Steorn free energy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

steviec wrote:
    I don't see what they have to gain by lying. I reckon they believe what they're saying but whether it holds up to scrutiny is another matter.

However... in real terms.. would it necessarily change the world? I mean don't solar panels and windmills give free energy already? The energy isn't created I know, but it's as good as free in practical terms.

Well it would f*ck up the American economy as well as alot of Middle Eastern countries'.

Plus, it throws modern physics all to sh*t, since Newton's laws are somewhat fundamental in our understanding of the universe. It could lead to further discoveries too, with the new information.

It would also "cure" global warming, as well as provide energy in alot of areas of the world that don't have alot of it (since it apparantly doesn't require any raw materials, other than "the machine").

It's pretty revolutionary man...

Now whether or not it's true remains to be seen ;) I'm always the skeptic, so I'll wait until I hear from the scientists that are supposed to be testing the invention before making my mind up. I'd like to see the results of the experiments!

At the moment I'm leaning towards the cynical belief that it's a clever marketing ploy and they're gonna release a new mobile phone or somethin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

Any of you guys ever read the Watchmen, and find this whole thing eerily reminiscent of Dr. Manhattan? I really, really hope this works, and can be put to use in my lifetime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

julep wrote:
    then where did the universe come from?

That would be an ecumenical matter.

The universe has almost certainly always been in existance. We are currently in one phase which will collapse back in on itself according to one thoery and then re-expand. The matter in the universe is being recycled on a cosmic timescale. Some belive the universe will in fact keep expanding infinitly.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

right, but when did it begin and how did it beginm and what was there before it began and before that and so on ad infinitum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

julep wrote:
    right, but when did it begin and how did it beginm and what was there before it began and before that and so on ad infinitum.

the answer is 42 your just not asking the right question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Omnipresence

DaveMcG wrote:
    Well it would f*ck up the American economy as well as alot of Middle Eastern countries'.

Theres that old chestnut again...

Why do people concentrate on oil just giving us fuel/energy ?

If this was real (and it isn't) and it solved the worlds "ENERGY" problems then you think the people producing oil are screwed ??

People tend to forget oil is responsible for a hell of a lot more than fuel/energy... hmm plastic ?

Which makes the whole thing of us running out of oil a hell of a lot more scary than "gee what will we power our cars with...." at least there is some alternatives coming there... but to be honest we wont be able to build cars anyway before long.... chinas gonna use up all the steel and oil and plastics etc are gonna be used up by all of us.... :(

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

But that can be stemmed to a degree through recycling. And nowhere near the same volume is used on plastic compared to power consumption. However, it would pose the question as to what to do with the rest of the oil, seeing as only a portion of it is used for plastics....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

I want to believe. There's something in me that will be heart broken when the truth comes out. The truth is they are either lying or mistaken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

julep wrote:

The universe or rather a universe has always been in existance, there was never a void, and the area into which an expanding universe pushes does'nt exist ie even the void does'nt exist. Its beyond nothingness! Its emptier than empty!!

Now, that'll screw your head up! :p

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭goldilocked

It always makes me smile when someone says that the universe had to begin somewhere...there must have something to create it. Then they suggest God, and when you ask where did he come from, they say that he was always there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Interesting that the story is on the XBox website:

http://news.teamxbox.com/xbox/11584/Irish-Company-Claims-to-Have-Discovered-Free-Energy

It must be some sort of marketing thing. Although, why an ad in The Economist? Maybe to make it extra convincing?

Would be cool if it was actually true.

Does this company have a history of being a marketing firm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

It always makes me smile when someone says that the universe had to begin somewhere...there must have something to create it. Then they suggest God, and when you ask where did he come from, they say that he was always there!

and?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

I believe it seems hypocritical to ask for proof for scientific theories when you ask for faith when it comes to your explaination of the universe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Thirdfox wrote:
    ...Do terrorists have that capability... do you? Everyone having a mini/massive-nuke = not good.
    Of course you can argue otherwise... I'd love to hear it :D

They won't 'cos it won't bloody work. social commentaries and effects are all well and good but it's hardly good use of your time trying to score points when the issue at hand has little or no bearing on reality as it:
    a. hasn't been proven and
    b. flies in the face of a very integrated and almost thoroughly understood series of theories (electromagnetism)
    c. comes from a company that has, hitherto shown no scientific innovation whatsoever. A technology like this would require extensive research and trial and error and would hardly involve just building some sort of rig and being instantly successful. It would take years, and as the company is only a couple of years old and hasn't a solitary publication to its name I think its claims are optimistic at best
    Thirdfox wrote:
    And looking at past history nearly all recent energy exploitation has been used for destructive purposes: nuclear fission - originally for nuclear bombs rather than power plants,
    It's a lot easier to make a bomb than to make a safe controlled energy source
    Thirdfox wrote:
    fusion for bombs too (we don't even have a fusion powerplant yet).
    It's a hell of a lot easier to create an uncontrolled fusion reaction than a controlled 'un, hence why it's been used in bombs and is not currently a mainstream source of energy and won't be at least for the next forty years (actually it's been "fifty years away" since the seventies.
    Thirdfox wrote:
    And now some people claim that they have a technology that surpasses the power of nuclear fusion (due to unlimited energy potential), can you not see how this may turn out badly for everyone (at this point in time)?
    Unlimited energy and unlimited power are very different things. A thing moving in a magnetic field (or whatever these jokers are at) is never ever ever going to come close to the power output obtained from a fusion reaction exploiting the strong interaction at 100 million celsius without being of colossal size. Ever. Suppose these guys are successful and manage to pull energy out of their asses, it's probably only going to be enough to run a generator. Unless the terrorists plan on electrocuting people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

mike65 wrote:
    The universe or rather a universe has always been in existance, there was never a void, and the area into which an expanding universe pushes does'nt exist ie even the void does'nt exist. Its beyond nothingness! Its emptier than empty!!

Now, that'll screw your head up! :p

Mike.
    doesn't screw with my head at all. it actually acurately describes my belly.

as for the oil question; if this did work, then it would solve world hunger and poverty would be a thing of the past.
    if it gets power from nothing, then the power would be unlimited and we could all live free from debts such as electricity and fuel and stuff. that extra money could be put towards helping to feed starving people.

pity it's all a scam though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Thirdfox wrote:
    I believe it seems hypocritical to ask for proof for scientific theories when you ask for faith when it comes to your explaination of the universe...

You are intitled to your belief, as am I.

However, unlike you, I am quite willing to incorporate both faith and science into my beliefs. In the absence of any reasonable and accepted scientific theory explaining what went on before the universe was created, my faith answers any questions that remain for me.

If, as is claimed, our current understanding of the universal "truths" of physics are turned upside down, and the 1st law of thermodynamics is proved wrong, then this will still not shake my faith. For me the two, science and faith, are mutually exclusive because I consider everything - from the macro to the micro universe, and what I see as the truly intangible consepts of time, space and infinity to be a construct of God.

As for your accusation that I am somehow beinng hypocritical, well, I have explored the possibility of God existing, and I have come to a conclusion that there is, in fact, a God. On the other hand, I have not examined the claimes of Steorn, and so I reserve the right to be skcepical.

None of what I say is a personal attack on you, Thirdfox, nor do I fancy getting into a theological discussion. I wish only to clarify my position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Fanny: I didn't know that you believe in God/gods etc. so please do not take my post as an accusation that you yourself are hypocritical. In fact I agree with most of your views (perhaps not the most important one though :p) And hey, I have faith... I sometimes play the lotto! :D

Dead Ed: First point you made - I never said that I believe this technology works, just that I hope it doesn't (not yet anyway).

Your second point - justifies my belief that this "safe" power source can easily be retrofitted into a weapon. You state that uncontrolled reactions are easier to produce then controlled ones. My example with nuclear weapons was to demonstrate the thinking behind new technology "how can we turn this into a weapon?" Einstein himself said that if he knew that the theories that helped build the atomic bomb would be used for non-peaceful purposes then he would not have agreed to participate.

Third point - from my admittedly limited understanding it seems that EMP weapons (which do not necessarily need a nuclear explosion) would be highly crippling to a developed country such as the USA or Ireland. A device generating energy and storing it before releasing the energy in an EMP pulse would do nearly the same damage (financially) as a nuclear device.

Even if EMP weapons cannot be used in conjunction with this unproven device the promise of free electricity/energy will entice most extremists to think of a novel way of using it for destructive purposes.

Lastly, if the thing does work (which I doubt) then don't say never... thermodynamics will have been turned on its head, why would something else be "impossible" too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

Streorn will be out of business soon enough - you cant make money from free energy, everyone knows that to make money you have to charge something for your product! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Streorn will be out of business soon enough - you cant make money from free energy, everyone knows that to make money you have to charge something for your product! :D

Well on that Last Word interview, the CEO clearly said that they are a business that are hoping for a return on their investment. Now if everything they say was true (I very much doubt that) then they would own the patent to the most important technological advance probably ever. So whilst you cannot make money from free energy per se, you sure as hell can make money using your patent to sell your technology to every single car, airplane, mobil phone etc manufacturer.

If this was true, well then Steorn would overnight become the most profitable company the world has seen. I agree that they may be out of business soon, but it won`t be because they couldn`t charge for their product.

I think that the companies obcession with obtaining scientific recognition is a little strange. I don`t know about you, but if Steorn produced a working model of, for instance, a car that used this technology and never had to stop for petrol, well I wouldn`t care less about what any scientist says about it breaking any laws of physics that I don`t understand. I would want to invest in and buy that product.

It seems to me that they are using The Economist to advertise for scientific approval as a gimmick to prolong the publicity. I hope I am wrong. If this is true... WOW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Thirdfox wrote:
    Your second point - justifies my belief that this "safe" power source can easily be retrofitted into a weapon. You state that uncontrolled reactions are easier to produce then controlled ones. My example with nuclear weapons was to demonstrate the thinking behind new technology "how can we turn this into a weapon?" Einstein himself said that if he knew that the theories that helped build the atomic bomb would be used for non-peaceful purposes then he would not have agreed to participate.
    Well, maybe a tangent branching off from a consequence of any new effects might lead to something like that mentioned. But anything assumed at this point is pure speculation. Fair enough, it's prudent to assume the worst case might occur and some mad mullah gets his hands on this and holds us all to ransom unless we promise to cover up our women and grow beards, but at face value, from what the company have said, it's just something moving as a consequence of, amongst other things, the presence of a magnetic field. It does sound kinda like the method of propelling a mag-lev train, only tarted up. I'm struggling a bit here 'cos I honestly don't have a clue what other consequences of such an effect might lead to, so what the whole thing really comes down to is a question of outlook. If you can get a whole bunch of energy to come from somewhere in very little time , then yes, you could make some sort of weapon but the company has given no indication as to whether such a thing is possible. Anything anyone says about it at this point is a possibility so nobody's getting anywhere and everyone's wasting their time!
    Thirdfox wrote:

Third point - from my admittedly limited understanding it seems that EMP weapons (which do not necessarily need a nuclear explosion) would be highly crippling to a developed country such as the USA or Ireland. A device generating energy and storing it before releasing the energy in an EMP pulse would do nearly the same damage (financially) as a nuclear device.

Even if EMP weapons cannot be used in conjunction with this unproven device the promise of free electricity/energy will entice most extremists to think of a novel way of using it for destructive purposes.
    Can't say anything on that as I know nothing about EMP pulse weapons aside from what I saw on TV and computer games. Neither do I know how hard such a thing is to come by, but seeing as my computer and car are still running, it's pretty difficult for such a device and the methods of its construction to fall into the wrong hands! Would such an invention make the construction and transport of such a device easier? Again no idea, but I'm assuming a highly organised worldwide network of academic and military scientists would get a hold on the idea and take measures that ensure the materials and construction blueprints don't fall into the wrong hands.
    Thirdfox wrote:
    Lastly, if the thing does work (which I doubt) then don't say never... thermodynamics will have been turned on its head, why would something else be "impossible" too?
    Everything's possible, it's just that some things have a vanishingly small probability of occurring! So small they can be "effectively" zero. The problem is that some folk see the "effectively" and just jump through the resultant loophole (that's your job though, isn't it? :D). Thermodynamics has been derived from statistical calculations, empirical observation and rigourously verified by experiment. That's the black and white, one and zero reality of that. It's there and cannot be changed. Any new effects, should they occur, will be incorporated into the accepted theories but will exist so far outside regular experimental and everyday conditions as to be irrelevant and near impossible to achieve.
    Right, I'm waffling. The invention's bollocks, won't work and it doesn't matter **** what's said about it because everyone's tight lipped about the science (if any) involved, and I don't do philisophical stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 itsAboy

cooperguy wrote:
    So who has heard about the Irish company who has announced they can create energy from nothing and break the known laws of physics at the same time!!! It was on the 9:00 news. Will it change the world or are they talking a load of arse??? www.steorn.com

As Bertie (Einstein) might say, this makes MC2 more boomer than E=.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

Good article about these guys in today's Guardian:

http://environment.guardian.co.uk/energy/story/0,,1858172,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭bean

latenia wrote:

Perhaps if its not real its some miscalculation on their behalf (though i think that it should be easy to know if you are really getting an energy surplus or not).

After reading that article and hearing about all the hassle those lads have been getting they must know that if it was a hoax that they would get a serious pounding.

Putting their theory up for examination is another strange move. Again were it to be proven false and it all was some publicity stunt, no one will react very well to it.

I get the impression the system they invented is relatively uncomplicated, so why hasnt it already been tried?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

mmm I wonder if their shares are listed...
    buy them now at 100 dollars a pop and when they are proved correct sell them for millions.

Or the other case is by there shares now at 100 dollars a pop and they turn out to be muppets..you loose all your money they retire very rich men and women...

which seems more likely :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Kernel32

On the heels of this great discovery I have started a company with the purpose of buying all the available magnets in the world. If anyone is interested in investing in my company it will require a minimum of $10k investment in cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

Whatever perpetual motion machine they have, I cam almost assure you someone, somewhere has already made it and been debunked.

Until we have a much greater understanding of quantum mechanics, "free" energy will remain science fiction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

latenia wrote:

Well, at least the journalist got a chance to view the equipment and give a brief description. It is a shame that no Irish journalist has done any investigation to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

I know that this story sounds so bizarre that its just about certain to be nonsense... but i'm having a hard time wondering what Steorn have to gain from this? In the Guardian article today, Steorn say that they have freezed all investment in the company pending verification. So clearly they are not looking to make a killing from naive investors.

Some people have speculated that they are trying to pull a hoax so that theyy can prove how skillful their advertising skills are. I just don`t buy that. I know the old adage says that all publicity is good publicity, but I think that this would be an exception to that rule. According to the company, they are already subject to ridicule and threats and I just think that if you wanted to prove how good you are at advertising then there are better ways to do it.

The only thing that really explains it to me is that perhaps their technology has some flaw that they have missed. But they claim that independent scientists have (off the record) verified their thesis. OK we don`t know the validity of these claims, but if we give them the benefit of the doubt that ,however qualified they were, some scientists have looked at this theory and backed it well then that doesn`t make sense either. Especially since they claimed to have invested 2.7m and three years in it...

So I am at least going to wait and see before making up my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

ye cannae change the laws of physics captain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Of course if this is all true and said technology was implemented world wide....

This will rapidly increase the worlds climate at a dangerous rate due to the effects of global dimming