that wouldn't give you a hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Fraggle Rocks

Usually a pint in the local, a bottle of buckfast and then 3+ pints in the club depending on how hammered i want to get. This is a rough guide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

zuutroy wrote:
    I used to drink a lot, rarely if ever now....but the above is just not true. I (and most everyone) invariably went out to get drunk. Crashing a car and getting smashed are not the same! The drink fueled the madness, the madness made the stories we still talk about today, simple as that. I never 'had a problem'

Have to agree here, I used to drink way to much, one night I ended up in the Liffey after a crazy night in Zanzibar. I also ended up in A & E in St. James once after an equally crazy night in Ri-Ra's and falling down the steps and conking out when my head hit the ground at the bottom! I accept that I drank way too much back them but so did everyone in my company, it was a wild phase we all went through, we were all in our early twenties and were going out every night to get completely sh*tfaced!

Now the same gang meet up once a week usually for a few pints, very rarely more than 5 pints and none of us would consider that we have a problem. We can have a laugh at the times we used to go out and the stories like above we brought home with us, occasionally one of us will have a party or be celebrating something or other and we'll let the hair down a bit but still nothing like a few years ago!

If I was going out with these lads to say a BBQ or party in one of my mates houses, I'd be bringing about 6-8 cans of Heino with me, would drink all these and would probably end up drinking whiskey with my mates auld lad's at the end of the night and singing ballad songs, no big deal, all part of the fun! Most of the time now, its 4-5 pints and then home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

Darragh29 wrote:
    Heino .
    OH MY GOD! RO'CK, ROYSH!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭EOA_Mushy

Worst case would 2 or 3 bottles of wine, a bottle of rum, 3 or 4 pints and a six pack. And any thing else i can get my hands on when i finish up the above.

But average night would be 6-7 dark rum and coke's, 3-5 pints & 2-3 shots. (Tiquila)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Average night out I would drink about 6/7 pints but I could not take more than 8 or any shots or shit like that or I'll just get ill, too many bad experiences have thought me a big lesson! I know I'll probably get stick for this but yeah I'm a bit of lightweight, I can be well on by 4 pints and properly pissed by 6 but I see that as a postitive more than anything. I'm not fucking my liver up, I'm avoiding really bad hangovers which would I could not survive in work and I'm not spending anywhere near as much money.... all while I still have a great time! TBH some of the amounts people listed isn't surprising but it still scares me and I do find it very sad that for alot people that their social lives revolve around getting shitfaced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

4 pints of smithwicks when i'm in dublin, when i'm at home in Cork, 4 bottles of Bud (with the glass of ice)

On a staff night out, i've been known to do 8 hot toddies ... (but i really dont ever want to relive that terrible exoerience!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

I'm not entirely sure (I usually lose count after 4!). Id hasard a guess at six or seven alcopops, I'm a bit of a lightweight.:o

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Between 4 and 8 pints, depending on the craic and my form!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I know I'll probably get stick for this but yeah I'm a bit of lightweight, I can be well on by 4 pints and properly pissed by 6 but I see that as a postitive more than anything. I'm not fucking my liver up, I'm avoiding really bad hangovers which would I could not survive in work and I'm not spending anywhere near as much money.... all while I still have a great time!

Hey that's a good attitude!

...loightweight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Myself, usually between 6-10 pints, and anything over 10 is considered a bonus! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

Usually, 5-7 pints and shots with it. Depends really on the night that's in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

It varies, some nights I have 6 cans, others I have 6 bottles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I'm going to a stags this weekend, and purely for the purposes of this thread, I'll take a good note of what I'm drinking! Will report back data on Monday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Darragh29 wrote:
    I'm going to a stags this weekend, and purely for the purposes of this thread, I'll take a good note of what I'm drinking! Will report back data on Monday!

Personnally i think you should look through the posts and see who drinks the most, and what they drink and then try and match that drink for drink on the stag, then report back on monday how it went.

Thats if your still alive of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭daveyjoe

Usual night down the pub is 3 or 4 pints in a couple of hours. I'm not drunk at that stage but I'm happy. I've got up to 9 before over a period of 4 hours but to be honest I don't really enjoy it. I usually drink Murphys and 9 stouts doesn't look great in the toilet bowl the morning after (sorry for getting a bit graphic there).

I rarely drink spirits but when I do I tend to really go for it. I remember (well actually I don't remember but I was told) once I had about 15 shots in the space of 20 minutes and I was fine until the 15th one. There's a video of me where I keep falling over (while I was sitting down) and telling people that Im fine, in the taxi on the way home the taxi-driver asked me was I alright and (allegedly) I told him (while falling all over the place) that I had a dodgy chicken. I don't think he believed me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

a few pints followed by about 4 or 5 whiskey and cokes

mloc wrote:
    just did a few quick calculations, worked out over the course of friday, saturday, sunday night I drank the equivelent of 760ml of alcohol, which equals approx 3 bottles of vodka or about 35 pints or 9 bottles of wine. That's a conservative estimate of the drink I remember having.

it was a messy weekend, and certainly way more so than usual, probably the most intoxicated period for a year or so. i guess in a way it was spurred on by certain recent personal events, but really...

I should drink less!
    No bloody kidding.

I think a lot of you have some problems, tbh ... seriously.
    And please don't tell me "but everyone else does it".

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

petes wrote:
    Hardcore.

A double Jagerbomb. Will have to try that.
    The double Jagerbombs are great, they give you a great "hyper" kind of drunk. :)

That 14 double JD and coke thing, I wouldn't try again and its not something I'm too proud of. It was a night where I didn't care what happened to me really, its the first and last time it will ever happen. Basically I went out of the pub, leant on a wall swayed back and forth, tried to fall asleep on a public bench, told passers by to feck off, got sick at some church gate, got carried by 4 lads to a mates car to pass out. Got carried back out again, but I was ok after about a minute or so and I could actually walk, although not very well.

Woke up the next morning still drunk and it stayed this way until 2 o'clock. Then the worst hangover ever kicked in shortly after. On Monday I just felt like shít the whole day. It was pointless and stupid, and I could list plenty of reasons why it won't happen again.

Double Jagerbombs ftw though! :)

*I can't remember the bits in italic

About 5 pints if I go out midweek - that would only be 2 nights.

About 10 pints and maybe a few shots of somehting or other on Friday and Saturday nights.

Not a huge amount but enough for me. One of the fellows who I meet can have 20 pints on any night and there isn't a pick on him.

bluewolf wrote:
    No bloody kidding.

I think a lot of you have some problems, tbh ... seriously.
    And please don't tell me "but everyone else does it".
    everyone else does do it.
    have you read the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    The double Jagerbombs are great, they give you a great "hyper" kind of drunk. :)

That 14 double JD and coke thing, I wouldn't try again and its not something I'm too proud of. It was a night where I didn't care what happened to me really, its the first and last time it will ever happen. Basically I went out of the pub, leant on a wall swayed back and forth, tried to fall asleep on a public bench, told passers by to feck off, got sick at some church gate, got carried by 4 lads to a mates car to pass out. Got carried back out again, but I was ok after about a minute or so and I could actually walk, although not very well.

Woke up the next morning still drunk and it stayed this way until 2 o'clock. Then the worst hangover ever kicked in shortly after. On Monday I just felt like shít the whole day. It was pointless and stupid, and I could list plenty of reasons why it won't happen again.

Double Jagerbombs ftw though! :)

*I can't remember the bits in italic

I would say I have had them hangovers. Went out last night. Reckon I had 14-16 pints of stout. I didn't finish the last one as I said to myself feck this. Was the last night of the current (well previous at this stage) owners in a pub in Dundalk. There were a good few freebies aswell. Good night. I am fricking wrecked at the minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Yook

Flukey wrote:
    4, 5 or 6 pints. If you are drinking much more than that, then you have a problem. If you are drinking to get drunk, then you have a problem. Getting drunk is a risk of having a drink, not the intention. Drinking to get drunk is like driving a car in the hope of crashing. You enjoy your night out more if you have just a few drinks, and you can remember all the fun you had when the next morning comes.

Well said mate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Maybe when I go out on a Saturday night I would have a few,

Starters, A pint of milk to line the stomach usually drank at home with strange looks from mum!

To start off with usually something like a rum & coke might have two of these before progressing onto Coors light, then maybe a Heineken or two, generally now begging to feel a little odd and view women in a different light, usually followed by a toilet break and an ordinary coke (no alcohol) then proceed to down at least three or four Budweiser’s before finishing off the night with shots of Vodka or Red Absinthe mixed with Red Bull, feels great, then proceed to talk thrash to people and phone up however number comes up first in my phone, I have now changed this to my own and got a little confused when I kept getting engaged. Going out is fun, remembering it is hard and when eventually my beer compass gets me home I proceed to down half a gallon of water before waking up about three hours later to go to Sunday mass :mad:

Beering and getting bombed is not cheap, How much would people here usually spend on a night out?? I usually go over €100 a night anyway depending on the form, how much I tip and the quality of the females on show. I usually bribe a few taxi drivers with big tips and they always come and collect me then. Last time I apparently spent almost an hour praising Kieran Donaghy at full forward for Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

I don't drink as much as used to. Maybe once every two months comparing to when I was 16 or 17 and it was every weekend.

Tbh if I go out and start drinking I could go well over 24 (a crate) cans if it's at an all nighter party. I drink to get drunk, i'll admit it. But I will not say that it's a problem as I don' do this everyday. To claim anyone in Ireland who drinks over 5-6 pints has a prioblem is just silly.

Edit :: I spend over €100 on those nights out also.

netwhizkid wrote:
    Maybe when I go out on a Saturday night I would have a few,

Starters, A pint of milk to line the stomach usually drank at home with strange looks from mum!

To start off with usually something like a rum & coke might have two of these before progressing onto Coors light, then maybe a Heineken or two, generally now begging to feel a little odd and view women in a different light, usually followed by a toilet break and an ordinary coke (no alcohol) then proceed to down at least three or four Budweiser’s before finishing off the night with shots of Vodka or Red Absinthe mixed with Red Bull, feels great, then proceed to talk thrash to people and phone up however number comes up first in my phone, I have now changed this to my own and got a little confused when I kept getting engaged. Going out is fun, remembering it is hard and when eventually my beer compass gets me home I proceed to down half a gallon of water before waking up about three hours later to go to Sunday mass :mad:

Beering and getting bombed is not cheap, How much would people here usually spend on a night out?? I usually go over €100 a night anyway depending on the form, how much I tip and the quality of the females on show. I usually bribe a few taxi drivers with big tips and they always come and collect me then. Last time I apparently spent almost an hour praising Kieran Donaghy at full forward for Kerry.
    jesus.
    there are so many things i could say about that post. :)

in regard to your question about how much i spend, it all depends on where i go.
    the local, i spend about €20 to €30. anywhere else in Leixlip and it's usually around €70 to €80. another town and you are talking cab fares, nightclub entrance etc. it can go well over the €100 mark. Dublin, you are talking at least €150. although i did do Dublin on €50 one night. free entry to the gig and a friend driving helped though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

julep wrote:
    jesus.
    there are so many things i could say about that post. :)

My stomach would be in bits after that.

it think everyone's would. even the first half of it.